Leniency notice la USA or just punishment according to Swiss law?

31 May in the National Council

by Dr iur Marianne Wthrich

In the US and some other states the law enforcement authorities can assure a criminal of impunity if he is prepared to testify as “principal witness”, i.e. the main witness of the prosecution against his accomplices. In the legal understanding and the sense of justice of the population in Switzerland and in many other states such “deals” with dangerous criminals are seen as strange. However, there is currently a discussion in the National Council and in the Council of States on whether to apply in the criminal prosecution of criminal organisations a leniency notice that would go further than the already existing approach called “minor leniency notice”. On 14 December 2016, the Council of States ratified the Motion “Janiak” as the first council, which instructed the Federal Council to draft such a regulation. In a memorable statement, the Federal Council warns to observe legal and anchored principles. On 6 April 2017, the Legal Affairs Committee of the National Council (LAC-N) approved the Motion Janiak by a majority, and launched as a variant its own motion, which would be better suited to the Swiss legal system. In the first week of the coming Summer Session, on 31 May, the National Council will decide on the two motions.
This is to briefly state what the two parliamentary initiatives are about and how they can be judged from a legal and ethical point of view.
Anyone who has committed a crime should also stand up for it. It follows from the principle of equality before the law (Article 8 (1) of the Federal Constitution) and from the prohibition of arbitrariness (Article 9) that, in principle, every delinquent must be punished equally, weighing the severity of his guilt in individual cases. On this legal basis, the criminal law is based in a state under the rule of law, as it is in the Swiss Criminal Code (StGB). In order to do justice to every perpetrator, the Criminal Code also recognises the mitigation of punishment, for example, “if the perpetrator acts with sincere remorse, and he has, in particular, compensated for the damage as far as he could be expected” (Article 48d).

The minor principal witness regulation in Article 260ter of the Criminal Code

With the increased incidence of criminal organisations also in Switzerland, a new criminal standard was adopted in 1994, which punishes the participation in such organisations and also contains reasons for a mitigation of the punishment.
Article 260ter provides for participation in organisations1, which have the purpose of committing crimes of violence or of making them financially beneficial, imprisonment of up to five years or a monetary penalty. The “minor leniency notice” is contained in paragraph 2 of the article: “The judge can mitigate punishment if the perpetrator attempts to prevent further criminal activity of the organisation.”
This rule is compatible with the Swiss understanding of the law: the offender is to be punished more leniently if he cooperates with the law enforcement authorities in the interests of the common good and is committed to the prevention of further offenses.

Motion Janiak (16.3735): Impunity for cooperative violators?

By the Motion 16.3735 by the State Concillor, Claude Janiak (SP Basel-Landschaft, Social-Democratic Party in Basel-countryside), the Federal Council is to be commissioned to submit to the Parliament “a  regulation [extending beyond current] for the introduction of crown witnesses in Swiss criminal law”. The Motion aims to ensure “effective and efficient criminal prosecution of criminal organisations and other serious crimes”. “Examples abroad, particularly in Italy and the USA, prove the effectiveness of leniency regulations.”
For legal reasons, but also for ethical reasons, a wider privilege of a member of a criminal gang, in particular his complete impunity, would be extremely problematic. Should the prosecutor’s office and the courts “deal” with a violent offender to make him talk? Do we citizens really want to have our law enforcement agencies go to such a level, thus overriding the principles of law (equality of law, prohibition of arbitrariness, sense of justice)? In addition, the alleged “effectiveness” would have to be scrutinised more closely. Undoubtedly, the prospect of impunity will lead a criminal to “unpack”. But even the most careful review of his testimony would not guarantee that not  the wrong people will be condemned to high punishments and that the real villains are laughing. Especially in the US so-called “legal errors” are frequent, innocent people are again and again condemned to decades of imprisonment (or even to death), while the gangsters go unscathed. If we want to keep our rule of law, we can certainly not agree to a similar procedure.

Convincing statement of the Federal Council of 23 November 2016 on Motion 16.3735

“As far as crown witnesses can be rewarded for their co-operation even with impunity, the Federal Council rejects the motion: Such a far-reaching regulation would, in particular, run counter to the basic principles of equality of law and the culpability principle, it includes the risk of misleading justice and decreases the willingness to observe the norm. […] It is also hard to understand by the population, if such perpetrators, which have committed the most serious offenses (e.g. terrorist attacks) and potentially have killed many people, can reach impunity by a cooperative behavior.
Because the motion can also be understood as a desire to introduce an extensive leniency regulation, the Federal Council considers it to be rejected.”
There is nothing to add.

Justified concerns of the National Council Committee

On the basis of these considerations, it is difficult to understand that the Council of States has agreed the Motion Janiak in the first round. It is also difficult to understand that Legal Affairs Committee of the National Council (LAC-N) is asking the National Council by 15 to 8 votes and 2 abstentions, to accept the Motion Janiak (Report of the Legal Affairs Committee of the National Council, 6 April 2017, p. 1). This is due to the almost naive argument that the earliest possible deal with a member of a criminal organisation or a terrorist organisation could have positive consequences: “Thanks to such a principal witness regulation, confessed culprits could be pledged for their information mitigation of punishment or impunity even at an early stage of the proceedings by the law enforcement authorities (and not only afterwards by the Courts). This could help them to co-operate with the law enforcement agencies.”
The Committee also incorporates serious reasons against the exemption from punishment of dangerous criminals: “On the other hand, there is a risk that the prospect of the best possible ‘deal’ with the law enforcement authorities is also an incentive for interesting sounding but false statements. A further critical point could be that the assurance of mitigation of punishment or impunity at an early stage of the proceedings would limit the scope of the court and therefore make it impossible to punish comparable offenses on the same basis.” (Report of the LAC-N of 6 April 2017, p. 3f.)
Here, a new important argument arises: If the prosecutor promises a mild judgment to a criminal during his criminal investigation, the court would have to adhere to it later, even if it comes to the conclusion that the “key witness” is more heavily guilty than an accomplice, which is more strictly punished. Or should his punishment be reduced also for reasons of equality, so that both get away too well? It is even clearer that the whole construction of the principal witness regulation can not be sustained by the rule of law.

Motion LAC-N (17.3264): Extension of the so-called “minor principal witness regulation” to members of terrorist organisations

On 6 April 2017, the “Legal Affairs Committee of the National Council (LAC-N)“ had launched its own motion as an addition to Motion Janiak and taking into account the opinion of the Federal Council. The latter intends to extend the provision on the mitigation of punishment of Article 260ter (2) of the Criminal Code to the “Federal Law on the Prohibition of the Al-Qaeda and Islamic State Groups and related Organisations of 12 December 2014”. According to this Act, the participation or support of these terrorist organizations in Switzerland or from the territory of Switzerland is punishable.
The LAC-N wants to examine in concrete terms a draft of the Federal Council “whether the extension of the scope of the ‘minor principal witness regulation’ is suitable to combat terrorist organisations more effectively” – without, however, going as far as Motion Janiak.
The motion of the LAC-N is thus confined to the possibility of a reduction of the punishment more justifiable according to our legal understanding, “[…] if the perpetrator tries to prevent the further criminal activity of the organisation.” This standard is to be extended to include IS or al-Qaeda supporters in Switzerland.
In view of the fact that any individual case is to be assessed separately before the court, this initiative of the National Council Commission can be approved.
***
Conclusion: Motion Janiak is to be rejected. The motion of the LAC-N can be assumed – if it is designed with a view to the common good.
It is difficult to see any reason for why Switzerland should adopt a practice from the USA, which is incompatible with our legal understanding and can lead to serious injustices. For their negative effects (rewards of criminals washed with all waters on the one hand, destruction of the confidence of the population in the justice of jurisprudence on the other) can not justify a – perhaps! – improved clarification of individual crimes.
Penalty reduction in individual cases and taking into account all facts and circumstances – yes. Negotiation of penalty reduction or even exemption with members of criminal groups already in the investigation phase with obliging effect for the judging court – no.     •

1     Committing such crime can of course be punished even harder.

Kronzeugenregelung à la USA oder gerechte Strafe gemäss Schweizer Rechtsverständnis?

Am 31. Mai im Nationalrat

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

In den USA und einigen anderen Staaten können die Strafverfolgungsbehörden einem Verbrecher Straffreiheit zusichern, wenn er bereit ist, als «Kronzeuge», das heisst als Hauptzeuge der Anklage, gegen seine(n) Mittäter auszusagen. Dem Rechtsverständnis und dem Gerechtigkeitsgefühl der Bevölkerung in der Schweiz und in vielen anderen Staaten sind solche «Deals» mit Schwerverbrechern fremd. Dennoch findet zurzeit im National- und Ständerat eine Diskussion darüber statt, ob zur wirksameren Strafverfolgung krimineller Organisationen eine Kronzeugenregelung eingeführt werden soll, die weiter geht als die heute bereits bestehende «kleine Kronzeugenregelung». Am 14. Dezember 2016 hat der Ständerat als Erst-rat die Motion Janiak gutgeheissen, die den Bundesrat mit dem Entwurf einer solchen Regelung beauftragt. In einer denkwürdigen Stellungnahme mahnt der Bundesrat demgegenüber zur Einhaltung rechtlicher und in der Bevölkerung verankerter Grundsätze. Die Rechtskommission des Nationalrates (RK-N) hat nun am 6. April 2017 der Motion Janiak mehrheitlich zugestimmt und als mögliche Variante eine eigene Motion lanciert, die besser zur Schweizer Rechtsauffassung passen würde. In der ersten Woche der kommenden Sommersession, am 31. Mai, wird der Nationalrat über die beiden Motionen entscheiden.

Worum es in den beiden parlamentarischen Vorstössen geht und was es aus rechtlicher und ethischer Sicht zu bedenken gibt, soll hier kurz dargelegt werden.

Wer eine Straftat begangen hat, soll auch dafür geradestehen. Aus dem Grundsatz der Rechtsgleichheit (Artikel 8 Absatz 1 der Bundesverfassung) und aus dem Willkürverbot (Artikel 9) folgt, dass im Prinzip jeder Täter gleichermassen bestraft werden muss, wobei die Schwere seiner Schuld im Einzelfall abzuwägen ist. Auf diesem Rechtsverständnis beruht das Strafrecht in Rechtsstaaten, so auch das Schweizerische Strafgesetzbuch (StGB). Um jedem Täter gerecht zu werden, kennt das StGB auch Strafmilderungsgründe, so etwa, «wenn der Täter aufrichtige Reue betätigt, namentlich den Schaden, soweit es ihm zuzumuten war, ersetzt hat» (Artikel 48 d).

Die «kleine Kronzeugenregelung» in Artikel 260ter StGB

Mit dem verstärkten Aufkommen krimineller Organisationen auch in der Schweiz wurde 1994 eine neue Strafnorm beschlossen, welche die Beteiligung an solchen Organisationen unter Strafe stellt und ebenfalls einen Strafmilderungsgrund enthält.

Artikel 260ter sieht für die Beteiligung an Organisationen1, die zum Zweck haben, Gewaltverbrechen zu begehen oder daraus finanziellen Nutzen zu ziehen, eine Freiheitsstrafe bis zu fünf Jahren oder eine Geldstrafe vor. Die «kleine Kronzeugenregelung» steht in Ziffer 2 des Artikels: «Der Richter kann die Strafe mildern […], wenn der Täter sich bemüht, die weitere verbrecherische Tätigkeit der Organisation zu verhindern.»

Mit dem schweizerischen Rechtsverständnis ist diese Regelung vereinbar: Der Täter soll milder bestraft werden, wenn er im Sinne des Gemeinwohls mit den Strafverfolgungsbehörden kooperiert und sich für die Verhinderung weiterer Straftaten einsetzt.

Motion Janiak (16.3735): Strafbefreiung für kooperative Gewalttäter?

Mit der Motion 16.3735 von Ständerat Claude Janiak (SP Basel-Landschaft) soll der Bundesrat beauftragt werden, dem Parlament «eine [darüber hinausgehende] Regelung für die Einführung des Kronzeugen im Schweizer Strafrecht zu unterbreiten». Die Motion will damit «eine wirksame und effiziente Strafverfolgung von kriminellen Organisationen und anderen schweren Verbrechensformen» sicherstellen. «Beispiele im Ausland, namentlich in Italien und den USA, belegen die Wirksamkeit von Kronzeugenregelungen.»

Aus rechtsstaatlichen, aber auch aus ethischen Gründen wäre eine weitergehende Privilegierung eines Mitglieds einer Verbrecherbande, insbesondere seine völlige Strafbefreiung, allerdings äusserst problematisch. Sollen die Staatsanwaltschaft und die Gerichte mit Gewalttätern einen «Deal» machen, um sie zum Reden zu bringen? Wollen wir Bürger wirklich, dass unsere Strafverfolgungsbehörden sich auf eine solche Ebene begeben und damit rechtsstaatliche Grundsätze (Rechtsgleichheit, Willkürverbot, Gerechtigkeitsempfinden) ausser Kraft setzen? Ausserdem müsste die behauptete «Wirksamkeit» genauer unter die Lupe genommen werden. Zweifellos wird die Aussicht auf Strafbefreiung einen Kriminellen dazu bringen, dass er «auspackt». Aber auch die sorgfältigste Überprüfung seiner Aussagen wäre keine Garantie dafür, dass nicht die falschen Leute zu hohen Strafen verurteilt werden und die wirklichen Schurken sich ins Fäustchen lachen. Gerade in den USA sind sogenannte «Justizirrtümer» häufig, immer wieder werden Unschuldige zu jahrzehntelangen Gefängnisstrafen (oder sogar zum Tod) verurteilt, während die Bandenchefs ungeschoren wegkommen. Wenn wir unseren Rechtsstaat behalten wollen, können wir einer ähnlichen Regelung sicher nicht zustimmen.

Überzeugende Stellungnahme des Bundesrates vom 23. November 2016 zur Motion 16.3735

«Soweit Kronzeugen für ihre Mitwirkung sogar mit Straffreiheit sollen belohnt werden können, lehnt der Bundesrat die Motion ab: Denn eine derart weitgehende Regelung würde namentlich den Grundgedanken der Rechtsgleichheit und des Schuldstrafrechts des Strafgesetzbuches zuwiderlaufen und könnte auch das Risiko der Irreführung der Justiz erhöhen sowie die Bereitschaft zur Normbefolgung untergraben. […] Auch dürfte es in der Bevölkerung kaum verstanden werden, wenn gerade solche Täter durch kooperatives Verhalten straffrei ausgehen können, die selber schwerste Straftaten (zum Beispiel terroristische Anschläge) begangen und unter Umständen zahlreiche Personen getötet haben.

Weil die Motion sich auch als Begehren auf Einführung einer ausgedehnten Kronzeugenregelung verstehen lässt, ist sie nach Ansicht des Bundesrates abzulehnen.»

Dem ist nichts hinzuzufügen.

Berechtigte Bedenken der Nationalratskommission

Auf der Grundlage dieser Überlegungen ist es schwer zu verstehen, dass der Ständerat der Motion Janiak im ersten Durchgang zugestimmt hat. Es ist auch schwer zu verstehen, dass die «Kommission für Rechtsfragen Nationalrat» dem Nationalrat mit 15 zu 8 Stimmen und 2 Enthaltungen die Annahme der Motion Janiak beantragt (Bericht der Kommission für Rechtsfragen Nationalrat vom 6. April 2017, S. 1). Dies mit dem fast etwas naiven Argument, dass ein möglichst früher Deal mit einem Mitglied einer kriminellen Vereinigung oder einer Terrororganisation positive Folgen zeitigen könnte: «Dank einer solchen Kronzeugenregelung könnte geständigen Tätern bereits in einem frühen Verfahrensstadium von den Strafverfolgungsbehörden (und nicht erst nachträglich von den Gerichten) für ihre Informationen Strafmilderung oder Straffreiheit zugesichert werden. Dies könnte dazu beitragen, sie zur Kooperation mit den Strafverfolgungsbehörden zu bewegen.»

Die Kommission bezieht denn auch schwerwiegende Gründe gegen die Strafbefreiung von Schwerverbrechern in ihre Überlegungen mit ein: «Auf der anderen Seite besteht die Gefahr, dass die Aussicht auf einen möglichst guten ‹Deal› mit den Strafverfolgungsbehörden auch einen Anreiz zu interessant klingenden Falschaussagen bietet. Ein weiterer kritischer Punkt könnte sein, dass durch die Zusicherung von Strafmilderung oder Straffreiheit in einem frühen Verfahrensstadium der Spielraum des Gerichtes eingeschränkt und daher eine rechtsgleiche Bestrafung von vergleichbaren Sachverhalten verunmöglicht werden könnte.» (Bericht der Kommission für Rechtsfragen Nationalrat vom 6. April 2017, S. 3f.)

Hier kommt ein neues wichtiges Argument zur Sprache: Wenn der Staatsanwalt während seiner Strafuntersuchung einem Täter ein mildes Urteil verspricht, müsste das Gericht sich später daran halten, auch wenn es zum Schluss kommt, dass den «Kronzeugen» eine schwerere Schuld trifft als einen Mittäter, der strenger bestraft wird. Oder soll dessen Strafe aus Gründen der Rechtsgleichheit dann auch reduziert werden, so dass beide zu gut wegkommen? Hier wird noch klarer, dass die ganze Konstruktion der Kronzeugenregelung rechtsstaatlich nicht haltbar ist.

Motion RK-N (17.3264): Ausweitung der sogenannten «kleinen Kronzeugenregelung» auf Mitglieder terroristischer Organisationen

Die «Kommission für Rechtsfragen Nationalrat (RK-N)» hat am 6. April 2017 als Ergänzung zur Motion Janiak und unter Einbezug der Stellungnahme des Bundesrates eine eigene Motion lanciert. Diese will die Bestimmung über die Strafmilderung von Artikel 260ter Ziffer 2 des Strafgesetzbuches auf das «Bundesgesetz über das Verbot der Gruppierungen ‹al-Kaida› und ‹Islamischer Staat› sowie verwandter Organisationen vom 12. Dezember 2014» ausweiten. Gemäss diesem Gesetz ist die Beteiligung oder Unterstützung dieser Terrororganisationen in der Schweiz oder von der Schweiz aus strafbar.

Die RK-N will anhand eines Entwurfs des Bundesrats konkret überprüfen, «ob die Ausweitung des Anwendungsbereichs der ‹kleinen Kronzeugenregelung› geeignet ist, um terroristische Organisationen wirkungsvoller zu bekämpfen» – ohne jedoch so weit zu gehen wie die Motion Janiak.

Die Motion der RK-N beschränkt sich demnach auf die nach unserem Rechtsverständnis besser vertretbare Möglichkeit einer Strafmilderung, «[…] wenn der Täter sich bemüht, die weitere verbrecherische Tätigkeit der Organisation zu verhindern». Diese Norm soll gegebenenfalls auf IS- oder al-Kaida-Unterstützer in der Schweiz ausgedehnt werden.

In Anbetracht dessen, dass vor Gericht ohnehin jeder Einzelfall gesondert zu beurteilen ist, kann diesem Vorstoss der Nationalratskommission zugestimmt werden.

* * *

Fazit: Die Motion Janiak ist abzulehnen. Die Motion der RK-N kann – wenn sie mit Blick auf das Gemeinwohl ausgestaltet wird – angenommen werden.

Es ist nicht einzusehen, warum die Schweiz eine Praxis aus den USA übernehmen soll, die mit unserem Rechtsverständnis nicht vereinbar ist und zu grossen Ungerechtigkeiten führen kann. Denn deren negative Auswirkungen (Belohnung von Straftätern, die mit allen Wassern gewaschen sind, auf der einen Seite, Zerstörung des Vertrauens der Bevölkerung in die Gerechtigkeit der Rechtsprechung auf der anderen) können eine – vielleicht! – verbesserte Aufklärung einzelner Verbrechen nicht rechtfertigen.

Strafmilderung im Einzelfall und unter Abwägung aller Fakten und Umstände – ja. Aushandlung von Strafmilderung oder gar -befreiung mit Mitgliedern von Verbrecherbanden bereits in der Untersuchungsphase mit verpflichtender Wirkung für das urteilende Gericht – nein.   •

1  Die Ausübung solcher Verbrechen kann selbstverständlich schwerer bestraft werden.