Escalation including nuclear potential

Berlin government advisors and foreign policy experts warn of a further intensification of NATO’s escalation policy towards Russia. With regard to the dangerous incidents which have been occuring during military flight maneuvers, for example above the Baltic Sea, “sooner or later” there will be no other approach left than that of “associating and dealing with one another”, explains a high-ranking NATO official in the German foreign policy establishment’s leading magazine. It is to be ensured that the power struggle between NATO and Russia “does not grow into a major conflict,” warns a renowned Russian expert of a US think tank. Also the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (“Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik”, SWP), which is funded by the Office of the Federal Chancellor, urges that in order to avoid war risks, the long-term course followed to date, in particular by the USA, should be given up and “influence spheres in their respective regional context” should instead be granted not only to Russia, but also to China. The SWP points out the nuclear component of the conflict – and warns that in the long term the possibility of a deployment of land – based nuclear missiles in Europe can no longer be ruled out.

The unipolar world

The Berlin “Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik” has gathered its warning against a further intensification of the escalation policy towards Russia from an analysis of the US policy towards Russia. The recently published study of this Federal Chancellery-funded think tank examines, among other things, fundamental strategic decisions taken by Washington at the beginning of the 1990s. According to the SWP, it was indeed discussed in the US capital at that time “whether influence spheres were to be conceded to the two great powers of Russia and China” – i.e. areas in their regional contexts where their interests would not be fundamentally questioned.1 But the idea was rejected and it was decided to further develop a “unipolar world under the leadership of the USA”. One way of putting this aim into practice was the expansion of NATO to include Eastern and South Eastern Europe, contrary to affirmations given to Moscow in 1990 and in spite of the fact that the Russian establishment would understand this “as a continuation of the old game of equilibrium and containment policy”. “The geopolitical power conflict” resulting from the continual expansion of the Western powers’ influence towards Eastern Europe and the simultaneous refusal to grant Russia its own sphere of influence, had ultimately “culminated in the Ukraine question.”

Conflict domination

After the upheavals around 1990, the United States had fixated primarily on “so-called rogue states like Iran, Iraq and North Korea” and after 11 September 2001 also “on transnational Islamic terrorism” to enforce its global dominance. But in the meanwhile, in the words of the SWP, the spotlight is on “the power policy rivalry between the US on the one hand and an emerging China as well as a resurging Russia on the other side.”2 This means that “the old, always present but seldom openly articulated vital power political interest of the United States” has been pushed to the fore again namely “to prevent one or more hostile powers from controlling Eurasias resources” and “from acquiring a power potential that could endanger American superiority.” The US interest in the prevention of a united “Eurasia” has been described by former US President Jimmy Carter’s National Security Adviser, Zbigniew Brzezinski, in his geostrategic classic “The Grand Chessboard”.3 The SWP confirms that in effect, current Washington strategy regards Russia and China as “the potential opponents which are to be deterred by superior military power,” – and “by the ability of conflict dominance”.

New dialogue

The journal “International Politics”, published by the German Society for Foreign Affairs (“Deutsche Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik”, DGAP), has recently called for greater restraint in the conflict. With reference to continually recurring dangerous incidents, as for example when Russian and Western fighter aircraft met over the Baltic Sea, the head of the NATO Energy Security Unit, Michael Rühle, said in the online version of the newspaper that “sooner or later” there would be no other approach left than that of associating and dealing with one another”.4 “Were a new dialogue with Moscow to develop – for example over talks on the avoidance of military incidents”, then one should by all means once again consider further-reaching “practical cooperation”. Over the last two decades, this had after all ranged from “joint peacekeeping in the Balkans to maritime search and rescue missions” as well as “from the training of Afghan military specialists to the fight against drugs and terrorism”. It is true that the dealings with Russia will probably remain difficult, says Rühle; nevertheless, the current conflict “forces NATO not only to carry out a military re-adjustment towards Russia but also to explore new ways of dialogue and cooperation”.

“Not worth a war”

As early as in July, the online version of the weekly newspaper “Die Zeit” has published a warning contribution by the Russian foreign policy expert Dmitri Trenin. As former colonel of the Soviet armed forces and present head of the American Carnegie Endowment Moscow office Trenin explained, it is currently mainly a matter of ensuring that the confrontation between NATO and Russia “does not grow into a major conflict”.5 First steps towards understanding are indispensable on both sides; so that the West should take note of the fact that the confrontation with Russia should not be held against Russian politics alone. If, after a major conflict as the system confrontation had been, one were to forget “to create an international order acceptable to the losing party”, it would inevitably lead to a new round of the competition. In fact, the dominance of the West as well as its advance into the Russian sphere of influence (by means of the NATO east expansion) was by no means acceptable to Moscow. The current conflict between NATO and Russia is “not trivial”, but “undoubtedly not worth a European war”, writes Trenin; now, “common precautions should be taken” to prevent it.

Medium range missiles

In this context, the SWP explicitly points out the nuclear component of the conflict. “The mere strengthening of conventional deterrence”, such as “the deployment of armed forces at the front, the plans and measures relevant to bringing up reinforcements as well as the necessary safeguarding of maritime connections,” could set in motion an armament dynamics that will reciprocally aggravate the security dilemma”, says the new SWP analysis of US policy towards Russia. However, the new “deterrence policy” will “hardly be confined to the conventional level.”6 In fact, after previous discussion, in which German think tanks also called for the expansion of the Western nuclear arsenal7, the recent NATO summit in Warsaw explicitly referred to the nuclear nature of the alliance.(german-foreign-policy.com) In return, Russia has now announced that it will suspend the destruction of nuclear-weapons-grade plutonium.8 The SWP warns that if the tensions continue to be fueled, it may be only a matter of time before there are the first voices to suggest that the INF Treaty be revoked  and land-based middle-range nuclear missiles be deployed in Europe.

Risks of war

Washington is “more and more faced with the challenge,” warns the SWP, to change its course and to allow Russia and China spheres of influence in their regional context after all, – “in the interest of global cooperation and the prevention of war risks” – as it would otherwise promote “power rivalries with a high potential of escalation”.9 In this case, the escalation potential is nuclear.     •

1, 2     Rudolf, Peter. Amerikanische Russland-Politik und europäische Sicherheitsordnung. (American policy towards Russia and European security order.) SWP study. Berlin, September 2016
3     Brzezinski, Zbigniew. The Grand Chessboard. American Primacy and Its Geostrategic Imperatives. New York 1997. The German version was published as: Brzezinski, Zbigniew. Die einzige Weltmacht. Frankfurt am Main 1999
4    Rühle, Michael. Jenseits der Abschreckung. (Beyond deterrence) zeitschrift-ip.dgap.org, 15 September 2016
5    Trenin, Dmitri. Talk to each other! www.zeit.de, 8 September 2016
6    Rudolf, Peter. American policy towards Russia and European security order. SWP study, Berlin September 2016, p. 17
7    See: Die Nukleardebatte der Nato. Die Nukleardebatte der Nato (II) und Grundlegende Neujustierung. (NATO’s Nuclear Debate. The Nuclear Debate of NATO (II) and the Basic Reintroduction. german-foreign-policy.com
8    Russia stops plutonium destruction. www.zeit.de, 3. Oktober 2016
9    Rudolf, Peter. American policy towards Russia and European security order. SWP study. Berlin, September 2016

Source: www.german-foreign-policy.com/en/fulltext/59454 from 5 October 2016

(Translation Current Concerns)

Eskalation mit Nuklearpotential

Berliner Regierungsberater und Aussenpolitik-Experten warnen vor einer weiteren Zuspitzung der Nato-Eskalationspolitik gegenüber Russland. Im Hinblick auf die gefährlichen Zwischenfälle bei militärischen Flugmanövern beispielsweise über der Ostsee führe «früher oder später» an «einem Umgang miteinander kein Weg vorbei», erklärt ein hochrangiger Nato-Funktionär in der führenden Zeitschrift des deutschen Aussenpolitik-Establishments. Man müsse Sorge dafür tragen, dass der Machtkampf zwischen der Nato und Russland «sich nicht zu einem Gross­konflikt auswächst», warnt ein renommierter russischer Experte eines US-Think tanks. Auch die vom Kanzleramt finanzierte Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP) drängt darauf, in Abkehr vom bisherigen langfristigen Kurs, insbesondere der USA, nicht nur Russ­land, sondern auch China «Einflusssphären» in ihrem jeweiligen regionalen Umfeld einzuräumen – «zur Vermeidung von Kriegsrisiken». Die SWP weist auf die nukleare Komponente des Konflikts hin – und warnt, auf lange Sicht sei die Stationierung landgestützter nuklearer Mittelstreckenraketen in Europa nicht mehr auszuschliessen.

Die unipolare Welt

Ihre Warnung vor einer weiteren Zuspitzung der Eskalationspolitik gegenüber Russ­land entwickelt die Berliner Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik aus einer Analyse der US-amerikanischen Russlandpolitik. Die unlängst publizierte Studie des vom Bundeskanzleramt finanzierten Think tanks nimmt unter anderem strategische Grundentscheidungen Washingtons zu Beginn der 1990er Jahre in den Blick. Wie die SWP konstatiert, ist damals in der US-Hauptstadt durchaus diskutiert worden, «ob man den beiden Grossmächten Russ­land und China Einflusssphären zugestehen» solle – Gebiete in ihrem regionalen Umfeld, in denen man ihre Interessen nicht grundlegend in Frage stelle.1 Der Gedanke sei jedoch verworfen worden; man habe entschieden, eine «unipolare Welt unter Führung der USA» auszubauen. Dazu wurde unter anderem – entgegen mündlichen Zusicherungen gegenüber Moskau aus dem Jahr 1990 – die Nato nach Ost- und Südosteu­ropa erweitert, obwohl klar gewesen sei, dass das russische Establishment dies «als Fortsetzung des alten Spiels der Gleichgewichts- und Eindämmungspolitik» begreifen würde. «Der geopolitische Machtkonflikt», der sich aus der stetigen Einflussausdehnung der westlichen Mächte in Richtung Osteuropa bei gleichzeitiger Verweigerung einer russischen Einflusssphäre ergab, sei schliesslich «in der Ukraine-Frage kulminiert».

Konfliktdominanz

Hatten sich die USA nach den Umbrüchen um 1990 bei der Durchsetzung ihrer globalen Dominanz zunächst «vor allem auf sogenannte Schurkenstaaten wie Iran, den Irak und Nordkorea», nach dem 11. September 2001 dann «auch auf den transnationalen islamistischen Terrorismus fixiert», so ist, wie die SWP es formuliert, inzwischen «die machtpolitische Rivalität zwischen den USA auf der einen und einem aufstrebenden China sowie einem wiedererstarkenden Russland auf der anderen Seite in den Fokus gerückt».2 Damit sei auch «das alte, nie verschwundene, aber selten offen artikulierte machtpolitische Kerninteresse der USA» wieder in den Vordergrund geraten: «nämlich zu verhindern, dass eine oder mehrere feindliche Grossmächte die Ressourcen Eurasiens kontrollieren» und sich «ein Machtpotential aneignen», das «die amerikanische Überlegenheit gefährden könnte». Exemplarisch beschrieben hat das Interesse an der Verhinderung eines geeinten «Eurasiens» der frühere Nationale Sicherheitsberater von US-Präsident Jimmy Carter, Zbigniew Brzezinski, in seinem Geostrategie-Klassiker «The Grand Chessboard» (deutsch: «Die einzige Weltmacht»).3 In der aktuellen Washingtoner Strategie seien Russland und China in der Tat «die potentiellen Gegner, die es mit überlegener militärischer Macht abzuschrecken gilt», bestätigt die SWP – «und zwar durch die Fähigkeit zur Konfliktdominanz».

Neuer Dialog

Zu grösserer Zurückhaltung in dem Konflikt hat vor kurzem die von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik (DGAP) publizierte Fachzeitschrift Internationale Politik gemahnt. Mit Verweis auf kontinuierlich wiederkehrende gefährliche Zwischenfälle etwa beim Zusammentreffen russischer sowie westlicher Kampfflieger über der Ostsee, urteilte der Leiter des Nato-Referats Energiesicherheit, Michael Rühle, in der Online-Version des Blatts, «früher oder später» führe «an einem Umgang miteinander kein Weg vorbei».4 «Sollte sich ein neuer Dialog mit Moskau entwickeln – beispielsweise über Gespräche zur Vermeidung militärischer Zwischenfälle –», dann solle man durchaus auch wieder über weiterreichende «praktische Zusammenarbeit nachdenken». Diese habe in den vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnten immerhin «von gemeinsamem Peacekeeping auf dem Balkan bis zu maritimen Such- und Rettungseinsätzen» sowie «von der Ausbildung afghanischer Militärspezialisten bis zur Drogen- und Terrorismusbekämpfung» gereicht. Zwar werde «der Umgang mit Russland» wohl «schwierig bleiben», vermutet Rühle, dennoch zwinge der aktuelle Konflikt «die Nato nicht nur zu einer militärischen Neujustierung gegenüber Russland, sondern auch zum Ausloten neuer Wege des Dialogs und der Zusammenarbeit».

«Einen Krieg nicht wert»

Bereits im Juli hat die Onlinepräsenz der Wochenzeitung Die Zeit einen warnenden Beitrag des russischen Aussenpolitik-Experten Dmitri Trenin publiziert. Wie Trenin, ein ehemaliger Oberst der sowjetischen Streitkräfte – heute Leiter der Moskauer Aussenstelle der US-amerikanischen Carnegie Endowment –, erklärt, gehe es zurzeit vor allem «darum sicherzustellen», dass die Konfrontation zwischen der Nato und Russland «sich nicht zu einem Grosskonflikt auswächst».5 Erste Schritte zur Verständigung seien auf beiden Seiten unverzichtbar; dabei müsse «der Westen … zur Kenntnis nehmen», dass «die Konfrontation mit Russland» nicht allein der russischen Politik anzulasten sei. Versäume man es, «nach einem Grosskonflikt», wie die Systemkonfrontation es gewesen sei, «eine internationale Ordnung zu schaffen, die für die unterlegene Partei akzeptabel ist», dann führe dies unweigerlich «zu einer neuen Runde des Wettstreits». Tatsächlich seien die Dominanz des Westens sowie sein Vordringen (per Nato-Osterweiterung) in die russische Einflusssphäre für Moskau auf keinen Fall «akzeptabel» gewesen. Der aktuelle Konflikt zwischen der Nato und Russland sei «keineswegs trivial», doch «einen europäischen Krieg ist er zweifellos nicht wert», schreibt Trenin; nun müssten «gemeinsame Vorsichtsmassnahmen sicherstellen», ihn «zu verhindern».

Mittelstreckenraketen

In diesem Kontext weist die SWP ausdrücklich auf die nukleare Komponente des Konflikts hin. «Schon allein die Stärkung der konventionellen Abschreckung», etwa «die Vornestationierung von Streitkräften, die Planungen zur Heranführung von Verstärkungen und die notwendige Sicherung der Seeverbindungen», könne «eine Rüstungsdynamik in Gang setzen, die wechselseitig das Sicherheitsdilemma verschärft», heisst es in der neuen SWP-Analyse zur US-Russ­landpolitik. Doch werde die neue Abschreckungspolitik «kaum … auf die konventionelle Ebene beschränkt bleiben».6 In der Tat hat der jüngste Nato-Gipfel in Warschau nach vorausgegangener Diskussion, in der sich auch deutsche Think tanks für den Ausbau des westlichen Atomwaffenarsenals aussprachen (german-foreign-policy.com berichtete7), explizit auf den nuklearen Charakter des Bündnisses verwiesen. Im Gegenzug hat Russland jetzt angekündigt, die Vernichtung atomwaffenfähigen Plutoniums auszusetzen.8 Die SWP warnt, bei einem weiteren Anheizen der Spannungen sei es «womöglich nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis erste Stimmen nahelegen, den INF-Vertrag aufzukündigen und landgestützte nukleare Mittelstreckenraketen in Eu­ropa zu stationieren».

Kriegsrisiken

Washington stehe «mehr und mehr vor der Herausforderung», warnt die SWP, einen Kurswechsel vorzunehmen und in Zukunft Russland und China eben doch «Einflusssphären» in ihrem regionalen Umfeld zuzugestehen – «im Interesse globaler Kooperation und zur Vermeidung von Kriegsrisiken» – oder aber «Machtrivalitäten mit hohem Eskalationspotential voranzutreiben».9 Dabei ist das Eskalationspotential nuklear.    •

1, 2    Rudolf, Peter. Amerikanische Russland-Politik und europäische Sicherheitsordnung. SWP-Studie. Berlin, September 2016, S. 17
3    Brzezinski, Zbigniew. The Grand Chessboard. American Primacy and Its Geostrategic Imperativs. New York 1997. Die deutsche Version ist erschienen als: Brzezinski, Zbigniew. Die einzige Weltmacht. Frankfurt am Main 1999
4    Rühle, Michael. Jenseits der Abschreckung. zeitschrift-ip.dgap.org, 15.9.2016
5    Trenin, Dmitri. Redet miteinander! www.zeit.de, 8.7.2016
6    Rudolf, Peter. Amerikanische Russland-Politik und europäische Sicherheitsordnung. SWP-Studie, Berlin, September 2016, S. 17
7    Siehe dazu: Die Nukleardebatte der Nato. Die Nukleardebatte der Nato (II) und Grundlegende Neujustierung.
8    Russland stoppt Plutonium-Vernichtung. www.zeit.de, 3.10.2016
9    Rudolf, Peter. Amerikanische Russland-Politik und europäische Sicherheitsordnung. SWP-Studie. Berlin, September 2016, S. 17

Quelle: www.german-foreign-policy.com/de/fulltext/59454  vom 5.10.2016