Prima i nostri! Ticino population tackles ruling of immigration themselves

by Dr iur Marianne Wüthrich

On 25 September 2016, the Ticino population clearly adopted the cantonal referendum “Prima i nostri” (first our own people) with 58.02 per cent yes votes. The counter ­proposal of the Gran Consiglio (Parliament) was also clearly rejected. So the voters give a clear signal to Berne: If the Federal Parliament does not implement the Mass Immigration initiative, then we just do it ourselves.

62,179 cross-border commuters worked in Ticino in June 2016, equivalent to almost one-third of the approximately 200,000 jobs1. The foreigners’ rate resident in the canton of Ticino is 27.6%, therefore higher than the Swiss average (24.6%, end of 2015). With its 350,000 inhabitants, the Italian-speaking southern canton faces huge Lombardy with 10 million inhabitants who speak the same language, but suffer from a much higher unemployment than the Ticino neighbours and understandably are attracted by the high Swiss wages too.
Knowing what will be ahead of them, the Ticino population have rejected the Bilateral I with the corresponding free movement of persons almost as the only canton in the year 2000 with 57% no. In February 2014 they said most clearly yes to the Mass Immigration initiative with 68.2%.

“Bottom up protection clause” instead of uniform threshold value prescribed from above

As the Federal Council draft for the regulation of immigration was published in spring 2016, the Ticino Government informed the media: Setting a threshold beyond which quotas were introduced, will not help the Ticino at all, so State Council President Norman Gobbi on 6 March 2016, because it does not take account of frontier workers. There are the frontier workers who contribute in Ticino to significantly higher unemployment, wage dumping and congestion on the roads.
As alternative to the Federal Council’s proposal the Ticinese Government therefore presented a “bottom up protection clause”, worked out by Michael Ambühl, former Secretary of State and Swiss chief negotiator on their behalf. Regional labour markets indicators such as unemployment rates, wage levels or cost of living should serve as criteria for restricting immigration. The situation in heavily affected regions should turn the balance for a restriction of immigration, not a number prescribed from above and valid for whole Switzerland. (cf. “Berner Zeitung” 7 March)
The fact that in the autumn session the National Council didn’t take this sensible proposal into consideration certainly contributed to the fact that the Ticino population said so clearly yes to the initiative “Prima i nostri” on 25 September.

A priority for nationals that deserves this name

The central point of the new Ticino regulation: The principle of the priority of nationals according to Article 121a of the Federal Constitution (control of immigration) is anchored in the Constitution of the Canton:
Article 14 paragraph 1: “the Canton ensures that […]” “b. on the labour market its inhabitants are preferred to foreigners, if they have same qualifications (implementation of the principle of the priority of national workers)”.
This means for the employers who are looking for an employee that they must first prove that no suitable workers are available in Ticino before they employ a cross-border worker or an immigrant from Italy.
If we compare the regulation established by the people of Ticino with the powerless “National priority light” which the majority of the National Council has approved on 21 September as first Council, we can well understand our compatriots from beyond the Gotthard. A job reporting obligation of the employer in case of excess of a hitherto unknown threshold value does not help the Ticino workers and job seekers. They need immediate remedy to the previously unrestricted influx of cross-border workers and immigrants which depresses the wages of the workforce and force up the unemployment and hence social assistance costs (see box).

Not feasible?

The concerns of the cantons are to be respected by the federal authorities
In the Italian media, loud howls of protest arose after the Ticino referendum. Thereby, in a people-friendly economy it would be actually clear that the companies first employ those job seekers who already live in the country.
In Switzerland, some say that the initiative is not feasible, because the canton shouldn’t penetrate into areas which are in the competence of the Federal Government or are regulated by treaties with foreign countries. In particular, it was unclear whether the amendment of the purpose article of the Cantonal Constitution associated with the initiative “Prima i nostri” was allowed:

“Article 4 purpose article
“Paragraph 1 The Canton [...] wakes that international treaties concluded by the Confederation and the Foreign Nationals Act thus affected are applied without violating the personal and social rights of the persons living on the cantonal territory and in full respect of the reciprocity between states.” [Translation Current Concerns]

What should be not allowed there? The new Ticino Constitution norm corresponds to the strong position of the cantons in the federalist political system: “The cantons are sovereign insofar as their sovereignty is not limited by the Federal Constitution; they exercise all rights which are not transferred to the Federal Government.” It says so in Article 3 of the Federal Constitution. It is almost the right and obligation of the cantonal authorities to protest and intervene actively, if federal authorities do not follow the Constitution! One could speak of an actual cantons’ right to resist.
After the cantonal referendum of the initiative “Prima i nostri” the Federal Assembly will decide whether it wants to ensure the changes of the Ticino Constitution (as not contradicting a federal law). (Article 51 paragraph 2 of the Federal Constitution) This won’t be a legal, but a political decision first and foremost. If the Parliament in Bern prefers to have cooperative cantons at its side, it won’t refuse ensuring Ticino. It would be wiser to consider the concerns and problems of the individual cantons and to include them into the federal decisions. This includes no doubt immigration and in particular the question of the priority of the residents so that the border cantons and particularly the Ticino aren’t left alone with their urgent concerns. Otherwise the authorities in Berne may not be surprised, if one or the other Canton takes its affairs into their own hands.     •

1     Federal Statistical Office (FSO), Employment and workweek, Cross-border Commuters

Higher unemployment and lower wages close to the border

“The latest wage data for 2014 again yield information that border workers in the Canton Ticino and the Jurassic Arc achieve lower wages on average than local workers with identical features: The wage difference is around 6%.” – “ For the border regions, it should be noted that, despite the difficult economic environment, cross-border employment continued to grow during the last year, with the exception of the canton of Ticino, where the number of cross-border workers remained at a high level.
Particularly in the Lake Geneva region, in Ticino, and in the Jurassic Arc, cross-border workers make up a high proportion of local employment; at the same time, the unemployment rate in these regions is clearly above the Swiss average.”

State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO Media release on the Free Movement of Persons from 5.7.2016; extract

(Translation Current Concerns)

Prima i nostri! Tessiner Bevölkerung packt die Regelung der Zuwanderung selbst an

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Am 25. September 2016 haben die Tessiner die kantonale Volksinitiative «Prima i nostri» (Zuerst unsere eigenen Leute) mit 58,02 % Ja-Stimmen deutlich angenommen. Der Gegenvorschlag des Gran Consiglio (Parlament) wurde ebenso deutlich abgelehnt. Damit geben die Stimmbürger ein klares Signal nach Bern: Wenn das eidgenössische Parlament die Masseneinwanderungs-Initiative nicht umsetzt, dann tun wir es eben selbst.

62 179 Grenzgänger arbeiteten im Juni 2016 im Tessin, dies entspricht fast einem Drittel der rund 200 000 Arbeitsplätze.1 Auch die Quote der im Tessin wohnhaften Ausländer ist mit 27,6 % höher als der Schweizer Durchschnitt (24,6 %, Ende 2015). Mit seinen 350 000 Einwohnern steht der italienischsprachige Südkanton der riesigen Lombardei mit 10 Millionen Einwohnern gegenüber, welche dieselbe Sprache sprechen, aber unter einer wesentlich höheren Arbeitslosigkeit leiden als die Tessiner Nachbarn und verständlicherweise auch durch die hohen Schweizer Löhne angezogen werden.

Weil sie wussten, was auf sie zukommen wird, haben die Tessiner schon im Jahr 2000 die Bilateralen I mit der dazugehörenden Personenfreizügigkeit fast als einziger Kanton abgelehnt, mit 57 % Nein. Im Februar 2014 sagten sie mit 68,2 % am deutlichsten Ja zur Masseneinwanderungs-Initiative.

«Bottom up-Schutzklausel» statt von oben verordneter einheitlicher Schwellenwert

Als der bundesrätliche Entwurf zur Regelung der Zuwanderung im Frühling 2016 vorlag, trat die Tessiner Regierung vor die Medien: Die Festlegung eines Schwellenwertes, bei dessen Überschreitung Kontingente eingeführt würden, nütze dem Tessin nichts, so Staatsratspräsident Norman Gobbi am 6. März 2016, denn er berücksichtige die Grenzgänger nicht. Dabei seien es die Grenzgänger, die im Tessin massgeblich zu höherer Arbeitslosigkeit, Lohndumping und Stau auf den Strassen beitragen.
Als Alternativvorschlag zu dem des Bundesrates legte die Tessiner Regierung deshalb eine «bottom up-Schutzklausel» vor, die Michael Ambühl, früherer Staatssekretär und Schweizer Chefunterhändler, in ihrem Auftrag ausgearbeitet hatte. Als Kriterien für die Beschränkung der Zuwanderung sollen Indikatoren regionaler Arbeitsmärkte wie Arbeitslosenquote, Lohnniveau oder Lebenshaltungskosten dienen. Den Ausschlag für eine Beschränkung der Zuwanderung soll die Situation in stark betroffenen Regionen geben und nicht eine von oben verordnete und für die ganze Schweiz gültige Zahl. (vgl. «Berner Zeitung» vom 7. März)
Dass der Nationalrat diesen sinnvollen Vorschlag in der Herbstsession nicht in Betracht gezogen hat, trug sicher mit dazu bei, dass die Tessiner am 25. September so deutlich Ja sagten zur Initiative «Prima i nostri».

Ein Inländervorrang, der diesen Namen verdient

Zentraler Punkt der neuen Tessiner Regelung: In der Kantonsverfassung wird das Prinzip des Inländervorrangs im Sinne des Artikels 121a der Bundesverfassung (Steuerung der Zuwanderung) verankert:
Artikel 14 Absatz 1: «Der Kanton sorgt dafür, dass […] b. auf dem Arbeitsmarkt seine Einwohner gegenüber den aus dem Ausland Kommenden bevorzugt werden, wenn sie dieselben beruflichen Qualifikationen haben (Umsetzung des Prinzips des Inländervorrangs)». (Übersetzung Zeit-Fragen)
Das bedeutet für die Arbeitgeber, die einen Mitarbeiter suchen, dass sie zuerst beweisen müssen, dass im Tessin keine geeigneten Arbeitskräfte zur Verfügung stehen, bevor sie einen Grenzgänger oder einen Zuwanderer aus Italien einstellen.
Wenn wir die vom Tessiner Volk festgelegte Regelung vergleichen mit dem kraftlosen «Inländervorrang light», dem die Mehrheit des Nationalrats am 21. September als Erstrat zugestimmt hat, können wir unsere Compatrioti von ennet dem Gotthard gut verstehen. Mit einer Stellenmeldepflicht der Arbeitgeber im Falle der Überschreitung eines noch unbekannten Schwellenwertes ist den Tessiner Arbeitnehmern und Stellensuchenden nicht geholfen. Sie benötigen sofortige Abhilfe gegenüber dem bisher ungebremsten Zustrom von Grenzgängern und Zuwanderern, welcher die Löhne der Erwerbstätigen drückt und die Arbeitslosigkeit in die Höhe treibt und damit auch die Sozialhilfekosten (vgl. Kasten).

Nicht umsetzbar? Die Anliegen der Kantone sind durch die Bundesbehörden zu respektieren

In den italienischen Medien erhob sich nach dem Tessiner Volksentscheid sofort lautes Protestgeschrei. Dabei wäre es in einem menschengerecht geordneten Wirtschaftsleben eigentlich selbstverständlich, dass die Firmen zuerst einmal diejenigen Stellensuchenden einstellen, die bereits im Land leben.
Im Inland wiederum werden Stimmen laut, die Initiative sei nicht umsetzbar, weil der Kanton nicht in Bereiche eindringen dürfe, die in der Kompetenz des Bundes liegen oder in Verträgen mit dem Ausland geregelt seien. Insbesondere sei es unklar, ob die mit der Initiative «Prima i nostri» verbundene Ergänzung des Zweckartikels der Kantonsverfassung zulässig sei:

«Artikel 4 Zweckartikel
Absatz 1 Der Kanton […] wacht darüber, dass die von der Eidgenossenschaft abgeschlossenen internationalen Verträge und das dadurch betroffene Ausländerrecht angewendet werden, ohne die persönlichen und sozialen Rechte der auf dem kantonalen Territorium Lebenden zu verletzen und in voller Beachtung der Gegenseitigkeit zwischen den Staaten.» [Übersetzung Zeit-Fragen]

Was soll da nicht zulässig sein? Die neue Tessiner Verfassungsnorm entspricht der starken Stellung der Kantone im föderalistischen Staatswesen: «Die Kantone sind souverän, soweit ihre Souveränität nicht durch die Bundesverfassung beschränkt ist; sie üben alle Rechte aus, die nicht dem Bund übertragen sind.» So steht es in Artikel 3 der Bundesverfassung. Es ist geradezu Recht und Verpflichtung der kantonalen Behörden, Protest einzulegen und sich aktiv einzuschalten, wenn die Bundesbehörden sich nicht an die Verfassung halten! Man könnte hier von einem eigentlichen Widerstandsrecht der Kantone sprechen.
Nach dem kantonalen Volksentscheid zur Initiative «Prima i nostri» wird die Bundesversammlung darüber entscheiden, ob sie die Änderungen der Tessiner Verfassung (als dem Bundesrecht nicht widersprechend) gewährleisten will. (Artikel 51 Absatz 2 der Bundesverfassung) Dies wird in erster Linie kein rechtlicher, sondern ein politischer Entscheid sein. Wenn das Parlament in Bern lieber kooperative Kantone an seiner Seite hat, wird es dem Tessin die Gewährleistung nicht verweigern. Klüger wäre es, die Anliegen und Probleme der einzelnen Kantone zur Kenntnis zu nehmen und in die eidgenössischen Entscheidungen einzubeziehen. Dazu gehört zweifellos, die Zuwanderung und insbesondere die Frage des Inländervorrangs so zu regeln, dass die Grenzkantone, und ganz besonders das Tessin, mit ihren drängenden Sorgen nicht im Stich gelassen werden. Andernfalls dürfen sich die Behörden in Bern nicht wundern, wenn der eine oder andere Kanton seine Angelegenheiten selber in die Hand nimmt.    •

1    Bundesamt für Statistik BfS, Erwerbstätige und Arbeitszeit, Grenzgänger

Höhere Arbeitslosigkeit und tiefere Löhne in Grenzgebieten

«Die aktuellsten Lohndaten für das Jahr 2014 liefern erneut Hinweise darauf, dass Grenzgänger/innen im Tessin und auch im Jurabogen im Durchschnitt tiefere Löhne erzielen als merkmalsgleiche ansässige Erwerbstätige: Die Lohndifferenz beträgt rund 6 %.» – «Für die Grenzregionen ist weiter festzuhalten, dass trotz des schwierigen konjunkturellen Umfelds die Grenzgängerbeschäftigung auch im letzten Jahr weiter zugenommen hat – eine Ausnahme bildet der Kanton Tessin, wo die Grenzgängerzahl auf hohem Niveau stagnierte.
Vor allem in der Genferseeregion, im Tessin sowie im Jurabogen machen Grenzgänger einen hohen Anteil der lokalen Beschäftigung aus; gleichzeitig liegt die Erwerbslosenquote in diesen Regionen deutlich über dem gesamtschweizerischen Durchschnitt.»
Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft SECO,

Medienmitteilung zur Personenfreizügigkeit vom 5.7.2016; Auszug