Avoiding damage – stopping the Curriculum 21 project


Three new publications indicate the Curriculum’s serious shortcomings


rt. Three new publications confirm the existing criticism of Curriculum 21 and additionally point to necessary orientations in education policy.
Citizens and taxpayers hear extremely little about the contents of Curriculum 21 from the public authorities (cantonal educational bureaucracies), and until now the teachers have not been instructed about the actual contents of the new curriculum either. Most of the criticism is confirmed by a look into the Curriculum itself (www.lehrplan21.ch). Listed on many sites (about 350) in intelligible “expert PH-German” you find all that children and young people should be able to do (2300 levels of competence and 363 skills). For interested parents as well as for teachers, it is impossible to gain a picture of when, how, and what should actually be learned. 
Curriculum 21 has already been analyzed and criticized several times by experienced teachers, educators and edu­cational scientists. They have for long been warning of the negative consequences for future generations associated with the introduction of this curriculum at Swiss schools. Even before its so-called consultation, criticism was so devastating that, in the fundamentals section core elements of the curriculum, such as its competence orientation, have been watered down, and in a nebulous text, called “diversity of methods” even the “Frontalunterricht” (whole class teaching) appeared again! And even then, criticism was so significant that this project should immediately have been stopped! But obviously, despite these well-known serious shortcomings and the resulting costs, one adheres to the “PLAN”.

Well-founded criticism of Curriculum 21


Now three new books demonstrate (once more), into which disaster Swiss schools are being maneuvered by the educational bureaucracies of most German cantons, headed by the EDK (Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education):


  • The excellent brochure “Einspruch! Kritische Gedanken zu Bologna, Harmos und Lehrplan 21 (Objection! Critical thoughts on Bologna, Harmos and Curriculum 21”), issued by the pedagogues Alain Pichard and Beat Kissling, asembles opinions and analyzes on the current education policy.The work includes articles by Professor Walter Herzog, Professor Roland Reichenbach, Anita Fetz or Beat Kappeler and many others.
  • The publication “Was will uns der Lehrplan 21 sagen?” (What is Curriculum 21 trying to tell us?) by Aargau educational policy maker Bruno Nüsperli, offers the possibility of directly experiencing the appalling low level of Curriculum 21. Nüsperli has taken on the task of listing and to commenting the Curriculum’s hundreds of “competences”.

  • Currently the “Zehn Thesen über die Schule” (Ten theses on school) by Valais Director of Education Oskar Freysinger, published by the Valais Department for Education and Security gained some publicity. Contrary to the technocratic and bureaucratic language of Curriculum 21, ten keystones of humanistic education are presented in a simple and concise form as an important foundation of our school. It becomes absolutely clear that Curriculum 21 has scarcely anything to do with the tasks of the school.


In detail:

“Objection!”


In the brochure “Einspruch” (objection) – that will soon be reissued in an enlarged edition – different voices from the rather left-wing or rather liberal camp are assembled, clearly and distinctly showing that Curriculum 21 is based on wrong assumptions and disregards the child. In addition to many practitioners also scientists point to the shortcomings of the curriculum. For instance, serious deficits from an educational point of view are presented in a concise and substantiated form by the educational scientist Prof. Walter Herzog. The context of increasing “commercialization” of education, in particular by the new curriculum, is indicated by Beat Kissling. A focal point of the curriculum’s criticism is its abandonment of the social concept of giving all children the chance of good education. Children from educationally disadvantaged strata of society are disadvantaged.

What it means to deprive individual school subjects as well as the teacher training of their subject-specific substance is demonstrated by the essays of Daniel Goepfert and Laura Saia among others. As a result the professional level is lowered. In other articles it is clearly shown that the teacher as a “coach” or “facili­tator” is no longer able to play his key role in the learning process. The brochure “Einspruch!” can be obtained at arkadi(at)bluemail.ch.

“What is Curriculum 21 trying to tell us?”

The collection of levels of competence, which Bruno Nüsperli meticulously lists out of the curriculum, makes obvious how the level of education will be lowered due to Curriculum 21. The individual subjects and contents are simplified to the levels of competence, which then can be easily tested with the help of the provided test material (learning-to-the-test). The goal to educate our children and youth humanistically has been ignored by this curriculum. Nüsperli´s comments make clear that prejudices and ideologies are also incorporated. Nüsperli is a member of the Aargau Committee for a good school, which is against curriculum 21. The brochure “Was will uns der Lehrplan 21 sagen?” can be obtained from Bruno Nüsperli, Halden 52, 5000 Aarau, bruno@nuesper.li, phone 062 824 26 28 for a fee (single copy CHF 5.- incl. shipping).

“Ten theses on the school”

Oskar Freysinger, Director of Education of the Canton of Valais, an educator himself, knows what he is talking about. In his ten theses, he relies on more than 2,000 years of humanistic tradition of education, not just on 40 years of the US school examination industry. In simple terms, he describes the essential foundations of our school system. No later than at the tenth thesis “subsidiarity before centralization”, the interested reader will understand that curriculum 21 is not compatible with our tradition of humanistic education. The “Ten theses on the school” can be obtained from the Department of Education and Security of the Canton of Valais (www.vs.ch/documents/529400/1673481/10theses-D-BAT_2.pdf/19aae9df-def7-4efb-a1e5- 11ebc852061d).

“Curriculum 21 – a costly and counterproductive project”

It becomes clear after reading the three presented brochures: The Curriculum 21 is condemned to failure, both practically and politically. That the educational bureaucracies under the leadership of the EDKcontinue to insist on Curriculum 21, will immensely increase the damage and the cost. With this curriculum, the Swiss education system is unerringly lowered into a third class education. Thus, the country will deprive itself of its most important resource, namely a good training and education.
It is a logical consequence, that cantons like the Valais suspend the project cCrriculum 21. It is also useful that some cantons postpone the introduction. Anyway, one could have neatly evaluated the existing experiences from abroad or the ongoing projects of similar nature. Meanwhile, signature collections for initiatives to prevent the Curriculum 21 are running in 13 German-speaking cantons. Why not decide the introduction of the curriculum by a vote?     •

Schaden vermeiden – Projekt Lehrplan 21 beenden

Drei neue Veröffentlichungen weisen auf gravierende Defizite im Lehrplan hin

rt. Drei neue Veröffentlichungen bestätigen die bestehende Kritik am Lehrplan 21 und weisen darüber hinaus auf notwendige Orientierungen in der Schulpolitik hin.
Während Bürger und Steuerzahler von offizieller Seite (kantonale Bildungsbürokratien) kaum etwas Substanzielles über den Inhalt des Lehrplans 21 erfahren, hat man bis jetzt auch den Lehrern noch nicht erklärt, was der neue Lehrplan eigentlich beinhaltet. Ein Blick in den Lehrplan (www.lehrplan21.ch) bestätigt die meisten Kritikpunkte. In einem unverständlichen «Experten-PH-Deutsch» wird über sehr viele Seiten (etwa 350) aufgelistet, was Kinder und Jugendliche alles «können» sollen (2300 Kompetenzstufen und 363 Kompetenzen). Für interessierte Eltern, aber auch Lehrer ist es unmöglich, sich ein Bild davon zu verschaffen, was tatsächlich und wann und wie gelernt werden soll.
Von erfahrenen Lehrern, Pädagogen und Erziehungswissenschaftlern wurde der Lehrplan 21 schon mehrfach analysiert. Sie warnen schon seit langem vor den negativen Folgen, die mit der Einführung dieses Lehrplans an Schweizer Schulen für die nachfolgenden Generationen verbunden sind. Schon vor seiner sogenannten Konsultation fiel die Kritik so vernichtend aus, dass Kernelemente des Lehrplans wie die Kompetenzorientierung im Grundlagenteil verwässert wurden, und in einem nebulösen Text zur sogenannten «Methodenvielfalt» tauchte sogar der «frontale Klassenunterricht» wieder auf! Und selbst dann noch war die Kritik so deutlich, dass dieses Projekt sofort hätte gestoppt werden müssen! Aber offensichtlich wird, trotz der bekannten gravierenden Mängel und der dadurch entstehenden Kosten, am «Plan» festgehalten.

Fundierte Kritik am Lehrplan 21

Jetzt führen drei Veröffentlichungen (nochmals) vor Augen, in welches Desaster die Bildungsbürokratien der meisten deutschsprachigen Kantone, angeführt von der EDK, die Schweizer Schulen hineinmanövrieren:

  • Die ausgezeichnete Broschüre «Einspruch! Kritische Gedanken zu Bologna, Harmos und Lehrplan 21», herausgegeben von den Pädagogen Alain Pichard und Beat Kiss­ling, versammelt Stellungnahmen und Analysen zur aktuellen Bildungspolitik, darunter von Prof. Walter Herzog, Prof. Roland Reichenbach, Anita Fetz oder Beat Kappeler und vielen anderen mehr.
  • Die Möglichkeit, das erschreckend niedrige Niveau des Lehrplan 21 direkt zu erfahren, bietet die Publikation «Was will uns der Lehrplan 21 sagen?» des Aargauer Bildungspolitikers Bruno Nüsperli. Nüsperli hat sich die Arbeit gemacht, Hunderte von «Kompetenzen» des Lehrplans 21 aufzulisten und zu kommentieren.
  • Für einige Publicity sorgen zurzeit die «Zehn Thesen über die Schule» des Walliser Erziehungsdirektors Oskar Freysinger, herausgegeben vom Walliser Departement für Bildung und Sicherheit. Konträr zu der technokratischen und bürokratischen Verwaltungssprache des Lehrplans 21 werden kurz und knapp 10 Eckpunkte einer humanistischen Bildung als wichtiges Fundament unserer Schule vorgestellt. Mehr als deutlich wird, dass der Lehrplan 21 kaum mehr etwas damit zu tun hat.

Im einzelnen:

«Einspruch!»

In der Broschüre «Einspruch!» – die neu erweitert aufgelegt wird – sind verschiedene Stimmen aus dem eher linken bzw. liberalen politischen Lager versammelt, die klar und deutlich ausweisen, dass der Lehrplan 21 von falschen Voraussetzungen ausgeht und am Kind vorbei arbeitet. Neben vielen Praktikern weisen auch Wissenschaftler auf seine Problematik hin. Zum Beispiel stellt der Erziehungswissenschaftler Prof. Walter Herzog knapp und fundiert gravierende Mängel aus erziehungswissenschaftlicher Sicht dar. Auf den Kontext einer zunehmenden «Vermarktung» des Bildungswesens, insbesondere durch den neuen Lehrplan, weist Beat Kiss­ling hin. Ein zentraler Kritikpunkt am Lehrplan ist seine Abkehr vom sozialen Gedanken, allen Kindern die Chance auf eine gute Bildung zu geben. Kinder aus bildungsfernen Schichten werden benachteiligt.
Was es bedeutet, einzelne Fächer oder auch die Lehrerausbildung ihrer Fachlichkeit zu berauben, zeigen unter anderem die Aufsätze von Daniel Goepfert und Laura Saia. Dadurch wird das fachliche Niveau verflacht. Dass der Lehrer als «Coach» oder «Lernbegleiter» nicht mehr seine zentrale Rolle im Lernprozess übernehmen kann, wird in weiteren Aufsätzen klar gezeigt. Die Broschüre «Einspruch!» kann gegen einen Unkostenbeitrag bei arkadi@bluemail.ch bezogen werden.

«Was will uns der Lehrplan 21 sagen?»

Zu welcher bedenklichen Absenkung des Niveaus der Lehrplan 21 im Bildungswesen führen wird, macht die Sammlung der Kompetenzstufen deutlich, die Bruno Nüsperli akribisch aus dem Lehrplan auflistet. Die einzelnen Fächer und Inhalte verschwinden hinter den Kompetenzstufen, die nichts anderes als ihre Abprüfbarkeit in den dafür vorgesehenen Tests spiegeln (Learning-to-the-Test). Der Anspruch, unsere Kinder und Jugendlichen humanistisch zu bilden, wird mit diesem Lehrplan fallengelassen. Dass dabei auch Vorurteile und Ideologien einfliessen, machen die Kommentare von Nüsperli deutlich. Nüsperli engagiert sich im Aargauer Komitee für eine gute Schule gegen den Lehrplan 21. Die Broschüre «Was will uns der Lehrplan sagen?» kann bei Bruno Nüsperli, Halden 52, 5000 Aarau, bruno@nuesper.li, Tel. 062 824 26 28, gegen einen Unkostenbeitrag bezogen werden (Einzelexemplar Fr. 5.- inkl. Versand).

«Zehn Thesen über die Schule»

Oskar Freysinger, Erziehungsdirektor des Kanton Wallis, selbst Pädagoge, weiss, wovon er schreibt. In seinen 10 Thesen stützt er sich auf die über 2000jährige humanistische Bildungstradition und nicht nur auf 40 Jahre US-amerikanische Schultest-Wirtschaft. Mit einfachen Worten beschreibt er wesentliche Grundlagen unseres Schulwesens. Spätestens bei der zehnten These «Subsidiarität vor Zentralisierung» wird dem interessierten Leser klar, dass der Lehrplan 21 nicht mit unserer humanistischen Bildungstradition kompatibel ist. Die «10 Thesen über die Schule» können über das Departement für Bildung und Sicherheit des Kantons Wallis bezogen werden (www.vs.ch/documents/529400/1673481/10theses-D-BAT_2.pdf/19aae9df-def7-4efb-a1e5-11ebc852061d).

Lehrplan 21 – ein kostenintensives und kontraproduktives Projekt

Deutlich wird nach der Lektüre der drei vorgestellten Broschüren: Der Lehrplan 21 ist sowohl in praktischer als auch in politischer Hinsicht zum Scheitern verurteilt. Dass die Bildungsbürokratien unter der Führung der EDK weiterhin so verbissen an ihm festhalten, wird den Schaden und die Kosten nur immens vergrössern. Mit diesem Lehrplan wird das Schweizer Bildungswesen zielsicher in die Drittklassigkeit geführt. Damit wird sich das Land seiner wichtigsten Ressource, nämlich einer guten Bildung und Ausbildung, berauben.
Konsequent ist es, wenn Kantone wie das Wallis das Projekt Lehrplan 21 sistieren. Sinnvoll auch, wenn einige Kantone mit einer Einführung zuwarten. Ohnehin hätte man die schon gemachten Erfahrungen aus dem Ausland auswerten oder laufende Projekte ähnlicher Art sauber evaluieren können. Inzwischen laufen in 13 Deutschschweizer Kantonen Sammlungen zu Initiativen, mit denen der Lehrplan 21 verhindert werden soll. Warum nicht die Einführung des Lehrplans über eine Abstimmung entscheiden?    •