Causing the European orchestra to resound

az. How can you cause the European orchestra to resound? This is the central question moving the citizens throughout Europe and having already moved them for more than fifty years. There are voices becoming louder now, which postulate further political steps towards the United States of Europe. They consider this as the only way of stabilising the EU’s situation. At his meeting with German Chancellor Angela Merkel, President Hollande addressed once again the issue of a common economic and fiscal policy. This is now postulated by the Italian Finance Minister Pier Carlo Padoan as well, a former OECD chief economist. The same tones are coming from the headquarters in Brussels. US President Barack Obama has also endorsed this view. The refugee issue too is to be controlled centrally. And what is Switzerland’s mentality?
Today, Switzerland’s relationship with the European Union is based on two pillars:

  1. The 1972 great Free Trade Agreement (between the EFTA countries and the former EC). It was adopted with 71 per cent Yes-votes by the Swiss people and by all cantons. In the following years, a variety of smaller and larger supplementary agreements have additionally been concluded. About 200 of such agreements are mentioned – especially concerning the service sector.
  2. The Bilateral Agreements I and II of 1999 and of 2004.

The Free Trade Agreement of 1972 is an economic treaty facilitating the exchange of goods (mainly industrial goods) and services. Agriculture was deliberately not included. In contrast, the Bilateral Agreements I and II, include many elements such as the free movement of persons, transit traffic, the opening of borders (Schengen), the asylum system (Dublin) and much more. These are all elements tying Switzerland politically and therefore they are giving these agreements a different and more problematic quality than the former ones: “The (bilateral) agreements with the EU have been negotiated under the implicit assumption that Switzerland in the foreseeable future will be a member of the EU, which is why only little attention was paid to active participation and co-determination.”(Former Secretary of State Franz Blankart, Switzerland’s chief negotiator at the EEA, in NZZ am Sonntag 25.10.2009) It is therefore not a surprise, that today a framework agreement is imposed on Switzerland by the EU, under which in future Switzerland would have to simply accept the EU’s legislation – whereas the people’s participation is excluded.
The here presented brochure was published in Germany in 2014 and is based on a series of articles in Current Concerns from the year 2012. It highlights the founding years of the EEC, the foundation of the EFTA, and especially the political process leading up to the Free Trade Agreement of 1972, being adopted by the people with an overwhelming majority, never questioned until today. The brochure is based on original documents electronically accessible from the collection “Diplomatic Documents of Switzerland”. This has been created in collaboration with the Federal Archives, which provided the internal documents from the years before 1970: Protocols of the Federal Council meetings, reports and letters from the embassies abroad or memos from the employees of the Federal Council having attended the meetings with representatives of foreign governments. Furthermore, with regard to the issue of European integration, a number of papers are to be mentioned from the so-called ambassador conferences, with which information about the political situation and the talks with the then EEC was usually provided to the foreign representatives by a Federal Councillor or a Minister. When reading such internal documents, the reader gains an accurate picture of what happened – as it is not possible in the current world of politics. This includes treasures such as an interview transcript of Federal President Wahlen with General de Gaulle, who talked about European integration in Paris in 1961, which today can be downloaded in its original wording. (www.dodis.ch/30270)

Causing the European orchestra to resound again

On 5 September 1969 – in the run-up of Switzerland’s free trade agreement with the EC – Minister Weitnauer, Delegate for Trade Agreements, assembled the ambassadors on the theme “Possibilities and Limits of Economic Integration”. In a broad-based, national political lecture he raised the question, what conditions were to be met in order to form a common state in Europe. He came to the conclusion that most of these conditions were not given. Politics and the economy would have to be separated in order to cause the European orchestra to sound (what actually happened in the Free Trade Agreement of 1972). His remarks can be read here: www.dodis.ch/30861.

Jean Monnet/USA concept

The European policy of the United States is as well becoming clear when one reads the brochure, being called “Jean Monnet/USA concept” by Minister Weitenauer. The United States clearly argued against free cooperation of sovereign European states in the economic field, as it was supported by the Swiss Federal Council and the then German Minister for economic affairs Ludwig Erhard – and called for the formation of a supranational, political union. Even more: The United States urged the Europeans to dissolve the EFTA as a liberal union, and advised Switzerland to commit itself to the EEC. After a visit by US Undersecretary of State George Ball, this was commented by Federal President Wahlen as follows: “The United States support the aim of the EEC and strive for the creation of the United States of Europe. Whoever shut themselves off from that goal, cannot count on Washington’s sympathy.” (www.dodis.ch/15113, 30116, 30279, 30358, 30835 and others)
The brochure examines the work of Jean Monnet, being considered as one of the “fathers” of the EU. In particular, the “Monnet method” is part of today’s politics. He himself describes it as follows: “L’homme n’accepte le changement que sous l’Empire de la nécessité.” (Eric Roussel, Jean Monnet, p. 68, Paris 1996 “Man accepts changes only under the pressure of necessity”) In simple terms this means: Political difficulties serve as a lever to promote the development towards a political union.
By these documents available today history becomes alive. Whoever reads them and compares the reflections of that time with the political situation of today, inevitably come to the conclusion that history is admittedly not repeating itself, but that there are definite constants. Detecting them and drawing the right conclusions from them, eases the way into the future. •

Werner Wüthrich. “Das Europäische Orchester wieder zum Klingen bringen” (Causing the European orchestra to resound. The history of the European Union from a Swiss perspective), Bergen 2014. The brochure is available in “Büecher-Chorb Aadorf” (004152 366 22 60; info(at)buecher-chorb.ch)

Das Europäische Orchester zum Klingen bringen

az. Wie kann man das europäische Orchester zum Klingen bringen? Das ist die zentrale Frage, die die Bürger in ganz Europa bewegt und die die Bürger schon vor mehr als fünfzig Jahren bewegt hat. Stimmen werden heute wieder lauter, die weitere politische Schritte in Richtung der Vereinigten Staaten von Europa verlangen. Nur so könne die Lage in der EU stabilisiert werden. Staatspräsident Hollande sprach beim Treffen mit Bundeskanzlerin Merkel ein weiteres Mal eine gemeinsame Wirtschafts- und Fiskalpolitik an. Das gleiche verlangt nun auch der italienische Finanzminister Pier Carlo Padoan, ehemaliger Chefökonom der OECD. Aus der Zentrale in Brüssel kommen ebensolche Töne. US-Präsident Obama hat sich ebenfalls in diesem Sinn geäussert. Auch die Flüchtlingsfrage soll zentral geregelt werden. Und wie tickt die Schweiz?
Die Beziehung der Schweiz zur Europäischen Union basiert heute auf zwei Säulen:

  1. dem grossen Freihandelsvertrag von 1972 (zwischen den EFTA-Ländern und der damaligen EG). Er wurde vom Schweizer Volk mit 71 Prozent Ja und von sämtlichen Kantonen angenommen. In den Jahren danach sind noch eine Vielzahl von kleineren und grösseren Ergänzungsverträgen abgeschlossen worden. Gegen 200 solcher Abmachungen werden genannt – vor allem für den Dienstleistungsbereich.
  2. den Bilateralen Verträgen I und II aus den Jahren 1999 und 2004.

Der Freihandelsvertrag von 1972 ist ein Wirtschaftsvertrag, der den Austausch von Gütern (vor allem von Industriegütern) und Dienstleistungen erleichtert. Die Landwirtschaft wurde bewusst nicht einbezogen. Die Bilateralen Verträge I und II enthalten im Unterschied dazu zahlreiche Elemente wie die Personenfreizügigkeit, den Transitverkehr, die Öffnung der Grenzen (Schengen), das Asylwesen (Dublin) und manches mehr. Es sind dies alles Elemente, die die Schweiz politisch anbinden und diesen Verträgen damit eine andere, problematischere Qualität geben als den früheren: «Die (bilateralen) Verträge mit der EU wurden unter der impliziten Annahme ausgehandelt, dass die Schweiz in absehbarer Zeit Mitglied in der EU sein werde, weshalb der gestaltenden Mitwirkung kaum Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt wurde.» (alt Staatssekretär Franz Blankart, Verhandlungsführer der Schweiz beim EWR, in der NZZ am Sonntag vom 25.10.2009) Es erstaunt deshalb wenig, dass die EU heute der Schweiz einen Rahmenvertrag aufdrängt, wonach künftig letztere ihre Rechtserlasse – unter Ausschaltung der Mitwirkung des Volkes – einfach übernehmen müsste.
Die hier vorgestellte Broschüre ist im Jahr 2014 in Deutschland erschienen und basiert auf einer Artikelfolge in Zeit-Fragen aus dem Jahr 2012. Sie beleuchtet die Gründungsjahre der EWG, die Gründung der EFTA und vor allem das politische Geschehen im Vorfeld des Freihandelsvertrags von 1972, der vom Volk mit überwältigendem Mehr angenommen und bis heute nie in Frage gestellt wurde. Die Broschüre basiert auf elektronisch abrufbaren Originaldokumenten der Sammlung «Diplomatische Dokumente der Schweiz». Diese ist in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bundesarchiv erstellt worden, das die internen Dokumente aus den Jahren vor 1970 zur Verfügung gestellt hat: Protokolle von Bundesratssitzungen, Berichte und Briefe aus den Botschaften im Ausland oder Aktennotizen von Mitarbeitern des Bundesrates, die an den Besprechungen mit ausländischen Regierungsvertretern dabei waren. Zur Frage der europäischen Integration sind etliche Referate aus den sogenannten Botschafterkonferenzen zu nennen, mit denen meist ein Bundesrat oder ein Minister die Auslandsvertretungen über die politische Situation und die Gespräche mit der damaligen EWG informierten. Mit solchen internen Unterlagen kann sich der Leser ein präzises Bild über die Geschehnisse machen – so wie es im aktuellen Politikbetrieb gar nicht möglich ist. Dazu gehören Kostbarkeiten wie zum Beispiel ein Gesprächsprotokoll von Bundespräsident Wahlen mit General de Gaulle, die sich 1961 in Paris über die europäische Integration unterhalten haben, und das heute im Original heruntergeladen werden kann. (www.dodis.ch/30270)

Das Europäische Orchester wieder zum Klingen bringen

Am 5. September 1969 – im Vorfeld des Freihandelsvertrages der Schweiz mit der EG – versammelte Minister Weitnauer, Delegierter für Handelsverträge, die Botschafter zum Thema «Möglichkeiten und Grenzen der Wirtschaftsintegration». In einem breit gefächerten, staatspolitischen Vortrag warf er die Frage auf, welche Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein müssten, um in Europa einen gemeinsamen Staat zu bilden. Er kam zum Schluss, dass die meisten davon nicht gegeben sind. Politik und Wirtschaft müssten getrennt werden, um das europäische Orchester zum Klingen zu bringen (was im Freihandelsvertrag von 1972 dann auch geschehen ist). Nachzulesen sind seine Ausführungen unter www.dodis.ch/30861.

Jean Monnet/USA-Konzept

Deutlich wird in der Broschüre auch die Europapolitik der USA, die Minister Weitnauer als «Jean Monnet/USA-Konzept» bezeichnete. Die USA sprachen sich deutlich gegen die freiheitliche Zusammenarbeit souveräner europäischer Staaten auf wirtschaftlichem Gebiet aus, wie sie der Schweizer Bundesrat und auch der damalige deutsche Wirtschaftsminister Ludwig Erhard befürworteten – und plädierten für die Bildung einer supranationalen, politischen Union. Mehr noch: Die USA drängten, die EFTA als freiheitlichen Zusammenschluss wieder aufzulösen, und legten der Schweiz nahe, sich an die EWG zu binden. Bundespräsident Wahlen kommentierte dies nach einem Besuch von US-Unterstaats­sekretär George Ball wie folgt: «Die USA unterstützen die Zielsetzung der EWG und erstreben die Schaffung der Vereinigten Staaten von Europa. Wer sich dieser Zielsetzung verschliesst, kann nicht mit der Sympathie Washingtons rechnen.» (www.dodis.ch/15113, 30116, 30279, 30358, 30835 und weitere)
Die Broschüre beleuchtet das Wirken von Jean Monnet, der als einer der «Väter» der EU gilt. Insbesondere die «Methode Monnet» gehört auch heute zur Politik. Er beschreibt sie selber wie folgt: «L’homme n’accepte le changement que sous l’empire de la nécessité.» (Eric Roussel, Jean Monnet, S. 68, Paris 1996) («Der Mensch akzeptiert Veränderungen nur unter dem Druck der Notwendigkeit.») Im Klartext heisst dies: Politische Schwierigkeiten dienen als Hebel, um die Entwicklung zur politischen Union voranzutreiben.
Mit den heute vorliegenden Dokumenten wird Geschichte lebendig. Wer sie liest und die Überlegungen von damals mit der politischen Situation von heute vergleicht, kommt unweigerlich darauf, dass sich die Geschichte zwar nicht wiederholt, dass es aber durchaus Konstanten gibt. Wer sie erkennt und daraus die richtigen Schlüsse zieht, findet den Weg in die Zukunft leichter.     •

Werner Wüthrich. Das Europäische Orchester wieder zum Klingen bringen. Die Geschichte der Europäischen Union aus Schweizer Sicht, Bergen 2014. Die Broschüre kann im Büecher-Chorb Aadorf bezogen werden (052 366 22 60; info(at)buecher-chorb.ch)