Swiss traditions must not be overgrown by EU law

A lesson from the parliament’s autumn session

by Dr iur Marianne WŁthrich

What an “Institutional Framework Agreement”– meaning Switzerland’s subordination under the law and jurisdiction of the EU – would mean, can be seen at the moment by the example of the EU Parliament’s and the EU Council’s tightening of the EU-Firearms-Directive. Since the author is not a weapons expert, here are a few words concerning the content of the directive: in spring 2017, in response to the terrorist attacks of 2015 in Paris, EU leaders severely restricted the private possession of firearms, especially of army weapons. Now the Member States have 15 (!) months to implement the amended directive. Exceptions have at least been contended successfully by hunters, sports shooters, collectors of arms and museums in many countries.1

With approximately 175,000 members, the Swiss Shooting Association (SSV) is the third largest sports federation in Switzerland and represents around 1,300 local
associations. (picture Keystone)

This EU-Firearms-Directive was discussed in March 2017 in the Swiss National Council and in the current autumn session in the Council of States. A motion out of the National Council required the Federal Council to join forces with EU states and to resist against a tightening of the Swiss Arms Law.2
You may now ask yourself what Switzerland has to do with a Firearms-Directive from Brussels. Why do we have to defend ourselves against the impending abolition of the tradition of our Shooting Associations? I had exactly the same questions, too.
“Further development of the

Schengen Acquis”: What does that mean in concrete terms?

In March, Federal Councillor Simonetta Sommaruga explained this to the National Council and thus also to us as citizens: “The adaptation of the EU-Firearms-Directive is a further development of the Schengen acquis, and you know that the association with Schengen/Dublin was subject to a referendum, so it is a mission there, that we are a taking part in Schengen/Dublin. It was very well known at the time what we got involved with, which was intensely discussed then, that Switzerland is in principle obliged to take on further developments within the framework of the Schengen acquis and to incorporate it into national law. So, we have to implement this in national law, it is not an automatic takeover. “ [emphasis added mw.]3
Did we exactly know at that time what Switzerland got involved with Schengen/Dublin? I didn’t know. Who could have known 12 years ago which new decrees would be issued in Brussels in the future? That’s why I voted no on 5 June 2005.
In the brochure “Schengen/Dublin – in brief”4, the interested reader learns on 19 pages what is included in this agreement, which governs “international cooperation in the field of internal security and asylum”. For example, “Minimum rules for combating trade of firearms and drugs”, with an appropriate adaptation of the Swiss weapons legislation, “without questioning the areas of hunting, shooting associations and arms collecting” (p. 14; emphasis added mw.). I repeat my question: Did you know exactly what Schengen/Dublin would mean for the Swiss rule of law and direct democracy in the future? Did Mrs Sommaruga know exactly at that time?

An emasculated parliament without a right of decision

This is what the Swiss legislation would look like after an Institutional Framework Agreement with Brussels became valid: the National Council discusses on 15 March 2017 the Motion 16.3719, which merely asks the Federal Council to “act in the interest of the people in favour of a liberal and free weapons law that corresponds with our Swiss traditions”. The author of the motion can even refer to a referendum, namely the clear rejection of the People’s initiative “For the protection against armed violence”, which was rejected by the Swiss people on 13 February 2011 with 56.3% no votes. The adoption of that initiative would have meant that the Swiss soldiers would no longer have been allowed to keep their infantry rifle at home; the majority of the voting people didn’t agree on that.
On 15 March of this year, Mrs Sommaruga also assured that she had advocated in the spirit of the motion “to ensure that the continuation of the Swiss tradition of the shooting sports associations is possible. As you know, sports shooters often use their former army weapon. Switzerland has therefore been committed to ensuring that the infantry rifle can continue to be kept when the army service is terminated. We have achieved this goal”. [emphasis added mw. And note: So, is the Federal Council able to achieve something in Brussels from time to time? We have to remember this for coming confrontations!] That is why the National Council might calmly agree to the motion, because the Federal Council had done everything possible in Brussels anyway; however, the EU directive would still need to be transposed into national law. The National Council cannot be put off until a later draft of this act of transposition, but agrees to the motion with 118 Yes against 58 No with 3 abstentions.5
The Council of States, on the other hand, rejected the motion with 29 to 13 votes and 2 abstentions on 11 September 2017, after Federal Councillor Sommaruga declared: “Whether you decide to reject or to accept – the most important thing is that we agree on the content. Whether you accept or reject now leads to no difference in the direction to proceed.”
This is almost as much the case as in the largely disempowered parliaments of the EU Member States: whether the National Council or the Council of States say yes or no, does not matter. After all, Mrs Federal Councillor tells you “the direction to proceed”: “We will implement this directive, because otherwise the Schengen/Dublin would be automatically terminated […]. We do not want that at all.” By the way, the attentive citizen also learns that the decision has long since been taken: The Federal Council has already “made it clear to the EU that we will implement the directive. As we must do so within thirty days.”6
I do recommend to our citizens and to the members of the parliament as elected by us: it is bad enough if there are already such meaningless Council debates in Berne today as a result of the integration into the EU. If we want the Swiss Parliament to be able to decide in the future, we must not accept an “institutional framework agreement” according to the blessings of Brussels!     •

1     cf. New bans. EU Parliament tightens weapons law – open dispute at press conference. Spiegel online from 14.3.2017
2     16.3719 Motion Salzmann Werner. We will not be disarmed by the EU!
3     16.3719 Motion Salzmann Werner. National Council debate from 15.3.2017
4     2nd Issue 2011. https://www.eda.admin.ch/dam/eda/de/documents/publications/EuropaeischeAngelegenheiten/Schengen_de.pdf 
5     16.3719 Motion Salzmann Werner. National Council debate from 15.3.2017
6     16.3719 Motion Salzmann Werner. Council of States debate from 11.9.2017

Preservation of national traditions? Or not rather stronger control over citizens?

“With regard to the adaptation of the new weapons firearms-directive, however, the needs of the traditionally established shooting system sport and the shooters and hunters must also be taken into account. We have recently adapted and substantially sharpened the arms legislation.“

Josef Dittli, Council of States member FDP and former Security Director of the Canton of Uri,
on 11 September 2017 in the Council of States

mw. To all Europeans to think: The fact that the Brussels bureaucracy can take into consideration the traditions of Switzerland, the 28 EU member states and the 3 EEA states in its legislative machinery, is simply impossible. Apart from this, the EU head office is pursuing entirely different objectives: there is no place for cultural diversity in the targeted centralised state with uniform law, but for the total digital monitoring of the citizens. A sharper control of the purchase of weapons and their possession serves this aim. Thus you can not prevent terrorist attacks, because terrorists do not buy their weapons in the shop ...

Schweizer Traditionen dürfen nicht von EU-Recht überwuchert werden

Ein Lehrstück aus der Herbstsession

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Was ein «institutionelles Rahmenabkommen» – das heisst die Unterstellung der Schweiz unter das Recht und die Rechtsprechung der EU – bedeuten würde, können wir zurzeit am Beispiel der Verschärfung der EU-Waffenrichtlinie durch EU-Parlament und EU-Rat hautnah erleben. Da die Autorin keine Waffenexpertin ist, nur soviel zum Inhalt der Richtlinie: Als Reaktion auf die Terroranschläge von 2015 in Paris haben die EU-Spitzen im Frühjahr 2017 den privaten Besitz von Schusswaffen, besonders auch von Armeewaffen, stark eingeschränkt. Die Mitgliedsländer haben nun 15(!) Monate Zeit für die Umsetzung der geänderten Richtlinie. Jäger, Sportschützen, Sammler und Museen in vielen Ländern haben sich immerhin Ausnahmen erstritten.1

Der Schweizer Schiesssportverband (SSV) ist mit rund 175 000 Mitgliedern der drittgrösste Sportverband der Schweiz und vertritt rund 1300 Vereine. (Bild keystone)

Diese EU-Waffenrichtlinie war im März 2017 Thema im Nationalrat und in der aktuell stattfindenden Herbstsession im Ständerat. Eine Motion aus dem Nationalrat verlangte vom Bundesrat, dass er sich mit EU-Staaten zusammentun und Widerstand gegen eine Verschärfung des Schweizer Waffenrechts leisten soll.2
Was hat denn die Schweiz mit der Waffenrichtlinie aus Brüssel zu tun, werden Sie sich nun fragen. Wie kommen wir dazu, uns gegen die drohende Abschaffung unserer Schützentradition wehren zu müssen? Genau dieselben Fragen hatte ich auch.

«Weiterentwicklung des Schengen-Besitzstandes»: Was heisst das konkret?

Bundesrätin Simonetta Sommaruga hat dies im März dem Nationalrat und damit auch uns Bürgern erklärt: «Die Anpassung der EU-Waffenrichtlinie stellt eine Weiterentwicklung des Schengen-Besitzstandes dar, und Sie wissen: Die Assoziierung an Schengen/Dublin war Gegenstand einer Volksabstimmung, sie ist also ein Volksauftrag, damit wir bei Schengen/Dublin dabei sind. Man wusste damals sehr genau, worauf man sich einliess, das war ja intensiv diskutiert worden, dass eben die Schweiz grundsätzlich verpflichtet ist, im Rahmen des Schengen-Besitzstandes Weiterentwicklungen zu übernehmen und dann im nationalen Recht umzusetzen. Wir müssen das also im nationalen Recht umsetzen, es ist keine automatische Übernahme.» [Hervorhebung mw.]3
Wussten Sie damals genau, worauf sich die Schweiz mit Schengen/Dublin einliess? Ich wusste es nicht genau. Wer konnte denn vor 12 Jahren wissen, welche neuen Erlasse in Brüssel künftig beschlossen werden? Deshalb habe ich am 5. Juni 2005 mit Nein gestimmt.
In der Broschüre «Schengen/Dublin – kurz erklärt»4 erfährt der interessierte Leser auf 19 Seiten, was alles zu diesem Abkommen gehört, welches die «Internationale Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der inneren Sicherheit und im Asylwesen» regelt. Zum Beispiel «Minimalregeln zur Bekämpfung des Feuerwaffen- und Drogenhandels» mit entsprechender Anpassung des Schweizer Waffenrechts, «ohne jedoch das Jagd-, Schützen- und Sammlerwesen in Frage zu stellen» (S. 14; Hervorhebung mw.). Ich wiederhole meine Frage: Wuss­ten Sie damals genau, was Schengen/Dublin künftig für den schweizerischen Rechtsstaat und die direkte Demokratie bedeuten würde? Wusste es Frau Sommaruga genau?

Saft- und kraftlose Diskussionen eines Parlaments ohne Entscheidungsrecht

So etwa würde die Schweizer Rechtsetzung nach dem Abschluss eines institutionellen Rahmenabkommens mit Brüssel aussehen: Der Nationalrat diskutiert am 15. März 2017 die Motion 16.3719, die den Bundesrat lediglich darum bittet, dass er sich «im Interesse des Volkes für ein liberales und freiheitliches Waffenrecht einsetzt, das unseren schweizerischen Traditionen entspricht». Der Motionär kann sogar auf einen Volksentscheid verweisen, nämlich die klare Ablehnung der Volksinitiative «Für den Schutz vor Waffengewalt», die vom Schweizer Volk am 13. Februar 2011 mit 56,3 % Nein-Stimmen abgelehnt wurde. Die Annahme jener Initiative hätte zur Folge gehabt, dass die Schweizer Soldaten ihr Sturmgewehr nicht mehr hätten zu Hause aufbewahren dürfen; das wollte die Mehrheit des Stimmvolks nicht.
Am 15. März dieses Jahres versichert Frau Sommaruga denn auch, sie habe sich im Sinne der Motion dafür eingesetzt, «dass die Weiterführung der schweizerischen Tradition des Sportschützenwesens möglich ist. Bekanntlich nutzen Sportschützen häufig die ehemalige Armeewaffe. Die Schweiz hat sich also dafür eingesetzt, dass diese bei Beendigung der Dienstpflicht auch weiterhin übernommen werden kann. Dieses Ziel haben wir erreicht». [Hervorhebung mw. und Anmerkung: Also kann der Bundesrat ab und zu doch etwas erreichen in Brüssel? Das müssen wir uns für andere Auseinandersetzungen merken!] Deshalb könne der Nationalrat der Motion ruhig zustimmen, denn der Bundesrat habe ohnehin alles getan, was in Brüssel möglich sei; allerdings müsse die EU-Richtlinie noch in nationales Recht umgesetzt werden. Der Nationalrat lässt sich nicht auf den späteren Entwurf dieses Umsetzungs-Gesetzes vertrösten, sondern nimmt die Motion mit 118 Ja gegen 58 Nein bei 3 Enthaltungen an.5
Der Ständerat dagegen lehnt am 11. September 2017 die Motion mit 29 zu 13 Stimmen und 2 Enhaltungen ab, nachdem Bundesrätin Sommaruga erklärt hat: «Ob Sie sich für Ablehnung oder Annahme entscheiden – das Wichtigste ist, dass wir uns über den Inhalt einig sind. Ob Sie jetzt annehmen oder ablehnen, führt in bezug auf die Ausrichtung, wie es weitergehen soll, zu keiner Differenz.»
Das geht ja schon fast so zu wie in den weitgehend entmachteten Parlamenten der EU-Mitgliedsstaaten: Ob National- und Ständerat ja oder nein sagen, spielt keine Rolle. Denn Frau Bundesrätin gibt ihnen die «Ausrichtung, wie es weitergehen soll», bekannt: «Wir werden diese Richtlinie umsetzen, denn sonst wäre automatisch […] die Beendigung von Schengen/Dublin eingeleitet worden. Das möchten wir keinesfalls.» So nebenbei erfährt der aufmerksame Bürger zudem, dass die Entscheidung darüber längst gefallen ist: Der Bundesrat habe bereits «gegenüber der EU deutlich gemacht, dass wir die Richtlinie umsetzen werden. Das müssen wir ja jeweils innerhalb von dreissig Tagen.»6
Unseren Bürgerinnen und Bürgern und den von uns gewählten National- und Ständeräten zum Nachdenken empfohlen: Es ist schlimm genug, wenn es bereits heute als Folge der Einbindung in die EU derart inhaltsleere Ratsdebatten in Bern gibt. Wenn wir nicht wollen, dass es in Zukunft im Schweizer Parlament immer weniger zu entscheiden gibt, dann dürfen wir einem «institutionellen Rahmenabkommen» nach Brüssels Gnaden keinesfalls zustimmen!    •

1    vgl. Neue Verbote. EU-Parlament verschärft Waffenrecht – offener Streit auf Pressekonferenz. Spiegel online vom 14.3.2017
2    16.3719 Motion Salzmann Werner. Wir lassen uns nicht durch die EU entwaffnen!
3    16.3719 Motion Salzmann Werner. Nationalratsdebatte vom 15.3.2017
4    2. Ausgabe 2011. https://www.eda.admin.ch/dam/eda/de/documents/publications/EuropaeischeAngelegenheiten/Schengen_de.pdf 
5    16.3719 Motion Salzmann Werner. Nationalratsdebatte vom 15.3.2017
6    16.3719 Motion Salzmann Werner. Ständeratsdebatte vom 11.9.2017

Erhaltung der nationalen Traditionen? Oder nicht eher stärkere Kontrolle über die Bürger?

«In bezug auf die Übernahme der neuen Waffenrichtlinie ist aber auch auf die Bedürfnisse des traditionell etablierten Schiesswesens und auf die Schützen und Jäger Rücksicht zu nehmen. Wir haben das Waffenrecht schliesslich unlängst angepasst und erheblich verschärft.»

Josef Dittli, Ständerat FDP und ehemaliger Sicherheitsdirektor des Kantons Uri, am 11. September 2017 in der Ständeratsdebatte

mw. Allen Europäern zum Nachdenken: Dass die Brüsseler Bürokratie bei ihrer Rechtsetzungs-Maschinerie auf die Traditionen der Schweiz, der 28 EU-Mitgliedsländer und der 3 EWR-Staaten Rücksicht nehmen kann, ist schlicht unmöglich. Abgesehen davon verfolgt die EU-Zentrale ganz andere Ziele: Für kulturelle Vielfalt ist im angepeilten Einheitsstaat mit Einheitsrecht kein Platz, wohl aber für die digitale Totalüberwachung der Bürger. Diesem Ziel dient auch eine schärfere Kontrolle des Waffenerwerbs und -besitzes. Terrorangriffe kann man damit nicht verhindern, denn Terroristen kaufen ihre Waffen bekanntlich nicht im Laden …