It needs a charter for the rights of whistleblowers

On World Press Freedom Day on 3 May 2017

Information Note from the UN-Independent Expert on the Promotion of a Democratic and Equitable International Order, Prof Dr iur et phil Alfred de Zayas

On the occasion of World Press Freedom Day the Independent Expert on the Promotion of a Democratic and Equitable International Order, Alfred de Zayas, reminds both private and public media that they hold an important trust for all of us, that they are obliged pursuant to Article 19 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights to ensure objective reporting and pluralistic dissemination of views so that civil society can arrive at their own opinion and thus exercise their right to public participation as envisaged in Article 25 ICCPR.
George Orwell already warned us about “newspeak” and the tendency of both the public and the private sector to manipulate words, to disseminate false or incomplete information, what today we know as “fake news” and “disinformation”. Indeed, it is not only governments that manipulate public opinion, but also private vested interest which aims to influence it. If articles 19 and 25 mean anything, they mean that in a democratic society, everyone must have access to reliable information so that a personal opinion can be formulated. It is this personal opinion that is protected by freedom of expression. It would be very sad if the only freedom of expression recognized by the law were the freedom to echo whatever nonsense we heard last night in the telejournal or read in the newspapers, in Facebook or Twitter.
The danger of neologisms, euphemisms and word-manipulations was recognized by Lewis Carroll in Alice in Wonderland: “When I use a word,” Humpty Dumpty said, in rather a scornful tone, “it means just what I choose it to mean – neither more nor less.” “The question is,” said Alice, “whether you can make words mean so many different things.”  “The question is,” said Humpty Dumpty, “which is to be master – that’s all.”1
Language indeed means something. The word can be more powerful than the sword. But language can also be emptied of content and used arbitrarily, today to mean something, tomorrow something else.
All journalists should always be mindful that what they write impacts society and may lead to reconciliation or more violence. Hence, they should keep in mind Article 20 ICCPR that prohibits propaganda for war and incitement to hate. Responsible journalists must report the truth without engaging in chauvinism or racism.
On World Press Freedom Day we must honor the work of journalists in many countries who labor daily to obtain information that we so urgently need. Many journalists give their lives in this effort. The number of journalists killed or jailed is appalling.
I wish to salute the important work of whisteleblowers, including the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, who uncovered the scandals associated with tax evasion in tax havens including Panama and the Bahamas. I salute the work of whistleblowers like Edward Snowden who showed the world the degree to which our privacy is breached on a daily basis. I salute the work of Julian Assange, who was the recipient of many human rights awards, until he dared disclose crimes committed in Iraq, and who published the secret environmental, health, and investment protection chapters of international investment treaties, such as TPP, CETA and TTIP, thereby giving civil society the opportunity to discuss them and oppose them, even at a very late hour. In a very real sense, whisteleblowers are human rights defenders.
As I did in my report to the General Assembly 2016 (A/71/286), a Charter on the Rights of Whistleblowers should be adopted so that whistleblowers are no longer subjected to persecution and prosecution but do receive effective protection. The weight of the law should fall on the persons whose criminal acts are uncovered by the whistleblowers. But those who commit war crimes, those who engage in corruption, those who conspire to defraud States of their tax revenue, continue to enjoy impunity.
On World Press Freedom Day, let us salute the journalistic profession and encourage journalists, bloggers, whistleblowers to continue helping the world advance toward a more democratic and equitable international order, toward justice and peace based on truth.    •

1]    Lewis Carroll, Through the Looking-Glass (Hayes Barton Press, 1872), p. 72.

Source: www.ohchr.org/EN/Issues/IntOrder/Pages/Articles.aspx

Am 20. Dezember 1993 erklärte die Uno-Generalversammlung den 3. Mai zum Welttag der Pressefreiheit.
Seit 1994 wird jährlich am 3. Mai auf Verletzungen der Pressefreiheit sowie auf die grundlegende Bedeutung freier Berichterstattung für die Existenz von Demokratien aufmerksam gemacht.

International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights*

Article 19

1. Everyone shall have the right to hold opinions without interference.
2. Everyone shall have the right to freedom of expression; this right shall include freedom to seek, receive and impart information and ideas of all kinds, regardless of frontiers, either orally, in writing or in print, in the form of art, or through any other media of his choice.
3. The exercise of the rights provided for in paragraph 2 of this article carries with it special duties and responsibilities. It may therefore be subject to certain restrictions, but these shall only be such as are provided by law and are necessary:
(a) For respect of the rights or reputations of others;
(b) For the protection of national security or of public order (ordre public), or of public health or morals.

Article 20

1. Any propaganda for war shall be prohibited by law.
2. Any advocacy of national, racial or religious hatred that constitutes incitement to discrimination, hostility or violence shall be prohibited by law.

Article 25

Every citizen shall have the right and the opportunity, without any of the distinctions mentioned in article 2 and without unreasonable restrictions:
(a) To take part in the conduct of public affairs, directly or through freely chosen representatives;
(b) To vote and to be elected at genuine periodic elections which shall be by universal and equal suffrage and shall be held by secret ballot, guaranteeing the free expression of the will of the electors;
(c) To have access, on general terms of equality, to public service in his country.

* The treaty of 16 December 1966 is signed so far by 169 states and is legally binding.

Il faut une charte pour les droits des lanceurs d’alertes

Pour la Journée internationale de la liberté de la presse du 3 mai

Communiqué du professeur de droit Alfred de Zayas, expert indépendant de l’ONU pour la promotion d’un ordre international démocratique et équitable

A l’occasion de la Journée internationale de la liberté de la presse, Alfred de Zayas, expert indépendant des Nations Unies pour la promotion d’un ordre international démocratique et équitable, a rappelé aux médias privés et publics qu’ils profitent d’une position de confiance au sein de la population. Selon l’article 19 du Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques (PIDCP), ils sont tenus de garantir une couverture médiatique objective et la publication de points de vue diversifiés, afin que la société civile puisse se former sa propre opinion et qu’ainsi son droit à la participation publique puisse être respecté – tel que prévu dans l’article 25 du PIDCP.
George Orwell déjà a mis en garde contre la «novlangue» et la tendance du secteur public et privé à manipuler des termes et diffuser des informations fausses ou incomplètes – ce qu’on appelle aujourd’hui «fausses nouvelles» ou «désinformation». En réalité, ce ne sont pas que les gouvernements, qui manipulent l’opinion publique, mais aussi des groupes d’intérêts privés tentant de l’influencer. Si les articles 19 et 25 du PIDCP doivent obtenir l’importance qui leur est due, il faut que dans une société démocratique quiconque puisse avoir accès à des informations fiables pour pouvoir se former une opinion personnelle. Cette opinion personnelle est indispensable pour une véritable démocratie et doit être garantie par la loi. Il serait regrettable que la seule liberté d’expression reconnue par le droit fût la liberté de répéter toutes les bêtises entendues le soir précédent au télé-journal ou lues dans les journaux, sur Facebook ou sur Twitter.
Le danger de la création de nouveaux mots, d’euphémismes et de manipulations d’expressions a été décrit par Lewis Carroll dans «Alice au pays des merveilles»: «Quand j’utilise un mot», dit Humpty Dumpty sur un ton plutôt méprisant, «alors il a exactement le sens que je lui donne, aucun autre». Alice répond: «La question est celle de savoir, si tu peux vraiment donner différents sens aux mots.» Et Humpty de rétorquer: «La question est de savoir qui possède le pouvoir – c’est tout.»1
Il est vrai que le langage a un sens. La parole peut être plus forte que l’épée. Mais le langage peut également être vidé de son sens ou utilisé arbitrairement – aujourd’hui, il a un certain sens et demain un tout autre. L’arbitraire devient totalitaire.
Les journalistes devraient toujours être conscients du fait que ce qu’ils écrivent a des répercussions sur la société et peut mener soit à la réconciliation, soit à davantage de violence. Donc, il faut à tout moment garder à l’esprit que l’article 20 du PIDCP interdit la propagande de guerre et l’incitation à la haine. Les journalistes conscients de leur responsabilité présentent les faits sans verser dans le chauvinisme ou le racisme.
A l’occasion de la Journée internationale de la liberté de la presse, nous nous devons d’honorer le travail des nombreux journalistes dans un grand nombre de pays travaillant quotidiennement pour obtenir les informations dont nous avons tant besoin. Beaucoup de journalistes payent de leur vie cet engagement. Le nombre de journalistes tués ou emprisonnés est effrayant.
Je salue l’important travail des lanceurs d’alertes («Whistleblowers»), y compris l’International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) ayant découvert les scandales concernant l’évasion fiscale dans les paradis fiscaux, tels notamment le Panama et les Bahamas. Je salue le travail des lanceurs d’alertes, tels Edward Snowden ayant montré au monde entier l’envergure des violations quotidiennes de notre vie privée. Je salue le travail de Julian Assange qui obtint de nombreux prix des droits de l’homme, avant d’oser rendre public les crimes commis en Irak et publier les chapitres secrets sur l’environnement, la santé et la protection des investissements contenus dans les accords d’investissements internationaux, tels TPP, CETA et TTIP. Il a ainsi offert à la société civile l’opportunité de les discuter, de s’y opposer, même si les négociations sont déjà très avancées. Les lanceurs d’alertes sont littéralement les défenseurs des droits humains.
Comme je l’ai déjà proposé dans mon rapport adressé à l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU (A/71/286), il faudrait adopter une charte des droits des lanceurs d’alertes afin qu’ils obtiennent une protection efficace pour ne plus être exposés aux persécutions et aux actions pénales. Les lois doivent être appliquées sur les personnes dont les lanceurs d’alertes ont mis au jour les actes criminels. Mais celles commettant des crimes de guerre, impliquées dans de la corruption ou dans des conjurations pour frauder les Etats de leurs recettes fiscales, ces personnes-là continuent à profiter de l’impunité.
A l’occasion de cette Journée internationale de la liberté de la presse, nous voulons reconnaître l’importance du journalisme et encourager les journalistes, les bloggeurs, les lanceurs d’alertes à contribuer sans cesse à faire avancer le monde pour atteindre un ordre international plus démocratique et équitable, ainsi que la justice et la paix fondées sur la vérité.    •

Source: www.ohchr.org/EN/Issues/IntOrder/Pages/Articles.aspx

(Traduction Horizons et débats)

1    Carroll, Lewis, Through the Looking-Glass. New York 1872, p.72 [De l’autre côté du Miroir]

Le 20 décembre 1993, l'Assemblée générale de l'ONU a déclaré le 3 mai Journée internationale de la liberté de la presse.
Chaque année, depuis 1994, le 3 mai rappelle les violations de la liberté de la presse et l'importance fondamentale de la libre information pour l'existence des démocraties.

Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques (PIDCP)*

Article 19

  1. Nul ne peut être inquiété pour ses opinions.
  2. Toute personne a droit à la liberté d’expression; ce droit comprend la liberté de rechercher, de recevoir et de répandre des informations et des idées de toute espèce, sans considération de frontières, sous une forme orale, écrite, imprimée ou artistique, ou par tout autre moyen de son choix.
  3. L’exercice des libertés prévues au paragraphe 2 du présent article comporte des devoirs spéciaux et des responsabilités spéciales. Il peut en conséquence être soumis à certaines restrictions qui doivent toutefois être expressément fixées par la loi et qui sont nécessaires:
    a)    Au respect des droits ou de la réputation d’autrui;
    b)    A la sauvegarde de la sécurité nationale, de l’ordre public, de la santé ou de la moralité publiques.

Article 20

  1. Toute propagande en faveur de la guerre est interdite par la loi.
  2. Tout appel à la haine nationale, raciale ou religieuse qui constitue une incitation à la discrimination, à l’hostilité ou à la violence est interdit par la loi.

Article 25

Tout citoyen a le droit et la possibilité, sans aucune des discriminations visées à l’article 2 et sans restrictions déraisonnables:
a)    De prendre part à la direction des affaires publiques, soit directement, soit par l’intermédiaire de représentants librement choisis;
b)    De voter et d’être élu, au cours d’élections périodiques, honnêtes, au suffrage universel et égal et au scrutin secret, assurant l’expression libre de la volonté des électeurs;
c)    D’accéder, dans des conditions générales d’égalité, aux fonctions publiques de son pays.

* Le pacte du 19/12/1966 a jusqu’à présent été ratifié par 169 Etats et est en vigueur depuis le 23/3/1976.