Will Saudi Arabia ignite the fuse to start a new Middle East war?

by Andreas Becker

Saudi Arabia is currently not only arming itself for war, but seems almost eager to set fire to the fuse. In recent days, Saudi warplanes, their crews and ground personnel were transferred to the Turkish Incirlik airbase. The relocation was carried out in the context of the US-led military coalition against the Islamic State (IS), which Western politicians and media have recently preferred calling Daesh. The Turkish-Saudi alliance against Syria and Iran should be understood as Sunni alliance against Shiites. However, Lebanon is refusing the Saudi demand to join its military alliance. Today, a leading Maronite Christian wrote an open letter to the Saudi king Salman. A letter for peace on the eve of a war?

Since a week (24.2.2016) the oil-rich desert kingdom has been conducting the biggest military maneuvres in its history. Troops from 20 countries are involved. Saudi Arabia can now reap the rewards of its investments through generous cash flows into Arab and African countries over the past decades. Operation Northern Thunder was started ten days ago and will last one week. It was publicised only on its starting day. Simultaneously Riyadh literally threatened Syrian President Bashar al-Assad to “violently overthrow” him. This is exactly how wars have begun.
One of the wherefores is the Islamic State’s (IS) failure to win the day against Assad. Thanks to the Russian military support the Syrian government has lately been able to recapture several areas. In a relatively short time the Russians succeeded in what the US-led anti-IS coalition had not been able to achieve for the whole year before that – namely to stop the rise of the IS. However, the al-Qaeda successors are not defeated yet.
In Yemen, Saudi Arabia is already fighting a war against the Shiite Houthi rebels. However, the anti-Shiite front is expanding and threatening to encompass an area from the Mediterranean to the Persian Gulf, and from the Turkish border to the Pakistani and Afghan borders. Riyadh is demonstratively showing its willingness to militarily intervene in the Middle East conflict and put things in order according to its own way of thinking, and thus concealing that it is itself part of the conflict. Saudi Arabia got together with its friend, the USA, to form an interest alliance against the ruling Alawites in Syria, who are considered to be Shiites and from whose ranks President Assad’s family originates. The reasons of the anti-Assad alliance are not exactly the same, but based on the motto: “The enemy of my enemy is my friend”, it was agreed to instigate a rebellion against the Assad government.
For this purpose Syrian Sunni clans were courted and supplied with money and weapons and logistical support. Initially Washington sources reported that a Free Syrian Army was fighting against the dictator Assad and for democracy. The Free Syrian Army soon revealed itself to substantially consist of Islamist militias such as al-Nusra Brigade and Islamic State (IS). This is a fact neither Riyadh nor Washington care to admit. However, the Free Syrian Army is hardly mentioned any longer, but instead Islamist murders are reported, preferrably with Christians as victims. To date, it is unclear what governments and institutions are clandestinely lending a helping hand to the Islamic State and its offshoots.

Lebanon as an alternative model

Lebanon is the only strongly Christian-influenced state of the Middle East. Originally it was a sort of autonomous sanctuary for Christians in the Ottoman Empire, who withdrew from oppression and repression to the mountainous coastal region. The country lost its Christian majority in the bloody turmoil of the Middle East conflict. Yet the country still exists and coheres, and this is thanks to the Christians and their culture-coining faith. Lebanon is the only country in the Middle East which has all groups involved in governance, thus it represents a unique exception.
And yet the Christians would also have sufficient reason to bear a grudge. They could resort to violence just like the other religious groups do, but they only do so if they are forced to. They know their history, but make no charges on its behalf.
Reasons for the fact that Christians no longer have a majority in the state which was meant as a country of Christians, are the creation of Israel and the expulsion of the indigenous Palestinians, Sunni Muslims and Christians. As those expellees’ chances of being able to return to their home countries in the foreseeable future dwindled, the PLO tried to conquer Lebanon as a new territory. It was supported by parts of the Sunni Lebanese.
The result was a bloody civil war. The PLO’s attempt was blocked. But the loss of human lives and the destruction were enormous. 27 years after the war Lebanon is still a long way from the prosperity, it had enjoyed before. Wealth that was due to the country’s Christians. Just as the Lebanese have to thank the Christians that their country has not become another Iraq or Syria , no second Yemen and no second Libya.
To go into further detail about the Lebanese entanglements between anti-Syrian and pro-Syrian, anti-Western and pro-Western, anti-Israeli and pro-Israeli forces, etc. would blow up this text incredibly and furthermore be likely to create more confusion than clarity.

The Saudi “revenge”

To understand the present situation it suffices to say that Syria attempted to help the Christians against the Palestinian attempt at conquest in the 1970s. And that the Shiites, whose number has significantly increased especially in recent decades, see themselves as the natural allies of the Syrian Alawites.
Fact is that the Christians of Lebanon are grateful to Syria for the military aid in the 1970s. However, it is also true that the majority of Lebanese Christians did not want a Lebanon that would be a Syrian protectorate and therefore advocated the Syrian withdrawal from Lebanon concluded in 2005. The fact remains that the Lebanese Christians fully understand that their Christian fellow-brethren in Syria, with which they have often family ties, are much better off under the Alawite Assad than they would be under Sunni authority. While the Shiite Hizbullah is actively fighting on the side of Assad in Syria, the Lebanese Christians at least have sympathy, because of their solidarity with the Syrian Christians.
This partly explains why Lebanon does not want to participate in the anti-Shiite alliance forged by Saudi Arabia with the approval of the US. Their main reason for this is to protect themselves against another deadly and destructive war, in which nobody wants to get involved. The small country has to pay dearly for his refusal to participate. Riyadh recently announced a whole array of penalties against Lebanon. King Salman is reclaiming a donation of three billion dollars to upgrade the Lebanese army granted by his predecessor King Abdullah at the end of the year 2013. This huge sum that has since flowed partly into the army of the small Mediterranean country by way of arms deliveries from France. The common army represents an important stability factor in a state in which numerous armed militias still fought each other little more than 25 years ago.
Riyadh also expressed its displeasure by publicly warning that Saudis should avoid choosing Lebanon as a tourist destination for “security reasons”. Today Riyadh went even further and urged all Saudis to leave Lebanon, a measure also adopted by the closest Saudi allies in the Gulf region, Bahraini, UAE and Qatar. The Lebanese understand the meaning of this: The travel warning really is an indirect request to cut back economic relations with Lebanon. Today’s recall of Saudi citizens factually amounts in a civilian area to a general mobilisation in a military one.
The third threat, which was not officially pronounced but with sufficient conspicuousness informally circulated, has a direct and massive impact: Saudi Arabia and the other Gulf emirates might expel the 400,000 Lebanese employed in the Gulf region. It can easily be imagined what this would mean for Lebanon, a country with 4.4 million inhabitants (plus 450,000 Palestinian refugees and 1,250,000 Syrian refugees). By no later than the announcement of this threat every Lebanese knew that Saudi Arabia is serious and wants to bend the small Mediterranean country to its will. A fourth threat circulating as a rumour is that Gulf countries dominated by Sunni families might withdraw their money from the Lebanese banks and plunge the country into an economic and social crisis, and this completes the threatening scenario.

The Lebanese refusal

The “revenge” of Saudi king Salman followed the twofold refusal of the Lebanese Foreign Minister, Maronite Christian Jebran Bassil of the Free Patriotic Movement, to agree to an anti-Iranian resolution submitted by Saudi Arabia at the recent meeting of the Arab foreign ministers, and thus to join in the Saudi alliance. The Free Patriotic Movement domestically forms the minority faction of the Lebanese Christians. Yet the Christian majority and minority are largely in agreement regarding the foreign policy question of the Sunni-Shiite conflict powder keg, that is threatening to blow up the entire Middle East. A direct involvement of Lebanon in an uncontrollable Middle East war would be the end of the last remaining, significant and especially formative Christian presence in the Middle East.
Not only in Islamic circles but even among Lebanese Christians the conjecture is rumored that a destroyed hinterland as a kind of giant glacis would not be inconvenient to Israel nor to those Western forces who would be able to unabashedly lay their hands on the natural resources of the Middle East after a war. This assessment can do nothing to raise the overall mood. A leading Christian Lebanese does not want to speculate on such backgrounds behind the backgrounds. To him the facts on the table are sufficiently serious, and they caused him to act.
The Maronite Christian Fady Noun, deputy editor of the respected Lebanese daily “L’Orient-Le Jour” wrote an open letter to King Salman of Saudi Arabia in this dramatically worsening situation, in which you can smell the fuse even as far as Beirut. In this letter, he calls for mutual respect and illustrates why Lebanon can not be part of an alliance, because otherwise the only model of a sustainable solution to the conflict would be destroyed. Noun instead presents Lebanon to the Saudi king as a model for resolution, and he calls on him to choose peace instead of war.     •

Source: www.katholisches.info/2016/02/24/zuendet-saudi-arabien-die-lunte-zu-einem-neuen-nahost-krieg-offener-brief-eines libanesischen-christen-an-den-saudischen-koenig/ from 24.2.2016

(Translation Current Concerns)

“We must realise that we face a civilisational question that concerns everyone, the West included, the atheist West of the dead God, of colonial and imperial conquests, unequal exchanges, overt or covert racism and ethical relativism. The American philosopher Eric Voegelin, who reflected on millenarianisms, described this relativism as ‘a deification of society by itself’.
How in our dangerous times we miss the vigorous debate on civilisational relations that allowed us to play our role as cultural brokers for peace and truth. How we miss thinking about the 20th century we inherited. How we miss the in-depth reflection on Islam to understand what has led to the cultural and political aberration called ‘Islamic State’.”

Source: Open letter from Fady Noun to the Saudi Arabien King Salman (excerpt)

(Translation Current Concerns)

Zündet Saudi-Arabien die Lunte zu einem neuen Nahost-Krieg?

von Andreas Becker

Saudi-Arabien rüstet derzeit nicht nur zum Krieg, sondern scheint geradezu erpicht darauf, Feuer an die Lunte zu legen. In den vergangenen Tagen wurden saudische Kampfflugzeuge samt Besatzungen und Bodenpersonal auf den türkischen Luftwaffenstützpunkt Incirlik verlegt. Die Verlegung erfolgte im Rahmen der von den USA geführten Militärkoalition gegen den Islamischen Staat (IS), der neuerdings von westlichen Politikern und Medien lieber Daesh genannt wird. Die türkisch-saudische Allianz gegen Syrien und Iran ist als anti-schiitische Allianz der Sunniten zu sehen. Libanon verweigert sich jedoch der saudischen Forderung, seiner Militärallianz beizutreten. Ein führender maronitischer Christ verfasste heute einen offenen Brief an den saudischen König Salman. Ein Brief für den Frieden am Vorabend eines Krieges?

Seit einer Woche finden im ölreichen Wüstenkönigreich die grössten Militärmanöver seiner Geschichte statt. Truppen aus 20 Staaten sind daran beteiligt. Saudi-Arabien kann nun ernten, was es durch grosszügige Geldflüsse in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten in arabische und afrikanische Staaten investierte. Die Operation Northern Donner, «Donner des Nordens», wurde vor zehn Tagen begonnen und soll noch eine Woche dauern. Bekanntgegeben wurde sie erst am Tag des Manöverbeginns. Gleichzeitig drohte Riad dem syrischen Präsidenten Bashar al-Assad wörtlich mit einem «gewaltsamen Sturz». Genau so haben Kriege begonnen.
Hintergrund ist unter anderem der ausbleibende Sieg des Islamischen Staates (IS) gegen Assad. Dank der russischen Militärunterstützung konnte die syrische Regierung zuletzt Gebiete zurückerobern. Den Russen gelang es innerhalb relativ kurzer Zeit, was der US-geführten Anti-IS-Koalition ein ganzes Jahr lang zuvor nicht gelingen wollte: den IS-Vormarsch zu stoppen. Besiegt ist der al-Kaida-Nachfolger allerdings nicht.
Im Jemen führt Saudi-Arabien bereits Krieg gegen die schiitischen Huthi-Rebellen. Die antischiitische Front weitet sich jedoch aus und droht einen Raum vom Mittelmeer bis zum Persischen Golf, von der türkischen Grenze bis zur pakistanischen und afghanischen Grenze zu erfassen. Durch die demonstrativ gezeigte Bereitschaft, militärisch im eigenen Sinn ordnend in den Nahost-Konflikt einzugreifen, verschleiert Riad, dass es selbst Teil dieses Konflikts ist. Saudi-Arabien fand mit den befreundeten USA zu einer Interessensallianz gegen die in Syrien regierenden Alawiten, aus deren Reihen die Präsidentenfamilie Assad stammt, und die den Schiiten zugerechnet werden. Die Gründe der Anti-Assad-Allianz sind nicht deckungsgleich, doch auf der Grundlage des Mottos «Der Feind meines Feindes ist mein Freund», wurde man sich einig, einen Aufstand gegen die Regierung Assad vom Zaun zu brechen.
Dazu wurden sunnitische syrische Clans umworben und mit Geld und Waffen versorgt und logistisch unterstützt. Anfangs verlautete aus Washington, eine Freie Syrische Armee kämpfe gegen den Diktator Assad und für die Demokratie. Die Freie Syrische Armee entpuppte sich bald in einem wesentlichen Teil als islamistische Milizen wie die al-Nusra-Brigade und der Islamische Staat (IS). Das wollen weder Riad noch Washington zugeben. Von der Freien Syrischen Armee ist allerdings kaum mehr die Rede, dafür um so mehr vom Morden der Islamisten, deren Opfer bevorzugt Christen sind. Bis heute ist unklar, welche Regierungen und Institutionen unter der Decke dem Islamischen Staat und seinen Ablegern hilfreich zur Hand gehen.

Libanon als Gegenmodell

Libanon ist der einzige stark christlich geprägte Staat des Nahen Ostens. Er bildete in seinem Ursprung eine Art autonomes Schutzgebiet für Christen im Osmanischen Reich, die sich vor Unterdrückung und Repression in das gebirgige Küstenland zurückzogen. Seine christliche Mehrheit hat das Land im blutigen Gewirr des Nahostkonflikts eingebüsst. Wenn das Land jedoch noch existiert und zusammengehalten wird, dann ist es den Christen und ihrem kulturprägenden Glauben zu verdanken. Libanon ist das einzige Land im Nahen Osten, in dem alle Gruppen an der Staatsführung beteiligt sind, und stellt damit eine einzigartige Ausnahme dar.
Dabei hätten auch die Christen ausreichend Grund, nachtragend zu sein. Sie könnten wie die anderen Religionsgruppen zum Mittel der Gewalt greifen, tun es aber nicht, wenn sie nicht dazu gezwungen werden. Sie kennen die Geschichte, rechnen sie aber nicht auf.
Wenn die Christen im Staat, der eigentlich als Land der Christen gedacht war, keine Mehrheit mehr haben, ist dafür die Gründung des Staates Israel und die Vertreibung der einheimischen Palästinenser, sunnitische Moslems und Christen, ursächlich. Als deren Aussicht schwand, in absehbarer Zeit in ihre Heimat zurückkehren zu können, versuchte die PLO, sich Libanon als neues Staatsgebiet zu erobern. Unterstützt wurde sie dabei von Teilen der sunnitischen Libanesen.
Die Folge war ein blutiger Bürgerkrieg. Der Versuch konnte abgewehrt werden. Der Preis an Menschenleben und Zerstörung war jedoch enorm. 27 Jahre nach Kriegsende ist Libanon noch weit von seinem Wohlstand entfernt, den es davor genossen hatte. Ein Wohlstand, der den Christen des Landes zu verdanken war. So wie die Libanesen es den Christen zu verdanken haben, dass ihr Land kein zweiter Irak und kein zweites Syrien, kein zweiter Jemen und kein zweites Libyen geworden ist.
Ein näheres Eindringen in die libanesischen Wirrnisse zwischen antisyrischen und prosyrischen, antiwestlichen und prowestlichen, antiisraelischen und proisraelischen Kräften usw. würde jeden Rahmen sprengen und wahrscheinlich mehr Verwirrung als Klarheit schaffen.

Die saudische «Rache»

Zum Verständnis der heutigen Lage sei nur gesagt, dass Syrien in den 1970ern den Christen gegen den palästinensischen Eroberungsversuch zu Hilfe kam. Und dass die zahlenmässig besonders in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten stark angewachsene Gruppe der Schiiten sich als natürlicher Verbündeter der syrischen Alawiten sieht.
Tatsache ist, dass die Christen Libanons Syrien für die Militärhilfe in den 1970er Jahren dankbar sind. Tatsache ist jedoch auch, dass die Mehrheit der libanesischen Christen kein Libanon als syrisches Protektorat wollte und daher für den 2005 abgeschlossenen Rückzug aus Libanon eintrat. Das ändert nichts daran, dass die libanesischen Christen genau wissen, dass es ihren christlichen Glaubensbrüdern in Syrien, mit denen sie vielfach auch verwandtschaftlich verbunden sind, unter dem Alawiten Assad wesentlich besser ergeht als unter einer sunnitischen Herrschaft. Während die schiitische Hizbullah aktiv in Syrien an der Seite Assads kämpft, hegen die libanesischen Christen aus Solidarität mit den syrischen Christen zumindest Sympathien.
Das erklärt zum Teil, warum Libanon sich nicht an der von Saudi-Arabien mit Zustimmung der USA geschmiedeten antischiitischen Allianz beteiligen will. Hauptgrund dafür ist Selbstschutz vor einem weiteren todbringenden und zerstörerischen Krieg, in den man nicht hineingezogen werden will. Eine Weigerung, die das kleine Land teuer zu stehen kommt. Riad gab in diesen Tagen einen ganzen Strafkatalog gegen Libanon bekannt. König Salman fordert eine Ende 2013 von seinem Vorgänger König Abdallah gewährte Schenkung von drei Milliarden Dollar zur Aufrüstung der libanesischen Armee zurück. Eine gewaltige Summe, die seither über Rüstungslieferungen Frankreichs zum Teil in die Armee des kleinen Mittelmeerlandes geflossen ist. Die gemeinsame Armee stellt einen wichtigen Stabilitätsfaktor in einem Staat dar, in dem sich noch vor kaum mehr als 25 Jahren zahlreiche bewaffnete Milizen bekämpften.
Die Verstimmung Riads kommt auch in der öffentlichen Warnung zum Ausdruck, dass Saudis aus «Sicherheitsgründen» Libanon als Reiseziel meiden sollten. Heute ging Riad noch weiter und forderte alle Saudis auf, Libanon zu verlassen. Eine Massnahme, die von den engsten saudischen Verbündeten in der Golf-Region, von Bahrein, den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten und Katar übernommen wurde. Die Libanesen verstehen: Die Reisewarnung soll in Wirklichkeit eine indirekte Aufforderung sein, die Wirtschaftsbeziehungen mit Libanon zurückzuschrauben. Der heutige Rückruf der saudischen Staatsbürger kommt auf ziviler Ebene faktisch einer Generalmobilmachung auf militärischer gleich.
Direkte und massive Auswirkungen hat die dritte Drohung, die nicht offiziell ausgesprochen wurde, aber ausreichend lautstark informell in Umlauf gesetzt wurde: Saudi-Arabien und die anderen Golf-Emirate könnten die 400 000 in der Golf-Region beschäftigten Libanesen ausweisen. Was das für Libanon, ein Land mit 4,4 Millionen Einwohnern (hinzu kommen 450 000 palästinensische Flüchtlinge und 1 250 000 syrische Flüchtlinge) bedeutet, lässt sich leicht ausmalen. Spätestens seit Bekanntgabe dieser Drohung weiss jeder Libanese, dass Saudi-Arabien es ernst meint und sich das kleine Land am Mittelmeer gefügig machen will. Eine gerüchteweise kursierende vierte Drohung, die von sunnitischen Familien beherrschten Golf-Staaten könnten ihr Geld von den libanesischen Banken abziehen und das Land in eine wirtschaftliche und soziale Krise stürzen, rundet die Drohkulisse ab.

Die libanesische Weigerung

Die «Rache» des saudischen Königs Salman erfolgt, nachdem der libanesische Aussenminister, der maronitische Christ Jebran Bassil von der Freien Patriotischen Bewegung, sich zweimal bei den jüngsten Treffen der arabischen Aussenminister weigerte, einer von Saudi-Arabien vorgelegten antiiranischen Resolution zuzustimmen und sich damit in die saudische Allianz einzureihen. Die Freie Patriotische Bewegung bildet innenpolitisch die Minderheitsfraktion der libanesischen Christen. In der aussenpolitischen Frage, was das Pulverfass des sunnitisch-schiitischen Konflikts anbelangt, das den ganzen Nahen Osten in die Luft zu jagen droht, sind sich christliche Mehrheit und Minderheit jedoch weitgehend einig. Eine direkte Involvierung Libanons in einen unkontrollierbaren Nahostkrieg wäre das Ende der letzten noch verbliebenen, nennenswerten und vor allem prägenden christlichen Präsenz im Nahen Osten.
Nicht nur in islamischen Kreisen, auch unter libanesischen Christen wird gerüchteweise die Mutmassung herumgereicht, Israel käme ein zerstörtes Umland als einer Art gigantischer Glacis nicht ungelegen. Ebensowenig jenen westlichen Kräften, die ungeniert nach einem Krieg ihre Hand auf die Bodenschätze des Nahen Ostens legen könnten. Eine Einschätzung, die die Gesamtstimmung nicht zu heben vermag. Ein führender Christ Libanons will nicht über solche Hintergründe hinter den Hintergründen spekulieren. Ihm genügen die Fakten, die auf dem Tisch liegen, denn die seien schwerwiegend genug und veranlassten ihn zum Handeln.
Der maronitische Christ Fady Noun, stellvertretender Chefredakteur der angesehensten libanesischen Tageszeitung «L’Orient-Le Jour», schrieb in dieser sich dramatisch zuspitzenden Situation, in der man die Lunte bis Beirut riechen kann, einen offenen Brief an König Salman von Saudi-Arabien. Darin fordert er gegenseitigen Respekt ein und zeigt auf, warum Libanon nicht Teil einer Allianz werden kann, weil sonst das einzige Modell einer tragfähigen Lösung des Konflikts zerstört würde. Vielmehr hält Noun dem saudischen König Libanon als Lösungsmodell hin mit der Aufforderung, den Frieden statt den Krieg zu wählen.    •

Quelle: www.katholisches.info/2016/02/24/zuendet-saudi-arabien-die-lunte-zu-einem-neuen-nahost-krieg-offener-brief-eines libanesischen-christen-an-den-saudischen-koenig/ vom 24.2.2016

«Es gilt anzuerkennen, dass man vor einem Zivilisationsphänomen steht, das alle betrifft, einschliesslich den Westen, den atheistische Westen des toten Gottes, der kolonialen Eroberung, der imperialen Eroberungen, des ungleichen Austausches, des erklärten oder höflichen Rassismus und des ethischen Relativismus. Ein Relativismus, den der amerikanische Philosoph Eric Voegelin ‹eine Selbst-Vergöttlichung der Gesellschaft› nannte.
Wie sehr fehlt uns in diesen schwierigen Tagen dieses ernsthafte Nachdenken über das Verhältnis zwischen den Kulturen, das uns die Möglichkeit böte, unsere Rolle als Kulturvermittler, als Vermittler des Friedens und der Wahrheit zu spielen. Wie sehr fehlt es uns heute, das 20. Jahrhundert ohne Zögern denken zu können. Wie sehr fehlt uns das tiefe Nachdenken über den Islam, um zu verstehen, was diese kulturelle und politische Abirrung möglich machte, die ‹Islamischer Staat› genannt wird.»

Quelle: Offener Brief von Fady Noun an den saudischen König Salman (Auszug)