Curriculum 21, competencies orientation, self-directed learning: The cantons are in the process of reforming schools fundamentally

Switzerland must not destroy its educational system

by Thomas Dähler

Nobody would maintain that Switzerland’s education system is not part of its success story. On the contrary: our elementary school, dedicated to a sound general education, nowadays prepares our children perfectly both for an academic career as well as for a career based on an apprenticeship. It prepares our children for life. But meanwhile the schools in Switzerland are being covered by an unprecedented wave of reforms, which has the potential to destroy Switzerland’s successful federalist educational landscape. Switzerland is jeopardising its high level of education based on general education in elementary school and on a dual vocational training system through these numerous reforms – and in the final analysis it is thus jeopardising its economic prosperity and standard of living.
Whether they are technocrats or experts: The troop of reformers invariably justifies its radical transformation of the elementary school with the reorganisation of education which the Swiss voted into the Federal Constitution in 2006, with a yes-proportion of 85 pe cent. The cantons’ obligation to harmonise their school systems “in the area of school entrance age and compulsory education, of duration and objectives of levels of education and of their transitions as well as of the recognition of qualifications,” was incorporated in the Constitution by the popular vote at that time. If the cantons fail to do so, the Federal government is authorised to intervene.
At that time, however, no one suspected that this timid attempt at more similarities in the cantons’ school systems would be abused to put the stamp of democratic legitimacy on far-reaching reforms. The German Swiss Curriculum 21 is just one of the mosaic particles of the profound “reformitis”, although an important one.

School seen as a company

Reorganisation away from traditional humanist education principles to a utilitarian instrumentalisation of education was already initiated in the 90’s, when Zurich Government Councillor, Head of the Department of Education, Ernst Buschor forced New Public Management on school administration in his canton.
 He declared the schools to be corporate identities and gave priority to “Frühenglisch” (learning English from an early age) which was apparently more useful then learning a second national language. Curriculum 21 continues in this spirit, which was anchored in Zurich at that time. Teachers are understood as providers of services and parents and students as customers – so this is a kind of school for which supply and demand have become a maxim, as is usual in the industry sector.
Curriculum 21 focuses on competencies and self-directed learning, on examinations and tests, and not on knowledge and subject material. Quite some time ago former SBB CEO Benedikt Weibel already criticised the abandonment of the maxim “knowledge is power” as an “education policy going in a very bad direction”. Curriculum 21 is oriented towards competencies that are to be acquired through useful knowledge and applicable skills and can be checked and measured by uniform tests. In this way, in the final analysis the schools’ educational mandate is falling by the wayside. Teacher personalities with a formative influence, who are concerned about the welfare of their students and who encourage their development, are no longer needed. They mutate to controllers of students, who independently develop, analyse and perfect their level of competencies, in order to be able to mark the right crosses on the test forms.
But a school is not a company. Resistance against the plethora of reforms that obviously do not make schools better is growing. So school harmonisation is turning into a flop.
Numerous cantons have not even joined the HarmoS Concordat. Even the concept of teaching two foreign languages early - in primary school – is crumbling. And in several of the 21 cantons popular initiatives against the Curriculum 21 have been filed.
Even cantons who accept Curriculum 21 subvert it at the same time: In Appenzell, for example, the cantonal assembly backed Curriculum 21 only after the government had stated that it would adapt it to local needs and entirely relinquish self-directed learning – the so-called learning environments. This is a use of Curriculum 21, which might – fortunately – be anything but in the interest of its inventors.

Unclear concept of competence

Outsiders became suspicious as early as when Curriculum 21 was in its early stages of development. Initially teachers and journalists were denied access to the planned contents of curriculum 21. The top-down project was obviously intended to be accomplished without any critical monitoring. Only when of the draft was published could any criticism be offered. The result was a variety of wishes for correction when the legislative process of consultation took place. This ultimately led to the cobbled-up job adopted by the German-Swiss Ministers of Education. You can tell from looking at it, that there is patchwork involved: the subjects are treated in quite different ways. The concept of competence is unclear. It covers a mix of knowledge, learning objectives and actual competencies.
“Pupils can do per cent calculations using their calculator” has a completely different dimension than “Pupils are able to classify information and sources of information about the soil as a resource, to draw conclusions for its sustainable use and to evaluate these.” While in some subjects contents are quite prescriptive, in other subjects the contents depend entirely on the ways in which the competence is to be acquired. In the subject “spaces, times, societies”, for instance, the Holocaust is only listed just as one of several events in the “age of extremes”: “The pupils are able to analyse selected phenomena in the history of the 20th and 21st century and to explain the relevance these have today,” it says. Thus it is not about an objective engagement with the Holocaust, as this event is just one of several selected phenomena helping to acquire the skill to classify them historically.
Peter Bonati, who I once met and learnt to appreciate as a lecturer at the Department of Higher Education of the University of Berne, considers precisely this imbalance between content and skills as the weakness of Curriculum 21. Bonati thinks a young teacher having little experience will have difficulties in finding the order of the teaching contents he needs to reach the competencies.

Henchmen of the education experts

So Curriculum 21 and the many associated reforms are not simply designed to harmonise the cantons’ school systems, as was specified. Instead, it is more about the transformation of schools into test factories where it is the teachers’ only duty to control whether their pupils and students are working on the given objectives. The teaching staff will thereby be largely relieved from their educational functions and also from their mission to encourage the schoolgirls and schoolboys to think critically. They are meant to become henchmen to the education experts.
A democratic debate about the functions our society assigns to its primary school is not provided for.  If it were not for those citizens who have launched initiatives and collected signatures, our primary school would be transformed without any consultation of the people. But this must not happen. The successful Swiss education sytem must not be buried clandestinely.    •

Source: Basler Zeitung from 30 April 2016

(Translation Current Concerns)

Lehrplan 21, Kompetenzenorientierung, selbstgesteuertes Lernen: Die Kantone sind daran, ihre Schulen grundlegend zu reformieren

Die Schweiz darf ihr Bildungssystem nicht zerstören

von Thomas Dähler

Niemand wird behaupten, das Schweizer Bildungssystem sei nicht Teil der Erfolgsgeschichte Schweiz. Im Gegenteil: Die auf eine solide Allgemeinbildung ausgerichtete Volksschule bereitet heute bestens sowohl für eine akademische Laufbahn als auch für eine auf der Berufslehre aufbauende Karriere vor. Auf das Leben eben. Doch unterdessen hat eine nie gesehene Reformwelle die Schulen in der Schweiz erfasst. Eine, die das Potential hat, die erfolgreiche föderalistische Bildungslandschaft in der Schweiz zu zerstören. Die Schweiz setzt mit den vielen Schulreformen ihr hohes Ausbildungsniveau, das auf einer Allgemeinbildung in der Volksschule und auf einem dualen Berufsbildungssystem aufbaut, aufs Spiel – und damit letztlich auch den wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und den Lebensstandard.

Ob Technokraten oder Experten: Die Garde der Reformer rechtfertigt ihren tiefgreifenden Umbau der Volksschule heute stets mit der Neuordnung der Bildung in der Bundesverfassung, die das Volk 2006 mit einem Ja-Anteil von 85 Prozent an der Urne angenommen hat. Verankert wurde damals in der Volksabstimmung die Pflicht der Kantone zur Schulharmonisierung «im Bereich des Schuleintrittsalters und der Schulpflicht, der Dauer und Ziele der Bildungsstufen und von deren Übergängen sowie der Anerkennung von Abschlüssen», wie es wörtlich in der Verfassung heisst. Schaffen dies die Kantone nicht, hat der Bund die Kompetenz einzugreifen.
Doch niemand ahnte damals, dass dieser zaghafte Versuch zu mehr Gemeinsamkeiten in den Schulen der einzelnen Kantone dazu missbraucht wird, tiefgreifenden Reformen den Stempel einer demokratischen Legitimität aufzudrücken. Der Deutschschweizer Lehrplan 21 ist dabei nur einer der Mosaiksteine der tiefgreifenden «Reformitis», wenn auch ein bedeutender.

Die Schule als Unternehmen

Angestossen wurde der Umbau weg von traditionellen humanistischen Bildungsgrundsätzen zu einer utilitaristischen Instrumentalisierung der Ausbildung bereits in den 90er-Jahren, als der Zürcher Erziehungsdirektor Ernst Buschor in seinem Kanton der Schulverwaltung das New Public Management aufdrückte, die Schulen zu Corporate Identities erklärte und dem offenbar nützlicheren Frühenglisch gegenüber der zweiten Landessprache den Vorzug gab. Der Lehrplan 21 atmet diesen damals in Zürich verankerten Geist. Er versteht die Lehrkräfte als Anbieter von Dienstleistungen und die Eltern und Schüler als Kunden – eine Schule, die wie die Wirtschaft Angebot und Nachfrage zur Maxime erhebt.
Im Zentrum des Lehrplans 21 stehen die Kompetenzen und das selbstgesteuerte Lernen. Der Fokus liegt auf Prüfungen und Tests und nicht mehr auf Wissen und Schulstoff. Der frühere SBB-Chef Benedikt Weibel hat die Abkehr von der Maxime «Wissen ist Macht» schon vor einiger Zeit als eine «Bildungspolitik auf Abwegen» kritisiert. Der Lehrplan 21 orientiert sich an Kompetenzen, die über nützliches Wissen und anwendbare Fähigkeiten erworben werden und in einheitlichen Tests prüf- und messbar sind. Auf der Strecke bleibt dabei letztlich der Erziehungsauftrag, den die Schule hat. Prägende Lehrerpersönlichkeiten, die um das Wohl ihrer Schüler besorgt sind und ihre Entwicklung fördern, braucht es dafür keine mehr. Sie mutieren zu Kontrolleuren von Schülern, die ihren Kompetenzenstand selbständig entwickeln, analysieren und perfektionieren, damit sie auf den Testformularen die richtigen Kreuze anbringen.
Doch eine Schule ist kein Unternehmen. Der Widerstand gegen die Vielzahl von Reformen, welche die Schulen ganz offensichtlich nicht besser machen, wächst. Die Schulharmonisierung gerät damit zum Flop. Dem Harmos-Konkordat sind zahlreiche Kantone gar nicht erst beigetreten. Auch das Sprachenkonzept mit zwei Frühfremdsprachen in der Primarschule bröckelt. Und gegen den Lehrplan 21 sind in zahlreichen der 21 Kantone Volksinitiativen eingereicht worden. Selbst Kantone, die den Lehrplan 21 übernehmen, unterwandern ihn: In Appenzell etwa hat sich die Landsgemeinde hinter den Lehrplan 21 gestellt, nachdem die Regierung erklärt hat, sie werde ihn an die lokalen Bedürfnisse anpassen und auf das selbstgesteuerte Lernen – die sogenannten Lernlandschaften – ganz verzichten. Es ist dies ein Umgang mit dem Lehrplan 21, der ganz und gar nicht im Sinne seiner Erfinder sein dürfte. Glücklicherweise.

Unklarer Kompetenzbegriff

Bereits die Entstehungsgeschichte des Lehrplans 21 hat Aussenstehende misstrauisch gemacht. Lehrkräften und Journalisten wurde anfänglich der Zugang zu den Inhalten des Lehrplans 21 verweigert. Das Top-down-Projekt sollte offensichtlich ohne kritische Begleitung über die Bühne gehen. Erst bei der Veröffentlichung des Entwurfs konnte Kritik angebracht werden. Das Resultat war eine Vielzahl von Korrekturwünschen bei der Vernehmlassung, die schliesslich zum Flickwerk führte, das die Deutschschweizer Erziehungsdirektoren verabschiedeten. Dass es sich um ein Flickwerk handelt, sieht man ihm an: Er behandelt die Fächer unterschiedlich. Der Kompetenzbegriff ist unklar. Hinter ihm verbirgt sich eine Mischung aus Wissen, Lernzielen und eigentlichen Kompetenzen.
«Schülerinnen und Schüler können Prozentrechnungen mit dem Rechner ausführen» hat eine völlig andere Dimension als etwa «Schülerinnen und Schüler können Informationen und Informationsquellen zum Boden als Ressource einordnen, Schlussfolgerungen für eine nachhaltige Nutzung ziehen und diese beurteilen». Während in einzelnen Fächern die Inhalte ziemlich eng gefasst sind, hängen in anderen die Inhalte völlig von der Funktion ab, mit welcher die Kompetenz erworben werden soll. So ist etwa im Sammelfach «Räume, Zeiten, Gesellschaften» der Holocaust nur gerade als eines von mehreren Ereignissen im «Zeitalter der Extreme» aufgeführt: «Die Schülerinnen und Schüler können ausgewählte Phänomene der Geschichte des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts analysieren und deren Relevanz für heute erklären», heisst es. Es geht also nicht um die sachliche Auseinandersetzung mit dem Holocaust, denn das Ereignis ist nur eines von mehreren ausgewählten Phänomenen, mit denen die Kompetenz erworben werden kann, dieses historisch einzuordnen.
Peter Bonati, den ich einst an der Abteilung für das Höhere Lehramt der Universität Bern als Dozenten kennen- und schätzen gelernt habe, hält genau dieses Ungleichgewicht zwischen Inhalten und Kompetenzen für die Schwäche des Lehrplans 21. Bonati meint, wer als junger Lehrer wenig Erfahrung habe, werde Mühe damit haben, die Reihenfolge der Unterrichtsinhalte zu finden, die er braucht, um die Kompetenzen zu erreichen.

Handlanger der Bildungsexperten

Mit dem Lehrplan 21 und den vielen begleitenden Reformen werden damit nicht nur, wie vorgegeben, die Schulsysteme harmonisiert. Vielmehr geht es darum, die Schule zu einer Testfabrik umzugestalten, in der die Lehrkräfte bloss noch kontrollieren, ob die Schülerinnen und Schüler für die vorgegebenen Ziele arbeiten. Von ihrer pädagogischen Funktion werden die Lehrkräfte damit weitgehend entlastet, ebenso vom Auftrag, die Schülerinnen und Schüler zu einem kritischen Denken zu animieren. Sie sollen zu Handlangern der Bildungsexperten werden.
Eine demokratische Auseinandersetzung über die Funktionen, welche der Volksschule in unserer Gesellschaft zukommen, ist dabei nicht vorgesehen. Wären da nicht Initianten, die Unterschriften gesammelt haben, würde die Volksschule gar völlig am Volk vorbei umgestaltet. So weit soll es aber nicht kommen: Das erfolgreiche Schweizer Bildungssystem darf nicht klammheimlich beerdigt werden.    •

Quelle: Basler Zeitung vom 30.4.2016