“Let’s stop to judge the Russians on the basis of our own criteria”

Interview with Dr Hélène Carrère d’Encausse*, “Secrétaire perpétuel” at the top of the “Académie française”

Le Figaro: President Hollande and the German Chancellor meet President Poroshenko in Kiev and President Putin in Moscow. What is to be expected from these meetings?

Hélène Carrère d’Encausse: François Hollande and Angela Merkel, have taken the only reasonable path, seeking a political solution, avoiding the return to a climate of the Cold War in Europe. They do it now, when the question of arms supplies to Ukraine has come up, a development which would be extremely dangerous and counterproductive. We have seen the consequences of arms sales in the Syria conflict and the Libyan intervention, an uncontrollable distribution of weapons to all camps. Arms sales, above all from NATO countries can only worsen relations with Russia. The Minsk Agreement may be reinstated as a basis for the search for a compromise. It provides for the release of all prisoners of war and hostages. For the separatists, lacking the federal status, it is to open the way to a “special status” for the regions of Donetsk and Lugansk, where a significant proportion of Russians or of the Russian-speaking population lives. The Ukrainian government refuses to even only talk about such a status. Don’t let us not forget that the fire was lit in February 2014, when the new Ukrainian parliament, the Rada, wanted to refuse the Russians and the Russian-speaking inhabitants of these regions the use of their own language. This decision stirred up the Crimea and offered Vladimir Putin the opportunity to capture it.
Ukrainian President Petro Porochenko continues to express his wish of wanting to join NATO, which is like a red rag to Vladimir Putin. He objects that Gorbachev when he accepted the reunification of Germany in 1990 to which no great power had pressed him had been given the assurance that NATO would not move up to the borders of his country in the future. Ukraine’s joining NATO would mean to create a long shared border between Russia and NATO. Putin’s position is supported by Germany and France.

Can Putin maintain his ground for long, when the economy of his country is harmed (reduction of GDP, capital flight, price reduction of oil)?

The economic sanctions mean much trouble for Russia already. But things could be worse. The worst measure is the reduction of oil prices organised by the US and Saudi Arabia. In 1984, shortly before the inauguration of Gorbachev, Russia was already exposed to such a measure. The reduction of oil revenues is going to weaken the Russian economy, which is already on the brink of a recession, above all it would weaken the active and educated middle class that has emerged in recent years and forms the backbone of modern Russia. Raising its form of life to question would have a negative impact on Putin’s popularity, or even destabilise him.
Another risk is the West’s disdain for Russia, as perceived by the Russians. It hurts their national pride. This might induce Russia to be more oriented towards Asia. For Europe, it would result in distancing itself from Asia, where international life is happening now, because Russia is the link. Russia is the necessary bridge between Europe and Asia.

Can Putin really count on China, which has abstained from voting on Russia’s annexation of Crimea in the Security Council?

China and Russia have many common interests, especially the alliances in which both countries are involved, the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), the BRICS countries (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa). The next meeting of the of G-20 summit is held next year in Beijing and elsewhere in Asia. Both countries also complement each other in the economic field and have opportunities to function in the world. The Far East of Russia forms a bridge between the two countries, where the lives of the peoples are mixed. Thus, it constitutes a real platform for the development of Eurasia.

Why does Putin not use his historical influence in the Middle East to prove beneficial in the fight against terrorism and this way reconnect with the West?

We could turn the question around. Why does the West not ask Russia for help regarding the situation in the Middle East, since it is not able to solve it on its own? Why is the West fighting at two fronts simultaneously, in Ukraine and in the Middle East? Would it not be easier to reduce the pressure in Ukraine and give a guarantee that NATO does not spread there, an then ask the pacified Putin for help in the Middle East, in the Syrian and Iranian question and in the fight against extremism? The Russian President is afraid of radical Islam, even more than we are. At the gates of Russia there is Afghanistan. Its future is more than disturbing due to the withdrawal of Western military forces. In addition, Russia faces 20 million Muslims on its borders, united in mighty small states such as the Tatar and Chechen republics that feel solidarity with Muslims. The risk of infection by extremism must certainly be taken into consideration.
In the face of the challenges of terrorism which our world is currently exposed to, it would be high time indeed that Europe and the US would arrive at an overall view of the current crises and classify them according to severity. Is it not much more important to fight extremism and restore peace in the Middle East than contain Russia’s importance in Europe?

Does Putin not destabilise Europe with his rapprochement of Greece and its new Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras?

This is quite questionable. First of all, it is Alexis Tsipras who tried to get in with Putin. Furthermore, Greece can provide some excitement, but it is not really in a position to effect a lot in the current crisis. Putin is a very clever man who takes advantage of opportunities as he has demonstrated in Crimea. Nonetheless, he has absolutely no interest in contributing to the collapse of the euro, as some would like to see. Moreover, he knows that his own people would not like this.

What is really going on in Putin’s head? Does he want to create a Grand Russia, which is in complete contradiction to the West and is based on the Orthodox religion?

Putin is presented as a dictator, as chauvinist, characterised by extreme ideas, such as Eurasianism along the lines of Dugin1. That is totally exaggerated. The Russian President has completed university education. He is fascinated by history, particularly that of the early Russia which was discovered after the dissolution of the USSR. He wants his country to be recognised in its great history and culture as such, which is not always the case.
Basically, he is not opposed to the West. His only question is whether, in order to modernise a country one needs to copy the West by all means. For the Russians, this is a very old debate. In the 19th century, this question divided the “Westerners” and “Slavophiles” who were neither “fascists” nor prospective dictators, but very important Russian intellectuals. On the road to modernness, Putin cinsists on his right to have Russian culture involved. Here, also religion must have its place. This seems all the more necessary to him as in the 1980s the long persecuted Orthodox Church played a key role in the revival of Russia and the collective consciousness in the 1980s. If we stop to judge the Russians on the basis of our own criteria, this will help to revive solidarity and a peaceful climate in Europe. This will facilitate the rescue of the unity of Ukraine, which is vital.     •

Source: Le Figaro of 6.2.2015, © Marie-Laetitia Bonavita

1     Eurasianism is a geopolitical ideology formulated by Russian emigrants in the 1920s. It represents that Russia stands as a continental power in a fundamental opposition to the Anglo-Saxon Western world. Alexander Dugin is a current representative of Neo-Eurasianism, who, in 2002 founded a Eurasian Party in Russia. (Translator’s note)

(Translation Current Concerns)

«Hören wir auf, die Russen nach unseren eigenen Kriterien zu beurteilen»

Interview mit Dr. Hélène Carrère d’Encausse*, «Secrétaire perpétuel» an der Spitze der «Académie française»

Le Figaro: Präsident Hollande und die deutsche Kanzlerin treffen Präsident Poroschenko in Kiew und Präsident Putin in Moskau. Was kann man von diesen Begegnungen erwarten?

Hélène Carrère d’Encausse: François Hollande und Angela Merkel haben den einzig möglichen Weg – den einer politischen Lösung – zur Vermeidung einer Rückkehr in ein Klima des Kalten Krieges in Europa eingeschlagen. Sie tun es jetzt, wo sich die Frage nach Waffenlieferungen an die Ukraine stellt, was überaus gefährlich und kontraproduktiv wäre. Wir haben die Folgen der Waffenlieferungen im Syrien-Konflikt und in der Libyen-Intervention gesehen: eine unkontrollierbare Verteilung der Waffen in alle Lager. Waffenlieferungen, vor allem aus Nato-Ländern, können die Beziehungen zu Russland nur verschlechtern. Das Minsker Abkommen kann als Grundlage für die Suche nach einem Kompromiss wieder aufgenommen werden. Es sah die Befreiung aller Kriegsgefangenen und Geiseln vor und für die Separatisten sollte es, in Ermangelung eines föderalen Status, den Weg zu einem «Spezialstatus» eröffnen, für die Regionen von Donezk und Lugansk, wo ein bedeutender Anteil russische oder russischsprachige Bevölkerung lebt. Die ukrainische Regierung weigert sich nur schon, über einen solchen Status zu sprechen. Vergessen wir nicht, dass das Feuer im Februar 2014 entzündet wurde, als das neue ukrainische Parlament, die Rada, den Russen und den russischsprachigen Bewohnern dieser Regionen den Gebrauch ihrer eigenen Sprache verweigern wollte. Dieser Entscheid brachte die Krim auf und bot Wladimir Putin die Möglichkeit, diese einzunehmen.
Der ukrainische Präsident Petro Poroschenko bringt weiterhin seinen Willen zum Ausdruck, sich der Nato anschliessen zu wollen, was auf Wladimir Putin wie ein rotes Tuch wirkt. Er hält dem entgegen, dass Gorbatschow, als er im Jahre 1990 die Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands akzeptierte – wozu ihn keine Grossmacht drängte –, die Zusicherung erhalten habe, dass die Nato in Zukunft nicht bis an die Grenzen seines Landes vordringen werde. Ein Beitritt der Ukraine zur Nato würde eine lange gemeinsame Grenze zwischen Russland und der Nato bedeuten. Deutschland und Frankreich unterstützen Putins Position.

Kann Putin lange auf einem Standpunkt verweilen, welcher der Wirtschaft seines Landes schadet (Senkung des BIP, Kapitalflucht, Preissenkung des Erdöls)?

Die Wirtschaftssanktionen bringen Russ­land schon sehr in Bedrängnis, aber es gibt Schlimmeres. Das Schlimmste ist die durch die USA und Saudi-Arabien organisierte Senkung des Erdölpreises. Russland wurde bereits 1984, kurz vor dem Amtsantritt von Gorbatschow, einer solchen Massnahme ausgesetzt. Die Reduzierung der Erdöleinnahmen wird die russische Wirtschaft, die sich bereits am Rande einer Rezession befindet, schwächen, und zwar vor allem die aktive und gebildete Mittelklasse, die in den letzten Jahren entstanden ist und das Rückgrat des modernen Russlands bildet. Die Infragestellung ihrer Lebensform würde sich negativ auf Putins Popularität auswirken oder ihn gar destabilisieren.
Ein weiteres Risiko ist die von den Russen empfundene Missachtung durch den Westen, die ihren Nationalstolz verletzt. Dies könnte Russland dazu bewegen, sich noch mehr auf Asien auszurichten. Dies würde für Europa zu einer Distanzierung von Asien führen – wo sich nunmehr das internationale Leben abspielt –, da Russland dafür das Bindeglied bildet. Russland ist die notwendige Brücke zwischen Europa und Asien.
Kann Putin wirklich auf China zählen, das sich im Sicherheitsrat, bei der Abstimmung über die Annektierung der Krim durch Russ­land, seiner Stimme enthalten hat?
China und Russland haben viele gemeinsame Interessen, vor allem die Allianzen, in denen beide Länder eingebunden sind: die Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), die BRICS-Staaten (Brasilien, Russland, Indien, China und Südafrika), dessen nächste Versammlung am Rande des G-20-Gipfels in einem Jahr in Peking und an anderen Orten in Asien stattfinden wird. Die beiden Länder ergänzen sich auch im wirtschaftlichen Bereich und haben Möglichkeiten, in der Welt zu wirken. Der ferne Osten Russlands bildet eine Brücke zwischen diesen beiden Ländern, wo sich das Leben der Bevölkerungen durchmischt; es ist somit eine echte Plattform für die Entwicklung Eurasiens.

Weshalb nutzt Putin nicht seinen historischen Einfluss im Mittleren Osten, um sich im Kampf gegen den Terrorismus nützlich zu machen und auf diese Weise die Verbindung mit dem Westen wiederherzustellen?

Wir könnten die Frage umdrehen: Weshalb bittet der Westen nicht Russland bezüglich der Situation im Mittleren Osten um Hilfe, da er nicht in der Lage ist, diese selber zu lösen? Weshalb kämpft der Westen an zwei Fronten gleichzeitig, in der Ukraine und im Mittleren Osten? Wäre es nicht einfacher, den Druck in der Ukraine zu vermindern und sicherzustellen, dass die Nato sich dort nicht ausbreitet, um dann den beruhigten Putin im Mittleren Osten – in der syrischen und in der iranischen Frage sowie im Kampf gegen den Extremismus – um Hilfe zu bitten? Der russische Präsident fürchtet den radikalen Islam noch mehr als wir. Vor den Toren Russlands liegt Afghanistan, dessen Zukunft durch den Rückzug der westlichen Militärtruppen mehr als beunruhigend ist. Zudem zählt das Land 20 Millionen Muslime an seinen Grenzen, vereinigt in mächtigen kleinen Staaten wie den tatarischen und tschetschenischen Republiken, die sich mit den Muslimen solidarisch fühlen. Die Gefahr einer Ansteckung durch den Extremismus muss durchaus in Betracht gezogen werden.
Angesichts der Herausforderungen durch den Terrorismus, denen unsere Welt derzeit ausgesetzt ist, wäre es durchaus an der Zeit, dass Europa und die USA sich eine Gesamtschau der heutigen Krisen vor Augen führen und diese der Schwere nach klassifizieren. Ist es nicht viel wichtiger, den Extremismus zu bekämpfen und den Frieden im Mittleren Osten wiederherzustellen, als die Bedeutung Russlands in Europa einzuschränken?

Plant Putin mit seiner Annäherung an Griechenland und seinem neuen Premierminister Alexis Tsipras nicht die Destabilisierung Europas?

Das ist sehr fraglich. Zuerst einmal ist es Alexis Tsipras, der versucht, sich mit Putin gut zu stellen. Dazu kommt, dass Griechenland zwar für etwas Aufregung sorgen kann, aber es hat nicht wirklich die Möglichkeit, in der aktuellen Krise viel zu bewirken. Putin ist ein sehr geschickter Mann, der die Gelegenheiten nutzt, das hat er in der Krim gezeigt; aber er hat überhaupt kein Interesse, zum Zusammenbruch des Euro beizutragen, wie einige sich dies wünschen. Im übrigen weiss er, dass die eigene Bevölkerung dies nicht goutieren würde.

Was geht in Putins Kopf wirklich vor? Will er ein Grossrussland schaffen, das im völligen Widerspruch zum Westen steht und auf der orthodoxen Religion gründet?

Man präsentiert Putin als Diktator, als Chauvinist, geprägt von extremen Vorstellungen – einem Eurasismus nach Dugin1 –, das ist völlig übertrieben. Der russische Präsident hat ein Hochschulstudium absolviert, er ist fasziniert von der Geschichte, vor allem derjenigen des früheren Russlands, die man nach der Auflösung der UdSSR entdeckte. Er will, dass sein Land mit seiner grossartigen Geschichte und Kultur als solches anerkannt wird, was nicht immer der Fall ist.
Er ist nicht grundsätzlich antiwestlich eingestellt. Er fragt sich nur, ob man, um ein Land zu modernisieren, in jedem Fall genau den Westen kopieren muss. Für die Russen ist dies eine uralte Diskussion. Sie hat im 19. Jahrhundert die «Westler» und die «Slawophilen» entzweit, die weder «Faschisten» noch angehende Diktatoren waren, sondern sehr bedeutende russische Intellektuelle. Putin fordert, auf dem Weg zur Modernität, das Recht zu haben, die russische Kultur miteinzubeziehen; auch die Religion muss da ihren Platz haben. Dies scheint ihm um so notwendiger, als die lang verfolgte orthodoxe Kirche in den 1980er Jahren am Wiederaufblühen Russlands und des kollektiven Bewusstseins massgeblich beteiligt war. Wenn wir aufhören, die Russen nach unseren eigenen Kriterien zu beurteilen, wird dies helfen, in Europa wieder Solidarität und ein friedliches Klima aufleben zu lassen. Dies wird die Rettung der Einheit der Ukraine ermöglichen, was unerlässlich ist.    •

Quelle: Le Figaro vom 6.2.2015, © Marie-Laetitia Bonavita

1    Eurasismus ist eine in den 1920er Jahren von russischen Emigranten formulierte geopolitische Ideologie. Sie vertritt, dass Russland als kontinentale Macht in einem Fundamentalgegensatz zur angelsächsisch geprägten westlichen Welt stehe. Alexander Dugin ist ein gegenwärtiger Vertreter des Neo-Eurasismus, der 2002 in Russland eine Eurasische Partei gründete. (Anm. des Übersetzers)

(Übersetzung Zeit-Fragen)