“There is no use in altitude training” – but no way!

The attack on altitude training was a barrel burst

by Heini Hofmann

We know it from collecting box institutions: sense of mission for the own ambitions can seduce to rewrite things in a way that serves – via tear-jerking and money bag – the donation box. In science sometimes analogical things happen. Such a case concerning the altitude training could have had fatal consequences for the Engadine, the European altitude training centre number one.

Racehorses are also athletes an benefit fdrom the altitude training. Yes they have even initiated this. (picture from the Book “Mythos St. Moritz”)

Scientific research today first of all is a question of money. Touting for research funds it happens – fortunately only occasionally – even in noble university circles that half-baked “scientific results” are trumpeted.

Making hypothesis to thesis

Research works with posing questions, that means it constructs a hypothesis to then examine if it is in fact as assumed or if it is maybe different. The result of this kind of research is then a thesis. In the past it was usual to go to the media and thereby to the public only with this thesis that means only with the verified scientific result in order not to cause confusion.
However, today it happens more and more that driven by the struggle for research funds, occasionally also to position oneself in the media (malicious gossip speaks about mediahype) one presses ahead already with the hypothesis. And what do most media people do? Of course a thesis out of the hypothesis; because they have to sell their stories crisply with flesh on the bones. Result: The hypothesis being right or wrong is cemented via published opinion as public opinion.
This happened two years ago with the issue of altitude training, induced by a researcher of the University of Zurich who, even during the reviewing process, went full-throatedly public with a previously undisclosed study which was already qualified non valid by other researchers. Of all things he did this via the university information magazine and thereby unnecessarily caused a stir and uncertainty.

“Altitude training does not work”

This destructive statement about an up to then sacrosanct scientific consensus decorated as title an article in the Zurich University periodical magazine where it was described how the concerned scientist emphasised with “ringing laughter” that he had great fun dethroning one of the greatest dogmas of sport physiology, because “our study is simply much better than the others”. The academic cavalry attack was directed at the principle “live high – train low” with which top athletes improve their performance since more than ten years still by some percent.
Responding to Marathon European Champion Victor Röthlin who, like many other athletes, used to do his “Live high – train low” altitude training in the Engadine (living in Muottas Muragl, training in St. Moritz) and who said from his own experience: “three weeks after I come back from the mountains to the lowlands, I literally fly”, the scientist in question answered, that he took the effects of altitude training being perceived by top athletes as positive for a placebo effect, therefore simply for imagination.
Hence, according to his opinion, height would be a placebo that means an ineffective, indifferent substance, a “pseudo-medicament”, administered to patients (i.e. athletes) to answer imaginary needs. An audacious thesis which had had catastrophic consequences for the altitude training Eldorado Engadine. When faced with such a demystification the physician of the century Paracelsus probably would strike back very crude again like he did in those days: “cushion professors…requiem physicians… clowns (‘Gugelfritzen’)… who rumble in the books of the old like sows in the trough”.

Cycling along Lake St. Moritz – nature arena with a unique mountain landscape. (picture from the Book Hofmann, Heini. “Mythos St. Moritz. Sauerwasser-Gebirgssonne-Höhenklima 2014.” ISBN 978-3-907067-44-4)

Barrel burst instead of flare rocket

The denyer of said altitude training even advised Swiss Olympic to better “hire more psychologists”. Since, “as long as the athletes believe that altitude training is profitable, they will continue to do it”, was his sarcastic motto. Well, he has achieved something, namely media attention, although his study was only one among fifty others (deviating!) For the journals of the yellow press this occasionally is what they are waiting for when university researchers are fighting each other. However, what goes around, comes around. In science this applies, too: The revolution consumes its own children. The alleged flare rocket ended as a barrel burst.
There was harsh criticism in the review process by other well-known researchers that the performance after the altitude stay was not measured at its best time, that the measurement accuracy for the determination of the hemoglobin mass leaves a lot to be desired, that was uncritically interpolated from artificial to natural level. The alleged blank test was not carried out “lege artis” with a high group and a control group, apart from the fact that “the ‘blinding’ during studies of altitude training was nonsense”. The bottom line is what has already been said before. Ultimately, the athletes themselves decide. For them the personal experience counts and this experience is good.

The damage remains done

An analgous case a few years ago comes to mind. It was about the raw milk caseation on the alp. At that time, it was a professor at the ETH Zurich who made such a fuss. It was said to be a threat to life. The majority of the media outbid one another with meeting the trouble halfways to that extend that the Federal Council thought it necessary to appoint a special commission. The latter held meetings, discussed, debated and came to the conclusion that “no immediate measures are necessary.”
To put it plainly, the whole academic kerfuffle was nothing but hot air. The saucy bits of such stories are that a correct position was never and nowhere delivered, note, neither in the case of altitude training. The damage is done and nobody is responsible. For the sake of good order, it should be pointed out that these are always individual cases which, however, also affect the predominantly serious research.     •
(Translation Current Concerns)

Racehorses as a trigger

Interestingly, it was not two- but four-legged athletes who opened up the practice of altitude training. After the poor performance of the Swiss delegation at the Olympic Winter Games in Innsbruck in 1964 and with a worried look at the 1968 Olympic Summer Games in Mexico at 2,000 m above sea level, new training methods were required.
The inspiring idea came from St. Moritz; because in the 1920s an interesting observation had been made with racing horses (trotters and galoppers). For the international horse races in February on the frozen lake they came to St. Moritz already one month before for training. At the big spring races in different major European cities they made it to top places. Ergo: These were the first altitude trainings in preparation for competitions at lower altitudes!
The director of the research institute in Magglingen at that time, Professor Gottfried Schönholzer, addressed himself to this phenomenon; because what worked with the hippological training, he concluded, could also be used on human athletes. The future should prove him right.

Not the same for everyone!

“If competitions take place in the height,“ says Jon Peter Wehrlin, specialist in altitude training at the Swiss Federal Institute of Sports in Magglingen, “altitude training for all participants makes sense. In order to achieve the best possible performance, the body has to acclimatise to the high altitude. Compared to ‘normal’ training, altitude training can provide a one to three percent increase in performance. And that‘s exactly what in top-class sport decides between victory or defeat.“
Wehrlin, on the other hand, recommends altitude training as a preparation for a competition in the lowlands only for fully trained athletes, who have already reached a high level with the classic training methods, but with this were not able to achieve more progress. With this additional stimulus, they can improve their performance – individually and tailor-made.

Aim determines method

In spite of a storm in a teacup the following still applies: the original altitude training meant “live high – train high, LHTH”. It serves as preparation for altitude competitions. Besides there is the hypoxia training with “live low – train high, LLTH”. Here the anaerobic performance is improved.
The latest form of altitude training is “live high – train low, LHTL”. “This type of altitude training,” says Jon Peter Wehrlin, head of the Sports physiology (endurance) at the Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen, SFISM, “has proven to be more beneficial with elite endurance athletes in the preparation for competitions in the lowland than ‘live high – train high’” but also as more beneficial compared to training in the lowlands.

Engadine
•    Overnight lodging: Muottas Muragl (2456 m)
    or Bernina Hospiz (2309 m)
•    Training: St. Moritz (1856 m) and     Scuol (1275 m)

Region Davos
•    Overnight lodging: Jakobshorn (2590 m),
      SLF Weissfluhjoch (2663 m)
•    Training: Davos (1540 m)     and Klosters (1120 m)

Region Appenzell
•    Overnight lodging: Säntis (2501 m)
•    Training: Schwägalp (1320 m),
      Urnäsch (841 m) or
      Herisau (745 m)

Region Central Switzerland
•    Overnight lodging: Gütsch ob Andermatt (2344 m)
•    Training: Andermatt (1445 m)

Region Valais
•    Overnight lodging: Gemmi-Pass, Berghotel Wildstrubel (2346 m)
•    Training: Leukerbad (1411 m)

«Höhentraining bringt nichts» – denkste!

Die Attacke auf das Höhentraining war ein Rohrkrepierer

von Heini Hofmann

Von Sammelbüchsen-Institutionen weiss man es: Das Sendungsbewusstsein für die eigenen Zielsetzungen kann dazu verleiten, die Dinge so zu umschreiben, dass dies via Tränendrüsen und Geldsäckel dem Spendenkässeli zudient. In der Wissenschaft passiert mitunter etwas Analoges. Ein solcher Fall, das Höhentraining betreffend, hätte fürs Engadin, die Nummer eins unter den HöhentrainingsZentren Europas, fatale Folgen haben können.

Rennpferde sind ebenfalls Sportler und profitieren vom Höhentraining. Ja sie haben dieses sogar initiiert. (Bild aus dem Buch «Mythos St. Moritz»)

Wissenschaftliche Forschung ist heute vor allem eine Frage des Geldes. Beim Buhlen um Forschungsgelder kommt es daher, wenn zum Glück auch nur vereinzelt, selbst in hehren universitären Kreisen vor, dass unausgereifte «Forschungsergebnisse» ausposaunt werden.

Hypothese zur These gemacht

Forschung arbeitet mit Fragestellungen, stellt also eine Hypothese auf, um dann zu untersuchen, ob es sich tatsächlich so verhält, wie man angenommen hat, oder allenfalls doch anders. Resultat solcher Forschung ist dann eine These. Früher war es Usus, erst mit dieser These, das heisst mit dem bestätigten Forschungsresultat, in die Medien und damit an die Öffentlichkeit zu gehen, um nicht Verwirrung zu stiften.

Heute jedoch passiert es immer öfter, dass, getrieben vom Kampf um das Generieren von Forschungsgeldern, gelegentlich wohl auch um sich in den Medien zu positionieren (böse Zungen sprechen dann von Mediengeilheit), bereits mit der Hypothese vorgeprescht wird. Und was machen dann die meisten Medienleute? Natürlich aus der Hypothese eine These; denn sie müssen die Storys ja knackig und mit Fleisch am Knochen verkaufen. Resultat: Die Hypothese, ob richtig oder falsch, wird via veröffentlichte als öffentliche Meinung zementiert.

So geschehen vor zwei Jahren mit der Höhentrainings-Thematik, ausgelöst durch einen Forscher der Universität Zürich, der eine noch unveröffentlichte, von anderen Wissenschaftlern aber bereits als nicht stichhaltig qualifizierte Studie noch während der laufenden Begutachtung (Revueprozess) ausgerechnet via das Informationsmagazin der Hochschule lauthals in die Öffentlichkeit trug und dadurch unnötigerweise für Wirbel und Verunsicherung sorgte.

«Höhentraining bringt nichts»

Diese vernichtende Aussage über eine bisher sakrosankte Lehrmeinung zierte als Titel einen Artikel in der Zürcher Universitäts-Zeitschrift magazin, in dem beschrieben stand, wie der betreffende Forscher «mit schallendem Lachen» unterstreicht, dass es ihm Spass mache, eines der grössten Dogmen der Sportphysiologie vom Sockel zu stossen, «weil unsere Studie einfach viel besser ist als die anderen». Die akademische Reiterattacke galt dem «Oben leben, unten trainieren»-Prinzip, mit dem seit über zehn Jahren Spitzenathleten ihre Leistungen noch um einige Prozente steigern.

Angesprochen auf Marathon-Europameister Victor Röthlin, der, wie viele andere Sportler, im Engadin sein «Live high – train low»-Höhentraining zu absolvieren pflegte (mit Wohnen auf Muottas Muragl und Trainieren in St. Moritz) und aus eigener Erfahrung sagte, «drei Wochen, nachdem ich aus den Bergen zurück im Unterland bin, fliege ich förmlich», antwortete besagter Forscher, dass er die von Spitzensportlern als positiv empfundenen Auswirkungen eines Höhentrainings für einen Placeboeffekt halte, also schlicht und ergreifend für Einbildung.

Gemäss seiner Auffassung wäre somit Höhe ein Placebo, das heisst eine unwirksame, indifferente Substanz, ein «Scheinmedikament», angewendet bei Patienten (sprich: Sportlern), um einem eingebildeten Bedürfnis zu entsprechen. Eine kühne These, die fürs Höhentrainings-Eldorado Engadin katastrophale Folgen gehabt hätte. Ob solcher Entzauberung würde Jahrhundertarzt Paracelsus, so er sie vernehmen täte, wohl erneut sackgrob kontern wie damals: «Polsterprofessoren … Requiemsdoktoren … Gugelfritzen … die in den Büchern der alten rumpeln wie die Sau im Trog».

Radtraining entlang dem St. Moritzersee – Naturarena mit einmaliger Gebirgskulisse. (Bild aus dem Buch Hofmann, Heini. Mythos St. Moritz. Sauerwasser-Gebirgssonne-Höhenklima 2014.
ISBN 978-3-907067-44-4)

Rohrkrepierer statt Leuchtrakete

Besagter Höhentrainings-Verneiner riet Swiss Olympic sogar, besser «mehr Psychologen einzustellen». Denn «so lange die Athleten glauben, Höhentraining nütze etwas, werden sie es weiterhin machen», lautete seine sarkastische Devise. Nun, eines hat er damit erreicht, nämlich mediale Aufmerksamkeit, obschon seine Studie nur eine unter fünfzig anderen (anderslautenden!) war; denn für die Journaille der seichteren Gefilde ist es jeweilen ein gefundenes Fressen, wenn universitäre Forscher sich gegenseitig bekriegen. Jedoch: Wer derart in den Wald lacht, muss nicht aufs Echo warten. Auch in der Wissenschaft gilt: Die Revolution frisst ihre eigenen Kinder. Die vermeintliche Leuchtrakete endete als Rohrkrepierer.

Denn andere renommierte Forscher haben im Reviewprozess harsche Kritik geübt, nämlich dass die Leistung nach dem Höhenaufenthalt nicht zum anerkannt besten Zeitpunkt gemessen worden sei, dass die Messgenauig-keit für die Bestimmung der Hämoglobinmasse zu wünschen übrig lasse, dass unkritisch von künstlicher auf natürliche Höhe interpoliert und der angebliche Blindversuch mit einer Höhen- und einer Kontrollgruppe nicht ‹lege artis› durchgeführt worden sei, ganz abgesehen davon, dass «das ‹Blinding› bei Höhentrainingsstudien Unsinn» sei. Endeffekt: Es gilt wieder, was vorher schon galt. Und entscheiden tun schlussendlich die Sportler selber. Für sie zählt die persönlich gemachte Erfahrung – und die ist gut.

Der Schaden bleibt angerichtet

Man erinnert sich an einen analogen Fall vor Jahren, der die Rohmilch-Verkäsung auf der Alp betraf. Damals war es ein Professor der ETH-Zürich, der einen solchen Wirbel veranstaltete. Es war von lebensgefährlicher Bedrohung die Rede. Der Grossteil der Medien überbot sich gegenseitig mit Teufel-an-die-Wand-Malereien derart, dass sich der Bundesrat veranlasst sah, eine Sonderkommission einzusetzen. Diese tagte, beriet, wägte ab und kam zum Schluss: «Es sind keine Sofortmassnahmen notwendig.»

Das heisst im Klartext, der ganze akademische Wirbel war heisse Luft. Das Pikante an solchen Geschichten: Eine Richtigstellung erfolgte nie und nirgends, notabene auch im Fall Höhentraining nicht. Der Schaden ist angerichtet, und niemand verantwortlich. – Der guten Ordnung halber sei angeführt, dass es sich hierbei immer um Einzelfälle handelt, die jedoch die überwiegend seriöse Forschung ebenfalls in Mitleidenschaft ziehen.    •

Rennpferde als Auslöser

Interessanterweise waren es nicht zwei-, sondern vierbeinige Athleten, die dem Sport das Höhentraining erschlossen. Nach dem schlechten Abschneiden der Schweizer Delegation an den Olympischen Winterspielen von 1964 in Innsbruck und mit besorgtem Blick auf die Olympischen Sommerspiele von 1968 in Mexiko auf über 2000 m ü. M. waren neue Trainingsmethoden gefragt.

Die zündende Idee kam aus St. Moritz; denn in den zwanziger Jahren hatte man bei Rennpferden (Traber und Galopper) eine interessante Beobachtung gemacht. Für die internationalen Pferderennen im Februar auf dem gefrorenen See kamen sie jeweilen bereits einen Monat vorher nach -St. Moritz zum Trainieren – und liefen dann an den grossen Frühjahrsrennen in verschiedenen europäischen Metropolen auf Spitzenplätze. Ergo: Dies waren die ersten Höhentrainings zur Vorbereitung für Wettkämpfe in tieferen Lagen!

Diesem Phänomen widmete sich der damalige Leiter des Forschungsinstitutes in Magglingen, Professor Gottfried Schönholzer; denn was beim hippologischen Training funktionierte, so folgerte er, konnte doch auch bei menschlichen Athleten fruchten. Die Zukunft sollte ihm recht geben.

Nicht für alle gleich!

«Finden Wettkämpfe in der Höhe statt», sagt Jon Peter Wehrlin, HöhentrainingsSpezialist an der Eidgenössischen Hochschule für Sport in Magglingen, «macht Höhentraining für alle Teilnehmer Sinn. Denn um die bestmögliche Leistung zu erbringen, muss sich der Körper an die Höhenlage akklimatisieren. Im Vergleich zu einem normalen Training kann ein solches in der Höhe ein bis drei Prozent Leistungssteigerung erbringen. Und genau dies entscheidet im Spitzensport über Sieg oder Niederlage.»

Ein Höhentraining als Vorbereitung für einen Wettkampf im Flachland empfiehlt Wehrlin dagegen nur austrainierten Athleten, die mit den klassischen Trainingsmethoden bereits ein hohes Niveau erreicht haben, damit jedoch keine Fortschritte mehr erzielen können. Durch diese zusätzliche Reizsetzung können sie ihre Leistung – individuell und massgeschneidert – noch verbessern.

Zielsetzung bestimmt Methode

Trotz Sturm im Wasserglas gilt nach wie vor: Das ursprüngliche Höhentraining hiess «oben schlafen – oben schuften» (live high – train high, LHTH). Es dient der Vorbereitung für Wettkämpfe in der Höhe. Daneben gibt es das Hypoxie-Training mit «unten schlafen – oben schuften (live low – train high, LLTH). Hier wird die anaerobe Leistungsfähigkeit verbessert.

Die neueste Höhentrainingsform lautet «oben schlafen – unten schuften» (live high – train low, LHTL). «Diese Art Höhentraining», sagt Jon Peter Wehrlin, Leiter Sportphysiologie Ausdauer an der EHS Magglingen, «hat sich bei Elite-Ausdauerathleten in der Vorbereitung für Wettkämpfe im Flachland als vorteilhafter erwiesen als «oben ruhen – oben schuften», aber auch als vorteilhafter im Vergleich zum Training im Flachland.

Engadin
•    Übernachten: Muottas Muragl (2456m)
      oder Bernina Hospiz (2309 m)
•    Trainieren: St. Moritz (1856 m) und
     Scuol (1275 m)
Region Davos
•    Übernachten: Jakobshorn (2590 m),
      SLF Weissfluhjoch (2663 m)
•    Trainieren: Davos (1540 m)
    und Klosters (1120 m)
Region Appenzell
•    Übernachten: Säntis (2501 m)
•    Trainieren: Schwägalp (1320 m),
      Urnäsch (841 m) oder
      Herisau (745 m)
Region Innerschweiz
•    Übernachten: Gütsch ob Andermatt (2344 m)
•    Trainieren: Andermatt (1445 m)
Region Wallis
•    Übernachten: Gemmi-Pass, Berghotel Wildstrubel (2346 m)
      Trainieren: Leukerbad (1411 m)