A nuclear power plant in Bolivia using lithium instead of uranium?

npa/bha. In March this year, the “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” informed it’s readers that the Bolivian Government has issued an agreement with the Russian state corporation Rosatom, after which Rosatom will build a nuclear research center in El Alto. There was talk among others of a nuclear research reactor supporting Bolivia in using nuclear energy. Bolivia would be the third country in South America using nuclear energy besides Brazil and Argentina. But was the “Neue Zürcher Zeitung” really uninformed of what the type this reactor will be? Nothing has been specified in more detail, the reader has to speculate, if he wanted to.
Meanwhile, several news agencies report about the groundbreaking ceremony and the signing of the treaties that regulate the nuclear research center and nail down its financing. Xinhuanet reports: Bolivian Vice President Alvaro Garcia Linera stated on July 8, 2016 at the signing ceremony “that as an exporter of lithium used in nuclear fusion, Bolivia should learn how to make the most of the natural resource. We can’t have the world using lithium over the next 20, 30 or 50 years, while we Bolivians remain incapable of using lithium for our own benefit. We have lived like this for 500 years. For 500 years we have used Bolivia’s raw materials so that other countries around the world would develop science, technology and industry, and we don’t want to repeat that history. That’s why we have made a decision: to plant today so we can harvest in 2025, 2030, 2040”
A Belarusian news Agency reported that it was remarkable that Rosatom dares such a research reactor project that requires cutting edge technology. The project was connected with very ambitious tasks.
Current Concerns wants to bring up some background information.
In March 2012, Current Concerns published excerpts from a brochure of the German author Dipl. Ing. Heinz Werner Gabriel. Title: “Nuclear power without radioactivity - no dream: From uranium to lithium fuel”*.
It concerns the principle concept of a nuclear reactor which operates on the basis of splitting of lithium by means of hydrogen isotope “Deuterium”. This produces two inactive helium nuclei and per gram lithium-6 an energy equivalent of up to 10,000 kg oil (this is three times more than energy out of one gram of uranium). The worldwide available lithium reserves exceed those of oil many times over. Heinz Werner Gabriel took up again attempts in England and Germany from the time before Otto Hahn (1938). He looked back and reappraised them, updated them technically and made them available to an interested audience.
Only a few media, such as for example, ADN, Klagemauer TV and PravdaTV took the theme up. Although Switzerland and the EU probably have technologically a leading position and have sufficient financial resources, professionals and knowledge, there were no adequate responses. But the Bolivian Embassy in Berne had invited the expert Gabriel to a detailed conversation.
The energy debates run high in the aftermath of Fukushima (2011), the “phase-out of nuclear energy” and the “energy revolution” have been discussed again and again … but there was surprisingly no understanding for a nuclear technology that has no uranium and harmful radioactivity. Well, as a renewed “exit from exit” would make the professional incompetence of the political decision makers too evident. Comments were limited to subtle defamation.
Meanwhile, Bolivia’s Government has adopted the approach. In October 2014, Bolivia’s President Evo Morales announced the construction of the first nuclear power plant for 2025. Bolivia is extraordinarily rich in lithium, in particular from the Salar de Uyuni. The “golden” natural resources should according to the will of Evo Morales not mined and taken out of the country, like the silver at times of Potosi. It was agreed that the lithium resources should be processed in the country, to bring an advantage to the entire population. Rosatom took up the concept, it probably underwent a feasibility study and it was concluded, that this constituted a very energy-efficient technology. One can assume that Rosatom wouldn’t do a blind bargain...
Dipl-Ing. Gabriel mentions 3 points concerning the further development of nuclear lithium technology:

  1. the Bolivian initiative is welcomed. There is hope that results secretly achieved since years in dominant countries, can be reproduced in Latin America under democratic principles. It is useful to back up the project by BRICS countries.
  2. Some comments on the lithium fission showed that depth and breadth of nuclear knowledge greatly decreased in the last few decades in Germany. Economy and science should not accept, to be competed out of a major technological and economic activity.
  3. it is satisfying, to be able to fantasize detached from constraints about the unusual perspectives of this light metal. To name are space engines, energy for secluded areas of life (how much lithium would be needed for a human to survive?) and defence systems.         •

*    After 20 November 2016 an extended edition of the brochure can be ordered at Current Concerns.

Ein Kernkraftwerk in Bolivien mit Lithium statt Uran?

npa/bha. Im März dieses Jahres informierte die «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» ihre Leser darüber, dass die bolivianische Regierung Abkommen mit dem russischen Staatsunternehmen Rosatom geschlossen hat, wonach Rosatom ein nukleares Forschungszentrum in El Alto aufbauen wird. Die Rede war unter anderem von einem atomaren Forschungsreaktor, der Bolivien zur Nutzung von Atomenergie führen solle. Bolivien wäre nach Brasilien und Argentinien das dritte Land Südamerikas mit Nuklearenergie. War die «Neue Zürcher Zeitung» wirklich in Unkenntnis darüber, welcher Art dieser Forschungsreaktor sei? Genauer spezifiziert wurde nichts, der Leser konnte sich in Mutmassungen ergehen, wenn er wollte.
Mittlerweile berichten etliche Nachrichtenagenturen von der Grundsteinlegung und der Unterzeichnung der Verträge, die das nukleare Forschungszentrum und dessen Finanzierung im Detail regeln und niet- und nagelfest absichern. Xinhuanet berichtet: Der bolivianische Vizepräsident Alvaro Garcia Linera habe sich am 8. Juli 2016 bei der Unterzeichnung dahingehend geäussert, «that as an exporter of lithium used in nuclear fusion, Bolivia should learn how to make the most of the natural resource. We can't have the world using lithium over the next 20, 30 or 50 years, while we Bolivians remain incapable of using lithium for our own benefit. We have lived like this for 500 years. For 500 years we have used Bolivia's raw materials so that other countries around the world would develop science, technology and industry, and we don't want to repeat that history. That's why we have made a decision: to plant today so we can harvest in 2025, 2030, 2040». («… dass Bolivien als ein Exporteur von Lithium, das in der Kernfusion verwendet wird, lernen sollte, aus dieser Naturresource das Möglichste zu machen. Es geht nicht an, dass die Welt Lithium über die kommenden 20, 30 oder 50 Jahre verwendet, während wir Bolivianer unfähig blieben, Lithium für unser eigenes Wohl zu nutzen. So haben wir seit 500 Jahren gelebt. Seit 500 Jahren haben wir Boliviens Rohstoffe so eingesetzt, dass andere Länder überall in der Welt Wissenschaft, Technologie und Industrie entwickeln konnten, und wir wollen diese Geschichte nicht wiederholen. Das ist der Grund dafür, dass wir einen Beschluss gefasst haben: Heute pflanzen, damit wir 2025, 2030, 2040 ernten können». [Übersetzung durch die Verfasser])
Eine belarussische Nachrichtenagentur berichtet, dass es bemerkenswert sei, dass Ros­atom ein solches Forschungsreaktorprojekt wagt, das cutting-edge-technology – Spitzentechnologie in diesem Bereich – erfordert. Das Projekt sei mit sehr ehrgeizigen Aufgaben verbunden.
Zeit-Fragen möchte hier einige Hintergrundinformationen nachtragen.
Im März 2012 publizierte Zeit-Fragen Auszüge aus einer Broschüre des deutschen Autors Dipl. Ing. Heinz Werner Gabriel. Titel ist: «Kernenergie ohne Radioaktivität – Kein Traum: Vom Uran zum Lithium-Kernbrennstoff»*.
Inhaltlich geht es um ein Grundkonzept eines nuklearen Reaktors, der auf der Basis der Spaltung von Lithium mittels des Wasserstoffs «Deuterium» arbeitet. Dabei entstehen zwei inaktive Helium-Kerne und pro Gramm Lithium-6 ein Energieäquivalent von bis zu 10 000 kg Öl (das heisst drei mal mehr als aus einem Gramm Uran). Weltweit übersteigen die Lithium-Energiereserven die von Erdöl um ein Vielfaches. Heinz Werner Gabriel hat damit aus der Zeit vor Otto Hahn (1938) Versuche aus England und Deutschland aufgegriffen, aufgearbeitet, technisch aktualisiert und einem interessierten Publikum zugänglich gemacht.
Nur wenige Medien wie zum Beispiel ADN, Klagemauer TV und PravdaTV griffen das Thema auf. Obwohl die Schweiz und die EU vermutlich technologisch eine Spitzenstellung einnehmen dürften und über genügend finanzielle Mittel, Fachkräfte und Kenntnisse verfügen, blieben offene, adäquate Reaktionen aus. Die bolivianische Botschaft in Bern jedoch hatte den Fachmann Gabriel zu einem ausführlichen Gespräch geladen.
Die Wogen der Energiedebatte gingen zwar in der Zeit nach Fukushima (2011) hoch, der «Ausstieg aus der Kernenergie» und die «Energiewende» wurden bis zur Genüge neu durchgekaut … für eine Nukleartechnologie, die ohne Uran und schädliche Radioaktivität auskommt, fand sich erstaunlicherweise kein Verständnis. Wohl, weil ein neuerlicher «Ausstieg aus dem Ausstieg» die fachliche Inkompetenz der politischen Entscheidungsträger zu deutlich machen würde. Meinungsäusserungen beschränkten sich auf subtile Diffamierungen.
Inzwischen hat Boliviens Regierung den Ansatz verfolgt. Im Oktober 2014 kündigte Boliviens Präsident Evo Morales die Konstruktion des ersten Kernkraftwerks für 2025 an. Bolivien ist ausserordentlich reich an Lithium, insbesondere aus dem Salar de Uyuni. Das «Gold» dieses Salzes sollte nach dem Willen von Evo Morales nicht, wie das Silber zu Zeiten Potosis, abgebaut und ausser Landes gebracht werden. Man war sich einig, dass die Lithium-Reserven im Land selbst zur Verarbeitung kommen sollten, um der gesamte Bevölkerung einen Vorteil zu bringen. Rosatom griff das Konzept auf, unterzog es wohl einer Machbarkeitsstudie und kam zum Schuss, dass dies eine sehr energieeffiziente Technologie darstelle. Man kann annehmen, dass Rosatom sich nicht für eine Katze im Sack engagieren will …
Dipl-Ing. Gabriel nennt 3 Punkte zur weiteren Entwicklung der nuklearen Lithium-Technologie:

  1. Die bolivianische Initiative ist zu begrüssen. Es ist zu hoffen, dass die seit Jahren in dominanten Ländern erreichten geheimen Ergebnisse in Lateinamerika nachvollzogen und unter demokratischen Prinzipien genutzt werden können. Es ist sinnvoll, das Vorhaben durch Brics-Staaten sichern zu lassen.
  2. Einige Kommentare zur Lithium-Spaltung haben gezeigt, dass Tiefe und Breite an kerntechnischem Wissen in den letzten Jahrzehnten in Deutschland stark zurückgegangen sind. Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft sollten es nicht hinnehmen, sich von einem wichtigen Technologie- und Wirtschaftszweig verdrängen zu lassen.
  3. Es ist befriedigend, losgelöst von Zwängen, über die ungewöhnlichen Perspektiven des leichten Metalls phantasieren zu können. Zu nennen sind Triebwerke für die Weltraumfahrt, Energie für abgekapselte Lebensbereiche (Wieviel Lithium bräuchte ein Mensch zum Überleben?) und Systeme zur Verteidigung.                                            •

*    Ab 20. 11. 2016  kann eine erweiterte Broschüre bei Zeit-Fragen (bzw. Horizons et débats, Current Concerns) bestellt werden.