Japan’s Government is calling for the closure of all Departments of Humanities and Social Sciences at the Universities

jpv. The news came like a thunderbolt in Japan: At least 26 universities have already agreed to close its departments of humanities and social sciences or at least to cut them down drastically. 17 of them have indicated that they will not accept any new students in these subjects.
On 8 June, the Japanese Minister of National Education, Hakubun Shimomura, informed the presidents of the 86 universities of the country that they “should close its departments of humanities and social sciences or to change them in order to meet the needs of society more adequately.” It called for “focussing on the areas of study that are useful to the economy”.
The opposition to these measures has come immediately. In August, particularly, the Council of Science of Japan has expressed “strong concerns about such a policy for the future of the humanities and social sciences”. The most prestigious universities in Japan, those of Tokyo and Kyoto have declared that they will not implement these government directives.
Certain observers in Japan fear, however, that the recalcitrant universities could be forced through financial pressures to adopt this policy. The demand of the Minister of Education is aligned with the view of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe. He believes that “education must adapt to the needs of society.” In a lecture at the OECD in 2014, he had stated that “instead of the highly theoretical academic research we want to promote a more technical and professional education, an education that is tailored to the needs of society.”     •

Source: Summary of a report, published in “Le Monde” dated 17.9.2015

Japans Regierung fordert die Schliessung aller Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftsabteilungen an den Universitäten

jpv. Ein Donnerschlag in Japan. Mindestens 26 Universitäten haben bereits eingewilligt, ihre Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftsabteilungen zu schliessen oder zumindest drastisch herunterzufahren. 17 davon haben mitgeteilt, dass sie keine neuen Studenten in diesen Fächern aufnehmen werden.
Am 8. Juni hat der japanische Minister für nationale Bildung, Hakubun Shimomura, den Präsidenten der 86 Universitäten des Landes mitgeteilt, dass sie «ihre Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaftsabteilungen auflösen oder so verändern sollen, dass sie den Bedürfnissen der Gesellschaft besser entsprechen». Man müsse sich «auf die Studienbereiche konzentrieren, die für die Wirtschaft nützlich sind».
Die Opposition auf diese Massnahmen hat nicht lange auf sich warten lassen. Insbesondere der Wissenschaftsrat Japans hat im August seine «starke Besorgnis über eine solche Richtlinie für die Zukunft der Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften» zum Ausdruck gebracht. Die prestigeträchtigsten Universitäten Japans, diejenigen von Tokio und Kyoto, haben erklärt, dass sie sich diesen staatlichen Direktiven nicht unterziehen werden.
Gewisse Beobachter in Japan befürchten jedoch, dass über finanziellen Druck die widerspenstigen Universitäten dazu gebracht werden könnten, sich dieser Politik zu unterziehen. Die Forderung des Bildungsministers entspricht der Sicht des Premierministers Shinzo Abe. Er ist der Meinung, dass «die Bildung sich den Bedürfnissen der Gesellschaft anpassen muss». In einem Vortrag bei der OECD 2014 hatte er erklärt, dass «wir anstelle der hochtheoretischen universitären Forschungen eher eine technische und professionelle Bildung fördern wollen, die auf die Bedürfnisse der Gesellschaft zugeschnitten ist».    •

Quelle: Zusammenfassung einer Meldung, erschienen in «Le Monde» vom 17.9.2015