Wanted: Representatives who are not casting one eye at Brussels

Elections for the National Council and the Council of States on 18 October 2015

by Dr iur Marianne WŁthrich

In three weeks’ time, the National Council will be elected in Switzerland, and in almost all cantons the Councillors are up for election. A key electoral topic for the continued existence of the federal, direct democratic and neutral Switzerland is Switzerland’s relationship with the European Union. Whereas several political parties had previously included the EU membership in their programme, today only the Social Democrats (SP) and the Greens openly advocate the fact that they are seeking membership of the EU in the 2015 elections, claiming that Switzerland would then have its “full say” according to SP position paper. (How much say the many, only theoretically “equal” small states will have beside the great powers in the EU is in the lap of the gods, however!) The other political parties favour the “continuation of the bilateral way”, however with very different span. So the ones ask for – in spite of the federal authorities’ duty, determined by the sovereign, to regain independent control of immigration – the continuation of the free movement of persons and the extension of the bilateral agreements at any cost. Many candidates do not even shrink back from an outline agreement dictated by the EU. By contrast, there is the requirement of other candidates: “no connection with the EU and no recognition of foreign judges, so that we can determine our destiny independently”. We citizens will have the choice on 18 October.

It has become obvious well enough for those who did not realise it prior to the votes on the Bilaterals I (May 2000) and the Schengen-Dublin Agreements (June 2005): Switzerland is not regarded and treated as an equal party to the contract by the EU, but should kindly adapt to the respective state of mind and so-called legal developments of the powerful partner. Unfortunately, the Federal Council and its team in the federal administration and diplomacy as well as some parliamentarians have been busily engaged in complying with the current requests by the superpower for the last few years. “Autonomous reenactment” is the euphemism used for the implementation of EU bodies’ suggestions into Swiss law.
Do you remember the “Great Stucki”? In Current Concerns No. 23 of 15 September 2015 we presented this great Swiss negotiator, who as fearlessly opposed the Nazi regime in the thirties as he opposed the three Western Allies in New York in 1946. Regrettably, today’s Swiss leaders are rarely cut from the same cloth.

Institutional outline agreement: farewell to sovereign Switzerland

Apparently, the obedient “autonomous reenactment”, adopted by the majority of the Federal Council and the Federal Assembly members, is not enough for the EU rulers. With their peculiar lust for basic and supposedly indisputable rules – such as the ideal dimensions of a cucumber or a rabbit hutch – the EU Commission insists on “mechanisms to ensure a more uniform and efficient application of existing and future agreements in the market access area”. Translated into understandable (Swiss) language: The European Commission does not approve of the Swiss authorities having their electorate breathings down their necks, who also want to have a say and sometimes refuse the “uniform” adoption of EU law on Swiss territory. And the EU bureaucracy could proceed “more efficiently” – assisted by our federal administration – if with each weightier regulation they did not have to wait for the referendum deadline of 100 days and perhaps even a referendum whose outcome woud be equally uncertain.
Well, we cannot expect anything better from a great power structure. It is however much more serious that the Federal Council does obviously not object to moving away from the Swiss sovereign state by granting the EU fundamental interventions into our constitutional state. An institutional outline agreement is intended to regulate first how the bilateral agreements could be adjusted to unilateral changes of the EU acquis, secondly how the EU can monitor the correct application of the agreement (on Swiss territory), and how thirdly, “a homogeneous interpretation of bilateral agreements [can be] ensured” and fourthly, which body should decide in case of discrepancies between Switzerland and the EU (see “Institutionelle Fragen: Informationsblatt”, in: www.eda.admin.ch).
The body that would monitor and interpret the Swiss application of EU law consistently and decide on disputes, would certainly not be the Swiss Federal Court, but the European Court of Justice, which only very rarely decides in favour of the Member State in processes between the EU Commission and EU Member States – let alone for the non-member Switzerland. Or it would be the so-called EFTA Court, which has actually nothing to do with the EFTA, but – according to its (Swiss) President Carl Baudenbacher – ensures that its decisions with respect to the EEA countries Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland will comply with the ECJ decisions. Baudenbacher himself calls the EFTA Court the “little brother of ECJ” (see Current Concerns No 26 of 28 August 2013).
To summarise in one sentence: with an institutional outline agreement the EU could unilaterally change and interpret “homogenously” those agreements, that Switzerland settled with the EU, at any time. And if we were not willing to do so, the ECJ would determine the law: foreign law and foreign judges!

This is how it would probably operate with an institutional outline agreement

A recent example is the “advancement” of the Schengen-Dublin Agreement by the EU-Commission: For the placement of refugees in the EU Member States, a permanent distribution key is to be fixed. According to EU Commission President Juncker Switzerland – together with the EEA countries Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein – is to be included into the distribution key dictated by Brussels and “accept the Dublin legislation and its development without exception”. Otherwise, “the agreements in question would be terminated”, the EU Commission announced in the daily press.
Not that we Swiss were not prepared to take in refugees or other people in need of protection. We have always done so, since the protection of persecuted people is part of our understanding of the state. As the depositary state of the Geneva Conventions and the seat of the ICRC it is quite normal of course for Switzerland and for us Swiss to contribute, either by granting the right to asylum or temporary admission for people from war and crisis areas, or by means of humanitarian aid in the refugee and IDP camps on site.
However, turning the distribution model of the European Commission – which has not even been approved by the Member States yet – quite easily into the “advancement” of the Schengen-Dublin Agreement and suppressing any opposition in advance by threatening opponents with dismissal, that’s a bit thick. Although we actually might take the threat easy, because we do not need Schengen-Dublin: We have indeed mastered our border patrol and our asylum law as well as the bureaucrats in Brussels, no problem.
For us, the citizens, the current superpower roar of the European Commission is a good example for what we would have to face in an institutional outline agreement. The European Commission could then come every day and impose on us the so-called “development” of the numerous bilateral agreements (there are more than 120 of them). Each kicking against it would be regulated by the EU Court (see above). There they are totally wrong! The Swiss people will never ever agree on their own disempowerment! Federal Councillor Burk≠halter and his top negotiator Jacques de Watteville should always remember this.
“Autonomous pre-enactment” –

the Federal Council lets it through on the nod, even in advance

Mr Juncker and his troupe will rejoice: his authoritarian style is not even necessary towards Switzerland, since the Federal Council has already settled matters in advance. On 18 September 2015, the Federal Councillors Sommaruga and Burkhalter met the media. While Didier Burkhalter announced the sensible decision of the Federal Council to use an additional 70 million francs for the refugee assistance locally, Simonetta Sommaruga revealed astonishing facts: Without waiting for the official request from the EU to Switzerland, she announced that the Federal Council had already “decided” on the EU’s claims in advance. Switzerland would participate in the 1st Relocation Programme (distribution of 40,000 people in need of protection) with the inclusion of 1,500 persons, and also in the 2nd Relocation Programme (120,000 people in need of protection), after consultation with the cantonal governments (https: //www.admin.ch, media conference, 18 September 2015).
So no “autonomous reenactment”, but as it were, an “autonomous pre-enactment”. Really autonomous, because the unilateral adoption of law happened voluntarily before it was clear whether the EU would find an agreement among themselves.

Renunciation of the national state: “There are no more national solutions”

Cleverly Ms Sommaruga made use of the EU’s difficulties to proclaim a kind of Socialist International. At the media conference she diagnosed the lack of a common European asylum policy and engages for (even) more power to the party headquarters, sorry – the headquarters in Brussels. Yes, she even offered the EU to go ahead in this direction:
“We are well prepared, highly legitimised, because we have demonstrated in Europe that you can perform a credible, consistent asylum policy. But now it is clear: There are no more national solutions. Although we have done our homework: There are no national responses to this European problem. And that’s why we want to do our part as well.” (Simonetta Sommaruga at the media conference, 18 September 2015)
Where is the logic? If the small country Switzerland brings about a better asylum policy (which has even been praised by the mightiest EU lady during her recent visit to Bern) than the Schengen Dublin program, – which was highly praised before its introduction but then soon turned out to be practically useless, – the National State Switzerland is nevertheless obviously superior to the EU’s centralized system, isn’t it? No, Sommaruga said, additional instruments “for special cases” were needed in addition to the Dublin mechanism, in short “a common, fair European asylum policy”. In any case she wanted to hurry Brussels up: “The Federal Council has also decided to commission the FDJP and the FDFA, to engage in the ongoing discussions with the EU for a lasting and binding distributing mechanism of people in need of protection within Europe.” (Media conference 18 September 2015)
We can only hope that chief negotiator de Watteville does not forget to demand something from the EU in return for the concessions that Switzerland made.
After this press conference, we can imagine that many people already have a vision of how they will take their seats in the EU headquarters, one day. Only the electorate was able to stop them up to now and we will continue to do so.
As I said: We Swiss have the choice on 18 October. And do not forget: The elected National Councillors and Councillors of States will elect the Federal Council in December.     •

Gesucht: Volksvertreter, die nicht mit einem Auge nach Brüssel schielen

National- und Ständeratswahlen am 18. Oktober 2015

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

In drei Wochen wird in der Schweiz der Nationalrat gewählt, in fast allen Kantonen stehen auch die Ständeräte zur Wahl. Ein für den Weiterbestand der föderalistischen, direktdemokratischen und neutralen Schweiz zentrales Wahlthema ist das Verhältnis der Schweiz zur Europäischen Union. Während früher verschiedene politische Parteien den EU-Beitritt in ihrem Programm hatten, stehen im Wahljahr 2015 nur die Sozialdemokraten und die Grünen offen dazu, dass sie die EU-Mitgliedschaft anstreben, weil die Schweiz dann gemäss SP-Positionspapier «volles Mitspracherecht» hätte. (Wieviel Mitspracherecht die vielen, theoretisch gleichberechtigten Kleinstaaten neben den Grossmächten in der EU haben, steht allerdings in den Sternen!) Die übrigen politischen Parteien sind für die «Weiterführung des Bilateralen Weges», allerdings mit sehr unterschiedlicher Spannweite. So verlangen die einen – trotz der vom Souverän bestimmten Pflicht der Bundesbehörden, die Zuwanderung wieder selbst zu steuern – die Weiterführung der Personenfreizügigkeit bzw. die Ausweitung der Bilateralen Verträge um jeden Preis. Auch vor einem von der EU diktierten Rahmenabkommen schrecken viele Kandidaten nicht zurück. Demgegenüber steht die Forderung anderer Kandidaten: «Keinen Anschluss an die EU und keine Anerkennung fremder Richter, damit wir selber unsere Geschicke bestimmen können». Wir Bürger haben am 18. Oktober die Wahl.

Wem es vor den Abstimmungen über die Bilateralen I (Mai 2000) und Schengen-Dublin (Juni 2005) nicht klar war, der konnte inzwischen zur Genüge erleben: Die Schweiz wird von der EU nicht als gleichberechtigter Vertragspartner gesehen und behandelt, sondern soll sich gefälligst den jeweiligen Befindlichkeiten und sogenannten Rechtsentwicklungen des mächtigen Partners anpassen. Den laufenden Forderungen der Grossmacht nachzukommen, damit sind seit Jahren der Bundesrat und seine Mannschaft in der Bundesverwaltung und der Diplomatie sowie leider auch etliche Parlamentarier eifrig beschäftigt. «Autonomer Nachvollzug» wird die Umsetzung der Ansinnen der EU-Gremien in Schweizer Recht schönfärberisch genannt.
Erinnern Sie sich an den «Grossen Stucki»? In Zeit-Fragen Nr. 23 vom 1.9.2015 wurde dieser in jeder Beziehung grosse Schweizer Verhandlungsführer vorgestellt, der sich dem nationalsozialistischen Regime in den Dreissiger Jahren ebenso unerschrocken entgegenstellte wie den drei westlichen Allierten 1946 in New York. Bedauerlicherweise sind die heutigen Schweizer Verantwortungsträger nur selten aus demselben Holz geschnitzt.

Institutionelles Rahmenabkommen: Abschied von der souveränen Schweiz

Offenbar genügt der folgsame «autonome Nachvollzug» durch die Mehrheit des Bundesrates und der Bundesversammlung den EU-Machthabern nicht. Mit ihrer eigenartigen Gier nach prinzipiellen und vermeintlich unanfechtbaren Regelungen – wie etwa den idealen Massen einer Gurke oder eines Chüngelistalls – pocht die EU-Kommission gegenüber der Schweiz auf «Mechanismen, die eine einheitlichere und effizientere Anwendung bestehender und zukünftiger Verträge im Marktzugangsbereich gewährleisten sollen». In verständliches (Schweizer) Deutsch übersetzt: Der EU-Kommission passt es nicht, dass die Schweizer Behörden ewigs das cheibe Stimmvolk im Nacken haben, das auch noch ein Wörtchen mitreden will und ab und zu der «einheitlichen» Anwendung von EU-Recht auf Schweizer Territorium eine Absage erteilt. Und «effizienter» könnte die EU-Bürokratie – unter Assistenz unserer Bundesverwaltung – schon vorankommen, wenn nicht bei jeder gewichtigeren Neuregelung die Referendumsfrist von 100 Tagen und womöglich sogar eine Volksabstimmung mit unsicherem Ausgang abgewartet werden müsste.
Nun, von einem Grossmacht-Gebilde kann man ja auch nichts Besseres erwarten. Viel bedenklicher ist aber, dass der Bundesrat offenbar nichts dagegen einzuwenden hat, sich vom souveränen Schweizer Bundesstaat zu verabschieden, indem er der EU fundamentale Eingriffe in unseren Rechtsstaat erlauben will. Ein institutionelles Rahmenabkommen soll nämlich erstens regeln, wie die bilateralen Verträge den einseitigen Änderungen des EU-Acquis angepasst würden, wie die EU zweitens die korrekte Anwendung der Abkommen (auf Schweizer Territorium) überwachen kann, wie drittens eine «homogene Auslegung der bilateralen Abkommen sichergestellt werden» kann und welche Instanz viertens bei Unstimmigkeiten zwischen der Schweiz und der EU entscheiden soll (vgl. «Institutionelle Fragen: Informationsblatt», in: https://www.eda.admin.ch).
Die Instanz, welche die Schweizer Anwendung von EU-Recht überwachen, einheitlich auslegen und über Streitigkeiten entscheiden würde, wäre sicher nicht das Schweizerische Bundesgericht, sondern der Europäische Gerichtshof EuGH, der bei Prozessen zwischen der EU-Kommission und einem EU-Mitgliedstaat nur ganz selten zugunsten des Mitgliedstaates entscheidet – geschweige denn für das Nicht-Mitglied Schweiz. Oder es wäre der sogenannte Efta-Gerichtshof, der tatsächlich mit der Efta nichts zu tun hat, sondern nach Aussage seines (Schweizer) Präsidenten Carl Baudenbacher dafür sorgt, dass dessen Entscheide gegenüber den EWR-Staaten Norwegen, Liechtenstein und Island den EuGH-Entscheiden entsprechen. Baudenbacher selbst nennt den Efta-Gerichtshof den «kleinen Bruder des EuGH» (vgl. Zeit-Fragen Nr. 26 vom 21.8.2013).
Zusammenfassend in einem Satz: Mit einem institutionellen Rahmenabkommen könnten Verträge, welche die Schweiz mit der EU abschliesst, jederzeit einseitig durch die EU abgeändert oder «homogen ausgelegt» werden, und falls uns das nicht passt, gibt der EuGH den Tarif durch: Fremdes Recht und fremde Richter!

So etwa würde es mit einem institutionellen Rahmenabkommen laufen

Ein aktuelles Beispiel ist die «Weiterentwicklung» des Schengen-Dublin-Abkommens durch die EU-Kommission: Für die Plazierung der Flüchtlinge in den EU-Mitgliedstaaten soll ein permanenter Verteilschlüssel festgelegt werden. Laut EU-Kommissionspräsident Juncker soll die Schweiz – zusammen mit den EWR-Staaten Norwegen, Island und Liechtenstein – in den von Brüssel diktierten Verteilschlüssel eingeplant werden und «ohne Ausnahmen das Dublin-Recht und seine Weiterentwicklung akzeptieren». Andernfalls «werden die betreffenden Abkommen beendet», so liess sich die EU-Kommission gemäss Tagespresse verlauten.
Nicht, dass wir Schweizer nicht bereit wären, Flüchtlinge oder andere schutzbedürftige Menschen aufzunehmen. Wir tun dies seit jeher, denn der Schutz verfolgter Menschen ist Teil unseres Staatsverständnisses. Als Depositarstaat der Genfer Konventionen und Sitz des IKRK ist es für die Schweiz und für uns Schweizer selbstverständlich, unseren Beitrag zu leisten, sei es durch die Gewährung des Asylrechts oder die vorläufige Aufnahme von Menschen aus Kriegs- und Krisengebieten, sei es durch humanitäre Hilfe in den Flüchtlings- und Vertriebenenlagern vor Ort.
Aber: Den Verteilschlüssel der EU-Kommission – der übrigens durch die Mitgliedstaaten noch gar nicht abgesegnet ist – ganz einfach zur «Weiterentwicklung» des Schengen-Dublin-Abkommens zu erklären und jeden Widerspruch schon im voraus mit der Kündigungsdrohung abzuklemmen, ist dicke Post. Obwohl wir die Drohung ja eigentlich gelassen nehmen könnten, denn wir brauchen Schengen-Dublin nicht: So gut wie die Brüsseler Bürokraten haben wir unseren Grenzschutz und unser Asylrecht noch allemal selbst gemeistert.
Für uns Bürger ist das aktuelle Grossmachtgetöse der EU-Kommission ein anschauliches Beispiel, was uns mit einem institutionellen Rahmenabkommen blühen würde. Die EU-Kommission könnte jeden Tag daherkommen und uns die sogenannte «Weiterentwicklung» eines der zahlreichen Bilateralen Verträge (es gibt über 120 davon) aufzwingen. Jedes Aufmucken würde vom EU-Gerichtshof erledigt (siehe oben). Da irren die sich aber gewaltig! Das Schweizer Volk wird seiner eigenen Entmachtung nie und nimmer zustimmen! Das können sich auch Bundesrat Burkhalter und sein Oberverhandler Jacques de Watteville merken.

«Autonomer Vorvollzug» – Der Bundesrat nickt schon im voraus

Herr Juncker und seine Truppe werden sich freuen: Gegenüber der Schweiz ist sein autoritärer Stil gar nicht nötig. Denn der Bundesrat erledigt die Angelegenheit schon im voraus. Am 18. September 2015 sind die Bundesräte Sommaruga und Burkhalter vor die Medien getreten. Während Didier Burkhalter den sinnvollen Beschluss des Bundesrates mitteilte, 70 Millionen Franken zusätzlich für die Flüchtlingshilfe vor Ort einzusetzen, enthüllte Simonetta Sommaruga Erstaunliches: Ohne das offizielle Gesuch der EU an die Schweiz abzuwarten, gab sie bekannt, dass der Bundesrat deren Forderungen bereits im voraus «beschlossen» habe. Die Schweiz werde sich am 1. Relocation-Programm (Verteilung von 40 000 Schutzbedürftigen) mit der Aufnahme von 1500 schutzbedürftigen Personen beteiligen, und am 2. (120 000 Schutzbedürftige) ebenfalls, nach Rücksprache mit den Kantonsregierungen (https://www.admin.ch, Medienkonferenz vom 18. September).
Also kein «autonomer Nachvollzug», sondern sozusagen ein «autonomer Vorvollzug». Wirklich autonom, denn die einseitige Rechtsübernahme erfolgt freiwillig, bevor klar ist, ob innerhalb der EU eine Einigung zustande kommt.

Absage an die Nationalstaaten: «Es gibt keine nationalen Lösungen mehr»

Geschickt nutzt Frau Sommaruga die Schwierigkeiten der EU zur Ausrufung einer Art von sozialistischer Internationale. Als Ursache des heutigen Schlamassels diagnostiziert sie anlässlich der Medienkonferenz das Fehlen einer gemeinsamen europäischen Asyl­politik und setzt sich für (noch) mehr Macht der Parteizentrale, pardon der Zentrale in Brüssel, ein. Ja, sie bietet sogar an, der EU in diese Richtung voranzugehen:
«Wir sind gut gerüstet, höchst legitimiert, weil wir auch in Europa aufgezeigt haben, dass man eine glaubwürdige, konsequente Asylpolitik durchführen kann. Aber es ist jetzt klar: Es gibt keine nationalen Lösungen mehr. Auch wenn wir unsere Hausaufgaben gemacht haben: Es gibt keine nationalen Antworten auf dieses europäische Problem. Und deshalb wollen wir hier unseren Beitrag auch leisten.» (Simonetta Sommaruga an der Medienkonferenz vom 18. September)
Wo bleibt da die Logik? Wenn der Kleinstaat Schweiz eine bessere Asylpolitik zustandebringt (was sogar von der mächtigsten EU-Dame anlässlich ihres kürzlichen Besuchs in Bern lobend erwähnt wurde) als das vor seiner Einführung hochgepriesene Schengen-Dublin-Programm, das sich dann bald als praktisch untauglich erwies, ist doch offensichtlich der Nationalstaat Schweiz dem zentralistischen System der EU überlegen, oder etwa nicht? Nein, so Sommaruga, es brauche eben über den Dublin-Mechanismus hinaus zusätzliche Instrumente «für besondere Lagen», kurz «eine gemeinsame, eine gerechte europäische Asylpolitik». Sie jedenfalls will in Brüssel Dampf machen: «Der Bundesrat hat ebenfalls beschlossen, dass er das EJPD und das EDA beauftragt, sich im Rahmen der laufenden Gespräche mit der EU für einen dauerhaften und verbindlichen Verteilmechanismus von schutzbedürftigen Personen innerhalb von Europa einzusetzen.» (Medienkonferenz vom 18. September)
Es ist nur zu hoffen, dass Chefunterhändler de Watteville nicht vergisst, für das Entgegenkommen der Schweiz auch umgekehrt etwas von der EU zu fordern.
Nach dieser Medienkonferenz können wir erahnen, dass etliche Leute bereits eine Vision davon haben, wie sie einst ihren Platz in der EU-Zentrale einzunehmen gedenken. Nur hat das Stimmvolk sie bisher daran gehindert und wird dies auch weiterhin tun.
Wie gesagt: Wir Schweizer haben am 18. Oktober die Wahl. Und nicht vergessen: Die gewählten National- und Ständeräte werden im Dezember den Bundesrat wählen.    •