Radical school reforms are not introduced in the Canton of Appenzell Inner Rhodes

cc. More and more citizens are seeking ways to prevent Curiculum 21 because they are seriously worried about the quality of the Swiss educational system. Therefore popular initiatives were launched in 13 out of the 21 German speaking cantons and supported by a large range of citizens – teachers, parents, entrepreneurs, politicians of all parties and the like.
In this way an unstoppable public educational policy debate has got under way, and it opens the way for members of the cantonal governments to find independent and meaningful ways of dealing with unusable education reforms such as Curriculum 21.
The “Ten Theses about school” by Valais Director of Education Oskar Freysinger are the first outstanding example. These theses deserve to be broadcast throughout Switzerland, although for the time being they are but a kind of educational preamble of a curriculum for the bilingual canton of Valais. The Director of Education said that Curriculum 21 will not be simply adopted in Valais. Instead, it will be determined according to his theses what will be adopted as useful and fitting.
Now Appenzell Inner Rhodes is going to follow a similarly independent path. In the summer of 2015, Paul Bannwart submitted a single initiative that was aimed at preventing the curriculum 21. However, the public debate did not move into gear for some considerable time. Even when the Appenzell Great Council decided in November 2015 not to support the initiative against Curriculum 21, there was no broad substantive discussion on the problematic aspects of that reform work.
Only a few weeks before the “Landsgemeinde” was to decide on the initiative on 24 April, some worried Appenzellers finally succeeded in getting a discussion going – brochures were sent out, talks and events were organized. Also articles dealing critically with the curriculum’s content were published in the local media. In the “Landsgemeindemandat” – that is the message to the assembly of the canton’s electorate – the Ethics Committee already made it clear that the canton would continue to pursue many peculiarities of its educational policy and that it would not implement any exaggerated reforms.
Finally, personal conversations with the “Landamman” [head of the cantonal government] and Director of Education Roland Inauen brought about the breakthrough to a good solution for everyone. Paul Bannwart agreed to withdraw his initiative (see the media release below), having received far-reaching substantial assurances that most central reforms of Curriculum 21 would not be implemented in the Canton of Appenzell Inner Rhodes, and that instead there would only be moderate adjustments of learning goals.
The arising public debate on Curriculum 21 bore fruit because it is not possible to get around the beliefs and wishes of the people concerned in a matter. This is encouraging and cause for hope.     •

Withdrawal of the initiative “For a strong primary school”

Hereby I withdraw my initiative “For a strong primary school”, which I submitted last summer, provided that this is possible at the present time. By means of this initiative I wanted above all to prevent the introduction of the Curriculum 21. The talks, events and discussions with various exponents gave me the assurance that the new curriculum will be implemented in a pragmatic and moderate way and in the light of the specific Appenzell characteristics. The aspects that I regarded as problematic have been put into perspective.
Over time I was able to ascertain that culture, tradition and Christian principles would be given due consideration in schools even after the implementation of the new curriculum.
I was also assured that there is no intention to prefer self-directed or individualised learning to other methods in class. I had feared that classrooms would have to be rearranged into so-called learning environments, where the students were to learn alone using the computer or other resources provided by the teacher, but this fear proved to be unfounded. Teachers will continue to be responsible for the management of their classroom. I was told that a change in the role of the teacher in direction of a mainly accompanying coach was not envisaged.
It also became clear that the introduction of the so-called mixed-age learning is also not an issue for our schools. They will continue to be led in age-group classes or – in the smaller school communities – in the proven way of several classes at the same time, for example first and second class together. An introduction of the first level (kindergarten and the first and second class together) was not intended at any time. At the same time, the electorate’s decision at the “Landsgemeinde” of 2008 is also to be respected, i.e. the first year of kindergarten will remain voluntary.
In the language question the Canton of Appenzell Inner Rhodes has taken a clear public stance. According to the Landamman and the Director of Education this strategy will not be affected in the least without specific need: only one foreign language is to be taught in the first three years of primary school, the second language will follow later.
I welcomed the fact that the Canton of Appenzell Inner Rhodes remains reluctant about annual standardised tests at the federal level.
By means of the open discussions I took part in, I hope to have contributed to a moderate development of our educational system, and I thank you for our constructive conversations.

Paul Bannwart, 24 March 2016

9050 Appenzell Steinegg


(Translation Current Concerns)

Appenzell Innerrhoden führt radikale Schulreformen nicht ein

zf. Die grosse Sorge um die Qualität des Schweizer Bildungswesens veranlasst immer mehr Bürger dazu, Wege zu suchen, wie der Lehrplan 21 verhindert werden kann. In 13 der 21 deutschsprachigen Kantone wurden daher Volksinitiativen lanciert, die von einem breiten Spektrum von Bürgern getragen werden – Lehrer, Eltern, Unternehmer, Politiker aller Parteien und andere mehr.
Dadurch kommt unaufhaltsam eine öffentliche bildungspolitische Diskussion in Gang, die auch für Mitglieder der kantonalen Regierungen wieder den Weg frei macht, eigenständige und sinnvolle Wege im Umgang mit unbrauchbaren Schulreformen wie dem Lehrplan 21 zu gehen.
Ein erstes herausragendes Beispiel stellen die «Zehn Thesen über die Schule» vom Walliser Erziehungsdirektor Oskar Freysinger dar. Diese Thesen verdienen Ausstrahlung auf die ganze Schweiz, obwohl sie vorerst eine Art bildungspolitische Präambel eines Lehrplans für den zweisprachigen Kanton darstellen. Der Erziehungsdirektor hat sich so geäussert, dass der Lehrplan 21 im Wallis nicht einfach übernommen werde; vielmehr suche man sich auf der Grundlage der Thesen das heraus, was man für sinnvoll und angepasst halte.
Einen ähnlich eigenständigen Weg geht nun auch Appenzell Innerrhoden. Im Sommer 2015 hatte dort Paul Bannwart eine Einzelinitiative eingereicht, die den Lehrplan 21 verhindern sollte. Doch die öffentliche Diskussion kam zunächst nicht in Fahrt. Sogar anlässlich der Entscheidung des Appenzeller Grossen Rates im November 2015, die Initiative gegen den Lehrplan 21 nicht zu unterstützen, kam keine breite inhaltliche Auseinandersetzung über die problematischen Aspekte des Reformwerks auf.
Erst wenige Wochen vor der Landsgemeinde, die am 24. April über die Initiative entscheiden sollte, gelingt es einigen besorgten Appenzellern doch noch, die Diskussion anzuregen – Broschüren werden versandt, Gespräche geführt und Veranstaltungen organisiert. Auch in den lokalen Medien erscheinen Artikel, die sich inhaltlich mit der Kritik am Lehrplan 21 befassen. Im Landsgemeindemandat – das ist die Botschaft für die Landsgemeinde – macht die Standeskommission bereits klar, dass der Kanton weiterhin an vielen bildungspolitischen Eigenheiten festhalten und keine übertriebenen Reformen aufgleisen werde.
Schliesslich sind es persönliche Gespräche mit dem Landammann und Erziehungsdirektor Roland Inauen, die den Durchbruch zu einer guten Lösung für alle eröffnen. Nach inhaltlich sehr weitreichenden Zusagen, zentrale Reformen des Lehrplans 21 im Kanton Appenzell Innerrhoden nicht umzusetzen, sondern nur moderate Anpassungen der Lernziele vorzunehmen, erklärt sich Paul Bannwart in der nebenstehenden Medienmitteilung bereit, die Initiative zurückzuziehen.
Die entstehende öffentliche Diskussion um den Lehrplan 21 trägt Früchte, weil man an der Meinung der Betroffenen nicht vorbeikommt. Das macht Mut und gibt Hoffnung.    •

Rückzug der Initiative «Für eine starke Volksschule»

Ich ziehe meine im letzten Sommer eingereichte Initiative «Für eine starke Volksschule» zurück, sofern dies zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt möglich ist. Mit der Initiative wollte ich vor allem die Einführung des Lehrplans 21 verhindern. Die Diskussionen, Veranstaltungen und die Gespräche mit den verschiedensten Exponenten gaben mir das Vertrauen, dass der neue Lehrplan pragmatisch, moderat und unter Berücksichtigung der Appenzeller Eigenheiten umgesetzt werden wird. Die für mich problematischen Aspekte haben sich relativiert.
Im Verlaufe der Zeit konnte ich feststellen, dass bei der vorgesehenen eigenständigen Umsetzung des neuen Lehrplans Kultur, Tradition und christliche Grundsätze in den Schulen weiterhin gebührend berücksichtigt werden.
Mir wurde auch versichert, dass für den Unterricht keine Absicht besteht, das selbstgesteuerte oder individualisierte Lernen gegenüber anderen Methoden zu bevorzugen. Meine Befürchtung, dass die Schulzimmer in sogenannte Lernlandschaften umgestaltet werden müssen, in welchen die Schüler mit Hilfe des Computers oder anderer durch die Lehrperson bereitgestellter Mittel für sich alleine lernen sollen, stellte sich als unbegründet heraus. Die Lehrpersonen werden weiterhin für die Klassenführung verantwortlich sein. Eine Veränderung der Lehrerrolle in Richtung eines hauptsächlich begleitenden Coachs sei nicht vorgesehen.
Es zeigte sich auch, dass die Einführung des sogenannten altersdurchmischten Lernens (AdL) ebenfalls kein Thema für unsere Schulen ist. Sie werden weiterhin in Jahrgangsklassen oder – in den kleineren Schulgemeinden – in bewährten Mehrjahrgangsklassen geführt, beispielsweise erste und zweite Klasse zusammen. Eine Einführung der Basisstufe (Kindergarten und 1./2. Klasse zusammen) war zu keinem Zeitpunkt vorgesehen. Ebenso wird der Landsgemeindebeschluss von 2008 respektiert; das erste Kindergartenjahr wird freiwillig bleiben.
In der Fremdsprachenfrage hat sich der Kanton Appenzell Innerrhoden öffentlich klar positioniert. Laut Land­ammann und Erziehungsdirektor wird ohne Not nichts an dieser Strategie geändert: Auf der Primarstufe soll nur eine Fremdsprache unterrichtet werden, die zweite soll auf der Oberstufe folgen.
Dass sich der Kanton Appenzell Innerrhoden weiterhin zurückhaltend gegenüber jährlichen Standardtests auf eidgenössischer Ebene verhält, wurde von mir positiv aufgenommen.
Ich hoffe, mit den geführten offenen Diskussionen einen Beitrag für eine moderate Entwicklung unseres Bildungswesens geleistet zu haben, und danke für die konstruktiven Gespräche.

Paul Bannwart, 24. März 2016
9050 Appenzell Steinegg