“By no means a gift to the farmers”

A plea for the federal law on the taxation of agricultural and forestry properties

Interview with National Councillor Olivier Feller, FDP Waadt

The “Federal law on the taxation of agricultural and forestry properties” aims to mitigate the potentially ruinous effects of a Federal Supreme Court (of Switzerland) judgment of 2 December 2011 on farming families. Prior to this judgment, if a farmer wanted to sell part of his property as building land, he was required to pay a real estate gains tax according to cantonal law. The same rule applied in accordance with local construction law requiring the farmer to transfer his house and garden to private assets in order to keep occupying it upon his retirement. With this decision, the Federal Supreme Court behaves as though it were the legislator and invents a new income tax for the farmers. In addition to the cantonal real estate gains tax, the federal government could thus increase this capital gain by means of direct federal tax load – as income! (The federal government only recognizes this income tax, no wealth tax that – of course – would be much lower.)
Effectively, this means that a farmer or a couple looking to retire have to pay hundreds of thousands of francs in income tax for their private residence to the federal government despite not even having earned that money.
One can only hope that the National Council will find a compromise in the spring session in order for the Council of States to be prepared to correct its negative decision on 12 December 2016.

Current Concerns: Could you briefly explain the problems farmers face regarding the taxation of agricultural lots?

National Councillor Olivier Feller: On 2 December 2011, the Federal Court announced its decision to establish a previously unknown distinction between lots subject to agricultural land law and those that are not. The issue at heart is to determine how to tax the profits made when selling or transfering land from business assets to private ones. When dealing with a lot subject to land law, the real estate transfer tax continues to be applied. What is new is that if a lot is not subject to land law, the entire profit is subject to income tax. This judgment by the Federal Court had the effect of having drastically increased the debts owed from one day to the next. The Waadt canton provides a good example of this. The percentage for a real estate gains tax for a lot not subject to land law used to be 7%, if the period of ownership exceeded 24 years. Since 2 December 2011, such a lot is subject to an income tax rate of 50%, with additional AHV fees.

What led to this situation?

In accordance with the principle of the separation of power, the Federal Court is independent. Of course, I do respect its independence. The problem is that, apparently, the Federal Court did not foresee the immediate consequences of its judgment. A farmer, who wants to retire but keep living in his farmhouse at the same time, can be faced with fees of several hundred thousand francs because of his income tax, merely because
 his residence is transferred from his business assets to his personal assets. This is not only unjust, but it also contradicts the legal security and predictability that is supposed to be ensured by the Federal Court. What is more is that this law came into effect immediately on 2 December 2011 without a transitional period enabling farmers to adapt to the new taxation. In return, it highlights a real institutional problem. Whenever the parliament changes taxation laws, transitional periods are usually provided. That didn’t happen in the case of this Federal Court judgment.

In April of 2016, the National Council approved a draft bill that could have enabled a return to the previous tax practice. The Council of States opposed it in December 2016. What do you make of this situation?

I was very surprised by the Council of States’ decision. On 8 December 2014, it had supported a motion brought forth by my colleague, Leo Müller, commissioning the National Council to present a legislative change to reinstate the previous tax practice. Two years later, the Council of States voted for the exact opposite, i.e. non-occurrence. What a contradiction! It is difficult to understand such a turnaround. I sense that in certain circles, there is jealousy towards the enormous support that farmers enjoy with parliament. Furthermore, the federation’s financial situation has deteriorated over the last two years. The return to the previous tax practice in no way has to do with gifting anything to the farmers, even if some like to present it that way. In reality, a return to the previous practice would prevent a “tax robbery” that, without any democratic discussion, has been enabled from one day to the other by the Federal Court’s judgment in 2011.

What other opportunities to possibly limit the negative consequences of this Federal Court judgment do you see?

This dossier will be presented to the National Council again in 2017. The Committee for Economic Affairs and Taxes is going to elaborate on this topic again in its meeting on 20February and prepare it for further discussion at the National Council’s spring session. As a French-speaking correspondent for the Committee, I will, together with others, work towards achieving a fair solution to win the majority in the National Council as well as in the Council of States. It’s not going to be easy. But in policy, only battles that are not fought are lost from the start.    •

(Interview by Jean-Paul Vuilleumier)

Federal act on the taxation of agricultural and forestry land (16.031) – a chronology 2.12.2011 Federal Court decision: profits from selling agricultural and forestry land were exempt until a fundamental decision of the Federal Court in 2011 of the feder

2.12.2011:         


 

Federal Court decision: profits from selling agricultural and forestry land were exempt until a fundamental decision of the Federal Court in 2011 of the federal direct tax (income tax) (FC 138 II 32). In 2011, the Federal Court limited this privilege to lands that are subject to the Federal Act on the rural land rights. The profits from selling reserves of building land from the assets of agriculture and forestry enterprises are fully taxable since then.

14.3.2012:




National Councillor Leo Müller issued the motion* “Taxation of agricultural and forestry land” (12.3172) with 22 co-signatories. The Federal Council was supposed to provide a draft law to the Parliament, stating that agricultural and forestry plots, when transferred from business assets to private assets as well when sold will be charged with an income tax only on the capital cost, as it was the practice before the judgment of the Federal Court 2C_22/2011 in 2 December 2011.

9.5.2012:

Federal Council requests to reject the motion.

16.9.2013:

National Council supports the motion.

8.12.2014:

Council of States supports the motion.

11.3.2016:



Federal Council adopts its message to the Federal act on the taxation of agricultural and forestry land (16.031) and thus implements the motion which was transferred by the Parliament: all real estate of assets from an agricultural or forestry enterprise should benefit from a privileged taxation, as it was until 2011. He renounces to recommend the adoption of the proposal to the Parliament.

27.4.2016:

National Council follows its Advisory Committee and accepts the amendment as the First Chamber.

12.12.2016:

Council of States follows its Advisory Commission and rejects the law amendment as the Second Chamber.

Spring session 2017:

The National Council will discuss it again.

Quelle: https://www.parlament.ch/de/ratsbetrieb/amtliches-bulletin/amtliches-bulletin-die-verhandlungen?SubjectId=38871

*    A motion instructs the Federal Council to submit a bill to the Federal Assembly or to take a certain measure. Motions can be submitted by the majority of a committee and, during a session, by a parliamentary group or by an Assembly member. Motions must be accepted by both Councils.

(Translation Current Concerns)

«Keineswegs ein Geschenk an die Bauern»

Plädoyer für das Bundesgesetz über die Besteuerung land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Grundstücke

Interview mit Nationalrat Olivier Feller, FDP Waadt

Das «Bundesgesetz über die Besteuerung land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Grundstücke» hat zum Zweck, die möglicherweise ruinösen Auswirkungen eines Bundesgerichtsurteils vom 2. Dezember 2011 für Bauernfamilien zu mildern. In der Zeit vor diesem Urteil hatte ein Landwirt nach kantonalem Recht Grundstückgewinnsteuer zu bezahlen, wenn er einen Teil seiner Liegenschaft als Bauland verkaufen wollte. Dasselbe galt, wenn er sich zur Ruhe setzte und gemäss lokalem Baurecht sein Bauernhaus mit Garten, das er weiterhin bewohnen wollte, ins Privatvermögen überführen musste. Mit diesem Entscheid gebärdet sich das Bundesgericht, als ob es der Gesetzgeber wäre, und erfindet für die Bauern eine neue Einkommensstreuer. Damit könnte der Bund zusätzlich zur kantonalen Grundstückgewinnsteuer diesen Vermögenszuwachs mit der direkten Bundessteuer – also als Einkommen! – belasten. (Der Bund kennt ausschliesslich diese Einkommenssteuer, also keine Vermögenssteuer, welche ja viel niedriger wäre.)
Für einen Bauern oder ein Ehepaar, das sich zur Ruhe setzt, bedeutet dies zum Beispiel, dass sie für ihr Wohnhaus, in dem sie leben, dem Bund einige hunderttausend Franken Einkommenssteuer bezahlen müssen, die sie gar nicht eingenommen haben.
Es ist zu hoffen, dass der Nationalrat in der Frühjahrssession einen Kompromiss findet, damit der Ständerat bereit ist, seinen ablehnenden Entscheid am 12. Dezember 2016 zu korrigieren.

Zeit-Fragen: Könnten Sie uns bitte kurz erläutern, welchem Problem die Bauern sich in bezug auf die Besteuerung landwirtschaftlicher Grundstücke gegenüber sehen?

Nationalrat Olivier Feller: Am 2. Dezember 2011 hat das Bundesgericht ein Urteil gefällt, das für die Bauernbetriebe eine bisher unbekannte Unterscheidung einführt zwischen Grundstücken, die dem landwirtschaftlichen Bodenrecht unterworfen sind, und solchen, die nicht dem landwirtschaftlichen Bodenrecht unterstellt sind. Dabei geht es darum festzulegen, wie die Gewinne zu besteuern sind, die bei der Veräusserung oder der Überführung eines Grundstücks vom Geschäftsvermögen ins Privatvermögen entstehen. Wenn es um ein Grundstück geht, das dem landwirtschaftlichen Bodenrecht unterstellt ist, wird wie bisher die Grundstückgewinnsteuer erhoben. Neu ist, dass, wenn es um ein Grundstück geht, das nicht dem bäuerlichen Bodenrecht unterstellt ist, der ganze Gewinn der Einkommenssteuer unterliegen soll. Dieses Bundesgerichtsurteil hatte zur Folge, dass in bestimmten Fällen von einem Tag auf den anderen die geschuldeten Steuern ganz massiv erhöht waren. Zum Beispiel im Kanton Waadt betrug der Satz der Grundstückgewinnsteuer für ein nicht dem landwirtschaftlichen Bodenrecht unterstelltes Grundstück 7 %, wenn die Besitzdauer 24 Jahre überstieg. Seit dem 2. Dezember 2011 wird ein solches Grundstück der Einkommenssteuer unterstellt, mit einem Satz von 50 %, wobei die auf den besteuerten Betrag geschuldeten AHV-Beiträge noch dazukommen.

Was hat zu dieser Situation geführt?

Nach dem Prinzip der Gewaltenteilung ist das Bundesgericht unabhängig. Selbstverständlich respektiere ich diese Unabhängigkeit. Das Problem ist, dass das Bundesgericht offensichtlich die konkreten Auswirkungen seines Urteils nicht vorausgesehen hat. Ein Bauer, der seine berufliche Tätigkeit aufgibt, jedoch in seinem Haus weiter wohnen will, kann sich nun auf Grund der Einkommenssteuer mit Forderungen in Höhe von mehreren hunderttausend Franken konfrontiert sehen, nur weil sein Wohnsitz vom Geschäftsvermögen in sein Privatvermögen überführt wird. Das ist ungerecht und widerspricht der Rechtssicherheit und Vorhersehbarkeit, die das Bundesgericht eigentlich garantieren sollte … Dazu kommt, dass dieses Urteil ab sofort, vom 2. Dezember 2011 an, zur Anwendung kam, ohne ein Übergangsfrist vorzusehen, die den Bauern ermöglicht hätte, sich auf die neue Situation der Besteuerung anzupassen. Dies wirft ein echtes institutionelles Problem auf. Wenn das Parlament Steuergesetze verändert, werden normalerweise immer Übergangsfristen vorgesehen. Bei diesem Bundesgerichtsurteil ist dies nicht geschehen.

Im April 2016 hat der Nationalrat einen Gesetzesentwurf angenommen, mit dem man zur früheren Steuerpraxis zurückkommen könnte. Der Ständerat hat sich im Dezember 2016 dagegen entschieden. Wie erklären Sie sich diese Situation?

Mich hat die Entscheidung des Ständerates sehr erstaunt. Am 8. Dezember 2014 hatte er mit 33 zu 4 Stimmen und einer Enthaltung die Motion meines Kollegen, Leo Müller, unterstützt, die den Bundesrat beauftragte, eine Gesetzesänderung vorzulegen, die die frühere Steuerpraxis wieder einführt. Zwei Jahre später entschied der Ständerat genau entgegengesetzt, nämlich für Nichteintreten. Was für ein Widerspruch! Einen solchen Umschwung zu verstehen ist schwierig. Ich spüre, dass gewisse Kreise etwas eifersüchtig sind auf die grosse Unterstützung, die die Bauern im Parlament geniessen. Dazu kommt, dass sich die finanzielle Situation des Bundes in den vergangenen zwei Jahren verschlechtert hat. Das Zurückkommen auf die frühere steuerliche Praxis hat keineswegs mit einem Geschenk an die Bauern zu tun, auch wenn einige dies so darstellen. In Wirklichkeit würde das Zurückkehren zur bisherigen Praxis einen «Steuerraub» verhindern, der von einem Tag auf den anderen, ohne jegliche demokratische Diskussion, durch das Bundesgerichtsurteil von 2011 ermöglicht wurde.

Welche Möglichkeiten sehen Sie noch, die negativen Folgen dieses Bundesgerichtsurteils zu begrenzen?

Dieses Dossier kommt im März 2017 erneut in den Nationalrat. Die Kommission für Wirtschaft und Abgaben wird in ihrer Sitzung vom 20. Februar dieses Thema nochmals besprechen und im Hinblick auf dessen Behandlung im Nationalrat in der Frühlingssession vorbereiten. Als französischsprachiger Berichterstatter der Kommission zu diesem Thema werde ich mich mit anderen zusammen für eine möglichst gerechte Lösung einsetzen, um eine Mehrheit sowohl im National- wie im Ständerat zu erreichen. Das wird nicht einfach sein. Aber in der Politik sind nur die Kämpfe, die man nicht führt, von Anfang an verloren.    •
(Interview Jean-Paul Vuilleumier)

(Übersetzung Zeit-Fragen)

Bundesgesetz über die Besteuerung land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Grundstücke (16.031) – Chronologie

2.12.2011:

 

 

 

Bundesgerichtsentscheid: Gewinne aus dem Verkauf land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Grundstücke waren bis zu einem Grundsatzentscheid des Bundesgerichts im Jahr 2011 von der direkten Bundessteuer (Einkommenssteuer) befreit (BGE 138 II 32). Im Jahr 2011 begrenzte das Bundesgericht dieses Privileg auf Grundstücke, die dem Bundesgesetz über das bäuerliche Bodenrecht (BGBB) unterstellt sind. Die Gewinne aus dem Verkauf von Baulandreserven des Anlagevermögens land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Betriebe sind seither vollumfänglich steuerbar.

14.3.2012:





Nationalrat Leo Müller reichte mit 22 Mitunterzeichnern die Motion «Besteuerung von land- und forstwirtschaftlichen Grundstücken» (12.3172) ein. Der Bundesrat sollte dem Parlament einen Gesetzesentwurf vorlegen, wonach land- und forstwirtschaftliche Grundstücke bei der Überführung vom Geschäfts- ins Privatvermögen sowie bei der Veräusserung nur bis zu den Anlagekosten einkommenssteuerrechtlich belastet werden, so wie dies vor dem Urteil des Bundesgerichts 2C_22/2011 vom 2. Dezember 2011 Praxis war.

9.5.2012:

Bundesrat beantragt die Ablehnung der Motion.

16.9.2013:

Nationalrat unterstützt die Motion.

8.12.2014:

Ständerat unterstützt die Motion.

11.3.2016:




Bundesrat verabschiedet seine Botschaft zum Bundesgesetz über die Besteuerung land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Grundstücke (16.031) und setzt damit die vom Parlament überwiesene Motion um: Alle Grundstücke des Anlagevermögens eines Land- oder Forstwirtschaftsbetriebs sollen von einer privilegierten Besteuerung profitieren, wie sie bis 2011 galt. Er verzichtet darauf, dem Parlament die Annahme der Vorlage zu empfehlen.

27.4.2016:

Nationalrat folgt seiner vorberatenden Kommission und nimmt die Gesetzesänderung an (Erstrat).

12.12.2016:

Ständerat folgt einer vorberatenden Kommission und lehnt die Gesetzesänderung ab (Zweitrat).

Frühlingssession 2017:

Nationalrat wird nochmals darüber beraten.

Quelle: https://www.parlament.ch/de/ratsbetrieb/amtliches-bulletin/amtliches-bulletin-die-verhandlungen?SubjectId=38871