What can the free trade agreement TTIP accomplish?

fg. In an interview with Die Zeit on 18 February 2015, EU Trade Commissioner Cecilia Malmström admitted that the European Commission had made a mistake with respect to the controversial free trade agreement TTIP (Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership) with the United States: “It was a mistake to keep the negotiating mandate a secret for so long”.1 Ms Malmström also hoped – and thus repeated a statement by Barack Obama – to defend “European values” with TTIP because the agreement would negotiate the rules of globalisation with the United States and not with China or Russia. Who had hoped to have substantive, technical corrections, will be disappointed by Ms Malmström’s comments; at best, the communication strategy will change in future.
Recently, numerous critical articles on the trade agreements TTIP, CETA (Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement, agreement between the EU and Canada) and TiSA (Trade in Services Agreement) appeared in the media. They all deal with various disadvantages: the fact that TTIP is being negotiated between the European Commission (rather than the individual EU member states) and the United States; the fact that a corporation can file a suit for damage compensation against a state – if the state’s legislation reduced the return on the corporate’s investment – and the fact that these agreements restrict consumer protection. These are all important concerns.
Our approach, however, is different: by using the example of TTIP we intend to find out whether the agreements’ principles affect the countries or international units positively at all – in form of an increase in trade flows, the gross domestic product (GDP), personal income, employment, etc.; only in that case would they make any sense. When we address the legislative history of the agreement, we arrive at the conclusion that already in its beginnings a scientific approach is quite questionable.
The Italian economist Jeronim Capaldo, Senior Research Fellow at the American Tufts University and currently working for the International Labour Organization in Geneva, published a study on this topic in October 2014.2 He noted that the quantitative arguments in favour of TTIP are based on four studies whose projections draw on the same model as the World Bank which was particularly unsuitable for an assessment of trade policy. These projections were based on the assumption that, for example, trade liberalisation automatically and quickly led to full employment. However, this is far from being the case. Therefore, Capaldo built his research on a model of the UN which is not based on the assumption of full employment but on the assumption of aggregated demand, i.e. the demand for all goods in an economy, an approach that reflects the economy better.3
The consequences are dramatic. According to Capaldo’s calculations in 2025 the trade agreement TTIP would have a positive impact in the USA and a negative impact in Europe on their respective economic sectors (trade, GDP, personal income and employment):

  • Increase in net exports in the US by 1.02%, and decrease in the EU (by 0.36% in Italy and 2.07% in North Europe4)
  • GDP growth in the US by 0.36% and GDP sinking in the EU (0.03% in Italy and 0.50% in North Europe)
  • Increase in income up to 699 euros per worker in the United States and decrease in the EU (approximately 165 euros in South Europe5 and 5,518 euros in France)
  • Increase in employment in the US by 784,000 workers and decrease in the EU by 583,000 workers.

Since the trade agreement TTIP does not produce any economic benefit to the EU countries further investigation and negotiation is unnecessary.     •

1    www.zeit.de/wirtschaft/2015-02/cecilia-malmstroem-ttip-fehler
2    http://ase.tufts.edu/gdae The Trans-Atlantic Trade and Investment Partnership: European Disintegration, Unemployment and Instability, October 2014.
3    To simulate the changes in trade flows, GDP, personal income, employment for the year 2025, the data must be calculated without the influence of TTIP (basic assumption) and next with the influence included. Finally, the difference between the two data series is calculated and the result quoted as a percentage of GDP so that it is comparable in the different countries.
4    Finland, the Netherlands and Belgium
5    Greece, Spain, Portugal and East European national economies

New free trade agreements threaten the “Swiss success model” – Stop TiSA!

Signatories: Social democratic members of the National Council Jacqueline Badran (ZH), Marina Carobbio Guscetti (TI), Jean Christophe Schwaab (VD), Carlo Sommaruga (GE) and Cédric Wermuth (AG) as well as Deputy General Secretary François Clément and Fabian Molina, president of the Young Socialists of Switzerland

The “Swiss success model” is based quite emphatically on the quality of our public service, on our (direct) democracy and on an economic policy that redistributes wealth and thus supports demand and, most notably, purchasing power. It is certainly no coincidence that a country like ours, where all the important services for the population are provided by the public sector (education, health, water, energy, public transport, etc.) is still so well off economically. Public service also plays an important role in our national and social solidarity: The necessary services are offered at affordable rates all across the country, while, conversely, the profits of public companies benefit the tax payers.
Yet it is exactly these important benefits that are threatened by new free trade agreements purposing to surrender large parts of the public sector to the “free” market and to withdraw them from democratic control. Although Switzerland does not participate in all of the negotiations (a lot of them only concern the EU, the US and Canada), we could be forced to implement the agreements by means of the “Cassis de Dijon” principle.
In the year 2002, a popular referendum aiming at the liberalisation of the electricity market failed. In the ten-odd years since then, public service suffered very little attack. Some performance deterioration was indeed enforced politically, but it was possible to reject the main liberalisation and privatisation projects with clear majorities. Both the population and the political elite had in fact now noticed that the implementation of neoliberal recipes entails disastrous consequences. The result is always the same: profits are privatised, losses are paid by the public. In the end, as soon as there are problems, the public authorities and the public purse must always be called in to help. But at least since 2010 the wind has been changing again. On the one hand, memories of the failures of privatisation projects in other countries seem to be fading away (for example that of the failed British rail privatisation). On the other hand, the more recent attempts have only been taken in hand a short while ago – politics has not yet taken notice of the drastic negative consequences (for example, privatisation in heavily indebted countries enforced by the EU-”Troika”). In addition, a real tsunami of liberalisations and of the corresponding chaos will be sweeping towards us if the free trade agreements CETA (EU-Canada), TTIP/TAFTA (EU-US) and TISA should ever come into force. Although Switzerland only participates directly in the TiSA negotiations (which are held in camera in Geneva), it could still be forced to join even further agreements in the future. Federal Councillor Schneider-Ammann only recently announced his intention of joining the TTIP Agreement.
The intention of these free trade agreements is mainly to dismantle so-called “import barriers”. Even government-issued rules and regulations are counted among these “barriers”, for example, rules relating to health or environmental protection (e.g. the GM ban or land-use planning regulations), to labour legislation (e.g. generally binding collective labour agreements), to social security (e.g. compulsory health insurance), to the protection of domestic production (e.g. indications of source) or to public service (e.g. the public monopoly concerning elementary schools or the water supply). If these agreements become effective, no company can be barred from offering its goods or services for sale as well any longer neither selling them in another contractual state on an equal footing with its own domestic companies.
If, for example, a US company legally places genetically modified seeds on the market in the United States, according to TTIP rules the EU must also allow this. And by dint of the “Cassis de Dijon” principle, it would automatically also be permitted in Switzerland. Should we nevertheless want to enforce the GM ban enacted by the Swiss people, the foreign investors would have the right to sue Switzerland for “damages” into the millions if they believed that they had suffered losses. The decision would lie with a centre for the settlement of investment disputes meeting in camera – a court or any other authority of appeal is not provided for.
This may seem like a bad sci-fi movie, but is unfortunately already a reality. The State Uruguay was sued for damages amounting to several millions of dollars by a tobacco multi before such an international centre for the settlement of investment disputes. The company takes the view the new law on protection from passive smoking constitutes such an import barrier – and claims “hedge clause procedure” of the kind provided by TTIP, TISA and CETA. It is now quite immaterial that the law serves to protect the public health.
The agreements also provide for a rule that goods or services which are not subject to any regulation at the time of entry into force of the contracts may never afterwards be regulated. This also applies to all products and services that will be invented at some time in the future. Thus, for example, nuclear power could never have been regulated, if such an agreement had been signed before its invention – not even to protect the people. Following the same logic, it would no longer be possible for the public sector to re-assume control of areas or tasks which had once been liberalised or de-regulated – not even if the people were to pronounce for doing exactly the like in a public referendum or if a liberalisation attempt should fail.
Therefore, irrespective of their actual contents, these free trade agreements are unacceptable even merely from a democratic perspective. Should our parliament and our people agree to such agreements, we would limit our democratic rights massively: We would never again be able to exercise democratic control over domains once liberalised or not yet regulated. Such “eternal bondage” for democracy is incompatible with the principles of our constitutional state. Thus, these agreements challenge our Swiss democratic sovereignty and are a serious threat to the public service. They endanger long-fought-for and long defended social achievements such as health and worker protection and the preservation of the environment. We will therefore strive against them passionately.

Was kann das Freihandelsabkommen TTIP leisten?

fg. Die EU-Handelskommissarin Cecilia Malmström räumt in einem Interview mit der Zeit vom 18. Februar 2015 ein, dass die EU-Kommission bei dem umstrittenen Freihandelsabkommen TTIP (Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership) mit den USA Fehler gemacht habe: «Es war ein Fehler, das Verhandlungsmandat so lange geheimzuhalten».1 Darüber hinaus hofft Frau Malmström – und wiederholt damit eine Aussage von Barack Obama – mit TTIP «europäische Werte» zu verteidigen, weil das Abkommen die Regeln für die Globalisierung mit den USA und nicht mit China oder Russland aushandeln würde. Wer auf substantielle, inhaltliche Korrekturen gehofft hatte, sieht sich durch die Äusserungen von Frau Malmström getäuscht; bestenfalls wird also in Zukunft die Kommunikationsstrategie geändert.
In jüngster Zeit sind in den Medien zahlreiche kritische Artikel zu den Handelsabkommen TTIP, CETA (Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement, Abkommen zwischen der EU und Kanada) und TiSA (Trade in Services Agreement) erschienen. Sie alle beschäftigen sich mit einzelnen Nachteilen: dass TTIP zwischen der EU-Kommission (anstatt den einzelnen EU-Staaten) und den Vereinigten Staaten verhandelt wird, dass ein Konzern gegen einen Staat Schadenersatzklage erheben kann – falls dessen Gesetzgebung die Rendite seiner Investitionen schmälert –, dass durch diese Abkommen der Konsumentenschutz eingeschränkt wird. All dies sind wichtige Bedenken.
Unser Ansatz aber ist ein anderer: Wir wollen am Beispiel von TTIP herausfinden, ob die Vereinbarungen von ihrer Anlage her den betroffenen Ländern oder internationalen Einheiten überhaupt etwas Positives – in der Form einer Erhöhung der Handelsströme, des Bruttoinlandprodukts (BIP), der persönlichen Einkommen, der Beschäftigungslage usw. – bringen können; nur dann hätten sie einen Sinn. Wenn wir uns der Entstehungsgeschichte des Abkommens widmen, dann kommt man zu dem Schluss, dass bereits in seinen Anfängen ein wissenschaftlich fragwürdiges Vorgehen steht.
Der italienische Ökonom Jeronim Capaldo, Senior Research Fellow an der amerikanischen Tufts Universität und zurzeit an der internationalen Arbeitsorganisation in Genf tätig, hat im Oktober 2014 eine Studie zu diesem Thema veröffentlicht.2 Er stellt fest, dass sich die quantitativen Argumente zugunsten des TTIP auf vier Studien stützen, deren Hochrechnungen auf demselben Modell der Weltbank beruhen, das für eine Bewertung der Handelspolitik besonders ungeeignet ist. Diese Hochrechnungen gehen von der Annahme aus, dass zum Beispiel die Handelsliberalisierung automatisch und schnell zur Vollbeschäftigung führt. Dies ist aber bei weitem nicht der Fall. Deshalb hat Capaldo seine Forschungen auf einem Modell der Uno aufgebaut, das nicht von der Annahme der Vollbeschäftigung ausgeht, sondern von der aggregierten Nachfrage, das heisst der Nachfrage nach allen Gütern einer Volkswirtschaft, welche die Konjunktur besser widerspiegelt.3
Die Folgen sind drastisch. Nach den Berechnungen von Capaldo würde sich das Handelsabkommen TTIP im Jahre 2025 auf die wirtschaftlichen Bereiche (Handelsströme, BIP, persönliche Einkommen und Beschäftigungslage) in den USA positiv und in Europa negativ auswirken:

  • Anstieg des Nettoexports in den USA um 1,02 % und Abnahme in der EU (um 0,36 % in Italien und 2,07 % in Nordeuropa4)
  • Wachstum des BIP in den USA um 0,36 % und Sinken in der EU (um 0,03 % in Italien und 0,50 % in Nordeuropa)
  • Anstieg des Einkommens um 699 Euro pro Arbeiter in den USA und Abnahme in der EU (um 165 in Südeuropa5 und 5518 Euro in Frankreich)
  • Zunahme der Beschäftigung in den USA um 784 000 Arbeiter und Abnahme in der EU um 583 000 Arbeiter.
  • Da das Handelsabkommen TTIP den EU-Ländern keinerlei volkswirtschaftlichen Nutzen bringt, erübrigt sich jede weitere Untersuchung und Verhandlung.     •

1    www.zeit.de/wirtschaft/2015-02/cecilia-malmstroem-ttip-fehler 
2    http://ase.tufts.edu/gdae  The Trans-Atlantic Trade and Investment Partnership: European Disintegration, Unemployment and Instability, Oktober 2014, Mit ihren Anhängen A und B ist die englische Fassung vollständiger als die deutsche.
3    Um die Veränderungen der Handelsströme, des BIP, der persönlichen Einkommen, der Beschäftigungslage für das Jahr 2025 zu simulieren, muss man die Daten ohne den Einfluss des TTIP (Basis­annahme) und dann mit dem Einfluss berechnen. Schliesslich wird der Unterschied zwischen beiden Datenreihen berechnet und das Ergebnis in Prozenten des BIP ermittelt, damit es in den verschiedenen Ländern vergleichbar wird.
4    Finnland, Niederlande und Belgien
5    Griechenland, Spanien, Portugal und osteuropäische Volkswirtschaften

Neue Freihandelsabkommen bedrohen das «Erfolgsmodell Schweiz» – Stopp TiSA!

Unterzeichner: die SP-Nationalrätinnen und Nationalräte Jacqueline Badran (ZH), Marina Carobbio Guscetti (TI), Jean Christophe Schwaab (VD), Carlo Sommaruga (GE) und Cédric Wermuth (AG) sowie François Clément, Vize-Zentralsekretär, und Fabian Molina, Präsident der JUSO Schweiz

Das «Erfolgsmodell Schweiz» basiert ganz zentral auf der Qualität unseres Service public, auf der (direkten) Demokratie und auf einer Wirtschaftspolitik, die den Reichtum rückverteilt und damit die Nachfrage und vor allem die Kaufkraft stützt. Es ist sicher kein Zufall, dass es einem Land wie dem unsrigen, wo alle wichtigen Leistungen für die Bevölkerung von der öffentlichen Hand erbracht werden (Bildung, Gesundheit, Wasser, Energie, öffentlicher Verkehr usw.) wirtschaftlich immer noch so gutgeht. Der Service public spielt auch eine wichtige Rolle für den nationalen und sozialen Zusammenhalt: So werden die nötigen Dienstleistungen im ganzen Land zu zahlbaren Konditionen angeboten, während die Gewinne der öffentlichen Unternehmen wieder den Steuerzahlerinnen und Steuerzahlern zugute kommen.
    Genau diese wichtigen Vorteile werden aber von neuen Freihandelsabkommen bedroht, die weite Teile des öffentlichen Dienstes dem «freien» Markt überlassen und der demokratischen Kontrolle entziehen wollen. Die Schweiz nimmt zwar nicht an allen Verhandlungen teil (viele betreffen nur die EU, die USA und Kanada), sie könnte aber durch das «Cassis de Dijon»-Prinzip zu deren Umsetzung gezwungen werden.
    Seit dem Scheitern der Strommarktliberalisierung in einer Volksabstimmung 2002 wurde der Service public während etwas mehr als zehn Jahren kaum angegriffen. Einige Leistungsverschlechterungen wurden zwar politisch durchgesetzt, die wichtigsten Liberalisierungs- und Privatisierungsvorhaben konnten aber deutlich bachab geschickt werden. Sowohl die Bevölkerung als auch die politischen Eliten hatten nämlich inzwischen gemerkt, dass die Umsetzung der neoliberalen Rezepte katastrophale Folgen nach sich zieht. Das Resultat ist immer das gleiche: Die Gewinne werden privatisiert, die Verluste bezahlt die Öffentlichkeit. Am Schluss muss nämlich immer, wenn es Probleme gibt, die öffentliche Hand zu Hilfe gerufen werden. Spätestens seit 2010 allerdings dreht der Wind wieder. Einerseits scheint die Erinnerung an die gescheiterten Privatisierungsprojekte in anderen Ländern zu verblassen (zum Beispiel die gescheiterte Privatisierung der britischen Bahn). Anderseits wurden die jüngsten Versuche eben erst unternommen – die Politik hat die drastisch negativen Konsequenzen noch nicht zur Kenntnis genommen (zum Beispiel die von der «Troika» erzwungenen Privatisierungen in überschuldeten Ländern). Zudem rollt ein echter Tsunami von Liberalisierungen und entsprechendem Chaos auf uns zu, falls die Freihandelsabkommen CETA (EU-Kanada), TTIP/TAFTA (EU-USA) und TiSA jemals in Kraft treten sollten. Die Schweiz sitzt zwar nur bei den TiSA-Verhandlungen direkt mit am Tisch (die in Genf unter Ausschluss der Öffentlichkeit geführt werden), aber sie könnte in Zukunft gezwungen werden, sich auch weiteren Abkommen anzuschliessen. Bundesrat Schneider-Ammann hat erst kürzlich angekündigt, sich dem TTIP-Abkommen anschliessen zu wollen.
    Mit diesen Freihandelsabkommen sollen vor allem sogenannte «Importschranken» abgebaut werden. Unter diese «Schranken» werden auch staatliche Regeln und Vorschriften gezählt. Zum Beispiel Regeln bezüglich des Gesundheits- oder Umweltschutzes (zum Beispiel das Gentech-Verbot oder Raumplanungsvorschriften), des Arbeitsrechts (zum Beispiel allgemeinverbindliche Gesamtarbeitsverträge), der Sozialversicherungen (zum Beispiel das Krankenkassenobligatorium), der Regeln zum Schutz einheimischer Produktion (zum Beispiel Herkunftsangaben) oder des Service public (zum Beispiel das öffentliche Monopol in der Volksschule oder die Wasserversorgung). Treten diese Abkommen in Kraft, so kann kein Unternehmen mehr davon abgehalten werden, seine Güter oder Dienstleistungen gleichberechtigt in einem anderen Vertragsstaat zu verkaufen oder anzubieten.
    Bringt nun beispielsweise ein US-Unternehmen ein gentechnologisch modifiziertes Saatgut in den USA legal auf den Markt, so muss es die EU nach den TTIP-Regeln ebenfalls zulassen. Und über das «Cassis de Dijon»-Prinzip würde es dann auch in der Schweiz zugelassen. Sollten wir trotzdem das vom Volk beschlossene Gentech-Verbot durchsetzen wollen, so könnte das «geschädigte» Unternehmen die Schweiz vor einem geheim tagenden Schiedsgericht auf Schadenersatz in Millionenhöhe verklagen – eine Rekursinstanz ist nicht vorgesehen.
    Das klingt zwar nach einem schlechten Science-Fiction-Film, ist aber leider bereits heute eine Realität. Der Staat Uruguay wurde von einem Tabak-Multi vor einem solchen Schiedsgericht auf Schadenersatz in der Höhe von mehreren Millionen US-Dollar verklagt. Die Firma stellt sich auf den Standpunkt, das neue Gesetz zum Schutz vor Passivrauchen würde eine solche Importschranke darstellen – und macht genauso eine «Investorenschutzklausel» geltend, wie sie TTIP, TISA und CETA auch vorsehen. Dass das Gesetz dem Schutz der öffentlichen Gesundheit dient, spielt keine Rolle mehr.
    Die Abkommen sehen zudem auch eine Regel vor, wonach Güter oder Dienstleistungen, die zum Zeitpunkt des In-Kraft-Tretens der Verträge keiner Regulierung unterliegen, niemals mehr reguliert werden dürfen. Das gilt auch für alle Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die erst in Zukunft einmal erfunden werden. So hätte zum Beispiel die Atomkraft nie reguliert werden können, wenn ein solches Abkommen vor ihrer Erfindung unterschrieben worden wäre – auch dann nicht, wenn es um den Schutz der Menschen geht. Der gleichen Logik folgend, wäre es auch nicht mehr möglich, einmal liberalisierte oder deregulierte Bereiche wieder der öffentlichen Kontrolle zu unterstellen – auch dann nicht, wenn sich das Volk in einer Abstimmung genau dafür aussprechen würde oder wenn ein Liberalisierungsversuch scheitern sollte.
    Unabhängig von ihren konkreten Inhalten sind diese Freihandelsabkommen deshalb schon aus demokratischer Sicht inakzeptabel. Sollten Parlament oder Volk solchen Verträgen zustimmen, würden wir unsere demokratischen Rechte selber massiv beschränken: Wir könnten einmal liberalisierte oder bisher noch nicht regulierte Bereiche nie mehr demokratisch kontrollieren. Eine solche «ewige Fessel» für die Demokratie ist mit den Grundsätzen unseres Rechtsstaates unvereinbar. Diese Abkommen stellen also die demokratische Souveränität der Schweiz in Frage und sind eine gravierende Gefahr für den Service public. Sie gefährden lange erkämpfte und verteidigte soziale Errungenschaften wie etwa den Gesundheitsschutz, den Arbeitnehmerinnen- und Arbeiternehmerschutz oder den Umweltschutz. Wir werden sie deshalb vehement bekämpfen.