Respect the democratic rules!

Media release of the Zurich committee “Lehrplan vors Volk!” from 15 March 2017

The Zurich initiative committee “Lehrplan vors Volk! (Referendum on Curriculum 21!)” notes with worry that the Education Department is organising a media conference on the introduction of Curriculum 21 on Friday, 17 March 2017, without indicating that the people of Zurich will decide in a vote about the authority for the decree of the curriculum. The committee once again calls on the Education Department to consider democratic practices.
It demonstrates a lack of understanding of democracy that the Education Department is working at full speed to prepare the definitive introduction of the disputed curriculum, although they know that the people have to decide in a vote who will definitely introduce the curriculum.
Accordingly biased arranged an information event will be held on Friday, 17 March 2017. The corresponding invitation does not mention that it is still pending whether the people would like to introduce the new curriculum in the Canton of Zurich.
If the initiative “Lehrplan vors Volk!” is accepted, Curriculum 21 must be submitted to the cantonal council for approval. Its decision is subject to the optional referendum. If the date of the referendum on the initiative are scheduled only after the introduction of Curriculum 21 so this must – in case of acceptance of the initiative by the people – subsequently be submitted to the cantonal parliament for approval and is subject to an optional referendum.
“This fact is deliberately ignored,” says Anita Borer, president of the initiative committee. “We are once again asking the Government Council to comply with democratic practices and await the outcome of the vote.”    •

The text of the referendum can be found at: www.lehrplan-vors-volk.ch/die-initiative/
For questions regarding the initiative committee “Lehrplan vors Volk!”:
Anita Borer, Cantonal Councillor SVP, Representative Initiative Committee, Tel: +41 79 665 44 27
(Translation Current Concerns)

Demokratische Regeln beachten!

Medienmitteilung des Zürcher Komitees «Lehrplan vors Volk» vom 15. März 2017

Das Zürcher Initiativkomitee «Lehrplan vors Volk» nimmt mit Befremden zur Kenntnis, dass die Bildungsdirektion am Freitag, 17. März 2017, eine Medienkonferenz zur Einführung des Lehrplan 21 veranstaltet, ohne darauf hinzuweisen, dass das Zürcher Volk in einer Abstimmung über die Zuständigkeit für den Erlass des Lehrplans entscheiden wird. Das Komitee fordert die Bildungsdirektion einmal mehr dazu auf, die demokratischen Gepflogenheiten zu berücksichtigen.
Es zeugt von einem mangelhaften Demokratieverständnis, dass die Bildungsdirektion auf Hochtouren mit der Vorbereitung der definitiven Einführung des umstrittenen Lehrplans beschäftigt ist, im Wissen, dass das Volk in einer Abstimmung zu entscheiden hat, wer den Lehrplan definitiv einführt.
Entsprechend einseitig aufgegleist findet am Freitag, 17. März 2017, eine Informationsveranstaltung statt. In der entsprechenden Einladung wird mit keinem Wort erwähnt, dass es heute noch offen ist, ob das Volk den neuen Lehrplan im Kanton Zürich einführen will.
Im Falle der Annahme der Initiative «Lehrplan vors Volk» muss der Lehrplan 21 dem Kantonsrat zur Genehmigung vorgelegt werden. Dessen Entscheid unterliegt dem fakultativen Referendum. Sollte der Termin der Volksabstimmung über die Initiative erst nach der Einführung des Lehrplan 21 angesetzt werden, so muss dieser – im Falle der Annahme der Initiative durch das Volk – nachträglich dem Kantonsrat zur Genehmigung vorgelegt werden und unterliegt dem fakultativen Referendum.
«Dieser Umstand wird bewusst ausgeblendet», so Anita Borer, Präsidentin des Initiativkomitees. «Wir bitten den Regierungsrat erneut, sich an die demokratischen Gepflogenheiten zu halten und den Ausgang der Abstimmung abzuwarten.»    •

Den Text der Volksinitiative finden Sie unter: http://www.lehrplan-vors-volk.ch/die-initiative/

Für das Initiativkomitee «Lehrplan vors Volk» bei Fragen:
Anita Borer, Kantonsrätin SVP, Vertreterin Initiativkomitee, Tel.: 079 665 44 27