What’s going on in Macedonia?

by Karl Müller

14 years ago, in 2001, when the small Balkan country of Macedonia, bordering Serbia in the north and Greece in the south, was in the headlines for months. The country was in danger of drifting into a civil war. Macedonian KLA (Kosovo Liberation Army) fighters, supported by the Kosovar organisation of the same name and also by US intelligence agencies and the US military, shattered Macedonia through terrorist attacks and aggression against the country’s police and military. KLA fighters and a major part of Western politicians and media then spoke of a legitimate fight against the discrimination of the ethnic Albanian population in the country, other voices placed KLA violence, similar to the situation in Kosovo, in a larger geopolitical context. In August 2001, the parties agreed on a deal that entitled the ethnic Albanian population to social and political privileges. Today, one of the former leading KLA fighters, Ali Ahmeti, is part of the country’s government.
During the past 14 years, it has been quiet around the country. Since 2005 Macedonia is candidate for the EU. It is even said the country wants to join NATO. However, the government of the country is not supporting the sanctions against Russia by the US government and the EU. Instead, it has agreed to build a transit route in Macedonia for Russia’s planned pipeline through Turkey (Turkish Stream). The pipeline route through Turkey had been negotiated between Russia and Turkey early in 2015. It is to be built instead of South Stream, whose originally planned route through Bulgaria, for the purpose of transporting Russian natural gas to South Eastern Europe and as far as Austria without hindrance, has been hampered by the EU. Macedonia is very important as a transit country for the pipeline.1
Since two weeks Macedonia has returned into the headlines. The reason was a local police raid in the town of Kumanovo. There are former KLA fighters who were said to have planned attacks. Most likely, they are also involved in drug trafficking. The city is considered as a stopover for drug shipments coming from Afghanistan. It is situated very close to the border with Serbia, but also close to the border with Kosovo, which is the main trading centre for drug shipments to Europe. During the raid in Kumanovo there was an hour-long firefight in which 22 people died, including 8 policemen.
Western media commented on the events in different ways. Some spoke of too hard an attack by the Macedonian security forces, which had been ethnically motivated and directed against the ethnic Albanian population. Others claim the prime minister of the country stage-managed the firefights in Kumanovo in order to divert attention from his own problems and the dissatisfaction of the population. Moreover, Richard Howitt of the Socialist Group in the European Parliament thinks that the citizens of Macedonia have suffered a trauma after the fighting in Kumanovo.
Interestingly, however, even former KLA fighter and current government member Ali Ahmeti admitted in an interview with the Austrian newspaper “Die Presse” (19.5.2015): “I cannot deny that we know some of the people who were involved. Some of them were former members of the KLA.” But only to attack Russia right afterwards saying: “My concern is also why Moscow has made an issue of it. Russia’s Foreign Minister Lavrov said the Euro-Atlantic enlargement in the Balkans was a provocation for Russia. And a few days ago Lavrov asserted during a visit to Serbia, the incidents in Macedonia had been provoked by NATO, the EU and Washington. I firmly reject that.”
In fact, the Russian Foreign Minister already expressed several times that the re-try of a “colored revolution” was behind the events in Macedonia (see text on page 3). A few days after the fighting in Kumanovo, there were demonstrations against the Prime Minister in the country’s capital and the demand for his resignation and new elections. In Western media, for example the internationally broadcast Deutsche Welle, these protests are praised to the skies as an expression of democratic rebellion. The Prime Minister is accused of illegal wiretapping and corruption. Criticism of the government leaders and demands for fundamental policy changes are also the tenor of the opinions voiced by the EU and the US. Louder than in recent years, a forthcoming EU membership of the country is requested by EU politicians. Particularly politicians from the European Parliament are flaunting: The integration process in the EU, so the MP of the European People’s Party in the European Parliament, Edward Kukan, was one of the important instruments that could help to overcome the crisis. The European Commission called on the Macedonian government to come back onto the “right track”, i.e. towards EU membership and EU policy.
Critical voices from Russia and from Serbia – where the operations in Macedonia are observed with the utmost concern, also by the government – are, however, dismissed as “conspiracy theory” – for example by the “Deutsche Presseagentur” (dpa, German Press Agency) on 19 May, or by the newspaper “Die Welt” on 20 May – and are even turned into their opposite. It is said that Russia wants to snatch Macedonia from the Western Alliance and split up the Western alliance. This is spread, for instance, by the SPD politician and former parliamentary secretary in the German Ministry of Defence Walter Kolbow. Kolbow was parliamentary secretary under the German Defence Minister Rudolf Scharping of the SPD, who in 1999 was one of the German spokesmen for the illegal war against Yugoslavia, which violated international law. Even the US government is very interested in the small country in the Balkans. The German channel n-tv.de reported on 20 May: “The crisis in the country increasingly worries the US government. The US government was closely observing the events in Macedonia, said the spokesman of the US State Department Jeff Rathke. The authorities would have to examine the accusations against the government, which resulted ‘from recent revelations’.”
On the other hand, the report on the Swiss website “Schweizer Magazin” is interesting, as well. In an article about the demonstrations against the Macedonian government on 20 May it reads: “Last weekend, several thousand demonstrators were hauled out to the place from all corners of the country, many of whom were even paid 500 denars for displaying their demonstration enthusiasm. Instructed by George Soros the media were asked to present the number of demonstrators as ‘100,000’ by using skillful camera angles.” In addition, the government opponents are said to have employed gangs of thugs.
Anyway, there are good reasons to get a more accurate picture, which goes beyond the reports of the Western mainstream media. This is the purpose of the following compilation to form a first impression.     •

1    An extensive analysis on the significance of the Balkans for European energy supply is provided by Jens Berger in his article “Europa und der kalte Pipelinekrieg”, www.nachdenkseiten.de, 20.5.2015

Was ist los in Mazedonien?

von Karl Müller

Vor 14 Jahren, im Jahr 2001, stand das nördlich an Serbien und südlich an Griechenland grenzende kleine Balkanland Mazedonien monatelang in den Schlagzeilen. Das Land drohte in einem Bürgerkrieg zu versinken. Kämpfer einer mazedonischen UÇK, unterstützt von der kosovarischen Organisation mit demselben Namen und auch von US-Geheimdiensten und US-Militärs, überzogen Mazedonien mit Anschlägen und Angriffen auf Polizei und Militär des Landes. Die UÇK-Kämpfer und ein grosser Teil der westlichen Politiker und Medien sprachen damals von einem berechtigten Kampf gegen die Diskriminierung der albanisch-stämmigen Bevölkerung im Lande, andere Stimmen ordneten die Gewalttaten der UÇK, ähnlich wie beim Kosovo, in grössere geopolitische Zusammenhänge ein. Im August 2001 einigten sich die Konfliktparteien auf ein Abkommen, das der albanisch-stämmigen Bevölkerung gesellschaftliche und politische Sonderrechte einräumte. Einer der damaligen führenden UÇK-Kämpfer aus dem Jahr 2001, Ali Ahmeti, sitzt heute in der Regierung des Landes.
Die vergangenen 14 Jahre war es ruhig geworden um das Land. Seit 2005 ist Mazedonien Beitrittskandidat für die EU. Es heisst sogar, das Land wolle in die Nato. Aber die Regierung des Landes hat sich den Sanktionen der US-Regierung und der EU-Regierungen gegen Russland nicht angeschlossen. Statt dessen hat sie sich bereit erklärt, eine Transitstrecke in Mazedonien für die von Russland geplante Pipeline durch die Türkei (Turkish Stream) zu bauen. Die Führung der Pipeline-Trasse durch die Türkei hatte Russ­land mit der Türkei Anfang 2015 ausgehandelt. Sie soll statt South Stream, deren geplanter Verlauf durch Bulgarien von der EU behindert wurde, gebaut werden, um russisches Erdgas ungehindert nach Südosteuropa bis hin nach Österreich transportieren zu können. Mazedonien ist als Transitland für den Pipelinebau sehr wichtig.1
Seit 2 Wochen ist Mazedonien in die Schlagzeilen zurückgekehrt. Anlass war eine Razzia der Polizei des Landes in der Stadt Kumanovo. Dort gibt es ehemalige UÇK-Kämpfer, die Attentate geplant haben sollen. Sehr wahrscheinlich sind sie auch am Drogenhandel beteiligt. Die Stadt gilt als Zwischenstation für aus Afghanistan kommende Drogentransporte. Sie liegt ganz nahe bei der Grenze zu Serbien, aber auch nahe der Grenze zum Kosovo, der Hauptumschlagplatz für die Drogentransporte nach Europa ist. Bei der Razzia in Kumanovo kam es zu stundenlangen Feuergefechten, bei denen 22 Menschen starben, darunter 8 Polizisten.
Westliche Medien kommentierten die Ereignisse unterschiedlich. Manche sprachen von einem zu harten Vorgehen der mazedonischen Sicherheitskräfte, das ethnisch motiviert gewesen sei und sich gegen die albanisch-stämmige Bevölkerung gerichtet habe. Andere behaupten, der Ministerpräsident des Landes habe die Feuergefechte in Kumanovo inszeniert, um von eigenen Problemen und der Unzufriedenheit der Bevölkerung abzulenken. Richard Howitt von den sozialistischen Fraktion im EU-Parlament meinte gar, die Bürger Mazedoniens hätten nach den Kämpfen in Kumanovo ein Trauma erlitten.
Interessanterweise hat aber selbst der ehemalige UÇK-Kämpfer und das heutige Regierungsmitglied Ali Ahmeti in einem Interview mit der österreichischen Zeitung «Die Presse» (19.5.2015) zugegeben: «Ich kann nicht verneinen, dass wir einige der Leute kennen, die daran beteiligt waren. Einige davon waren frühere Mitglieder der UÇK.» Um dann aber gleich im Anschluss Russ­land zu attackieren: «Meine Sorge ist auch: Warum hat Moskau aus der Sache ein Thema gemacht? Russlands Aussenminister Lawrow hat gesagt, die euroatlantische Erweiterung auf dem Balkan sei eine Provokation für Russland. Und vor einigen Tagen hat Lawrow bei einem Besuch in Serbien behauptet, die Vorfälle in Mazedonien seien von der Nato, der EU und Washington provoziert worden. Ich weise das massiv zurück.»
In der Tat hat der russische Aussenminister jetzt schon mehrfach geäussert, dass hinter den Vorgängen in Mazedonien der erneute Versuch einer «farbigen Revolution» steckt (siehe Text auf Seite 2). Ein paar Tage nach den Feuergefechten in Kumanovo gab es in der Hauptstadt des Landes Demonstrationen gegen den Ministerpräsidenten und die Forderung nach seinem Rücktritt und nach Neuwahlen. In westlichen Medien, zum Beispiel von der international ausgestrahlten Deutschen Welle, werden diese Proteste in den höchsten Tönen als Ausdruck demokratischen Aufbegehrens gewürdigt. Dem Ministerpräsidenten werden illegale Abhöraktionen und Korruption vorgeworfen. Kritik an der Regierungsspitze und Forderungen nach grundlegenden Änderungen der Politik sind auch der Tenor der Stellungnahmen aus der EU und den USA. Lauter als in den vergangenen Jahren wird von EU-Politikern ein baldiger EU-Beitritt des Landes gefordert. Besonders hervor tun sich dabei Politiker aus dem EU-Parlament. Der Integrationsprozess in die EU, so der Abgeordnete der Europäischen Volkspartei im EU-Parlament, Edward Kukan, sei eines der wichtigen Instrumente, die helfen könnten, die Krise zu überwinden. Die EU-Kommission forderte die mazedonische Regierung auf, wieder auf die «richtige Spur» zu kommen, also in Richtung EU-Mitgliedschaft und EU-Politik.
Kritische Stimmen aus Russland und aus Serbien – dort beobachtet man bis in die Regierung hinein die Vorgänge in Mazedonien mit grösster Sorge – werden hingegen als «Verschwörungstheorie» abgetan – so zum Beispiel von der Deutschen Presseagentur (dpa) am 19. Mai oder von der Zeitung «Die Welt» am 20. Mai – und sogar ins Gegenteil gewendet. So heisst es, Russland wolle Mazedonien dem westlichen Bündnis entreissen und das westliche Bündnis spalten. So zum Beispiel vom SPD-Politiker und ehemaligen Staatssekretär im deutschen Verteidigungsministerium Walter Kolbow. Kolbow war Staatssekretär unter dem deutschen Verteidigungsminister Rudolf Scharping von der SPD, der 1999 einer der deutschen Wortführer für den völkerrechtswidrigen Krieg gegen Jugoslawien war. Auch die US-Regierung zeigt sich an dem kleinen Land auf dem Balkan sehr interessiert. Bei n-tv.de hiess es am 20. Mai: «Die Krise im Land bereitet auch der US-Regierung Sorgen. Seine Regierung verfolge das Geschehen in Mazedonien genau, sagte der Sprecher des US-Aussenministeriums Jeff Rathke. Die Behörden müss­ten die gegen die Regierung erhobenen Vorwürfe prüfen, die sich ‹aus jüngsten Enthüllungen› ergäben.»
Interessant ist aber auch, was die Schweizer Internetseite Schweizer Magazin berichtet. Dort heisst es in einem Beitrag vom 20. Mai zu den Demonstrationen gegen die mazedonische Regierung: «Am vergangenen Wochenende wurden einige tausend Demonstranten aus allen Ecken des Landes mit Bussen herangekarrt, von denen viele für ihre Demonstrationsbegeisterung sogar 500 Denar erhielten. Sie sollten auf Anweisung von George Soros Medien mit geschickten Kameraeinstellungen die Zahl der Demonstranten als ‹100 000› präsentieren.» Zudem sollen von den Regierungsgegnern Schlägertrupps engagiert worden sein.
Wie dem auch sei, es gibt gute Gründe dafür, sich ein genaueres Bild zu machen, das über die Berichte der westlichen Mainstream-Medien hinausgeht. Dem dient für einen ersten Blick die folgende Zusammenstellung.    •

1    Eine ausführliche Analyse zur Bedeutung der Balkan-Staaten für die europäische Energieversorgung leistet der Artikel von Jens Berger: Europa und der kalte Pipeline-Krieg, www.nachdenkseiten.de  vom 20.5.2015