Against rural depopulation of the younger generation – a vegetable garden for the family

by Philippe Randin, head of “Nouvelle Planète”, Lausanne

In the north of Burkina Faso vegetable gardens are springing up like mushrooms. They offer many people a basis to survive and therefore have become the most important economic activity of the region. This counteracts the country’s rural exodus of the young generation and helps combatting the desertification of the country for the region is very dry, and it is rarely raining. The desert and drought constitutes a great threat.

Increasing the area

The inhabitants of the village of Ouindigui have realised the potential of vegetable gardens. The population has already been organised to women’s groups, including the NAAM association. Over 300 women work together to cultivate and plant vegetables, the success is bound to occur. Throughout the year, they can harvest onions, cabbages, potatoes, etc., which they partly sell in local markets. The rest feeds their families. Thanks to this work, they can earn about 800 francs a year for their household budget. This amount corresponds to an annual wage of a security guard or a salesperson. In view of this success, the NAAM group wants to increase the cultivated area so that further 258 women could participate.

Digging and protecting wells

The residents have already selected the suitable place. It is located in the lower part of the village, near the existing gardens. The point here is to dig wells by hand. The water is located at a depth of about 10 metres. Subsequently the wells are concreted to prevent them from breaking. The surface must also be protected so that the sheep, goats and chickens do not destroy the work they have done. This work is too expensive for the local population. That is why people contacted the Swiss Development Cooperation Agency Nouvelle Planète in the hope to receive support.
An area of 2 hectares is to be divided into parcels of 77 square metres, which each can be farmed by a woman. Every woman will give a small rent to the group. She may also use its infrastructure and participate in association activities: storage for harvest, purchase of seed, trainings etc.
This project allows improving the life of the population while protecting the fragile environment of the region. Indirectly the schooling of the children and the health of the inhabitants are encouraged and the landflows get counteracted. Nouvelle Planète and the women of Ouindigui would like to thank you for your support.     •
The cost of creating a garden for a woman and her family is 49 francs. If you like to support this project, you can specify “garden” on your deposit note.

Donation Account: CCP 18-5792-6, IBAN: CH12 0900 0000 1800 5792 6
Further information on the projects and the organisation can be found at www.nouvelle-planete.ch and Nouvelle Planète, Avenue des Boveresses 24, 1010 Lausanne, Tel. +41 21 881 23 80

(Translation Current Concerns)

Nouvelle Planète

Nouvelle Planète promotes exchanges between communities, groups, professional associations and school classes from Switzerland and from the countries of the South. It offers advice, provision of expertise, networking and project support in Switzerland and/or in the South.

Missions and travels

Youth, adults, seniors, existing groups, schools, families or companies: Share life with the people of the countries of the South by participating in a development project!

Projects in the South:

Nouvelle Planète supports efficient and sustainable small projects of dynamic local groups:
–    Africa: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Uganda, Madagascar, Guinea
–    Asia: India, Myanmar (Burma), Vietnam
–    America: Peruvian Amazon River region, Haiti
The projects mainly comprise the following four areas: support for children and adolescents; promotion of women and rural development; environmental protection; support for disabled and sick people.
The supported projects have the following characteristics: They aim to meet the basic needs of the disadvantaged population in poor regions. Special attention will be given to the promotion of women and ethnic minorities. They also have a positive influence on the environment.
The projects will be submitted by local partners with whom we are cooperating. Nouvelle Planète does not act in place of them. In the end a project thus belongs to the beneficiary.
The local population is involved in the implementation of the project, whether it is in the form of funding, material and/or labour.
   The projects are to become quickly independent, so that Nouvelle Planète can easily withdraw. Nouvelle Planète does not support operating costs of institutions.

Source: www.nouvelle-planete.ch

(Translation Current Concerns)

Albert Schweitzer’s influence on Nouvelle Planète



Nouvelle Planète has been widely influenced by the “Ethics of Reverence for Life“, which were developed by Albert Schweitzer (1875–1965) on the shores of Ogooué river in Gabon. During the interwar period, Schweitzer searched for solutions in a world which he saw as decadent. “I am life that wills to live in the midst of life that wills to live; I must have reverence for life.“ He received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1952.
He was more a man of action, rather than a philosopher. He put his thoughts into practice and was often misunderstood by his contemporaries. He announced the “duty to help the hungry in the world“ and has fulfilled it, by treating the poorest in the hospital in Lambaréné in Gabon. „Example is not the main thing in influencing others, it‘s the only thing,“ is another important quote of his. He believed in human beings, not things, as drivers of progress. He was a convinced optimist oriented towards the future.
Willy Randin founded Nouvelle Planète in 1986 and based it on the thinking of Albert Schweitzer, since he had inspired him during his time as a director of the Lambaréné hospital. He wished to start an organisation for development cooperation that bases its actions on the needs of the local population and accepts them as the only competent decision makers for their own development. The temporary supports of concrete initiatives are the means to give them the necessary push and help people on the ground to improve their situation themselves. Nouvelle Planète does not design the projects, but only supports existing local projects that are relevant in the specific context and belong to the beneficiary groups.
Today, Nouvelle Planète still acts according to these principles, which are inspired by Albert Schweitzer, such as: reverence for life, act with a purpose, search for simplicity, mutual trust and optimism.



Source: www.nouvelle-planete.ch/en/notre-vision/albert-schweitzer

Gegen Landflucht der jungen Generation – ein Gemüsegarten für die Familie

von Philippe Randin, Leiter von «Nouvelle Planète», Lausanne

Im Norden von Burkina Faso schiessen die Gemüsegärten wie Pilze aus dem Boden. Sie geben vielen Leuten eine Basis zum Überleben und sind daher zur wichtigsten wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeit der Region geworden. Dies wirkt der Landflucht der jungen Generation entgegen und hilft im Kampf gegen die Desertifikation des Landes. Die Region ist nämlich sehr trocken, und es regnet nur selten. Die Wüste und die Trockenheit stellen eine grosse Bedrohung dar.

Die Flächen vergrössern

Die Bewohner und Bewohnerinnen des Dorfes Ouindigui haben das Potential von Gemüse­gärten erkannt. Die Bevölkerung hat sich bereits in Frauengruppierungen organisiert, darunter auch die Vereinigung NAAM. Über 300 Frauen arbeiten zusammen, um Gemüse anzubauen, der Erfolg ist vorprogrammiert. Übers ganze Jahr können sie Zwiebeln, Kohl, Kartoffeln usw. ernten, welche sie zu einem Teil auf den lokalen Märkten verkaufen. Der Rest ernährt ihre Familien. Dank dieser Arbeit können sie jährlich ungefähr 800 Franken für ihr Haushaltsbudget verdienen. Dieser Betrag entspricht einem Jahreslohn eines Wachmanns oder eines Verkäufers. Angesichts dieses Erfolgs möchte die Gruppierung NAAM die bebauten Flächen vergrössern, so dass weitere 258 Frauen mitmachen können.

Brunnen graben und schützen

Den geeigneten Ort haben die Bewohner und Bewohnerinnen bereits ausgewählt. Er befindet sich im unteren Teil des Dorfes, in der Nähe der bestehenden Gärten. Da geht es nun darum, von Hand Brunnen zu graben. Das Wasser befindet sich in einer Tiefe von etwa 10 Metern. Anschliessend werden die Brunnen betoniert, um zu verhindern, dass sie einbrechen. Auch die Oberfläche muss geschützt werden, damit die Schafe, Ziegen und Hühner nicht die vollbrachte Arbeit zerstören. Für die lokale Bevölkerung sind diese Arbeiten zu teuer. Deshalb hat sie die Schweizer Organisation für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit Nouvelle Planète kontaktiert, in der Hoffnung auf Unterstützung.
Eine Fläche von 2 Hektaren soll in Parzellen von 77 m2 unterteilt werden, welche je von einer Frau bewirtschaftet werden können. Jede Frau wird eine kleine Pacht an die Gruppierung leisten. Sie darf auch die Infrastruktur derselben benutzen und an den Vereinsaktivitäten teilnehmen: Lagerstätte für die Ernte, Kauf des Saatguts, Ausbildungen usw.
Dieses Projekt erlaubt, das Leben der Bevölkerung zu verbessern und gleichzeitig die fragile Umwelt der Region zu schützen. Indirekt werden die Einschulung der Kinder und die Gesundheit der Bewohner und Bewohnerinnen gefördert und der Landflucht entgegengewirkt. Nouvelle Planète und die Frauen von Ouindigui bedanken sich herzlich für Ihre Unterstützung.    •

Die Kosten für die Schaffung eines Gartens für eine Frau und ihre Familie betragen 49 Franken. Wenn Sie dieses Projekt unterstützen möchten, können Sie auf Ihrem Einzahlungsschein «Garten» angeben.
Spendenkonto: CCP 18-5792-6, IBAN: CH12 0900 0000 1800 5792 6
Weitere Informationen zu den Projekten und zur Organisation auf www.nouvelle-planete.ch und Nouvelle Planète, Avenue des Boveresses 24, 1010 Lausanne, Tel.: +41 21 881 23 80

Nouvelle Planète

Nouvelle Planète fördert den Austausch zwischen Gemeinden, Gruppen, Berufsverbänden und Schulklassen aus der Schweiz und aus den Ländern des Südens. Sie bietet Beratung, Bereitstellung von Fachkenntnissen, Vernetzung und Projektbetreuung in der Schweiz und/oder im Süden an.
Einsätze und Reisen
Jugendliche, Erwachsene, Senioren, bestehende Gruppen, Schulen, Familien oder Firmen: Teilen Sie das Leben mit der Bevölkerung der Länder des Südens, indem Sie sich an einem Entwicklungsprojekt beteiligen!
Projekte im Süden:
Nouvelle Planète unterstützt effiziente und nachhaltige Kleinprojekte dynamischer lokaler Gruppierungen:
-    Afrika: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Kamerun, Uganda, Madagaskar, Guinea
-    Asien: Indien, Myanmar (Burma), Vietnam
-    Amerika: Peruanisches Amazonas-Gebiet, Haiti
Die Projekte umfassen hauptsächlich die folgenden vier Bereiche: Unterstützung von Kindern und Jugendlichen; Frauenförderung und ländliche Entwicklung; Umweltschutz; Unterstützung von Behinderten und kranken Menschen.
Die unterstützten Projekte haben folgende Eigenschaften: Sie zielen darauf ab, den grundlegenden Bedürfnissen der benachteiligten Bevölkerung in armen Regionen nachzukommen. Besondere Beachtung wird der Förderung von Frauen und ethnischen Minderheiten geschenkt. Zudem haben sie einen positiven Einfluss auf die Umwelt.
Die Projekte werden von lokalen Partnern, mit denen wir zusammenarbeiten, unterbreitet. Nouvelle Planète ist nicht an ihrer Stelle tätig. Ein Projekt gehört also im Endeffekt den Begünstigten.
Die lokale Bevölkerung beteiligt sich mit ihren eigenen Mitteln an der Durchführung des Projekts, sei es in Form von Finanzierung, Material und/oder Arbeitskraft.
Die Projekte sollen schnell unabhängig werden, so dass sich Nouvelle Planète leicht zurückziehen kann. Nouvelle Planète unterstützt keine Betriebskosten von Institutionen.

Quelle: www.nouvelle-planete.ch 

Der Einfluss von Albert Schweitzer auf Nouvelle Planète

Nouvelle Planète hat sich stark von der «Ethik der Ehrfurcht vor dem Leben» inspirieren lassen, welche Albert Schweitzer (1875–1965) an den Ufern des Ogooué-Flusses in Gabun niedergeschrieben hat. In den Jahren zwischen den beiden Weltkriegen suchte er nach Antworten auf die Fragen seiner Epoche, welche er als Niedergang empfand. «Ich bin Leben, das leben will, inmitten von Leben, das leben will; ich muss also Ehrfurcht vor allem Leben haben.» 1952 wurde er mit dem Friedensnobelpreis ausgezeichnet.
Mehr als ein Philosoph war Albert Schweitzer ein Mann der Tat, ein Praktiker. Er setzte in die Praxis um, was er dachte. Er wurde von seinen Zeitgenossen oft miss­verstanden. Er verkündete «die Pflicht, den Hungernden auf der Welt zu helfen» und erfüllte diese Pflicht, indem er den Ärmsten im Spital Lambarene in Gabun medizinische Hilfe leistete. «Das Beispiel ist nicht das beste Mittel, es ist das einzige», sagte er. Er glaubte an den Menschen, der den Fortschritt vorantreibt, und weniger an die Dinge. Er erwies sich damit als grosser, auf die Zukunft ausgerichteter Optimist.
Willy Randin hat Nouvelle Planète 1986 gegründet und sich auf die Gedanken von Albert Schweitzer abgestützt, weil dieser ihn während seiner Zeit als Direktor des Spitals Lambarene inspiriert hatte. Er wollte eine Organisation für Entwicklungszusammenarbeit gründen, welche sich auf die Bedürfnisse der lokalen Bevölkerung stützt und diese als die einzige wahre Entscheidungsträgerin in ihrer Entwicklung sieht. Die punktuelle Unterstützung ist ein Mittel, den Menschen vor Ort bei ihren eigenen Projekten den nötigen Anstoss zu geben und ihnen zu helfen, ihre Lebensbedingungen zu verbessern. Nouvelle Planète erfindet die Projekte somit nicht selber, sondern unterstützt bereits existierende lokale Initiativen. So sind die Projekte relevant und gehören den Zielgruppen.
Nouvelle Planète handelt auch heute noch nach den Prinzipien, welche von Albert Schweitzer inspiriert sind, wie die Ehrfurcht vor allem Leben, das konkrete Handeln, die Suche nach der Einfachheit, das gegenseitige Vertrauen und der Optimismus.

Quelle: www.nouvelle-planete.ch