“Post-truth” – a big deception


by Jacques Perrin, Aubonne VD


A new terminological gadget is born: the post-truth.

The editorial staff of the Oxford English Dictionary chose “post-truth” as “the international word of the year 2016”. They define this term as follows: “neologism relating to or denoting circumstances in which objective facts are less influential in shaping public opinion than appeals to emotion and personal belief”. The online encyclopedia Wikipedia [french version, translator’s note] teaches us that the post-truth age “describes a culture in which the leaders escalate discussions on emotions by using a variety of linguistic elements while ignoring the facts – as well as the need for their argument to be pitted against these facts – consciously or unconsciously, for election tactical reasons.”

This term seems to have emerged in 2004. The panic haunting the “authorised commentators” on the occasion of the Brexit and the successes of Messrs Orban, Putin and Trump, brought them to the idea of using the post-truth as a weapon for a counter-attack.

We expect journalists to inform us truthfully. That they are frightened by the post-truth era and therefore want to help to honor the truth, should rejoice us. However, the scorn is closer to us for the following three reasons:
First of all, we are stating that tales telling and lying to the counterpart, not keeping promises and evoking emotions, as well as defending a cause with flimsy arguments, are not only to be found since the election of Donald Trump to the President of the US. In the 5th century BC, the sophists of Athens rang in the age of post-truth. The philosopher and rhetoric teacher Gorgias boasted about triumphing injustice by means of his unbeatable argument. In the 21st century, the sophists are called “communications consultants”. The PR consultant must not only tell untruths – as long as the truth brings in something, he is interested in it. The PR agencies promote the interests of the person who pays them, and treat the opinions with deep going emotional means. The democratic politician who wants to get votes from a certain “clientele” must pursue communication. In other words, he must multiply the promises he will not be able to hold. He arranges himself with the truth, also due to the fact that the electors do not necessarily appreciate it. They often prefer to live in the illusion, except in some very dangerous situations as in 1940, when the British agreed with Churchill’s announced “blood and tears”.

Furthermore, as we know, the political-media elite at the end of the 20th century were only moderately interested in the concept of truth. It has restricted itself to reduce its effect, or, rather, to negate it under the pressure of the deconstructivists. Our so “versatile” press has spoken little of the philosopher Jacques Bouveresse, who criticised the pseudo-Nietzsche aberrations of the deconstructivists, above all Michel Foucault, with great practicality.
What has not permanently been heard concerning truth: “Each one has his specific truth”; “True is, what is useful”; “Objectivity is inaccessible”; “Truth is the expression of power”; “The power relations prevailing in a certain era determine the content”; “There are no facts, there are only interpretations”; and again and again the saying of the French mathematician and physicist Blaise Pascal: “Truth on this side of the Pyrenees, error on the other side.” [“Vérité en-deçà des Pyrénées, erreur au-delà.”]

Suddenly, the concept of truth is “rediscovered” because of Trump’s and Putin’s misdeeds: Colin Powell, Hollande, Sarkozy, Juncker, Barroso, and Hillary Clinton have never, of course, played with the truth, nor the beautiful Barack!
Finally, the renaissance of the concept of truth is connected with the rehabilitation of diplomas. There have never been so many researchers and academics who leaped at the “deciphering” of the smallest “populist” demand. All these “highly-graduated” persons have long-standing lists of articles, publications and specialist books. They should be infallible when reviewing facts – apology, “fact checking”. We can rejoice that a fundamental intellectual activity will take place again, but we nevertheless allow ourselves to express some doubts about these activities, which are performed by a camarilla, which has incessantly dragged school, university, culture, logic and civil sciences through the mire so far.

Reality is more prosaic


For the first time in decades, the liberal-socialist intellectual power has been questioned. Differing opinions are coming to light increasingly, partly because of the social networks. Perhaps we will see a replacement of the media professionals. Social positions are at stake. The previous staff is shying away: its first reaction is to retire into the university sphere, just as the historian Patrick Boucheron, professor at the Collège de France, “committed” author of an allegedly “disturbing” world history of France, who refuses to appear in a broadcast of the TSR (Western Suisse Radio/TV) to stand up to his opponents Eric Zemmour and Alain Finkielkraut, under the pretext that he does not need to go down to the level of two essayists without “academic” education. The applause of the “elites” was not long in coming …

Inventing the term “post-factual” does not increase the concept of truth. Truth is hardly of interest to the professionals of knowledge, because they have no time to deal with it. The fight against Trump, Putin and Marine Le Pen binds all their forces.     •

Source: La Nation No. 2064 of 17 February 2017


(Translation Current Concerns)

«Postfaktisch» – ein grosser Schwindel

von Jacques Perrin, Aubonne VD

Ein neues begriffliches Gadget ist geboren: das Postfaktische.
Die Redaktion des Oxford English Dictionary wählte «post-truth» (postfaktisch) zum «internationalen Wort des Jahres 2016». Sie definiert diesen Begriff folgendermassen: «Neologismus, der sich auf Umstände bezieht, in denen objektive Tatsachen weniger Einfluss auf die Bildung der öffentlichen Meinung haben als emotionale Aussagen und persönliche Meinungen.» Die Online-Enzyklopädie Wikipedia [franz. Version, Anm. d. Übers.] lehrt uns, dass das postfaktische Zeitalter «eine Kultur umschreibt, in der die Leader die Diskussionen auf Emotionen zuspitzen, indem sie eine Vielzahl von sprachlichen Elementen nutzen und dabei die Fakten – wie auch die Notwendigkeit, ihre Argumentation an diesen Fakten zu messen –, bewusst oder unbewusst, aus wahltaktischen Gründen ignorieren.»
Dieser Begriff scheint 2004 entstanden zu sein. Die Panik, welche die «autorisierten Kommentatoren» anlässlich des Brexit und der Erfolge der Herren Orban, Putin und Trump heimgesucht hat, brachte sie auf die Idee, das Postfaktische als Waffe für einen Gegenangriff zu nutzen.
Wir erwarten von den Journalisten, dass sie uns wahrheitsgetreu informieren. Dass sie von dieser postfaktischen Ära erschreckt sind und deshalb der Wahrheit zur Ehre verhelfen wollen, sollte uns freuen. Der Hohn liegt uns aber näher und dies aus folgenden drei Gründen:
Zuerst einmal halten wir fest, dass Märchen zu erzählen und das Gegenüber anzuschwindeln, Versprechen nicht zu halten und Emotionen hervorzurufen sowie ein Anliegen mit faulen Argumenten zu verteidigen, nicht erst seit der Wahl von Donald Trump zum Präsidenten der USA anzutreffen sind. Im 5. Jahrhundert vor Christus haben die Sophisten Athens das Zeitalter des Postfaktischen eingeläutet. Der Philosoph und Rhetoriklehrer Gorgias rühmte sich, die Ungerechtigkeit mittels seiner unschlagbaren Argumentation triumphieren zu lassen. Im 21. Jahrhundert heissen die Sophisten «Kommunikationsberater». Der PR-Berater muss keineswegs nur Unwahrheiten erzählen – solange die Wahrheit etwas einbringt, ist er an ihr interessiert. Die PR-Agenturen fördern die Interessen desjenigen, der sie bezahlt, und bearbeiten die Meinungen mit tiefgehenden emotionalen Mitteln. Der demokratische Politiker, der Stimmen von einer bestimmten «Klientel» erhalten will, muss Kommunikation betreiben. Anders gesagt, er muss die Versprechen vermehren, die er nicht wird halten können. Er arrangiert sich mit der Wahrheit, auch auf Grund der Tatsache, dass die Wählenden diese nicht unbedingt schätzen. Oft bevorzugen sie, in der Illusion zu leben, ausser in einigen sehr gefährlichen Situationen wie 1940, als die Engländer sich mit dem von Churchill angekündigten Ziel «Blut und Tränen» einverstanden erklärten.
Im weiteren hat sich unseres Wissens nach die politisch-mediale Elite am Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts nur mässig für den Wahrheitsbegriff interessiert. Sie hat sich eher darauf beschränkt, dessen Wirkung zu reduzieren, oder besser gesagt, ihn unter dem Druck der Dekonstruktivisten zu negieren. Unsere so «vielseitige» Presse hat wenig vom Philosophen Jacques Bouveresse gesprochen, der mit grosser Sachlichkeit die pseudo-Nietzscheschen Verirrungen der Dekonstruktivisten, vor allem Michel Foucaults, kritisierte.
Was hat man nicht alles ständig zu hören bekommen in bezug auf das Wahre: «Jedem seine Wahrheit»; «wahr ist, was nützt»; «Objektivität ist unerreichbar»; «Wahrheit ist Ausdruck der Macht»; «die in einer bestimmten Epoche vorherrschenden Kräfteverhältnisse bestimmen den Inhalt»; «es gibt keine Fakten, nur Interpretationen»; und immer wieder auch den Ausspruch des französischen Mathematikers und Physikers Blaise Pascal: «Wahrheit diesseits der Pyrenäen, Irrtum jenseits.» [«Vérité en-deçà des Pyrénées, erreur au-delà.»]
Plötzlich wird der Wahrheitsbegriff auf Grund der Missetaten von Trump und Putin «wiederentdeckt»: Colin Powell, Hollande, Sarkozy, Juncker, Barroso oder Hillary Clinton haben selbstverständlich nie mit der Wahrheit gespielt, genauso wenig wie der schöne Barack!
Schliesslich ist die Renaissance des Wahrheitsbegriffs mit der Rehabilitation der Diplome verbunden. Es gab noch nie so viele Forscher und Akademiker, die sich auf das «Entschlüsseln» der kleinsten «popu­listischen» Forderung stürzten. Alle diese «hochdiplomierten» Personen besitzen ellenlange Listen von Artikeln, Publikationen und Fachbüchern. Sie sollten eigentlich beim Überprüfen von Fakten – Entschuldigung, beim «fact checking» – unfehlbar sein. Wir können uns freuen, dass eine grundlegende intellektuelle Tätigkeit wieder stattfindet, aber wir erlauben uns trotzdem, einige Zweifel zu äussern gegenüber diesen Aktivitäten, die von einer Kamarilla geführt werden, die bisher unablässig Schule, Universität, Kultur, Logik und bürgerliche Wissenschaften durch den Dreck gezogen hat.

Die Realität ist prosaischer

Zum ersten Mal seit Jahrzehnten wird die liberal-sozialistische intellektuelle Macht in Frage gestellt. Unterschiedliche Meinungen kommen vermehrt an den Tag, teilweise auf Grund der sozialen Netzwerke. Vielleicht werden wir eine Neubesetzung bei den Medienschaffenden erleben. Soziale Positionen stehen auf dem Spiel. Das bisherige Personal schreckt zurück: Seine erste Reaktion ist, sich in die universitären Sphären zurückzuziehen, so wie der Historiker Patrick Boucheron, Professor im Collège de France, «engagierter» Autor einer angeblich «störenden» Weltgeschichte Frankreichs, der sich weigert, in einer Sendung des RTS (Westschweizer Radio/TV) seinen Gegnern Eric Zemmour und Alain Finkielkraut Paroli zu bieten, mit dem Vorwand, dass er es nicht nötig habe, sich auf das Niveau von zwei Essayisten ohne «wissenschaftliche» Bildung herunterzulassen. Der Applaus der «Eliten» liess nicht auf sich warten …
Die Erfindung des Postfaktischen erhöht den Begriff der Wahrheit nicht. Dieser interessiert die Profis des Wissens kaum, denn sie haben keine Zeit, sich damit zu befassen. Der Kampf gegen Trump, Putin und Marine Le Pen bindet alle ihre Kräfte.    •

Quelle: La Nation Nr. 2064 vom 17.2.2017

(Übersetzung Zeit-Fragen)