Germany threatened by currency war

by Sebastian Müller and Heiner Flassbeck*

Germany’s principal reaction to the Trump-Interview by the “Bild”-Zeitung of 16 January 2017 was consternation. Is this alarm due to the fact that the new American president understands what is going wrong in international trade?

When Donald Trump was elected president, we at Macroscope already had a hunch that this would be the case. Right at the beginning of the new year, he threatened China with levying duties of 45% on Chinese imports. It was clear then where he was heading to. Shortly after Trump’s China-announcement, on 13 January, Heiner Flassbeck wrote in his essay “Trump and China – a foretaste of Trump and Germany”: “Germany should take a very close look at Trump’s attitude to China, for Germany, being the G-20 country with the highest surplus of exports over imports (nearly 9% of GDP), has a lot to lose. For Germany the US is the trading partner with the largest deficit – about 60 billion euro per year. Of this, President Trump will become aware at the latest when his Treasury Secretary draws up his annual Currency Report to the Congress, and this denounces the biggest sinners in international trade, from the point of view of the United States.”
But Trump noticed it much faster than we had imagined. Only two days later, he had not only noted the great trade balance deficit with Germany, but – in a remarkable interview with the “Bild” and the “Times” – also announced the first consequences he would draw. The president (-elect) is now threatening Germany as well – similar to the Chinese – with being no longer willing to accept the high deficits in mutual trade. His central argument is, that trade is not a one-way street. In addition, he is threatening German car manufacturers, especially BMW, with punitive duties, should they build vehicles for the US market in Mexico. “They can build cars for the US, but they’ll pay 35% taxes on any car that enters the US.” (Donald Trump)

German mercantilism is illegal

What can we argue against the president of the world’s greatest economic power once again asserting that trade cannot be a one-way street? Can we blame Trump for being serious about the reduction of the foreign trade deficit of about $800 billion a year, which other presidents have also mentioned, however, without taking action against the surplus countries? The US President might even win his case if addressing a complaint to the World Trade Organization (WTO). Since his levying custom duties on German import products would be in line with the rules of the WTO: countries with high surpluses might be legally threatened so as to protect one’s own markets and in an extreme case, they might even be sanctioned. Article XII of the GATT Agreement of 1947 shows that Germany’s large foreign trade surpluses are illegal: “[…] any contracting party, in order to safeguard its external financial position and its balance of payments, may restrict the quantity or value of merchandise permitted to be imported […]. Contracting parties undertake, in carrying out their domestic policies, to pay due regard to the need for maintaining or restoring equilibrium in their balance of payments on a sound and lasting basis and to the desirability of avoiding an uneconomic employment of productive resources. They recognize that, in order to achieve these ends, it is desirable so far as possible to adopt measures which expand rather than contract international trade.” (Article XII*: Restrictions to Safeguard the Balance of Payments 3a)
According to the agreement, Germany itself would therefore have to take its own measures to ensure trade adjustment. In doing so, it should primarily promote the import of foreign goods, as this would strengthen trade in general instead of slowing it down. Let it be understood that this is an excerpt from a contract that Germany has signed and whose strict adherence by other countries, amongst them the US, it is always insisting on.
In any case there is no reason for the reactions by the German government, neither by the largest part of the German press. Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Minister of Foreign Affairs, who called for the observance of international agreements after Trump’s message to Germany, should see to being better informed before making big statements: “We assume that our American partner will continue to comply with international obligations and the WTO rules.”
The fact that Germany has had not much discernment and wisdom so far, is probably due to the fact that a policy of wage dumping pursued behind the protective wall of a monetary union has not yet been seized upon and sanctioned by the WTO. But perhaps, all that has been missing up to now, is a claimant, as happens so often in legal life.
There is, however, one additional fact to consider, namely that the provisions of the WTO anti-dumping agreement apply merely to the sale of goods or services below the cost of production, which is not the case in Germany. One should, however, not join in the Federal Ministry of Economy’s lamentation that “the export-oriented German industry is increasingly affected by distortions of competition on the part of third countries and by unjustified anti-dumping measures”. Those sitting in a glass house should not throw stones. For as the case may be, for an economy with an export share of almost 50% of its GDP, a currency crisis and a depreciation of the dollar would be a disaster.
Article XII of the GATT has not been utilised often, because almost always there were other, more elegant ways of putting countries with permanently high surpluses in their place. For instance in the 1980s, the Americans – by way of currency agreements – forced other countries to swallow and even actively support a depreciation of the US dollar. In the case of China’s high current account surpluses, there was also a pressure towards currency revaluation. But China then decided to surrender to the Americans’ political pressure by doing everything they could to make domestic wages rise sharply, so that they would lose their edge in the field of competitiveness.

The German defenders of free trade...

Seen from another perspective, media criticism of Trumps protectionism is not devoid of a double standard. Not only was the Obama administration already pursuing a similar policy against China by imposing an import tax of 35% on car tires from the Middle Kingdom in September 2009. The EU is also currently planning to raise its import tax on Chinese steel products at more than 10 times as much as it is at present, namely up to 265% instead of 20%, similar to certain products in the USA. The reasoning sounds downright “Trumpian”: It is done for the rescue of the European steel industry and to combat “unfair competition”. However, a trade war or a currency war generated by a policy of competitive devaluation can not be blamed on the Americans. More obviously it is an inevitable consequence of a questionable German foreign trade strategy, as Flassbeck pointed out in the above-mentioned paper: “What is being forgotten in Germany and China only too willingly: Whoever makes a permanent surplus in foreign trade, actually damages the deficit countries, because with his products, he displaces those of the deficit countries, and so exports his unemployment to those countries. When there are large surpluses and deficits, the prosperity gains resulting from foreign trade are not evenly distributed. The surplus country wins and the deficit country loses at all events. This contradicts the idea of free trade and the hope that free trade will benefit all participants.”
This is exactly how we must understand Trump’s statement that he advocates free trade, but not at any price. The Republican obviously feels that it is unfair conditions which explain the German success. “I love free trade, but it must be a clever trade for me to call it fair.”

... have not understood free trade

The German press and German policy are reacting with defiant self-praise and the usual unanimity to defend the untenable German position. Jan Schmidbauer of the “Süddeutsche Zeitung” argues almost typically for the German perspective: “The fact that German producers are much more widely represented in the US than US competition is here,” says Schmidbauer, “is not due to unfair trading conditions, but to the high quality of our cars.” Minister for Economic Affairs Sigmar Gabriel, who is responsible for international trade, immediately took the same line. His “genius” proposal for a lower deficit in the United States: “To that end the US need to build better cars.”
His colleague Wolfgang Schäuble is no less smart and knows that the surpluses are based on the strength of the German economy. And, in order to carry things to the extremes, he adds that this strong economy is an important contribution to Europe and, as well as a contribution of the European Union’s to the global economy.
However, in a fair international system of trade it is precisely not about the quality of the products, but about the quality of each product’s being appropriately reflected in its price. But who ever, like Germany over the years, has been applying political pressure on the wage-earners to depress wages and for this utilizes the protection of a “lower” euro (expression coined by Schäuble) – the Euro being “low” because Germany systematically weakens the other Euro group countries with its actual depreciation – violates the basic rules of fair trade. Fair trade can only exist, if in every country wages rise in proportion to the productivity plus the inflation target of that country, and if the differences in the inflation targets of the countries are compensated for by consequent devaluation or revaluation of the national currencies.

Europe as the “vehicle” for Germany

Finally, and this is really impressive, Trump also seems to understand (or guess) that the problem of German mercantilism does not just affect the United States. German wage dumping went on mainly at the expense of its European neighbours. These countries, for instance Italy, can only escape to positions of current account surplus by suffering high unemployment and many years of economic shrinkage and by  importing less and less goods for this reason. When Trump speaks of “Europe as the vehicle of Germany,” he focusses astonishingly accurately on this point, which turns Schäuble’s position into an absolute joke. After the Obama administration had already prompted Germany several times, now there is an American president who removes the kid gloves and speaks in plain language:
“Look at Great Britain and look at the European Union; the EU is Germany. In essence, the European Union is a means to an end for Germany. That’s why I found that Great Britain was so wise to leave. [...] If you ask me, there will be more countries that leave.”
The Chancellor’s reaction followed yesterday: “I think we Europeans must hold our destiny in our own hands.” What she has obviously still not understood or does not want to understand is that “the Europeans” no longer exist. In the next few weeks after Trump’s open criticism, there might be the one or another who will dare to pronounce some simple truths about the ugly causes of the euro crisis and about German dominance.    •

*    Sebastian Müller studied history, political science and German studies in Darmstadt. As a freelance author, he especially deals with the interactions of economics and society as well as economic history. In this context he has been operating – together with other authors - the blog le Bohémien since 2009. In October, his book “Der Anbruch des Neoliberalismus” (Dawning of Neoliberalism) was published by Promedia edition.

Heiner Flassbeck is an honorary professor at the University of Hamburg, he was Chief Economist of UNCTAD and Secretary of State in the German Federal Ministry of Finance. His focus of research is globalisation, the theory of economic development and the theory of monetary and currency. Publications among others: “The Market Economy of the 21st Century”, 2010; “10 Mythen der Krise” (Ten Myths of the Crisis), 2012; together with Paul Davidson, James K. Galbraith, Richard Koo and Jayati Ghosh: “Economic Reform Now: The Global Manifesto to Rescue our Sinking Economies”, 2013.

Source: https://makroskop.eu/2017/01/deutschland-droht-ein-waehrungskrieg/ from 18.1.2017

(Translation Current Concerns)

Deutschland droht ein Währungskrieg

von Sebastian Müller und Heiner Flassbeck*

Fassungslosigkeit herrschte in Deutschland nach dem Trump-Interview der «Bild»-Zeitung [16.1.2017]. Ist man darüber erschrocken, dass der neue amerikanische Präsident versteht, was im internationalen Handel schiefläuft?

Als Donald Trump zum Präsidenten gewählt wurde, hatten wir bei Makroskop schon so eine Ahnung. Gleich zu Beginn des neuen Jahres drohte er China, Zölle von 45 % auf chinesische Importe zu erheben. Da war es klar, wohin die Reise gehen sollte. Kurz nach Trumps China-Verlautbarung, am 13. Januar, schrieb Heiner Flassbeck in dem Beitrag «Trump und China – ein Vorgeschmack auf Trump und Deutschland» wörtlich: «Deutschland sollte sehr genau hinsehen, wie Trump sich zu China verhält, denn auch Deutschland, das G-20-Land mit dem höchsten Überschuss der Exporte über die Importe (fast 9 % des BIP) hat einiges zu verlieren. Die USA sind für Deutschland der Handelspartner mit dem grössten Defizit von etwa 60 Milliarden Euro pro Jahr. Das wird dem Präsidenten Trump spätestens dann auffallen, wenn sein Finanzminister den jährlichen Currency Report an den Kongress erstellt, in dem aus der Sicht der USA die grössten Sünder im internationalen Handel angeprangert werden.»

Trump ist es aber viel schneller aufgefallen als von uns vermutet. Nur 2 Tage später hat er nicht nur das grosse Defizit gegenüber Deutschland zur Kenntnis genommen, sondern kündigte in einem bemerkenswerten Interview mit der «Bild» und der «Times» auch die ersten Konsequenzen an. Ähnlich wie den Chinesen droht der «President-elect» nun auch Deutschland, dass er die hohen Defizite im gegenseitigen Handel nicht weiter hinnehmen will. Handel sei keine Einbahnstrasse, so sein zentrales Argument. Zudem droht er deutschen Autoherstellern, namentlich BMW, mit Strafzöllen, sollten sie Fahrzeuge für den US-Markt in Mexiko bauen. «Sie können Autos für die USA bauen, aber sie werden für jedes Auto, das in die USA kommt, 35 % Steuern zahlen.» (Donald Trump)

Der deutsche Merkantilismus ist illegal

Was kann man dagegen wohl sagen, wenn der Präsident der grössten Wirtschaftsmacht der Erde die Selbstverständlichkeit noch einmal klar ausspricht, dass Handel keine Einbahnstrasse sein kann? Kann man es Trump verdenken, dass er es offenbar ernst meint mit dem Abbau des Aussenhandelsdefizits von etwa 800 Milliarden Dollar pro Jahr, von dem andere Präsidenten zwar auch geredet haben, ohne aber konkret etwas gegen die Überschussländer zu unternehmen? Der US-Präsident könnte im Falle einer Klage vor der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) sogar Recht bekommen. Denn wenn Trump Zölle auf deutsche Importprodukte erhebt, wäre das mit den Regeln der WTO konform: Ländern mit hohen Überschüssen kann man legal mit dem Schutz der eigenen Märkte drohen und diese im Extremfall sanktionieren. Aus dem Artikel XII des GATT-Abkommens von 1947 wird ersichtlich, dass die grossen Aussenhandelsüberschüsse Deutschlands illegal sind: «[…] any contracting party, in order to safeguard its external financial position and its balance of payments, may restrict the quantity or value of merchandise permitted to be imported […]. Contracting parties undertake, in carrying out their domestic policies, to pay due regard to the need for maintaining or restoring equilibrium in their balance of pay-ments on a sound and lasting basis and to the desirability of avoiding an uneconomic employment of productive resources. They recognize that, in order to achieve these ends, it is desirable so far as possible to adopt measures which expand rather than contract international trade.» Article XII*: Restrictions to Safeguard the Balance of Payments (3a)

«[…] Jede Vertragspartei kann, um ihre externe finanzielle Position und ihre Zahlungsbilanz zu sichern, die Menge der Importe begrenzen […]. Die Vertragsparteien verpflichten sich, bei der Ausübung ihrer innerstaatlichen Politiken die Notwendigkeit gebührend zu berücksichtigen, das Gleichgewicht in ihrer Zahlungsbilanz dauerhaft aufrechtzuerhalten oder wiederherzustellen und eine unwirtschaftliche Beschäftigung der wirtschaftlichen Ressourcen zu vermeiden. Sie erkennen an, dass es zur Erreichung dieser Ziele wünschenswert ist, so weit wie möglich Massnahmen zu ergreifen, die den internationalen Handel stärken statt ihn zu schwächen.»

Deutschland müsste laut dem Abkommen also eigene Massnahmen ergreifen, um für einen Handelsausgleich zu sorgen. Dabei sollte es vor allem den Import ausländischer Waren fördern, weil das den Handel insgesamt stärkt und nicht bremst. Wohlgemerkt, das ist ein Auszug aus einem Vertrag, den Deutschland unterschrieben hat und auf dessen strikte Einhaltung es bei anderen Ländern und bei den USA stets pocht.

Für die Reaktionen der deutschen Regierung als auch des allergrössten Teils der deutschen Presse gibt es jedenfalls keine Begründung. Aussenminister Frank-Walter Steinmeier, der nach Trumps Botschaft an Deutschland die Einhaltung internationaler Abkommen anmahnt, sollte sich besser informieren, bevor er grossspurige Statements abgibt: «Wir gehen davon aus, dass unser amerikanischer Partner sich auch weiterhin an die völkerrechtlichen Verpflichtungen und die WTO-Regeln hält.»

Dass Deutschland bisher wenig einsichtig war, liegt wohl auch daran, dass eine Politik des Lohndumpings hinter der Schutzmauer einer Währungsunion bisher nicht von der WTO aufgegriffen und sanktioniert wurde. Aber wie immer im Rechtsleben hat bisher vielleicht nur ein Kläger gefehlt.

Hinzu kommt allerdings, dass die Vorschriften des WTO-Antidumping-Übereinkommens lediglich den Verkauf von Waren oder Leistungen unter den Herstellungskosten betreffen, was in Deutschland nicht gegeben ist. Die Wehklage des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums allerdings, die «exportorientierte deutsche Industrie sei zunehmend von wettbewerbsverzerrenden Massnahmen seitens Drittstaaten sowie dortigen ungerechtfertigten Antidumping-Mass-nahmen betroffen», sollte man sich besser sparen. Wer im Glashaus sitzt, sollte nicht mit Steinen werfen. Denn für eine Volkswirtschaft mit einem Exportanteil am BIP von fast 50 % ist ein Währungskrieg samt Abwertung des Dollars auf jeden Fall ein Desaster.

Der Artikel XII des GATT ist auch deswegen nicht oft in Anspruch genommen worden, weil es fast immer andere, elegantere Möglichkeiten gab, um Länder mit dauerhaft hohen Überschüssen in die Schranken zu weisen. In den achtziger Jahren waren das Währungsvereinbarungen, die auf Druck der Amerikaner andere Länder zwangen, eine Abwertung des US-Dollar zu schlucken und sogar aktiv zu unterstützen. Im Falle der hohen Leistungsbilanzüberschüsse Chinas gab es ebenfalls einen Druck in Richtung Aufwertung. Aber China hat sich dann entschieden, dem politischen Druck der Amerikaner dadurch nachzugeben, dass man alles dafür tat, dass die Löhne im Inland stark stiegen und man auf diese Weise an Wettbewerbsfähigkeit einbüsste.

Die deutschen Verteidiger des Freihandels …

Die mediale Kritik an Trumps Protektionismus entbehrt auch aus anderer Sicht nicht einer Doppelmoral. Nicht nur, dass bereits die Regierung Obama eine ähnliche Politik gegenüber China fabrizierte und im September 2009 eine Einfuhrsteuer von 35 % auf Autoreifen aus dem Reich der Mitte verhängte. Auch die EU plant aktuell, auf chinesische Stahlerzeugnisse statt bisher 20 % mehr als das Zehnfache, also – ähnlich wie auf bestimmte Erzeugnisse in den USA – gut 265 % zu erheben. Die Begründung mutet geradezu trumpianisch an: Für die Rettung der europäischen Stahlindustrie und wegen «unlauterem Wettbewerb». Ein Handelskrieg oder ein durch eine Politik der kompetitiven Abwertung erzeugter Währungskrieg kann jedoch nicht den Amerikanern zur Last gelegt werden. Naheliegender ist es vielmehr, dass er eine unvermeidliche Folge einer fraglichen deutschen Aussenhandelsstrategie wird, wie Flassbeck im oben erwähnten Beitrag feststellte: «Was in Deutschland und in China gerne vergessen wird: Wer dauernd Überschüsse im Aussenhandel macht, schädigt in der Tat die Defizitländer, da er mit seinen Produkten die der Defizitländer verdrängt und Arbeitslosigkeit in die Defizitländer exportiert. Die Wohlstandsgewinne im Aussenhandel sind bei grossen Überschüssen und Defiziten nicht gleichmässig verteilt. Das Überschussland gewinnt in jedem Fall und das Defizitland verliert. Das widerspricht der Idee des Freihandels und der Hoffnung, bei freiem Handel würden alle gewinnen.»

Genau so muss man Trumps Aussage, dass er zwar für Freihandel sei, aber nicht um jeden Preis, deuten. Der Republikaner spürt offenbar, dass es unfaire Bedingungen sind, die den deutschen Exporterfolg erklären. «Ich liebe den Freihandel, aber es muss ein kluger Handel sein, damit ich ihn fair nenne.»

… haben den Freihandel nicht verstanden

Mit trotzigem Selbstlob und in gewohnter Eintracht zur Verteidigung der unhaltbaren deutschen Position reagieren die deutsche Presse und die deutsche Politik. Jan Schmidbauer von der «Süddeutschen Zeitung» argumentiert geradezu idealtypisch für die deutsche Sichtweise: «Dass die deutschen Hersteller in den USA deutlich stärker vertreten sind als die US-Konkurrenz hierzulande», so Schmidbauer, läge «nicht an unfairen Handelsbedingungen, sondern an der hohen Qualität der Autos.» In die gleiche Kerbe schlug sofort Wirtschaftsminister Sigmar Gabriel, der für den internationalen Handel immerhin zuständig ist. Sein «genialer» Vorschlag für ein geringeres Defizit der Vereinigten Staaten: «Dafür müssen die USA bessere Autos bauen.»

Sein Kollege Wolfgang Schäuble ist nicht weniger schlau und weiss, dass die Überschüsse auf der Stärke der deutschen Wirtschaft beruhen. Und er fügt, um die Absurdität auf die Spitze zu treiben, hinzu, diese starke Wirtschaft wiederum sei ein wichtiger Beitrag für Europa und ein Beitrag der Europäischen Union für die Weltwirtschaft.

Doch in einem fairen internationalen Handel kommt es gerade nicht auf die Qualität der Produkte an, sondern darauf, dass sich die Qualität jedes Produktes angemessen im Preis widerspiegelt. Wer aber über Jahre politischen Druck auf die Tarifpartner ausübt, um wie Deutschland die Löhne zu drücken, und dafür den Schutz eines «niederen» (Schäubles Begriff) Euros in Anspruch nimmt (der «nieder» ist, weil Deutschland mit seiner realen Abwertung die anderen in der Euro-Gruppe systematisch schwächt), verletzt die grundlegenden Regeln eines fairen Handels. Ein fairer Handel kann nur dann existieren, wenn in jedem Land die Löhne so stark steigen wie die Produktivität plus dem Inflationsziel des Landes und die Differenzen in den Inflationszielen der Länder durch konsequente Ab- und Aufwertungen der nationalen Währungen ausgeglichen werden.

Europa als «Vehikel» Deutschlands

Schliesslich, und das ist wirklich beeindruckend, scheint Trump auch zu verstehen (oder zu ahnen), dass das Problem des deutschen Merkantilismus nicht nur die USA betrifft. Das deutsche Lohndumping ging vor allem auf Kosten der europäischen Nachbarn. Die sich, wie Italien, nur in Leistungsbilanzüberschusspositionen flüchten können, indem sie hohe Arbeitslosigkeit und viele Jahre wirtschaftlicher Schrumpfung erleiden und deswegen immer weniger Güter importieren. Wenn Trump von «Europa als Vehikel Deutschlands» spricht, trifft er diesen Punkt, der Schäubles Position zur Lachnummer macht, erstaunlich genau. Nachdem schon die Obama-Administration Deutschland mehrmals aufgefordert hatte, zieht nun ein amerikanischer Präsident die Glacéhandschuhe aus und spricht Klartext: «Sehen Sie sich Grossbritannien an, und sehen Sie sich die Europäische Union an, die ist Deutschland. Im Grunde genommen ist die Europäische Union ein Mittel zum Zweck für Deutschland. Deswegen fand ich, dass es so klug von Grossbritannien war auszutreten. […] Wenn Sie mich fragen: Es werden weitere Länder austreten.»

Die Reaktion der Kanzlerin folgte gestern: «Ich denke, wir Europäer haben unser Schicksal selber in der Hand.»

Was sie offenbar immer noch nicht verstanden hat oder verstehen will: Die Europäer gibt es nicht mehr. Manch einer wird sich nach der offenen Kritik von Trump in den nächsten Wochen vielleicht auch trauen, einfache Wahrheiten über die schlimmen Ursachen der Euro-Krise und der deutschen Dominanz auszusprechen.   •

Quelle: makroskop.eu/2017/01/deutschland-droht-ein-waehrungskrieg/ vom 18.1.2017

*  Sebastian Müller studierte Geschichte, Politikwissenschaft und Germanistik in Darmstadt. Als freier Autor befasst er sich insbesondere mit den Wechselwirkungen von Ökonomie und Gesellschaft sowie Wirtschaftsgeschichte. Seit 2009 betreibt er in diesem Kontext den Mehrautorenblog le Bohémien. Im Oktober ist sein Buch «Der Anbruch des Neoliberalismus» im Promedia Verlag erschienen.     Heiner Flassbeck ist Honorarprofessor an der Universität Hamburg, war Chef-Volkswirt der UNCTAD und Staatssekretär im deutschen Bundesfinanzministerium. Seine Hauptarbeitsgebiete sind die Globalisierung, die Theorie der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung und Geld- und Währungstheorie. Veröffentllichunen u.a.: «Die Marktwirtschaft des 21. Jahrhunderts», 2010; «Zehn Mythen der Krise», 2012; gemeinsam mit Paul Davidson, James K. Galbraith, Richard Koo und Jayati Ghosh: «Handelt jetzt! Das globale Manifest zur Rettung der Wirtschaft», 2013.