Letter to the Editor

The 8 November issue of Current Concerns is again incredibly good and helpful for understanding world events. This time, I would like to thank Dieter Sprock for his prudent considerations and strongly recommend his article to all teachers and parents. The withdrawals of parents and teachers from their core business, as described in his article, have serious consequences. We must remain as a model, a point of orientation, and as a not to be discouraged bastion of calm in all matters of life for the child and adolescent.
This task is taken over by other “educational assistants” in an unprecedented way. In countless parent-teacher meetings, I experienced as a teacher the deep desire of the parents for recognition and approval through the children as well as a lived partnership. That is a topsy-turvy world.
My request to all teachers is to not join this deep desire of the parents, but to focus the pupils towards the “Rudelführer” (leader of the herd) in a friendly way, to teach the subject matters with great joy and to guide the learning step by step., Of course, the new media have their place in the classroom but in an appropriate manner. The 5 billion digital pact of the German Federal Minister of Education, Mrs Wanka (please sign the online petition at www.bildung-wissen.eu) or the Lernfabrik 4.0 will not solve the deficits in education. Anyone who favors learning coaches, self-organised learning and automated learning programs has something else in mind. The human being learns in relationship with his own kind. So we continue to teach/live with empathy, expertise and joy – a core idea of this beautiful article.

Gisela Schopf

Leserbrief

Über die Bedeutung der Erziehung

Die Zeit-Fragen vom 8. November sind wieder einmal unglaublich gut und hilfreich zum Verständnis der Vorgänge in der Welt. Heute möchte ich mich für die klugen Überlegungen von Dieter Sprock bedanken und sie allen Lehrern und Eltern ans Herz legen. Die in seinem Artikel beschriebenen Rückzüge der Eltern und Lehrer aus ihrem Kerngeschäft haben schlimme Folgen. Wir müssen ein Vorbild, Orientierungspunkt und nicht zu entmutigender Fels in der Brandung in allen Fragen des Lebens für das Kind und den Jugendlichen bleiben.
Diese Aufgabe übernehmen in nie dagewesener Weise andere «Erziehungshelfer». In unzähligen Elterngesprächen erlebte ich als Lehrerin den tiefen Wunsch der Eltern nach Anerkennung und Zustimmung durch die Kinder sowie eine gelebte Partnerschaft. Eine verkehrte Welt.
Mein Wunsch an alle Lehrer, sich diesem tiefen Wunsch der Eltern nicht anzuschliessen, sondern die Schüler zugewandt und selbstverständlich auszurichten auf den «Rudelführer», mit grosser Freude den Lernstoff zu vermitteln und das Lernen schrittweise anzuleiten. In angemessener Weise haben die neuen Medien selbstverständlich auch ihren Platz im Unterricht. Der Digitalpakt mit 5 Milliarden von der deutschen Bundesbildungsministern Frau Wanka (bitte die Online-Petition dazu bei www.bildung-wissen.eu unterschreiben) oder die Lernfabrik 4.0 werden die Bildungsdefizite nicht beheben. Wer Lerncoaches, Selbstorganisiertes Lernen und automatisierte Lernprogramme favorisiert, hat anderes im Sinn. Der Mensch lernt in der Beziehung zu seinem Artgenossen. Also unterrichten/leben wir weiter mit Empathie, Sachverstand und Freude – ein Kerngedanke des schönen Artikels.

Gisela Schopf