An independent policy towards the EU and NATO

Rl. The Swiss press reported it instantaneously: The EU superiors implied that the negotiation results between Brussels and London would not mean any compromise for Berne. One would like to add that the non-EU country Switzerland should kindly comply decorously and do as commanded from Brussels. But in what shape is the EU actually?

The EU has feet of clay. The refugee crisis is far from being solved. Spring is sure to come bringing hundred of thousand new migrants. In individual states lawless zones are caused by massive immigration flows. Social costs of extraordinary proportions are to be expected. The populations are dissatisfied.

The EU on feet of clay

The economies of most EU member states are sluggish despite the unchecked financial injections from the European Central Bank, ECB.
Parallel to this, the USA incite along the neighbouring countries of Russia unrest in Ukraine and Turkey. The United States itself would be little hurt by a war. Furthermore, their staged boycott against Russia massively harms the economies of individual EU states – and competitors.
Simultaneously, Brussels EU headquarters increasingly ties itself to Washington: Brussels pushes the TTIP negotiations against the citizens’ resistance. A selling out of the economy is feared. In addition, the agreement leads to a further deprivation of rights of the citizens. Furthermore, Brussels actively promotes migration flows to the European countries. Hereby, Jean-Claude Juncker and Jan Asselblom ultimately try to impose EU internal policy against the declared opposition of many European countries. Whoever does not obey, is to be pilloried and threatened.

NATO are getting ready on the borders to Russia

At the same time the United States are activating the “defense alliance” NATO for further military interventions: NATO in Syria, North Africa, in the Aegean, in Georgia and Ukraine. NATO massively upgrades on the borders of Russia. The Norwegian NATO general secretary Jens Stoltenberg does not miss any opportunity to stir up public opinion against Russia. The situation escalates increasingly.

Swiss policy must remain independent

On the international level Swiss politics is facing great challenges. As negotiating venue, as Depositary State of the ICRC and as agent for Good Offices, Switzerland has to deploy all their experience. At the same time, Switzerland cannot neglect itself. What counts now is to stay neutral and credible, to maintain distance to the conflict parties and show independence. All this in an internationally narrow, cross-linked environment with many mutual interdependencies. Does it make sense to continue participating in the NATO-run organisation “Partnership for Peace”? Does it make sense to unquestioningly accept guidelines from the EU headquarters in Brussels? Does it make sense to literally follow the Schengen Agreement or to be dictated how one organises its domestic policy? Or is it not valid after all to lead a sovereign foreign policy again which for example shapes independently the question of immigration, defense policy or economic and financial policy? Switzerland has to maintain its independent position. Another blind alignment with foreign interests will impact Switzerland as a neutral mediator in unforeseen ways, but will also impact directly our country and our citizens.     •
(Translation Current Concerns)

Eine eigenständige Politik gegenüber EU und Nato

Rl. Die Schweizer Presse meldete es unverzüglich weiter: Die EU-Oberen liessen durchblicken, dass die Verhandlungsresultate zwischen Brüssel und London kein Entgegenkommen für Bern bedeuten würden. Man möchte hinzufügen, das Nicht-EU-Land Schweiz solle sich gefälligst brav fügen und tun, wie ihm aus Brüssel befohlen wird. Doch wie ist es eigentlich um die EU bestellt?

Die EU steht auf tönernen Füssen: Die Flüchtlingskrise ist nicht annähernd gelöst. Der Frühling mit Hunderttausenden neuen Migranten kommt sicher. In einzelnen Staaten entstehen durch die massiven Einwanderungsströme rechtsfreie Zonen. Sozialkosten ungeahnten Ausmasses sind zu erwarten. Die Bevölkerungen sind unzufrieden.

Die EU auf tönernen Füssen

Die Volkswirtschaften der allermeisten EU-Mitgliedsstaaten lahmen trotz der ungebremsten Finanzspritzen seitens der Europäischen Zentralbank EZB.
Parallel dazu schüren die USA entlang der Nachbarstaaten zu Russland in der Ukraine und in der Türkei Unfrieden. Die USA selbst würde ein Krieg wenig treffen. Ausserdem schadet der von ihnen inszenierte Boykott gegen Russland den Volkswirtschaften einzelner EU-Staaten – und Konkurrenten – massiv.
Gleichzeitig bindet sich die Brüsseler EU-Zentrale immer stärker an Washington: Brüssel treibt die TTIP-Verhandlungen gegen den Widerstand der Bürger voran. Ein Ausverkauf der Wirtschaft ist zu befürchten, ausserdem führt das Abkommen zu einer weiteren Entrechtung der Bürger. Weiterhin befördert Brüssel aktiv die Migrationsströme in die europäischen Staaten. Damit versuchen Jean-Claude Junker und Jan Asselblom nicht zuletzt, eine EU-Innenpolitik gegen den erklärten Widerstand vieler europäischer Staaten durchzusetzen. Wer nicht pariert, wird an den Pranger gestellt und bedroht.

Nato rüstet an den Grenzen zu Russland

Gleichzeitig aktivieren die USA das «Verteidigungsbündnis» Nato für weitere Kriegseinsätze: die Nato in Syrien, in Nordafrika, in der Ägäis, in Georgien und der Ukraine. Die Nato rüstet an den Grenzen zu Russland massiv auf. Der norwegische Nato-Generalsekräter Jens Stoltenberg lässt keine Gelegenheit aus, um Stimmung gegen Russland zu machen. Die Situation eskaliert zunehmend.

Schweizer Politik muss unabhängig bleiben

Die Schweizer Politik ist international sehr gefordert. Die Schweiz muss ihre Erfahrung als Verhandlungsort, als Dispositarstaat des IKRK, als Vermittler für Gute Dienste voll in die Waagschale werfen. Dabei darf sie sich aber nicht selbst vergessen. Jetzt kommt es darauf an, glaubwürdig neutral zu sein, Distanz zu wahren zu den Konfliktparteien, Unabhängigkeit zu zeigen. Dies alles in einem international engen, vernetzten Umfeld mit vielen wechselseitigen Abhängigkeiten. Ist es sinnvoll, weiterhin in der Nato-Vorfeld-Organisation «Partnership for Peace» mitzumachen? Ist es sinnvoll, unhinterfragt Vorgaben der EU-Zentrale aus Brüssel zu übernehmen? Ist es sinnvoll, buchstabengetreu dem Schengen-Abkommen zu folgen oder sich vorschreiben zu lassen, wie man seine Innenpolitik gestaltet? Oder gilt es nicht doch, jetzt eine souveräne Aussenpolitik zu führen, welche zum Beispiel die Einwanderungsfrage, die Verteidigungspolitik oder die Wirtschafts- und Finanzpolitik wieder eigenständig gestaltet? Die Schweiz muss ihre unabhängige Position wahren, die Folgen eines weiteren blinden Nachvollzugs fremder Interessen haben unabsehbare Folgen für die Schweiz als neutrale Vermittlerin, aber auch für unser Land und seine Menschen direkt.    •