Negotiations on the prohibition of nuclear weapons must be enforced

Danger of an atomic war in Europe

rt. Since several years it is an open secret that the possibility of using nuclear weapons and thus of a nuclear war is increasing again from month to month. A possible trigger for this might be “events” in North Korea, Syria or Ukraine.
In the past few months, there are ongoing movements of weapons, war materials and soldiers taking place in the neighboring countries of Russia. There are new military NATO manoeuvers being carried out on the border of Russia, a nuclear power, and a military rearmament is notably being carried out. The tensions are purposely increased.To this development fits the latest announcement by Polish Defense Minister Michal Dworczyk that students in the country are to be trained militarily and 300 new army schools are to be established. Furthermore, the armed forces are being enlarged and the defense budget considerably increased (cf. dpa, from 26 April 2017). Similar developments are taking place in the Baltic and in the Nordic countries as well. The request of US Vice President Mike Pence at the Munich Security Conference in February was unmistakable. The NATO allies would have to increase their defense spending.
 One source of tension is the still unresolved conflict between Ukraine and the Donbass region. Since its beginning in February 2014, the conflict is steadily fueled from the outside. Despite the deployment of the OSCE and the Normandy talks a political solution is evidently prevented. No European country is interested in a further escalation of the situation.
If one imagines a sudden escalation of the conflict in this region or a preventive first strike of a nuclear power, the use of tactical and strategic nuclear weapons is becoming likely. The move towards nuclear retaliation could be the consequence. Nuclear weapons ready for use are deployed in Europe, Russia, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, Turkey, and Italy. 90% of the world’s nuclear weapons are under Russian and American command.
The global impact of using atomic bombs is known for a long time: radioactive fallout all over the globe, atomic winter, irradiation for millennia, changes in the genetic material and finally destruction of all human life on earth. Hence, since 1945 mankind has struggled to ban and abolish nuclear weapons.
The impact of (even a “local”) nuclear war will hit every person on earth.
In the face of this situation, everyone, including any US citizen, even any holder of shares of an armaments company, any military worker or politician is summoned to have the courage to use their own minds and draw the logical conclusions.
Since an atomic war affects the existence of every person, urgent approaches have to be found. A conflict like in Ukraine must be solved, whether through bilateral or multilateral negotiations, through various peace building measures, or through the use of UN blue helmets.
Switzerland can make use of its neutral position in order to introduce the essential policy of mediation and negotiation and to make use its good offices. After all, Switzerland had been credibly and constructively acted in the Ukraine conflict during the OSCE presidency.     •

Preparing a nuclear battle field called Europe?

rt. As early as 1997, at the NATO summit taking place in Madrid, the former Warsaw Treaty states Poland, Czech Republic and Hungary were invited to join NATO for the first time. In 1999, Poland, Czech Republic and Hungary joined NATO. During the summit in Prague in November 2002, NATO invited Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia to accession talks. These countries joined NATO in 2004. At NATO’s Bucarest summit in April 2008, the accession of Albania and Croatia was agreed upon officially. Candidates that were offered further accession talks included Georgia and Ukraine.
In 2010, the US announced the development of a missile defence shield against Iran in Poland, Romania and Turkey. Despite a number of denials, it was well known that the development of this missile defence shield was hardly directed against Iran, but served the sole purpose of neutralizing Russia’s nuclear deterrence.
A geostrategic line with a possible battlefield called Europe begins to emerge.

Nuclear facts

rt. Since 1945, there are a few very simple facts to be taken into account when considering nuclear warfare:
–    a nuclear war is neither manageable nor winnable,
–    nuclear contamination has a global effect,
–    part of the nuclear radiation does not disappear until thousands of years later,
–    nuclear radiation affects everybody everywhere – mothers, children, fathers,
–    the United States will also be affected by a locally limited nuclear war,
–    the Earth’s southern hemisphere will be contaminated as well.

Withdrawal of all nuclear weapons in Germany

rt. In the German government’s 2009 coalition agreement (Merkel/Westerwelle) one issue raised is the demand to withdraw nuclear weapons in Germany: “[...] in the course of working on a strategic concept for NATO, we – within our alliance as well as facing our American allies­ – will strive toward a removal of the remaining nuclear weapons stationed in Germany.” This promise has not been fulfilled yet.

Verhandlungen zu Atomwaffenverbot müssen forciert werden

Gefahr eines Atomkrieges in Europa steigt

rt. Es ist ein offenes Geheimnis, dass die Möglichkeit eines Einsatzes atomarer Waffen und damit auch eines Atomkrieges seit einigen Jahren wieder von Monat zu Monat steigt. Ein möglicher Auslöser könnten «Ereignisse» in Nordkorea, Syrien oder der Ukraine sein.
In den vergangenen Monaten finden fortlaufend Verschiebungen von Waffen, Kriegsmaterial und Soldaten in die Anrainerstaaten Russlands statt. Immer neue Militärmanöver der Nato an der Grenze zur Atommacht Russland werden durchgeführt, und deutlich wird eine militärische Aufrüstung betrieben. Die Spannungen werden bewusst gesteigert. In diese Entwicklung passt die jüngste Ankündigung des polnischen Vizeverteidigungsministers Michal Dworczyk, dass man die Schüler des Landes militärisch ausbilden und dazu 300 neue Armeeschulen schaffen wolle, dass man ausserdem die Streitkräfte vergrössere und den Wehr-Etat kräftig erhöhe (vgl. dpa vom 26.4.2017). Ähnliche Entwicklungen finden in den baltischen, aber auch in den nordischen Staaten statt. Die Aufforderung des US-Vizepräsidenten Mike Pence anlässlich der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz im Februar, dass die Nato-Verbündeten ihre Verteidigungsausgaben erhöhen müssten, war unmiss­verständlich.
Ein Spannungsherd ist der immer noch ungelöste Konflikt zwischen der Ukraine und der Region Donbass. Seit seinem Beginn im Februar 2014 wird dieser Konflikt dauerhaft von aussen geschürt. Eine politische Lösung wird offensichtlich verhindert, trotz Einsatzes der OSZE und der Normandie-Gespräche. Kein europäisches Land ist daran interessiert, die Lage weiter zuzuspitzen.
Stellt man sich einen überraschend eskalierenden Konflikt in dieser Region vor oder einen präventiven Erstschlag einer Atommacht, dann wird der Einsatz von taktischen und strategischen Atomwaffen wahrscheinlich. Der Schritt zur atomaren Vergeltung könnte die Konsequenz sein. Einsatzbereite Atomwaffen sind in Europa in Russland, Frankreich, Grossbritannien, den Niederlanden, Deutschland, Belgien, der Türkei und Italien stationiert. 90 % der weltweiten Atomwaffen befinden sich unter russischer und US-amerikanischer Befehlsgewalt.
Die globalen Auswirkungen durch den Einsatz von Atombomben sind schon lange bekannt: radioaktiver Fallout über den gesamten Erdball, atomarer Winter, Verstrahlung über Jahrtausende, Veränderungen im Erbgut und schliesslich Zerstörung allen menschlichen Lebens auf der Erde. Seit 1945 ringt die Menschheit deshalb um eine Ächtung und Abschaffung der Atomwaffen.
Die Auswirkungen eines – auch «lokalen» – Atomkrieges werden jeden Menschen überall auf der Erde treffen.
Angesichts dieser Situation ist jeder –, auch jeder US-Staatsbürger, auch jeder Inhaber von Aktien eines Rüstungskonzernes, jeder Mitarbeiter im militärischen Bereich oder jeder ­Politiker –, aufgefordert, den Mut zu haben, sich seines eigenen Verstandes zu bedienen und die logischen Konsequenzen zu ziehen.
Da ein Atomkrieg jeden Menschen in seiner Existenz betrifft, müssen dringend Lösungswege gefunden werden. Ein Konflikt wie in der Ukraine muss gelöst werden, sei es durch bilaterale oder multilaterale Verhandlungen, durch verschiedene friedensbildende Massnahmen oder durch den Einsatz von Uno-Blauhelmen.
Die Schweiz kann ihre neutrale Position nutzen, um eine notwendige Politik der Vermittlung und der Verhandlung verstärkt einzubringen und ihre Guten Dienste einzusetzen. Hatte doch die Schweiz gerade während der OSZE-Präsidentschaft glaubhaft und konstruktiv im Ukraine-Konflikt gehandelt.     •

Atomares Schlachtfeld Europa vorbereitet?

rt. Schon auf dem Nato-Gipfel 1997 in Madrid wurden den Staaten des ehemaligen Warschauer Paktes Polen, Tschechien und Ungarn erstmals Beitrittsverhandlungen angeboten. 1999 traten Polen, Tschechien und Ungarn der Nato bei. Beim Gipfeltreffen in Prag im November 2002 lud die Nato die Länder Bulgarien, Estland, Lettland, Litauen, Rumänien, Slowakei und Slowenien zu Beitrittsgesprächen ein. 2004 traten diese Länder der Nato bei. Beim Nato-Gipfel in Bukarest im April 2008 wurde der Beitritt Albaniens und Kroatiens offiziell beschlossen. Kandidaten, denen Beitrittsgespräche angeboten werden, sind ferner unter anderem Georgien und die Ukraine.
2010 verkündeten die USA den Aufbau eines Raketenabwehrschildes gegen Iran in Polen, Rumänien und der Türkei. Trotz aller Dementis wusste man, dass der Aufbau dieses Raketenschildes sich kaum gegen Iran richtet, sondern einzig dazu dient, Russlands atomare Abschreckung ausser Kraft zu setzen.
Eine geostrategische Linie mit einem möglichen Schlachtfeld Europa zeichnet sich ab.

Atomare Tatsachen

rt. Es gibt einige sehr einfache Tatsachen, die es seit 1945 zu durchdenken gilt:
–    Ein Atomkrieg ist weder führbar noch gewinnbar,
–    atomare Verseuchung wirkt global,
–    ein Teil der radioaktiven Strahlung verschwindet erst nach Jahrtausenden,
–    radioaktive Strahlung trifft jeden überall – Mütter, Kinder, Väter,
–    die Vereinigten Staaten werden durch einen lokal begrenzten Atomkrieg mit betroffen sein,
–    auch die Südhalbkugel der Erde wird verseucht.

Abzug aller Atomwaffen aus Deutschland

rt. Ein Punkt im Koalitionsvertrag zur Bildung der deutschen Regierung vom Oktober 2009 (Merkel/Westerwelle) ist die Forderung nach einem Abzug der Atomwaffen aus Deutschland: «[…] im Zuge der Ausarbeitung eines strategischen Konzeptes der Nato werden wir uns im Bündnis sowie gegenüber den amerikanischen Verbündeten dafür einsetzen, dass die in Deutschland verbliebenen Atomwaffen abgezogen werden». Dieses Versprechen ist noch nicht eingelöst.