Why many of the previous free trade agreements do not correspond to the conditions of the common good

by Ewald Wetekamp

About peace …

The state is a partnership of convenience. Internal and external security is its supreme goal. That is why the citizens of states with a democratic constitution have agreed on transferring the enforcement of their rights, including the application of armed force, to the state. This is therefore furnished with the monopoly of violence. Accordingly, the authority to maintain the law with force on the basis of justice and the law belongs to the state. Justice and the law are herewith not defined in a purely positivistic sense, but as a realisation of natural and human rights, which must find their expression in positive law and which can rightly be described as just. Law and justice belong to every person by nature, as an individual and as part of the community, and they guarantee every person’s freedom. The internal and external security of the community is the condition of this freedom.

… to prosperity for all

As the state’s monopoly of power is oriented towards the common good, it promotes the free development of every individual member of the community. Therefore the state’s laws in the sphere of the economy must equally be understood in such a way that the state, as a representative of the community, which is based on the national will of its citizens, must also promote the common good and therefore prosperity for all in the territory concerned. Article 14 (2) of the GG (Basic Law of the Federal Republic of Germany) stipulates this purpose when it says, “Property entails obligations. Its use shall also serve the public good.” The legitimate entrepreneurial pursuit of profit, continuity, development and expansion is not being hindered or confined, but the orientation and attachment to the common good confers on every entrepreneurial striving as the very essence of the matter: the common good of the people connected together in a state community. Professor Eberhard Hamer, of the “Mittelstandsinstitut” (mid tier institute) Hannover, once expressed this in one of his lectures, when he defined the medium-sized company as a company of people, with people, for people. There is no finer way of describing entrepreneurial activity in its relation to the well-being of the individual and the community.

A democratically unacceptable enforcement strategy

As far as the currently very popular defense of free trade agreements is concerned, a look at history will help as well as a description of the anti-democratic practices used in the attempt to enforce the free trade agreement TTIP; with CETA it was no different. These practices should be called anti-democratic because matters concerning the public were being negotiated behind closed doors. Even re≠presentatives of the people were not allowed to make copies of the provisional contract. The text was made available for study to German parliamentarians in a specially guarded separate room without recording facilities. Not even a cell phone was allowed, because it could have been used to photograph the text. Now what is it that has to be protected here and from whom? We are speaking about a contract of more than a thousand pages. What is the point? That which urgently needs to be made public is instead kept secret meticulously, negotiated behind closed doors, to the exclusion of the public. All this has nothing in common with a republic, with a res publica, with the cause of the general public, and it mocks democratic practices. And what is the reaction of our people’s representatives? No one is protesting! No one is resisting! There is no report in the media committed to the public. No magazine enlightens the public. And this despite years of mass protests, internet petitions and collections of signatures, which have gone into the hundreds of thousands and which have been giving expression to their legitimate protest in the alternative media.
And then there is this word creation from the arsenal of the spin-doctor school: “Harmonisation of competition”. Here two concepts which are generally associated with positive emotions are deliberately put to an inappropriate use. They do not belong together. Karl-Albrecht Schacht≠schneider has long criticised the fact that both the EU legislation and the free trade agreements deal with the terms free or fair competition without defining what they mean by this. In the case of TTIP, harmonisation of competition means nothing but a continuous shutdown of social and environmental standards. For what one does not need to grant, the other does not have to fulfill either, because that would be a “distortion of competition” – again a word creation like the one above. Yes, he should even be able to take legal action to enforce his right of non-compliance. Thus the concept of competition constructed by the corporations and the EU is elevated above national legislation and, on closer inspection, proves to be unconstitutional and just as contemptuous of democracy as the enforcement strategy described above. What is to remain is the corporated state, which is to function as a part of large corporations. We cannot want that.

Food sovereignty – the first victim of free trade

In his book, “Mit der ÷lwaffe zur Weltmacht” (“With the Oil Weapon to World Power”), the economic journalist F. William Engdahl describes the introduction of free trade in Great Britain by London financiers and traders in the first half of the nineteenth century as the establishment of a new, powerful power instrument of the English financial elite. Theoretically, these circles, which belonged to the City of London, (not quite correctly) relied on the moral philosopher and national economist Adam Smith, who was interpreted as having postulated the voluntary subjugation of society to absolutely free trade and to the propagated automatism of market mechanisms.
The fact that in essence, this free trade had nothing to do with public welfare, social justice, or the sovereignty of the English state, was demonstrated by the first great victory of those advocates of free trade. In 1846, they repealed the corn laws which had, for a hundred years, assured the English and Irish peasants of the purchase of their harvests at fixed prices, thus ensuring the peasant’s livelihood and the dietary sovereignty of England. This changed promptly when the corn laws were repealed. Now coolies in India and fellaheen in Egypt, who already lived under the economic pre-eminence of the London City and worked for starvation wages, became rivals of the English and Irish peasants. The tide of cheap agricultural products, which now began to flow in, drove the English and Irish peasants into ruin. Mass misery was the direct result of free trade, and it forced many into emigration. They became immigrants in other states.

Forced wage dumping and intentional impoverishment

The ensuing “automatisms of the market mechanisms” led to the impoverishment of industrial workers, since their wages were tied to the price of a loaf, which was now in free fall and soon arrived at the lowest possible level. The fact that this development in England had the harshest consequences also for farmers and industrial workers in Germany and in the whole of Europe, and even for the US, is easy to understand, as England now flooded all these markets with cheap products. In this way, economic wars can be waged against emerging countries and these can be withheld from making their economies prosper, even in the name of such a well-sounding term as “free trade”. At the same time germs of future social upheaval and mass protests were then and are now being implemented, as well as new problems such as refugee and emigration movements resulting in a migration of people of foreign cultures into European countries. These consequences were also intended and are still intended today, and they present the countries involved with challenges which are almost impossible to master.

The nature of the free trade

At the end of the same chapter, Engdahl draws the following conclusion: “In short, the nature of free trade can be defined in such a way that it divides people into ever less extremely rich families and a rapidly growing number of ever poorer, mostly underprivileged people. (“With the Oil Weapon to World Power”, 2002, pp. 14)
The cynicism of describing impoverishment and immiseration as a result, not of free trade but of over-population, cannot be surpassed, as a new chapter is opened here which is still being continued by interested parties.
Also the comments on this first chapter, in which Engdahl quotes the American economist Henry C. Carey as a contemporary critic of the British free trade policy, are definitely worth reading. Already in the early days, the watchful observer who felt connected and committed to his fellows could clearly see who profited from free trade. We are struck by the recurrence of the phenomena and consequences of forced free trade agreements, which have been forever repeated till this day.

Free trade as an economic war against “developing countries”

We can see how also in the 21st century, the free trade market mechanisms described by Engdahl follow the same agenda and have the same consequences as the repeal of the corn laws in the year 1846, if we dip into the book by Friederike Beck “Die geheime Migrationsagenda” (“The Secret Migration Agenda”) and in particular into its chapter 4 “EPA: Wie Freihandelsabkommen der EU mit afrikanischen Staaten dort wirtschaftlichen Schaden anrichten” (“EPA: How free trade agreements between the EU and African states do damage there”. EPA is the abbreviation for Economic Partnership Agreement. But on closer examination, there can be no question of partnership and agreement, since the opening up of African markets for European products was not infrequently enforced by targeted economic war scenarios. African countries refusing to open their markets up to 83% for European goods, and not prepared to abolish tariffs and charges at the same time, were punished with exorbitant import duties on their goods upon entry into the European market. The result showed itself sooner or later: several African states gave up and signed this forced submission contract.
There are quite a few economists who think that these free trade agreements jeopardise the development of African economies as these are not able to compete with the products of highly industrialised economies in European markets and in the meanwhile also on their own. At the same time, these countries are unable to protect their own economies. For example, the export of surplus European chicken meat to African countries has tripled since 2009. Since the production costs of domestic farmers are higher, they are driven into bankruptcy. Protective measures by African states do not work. According to the agreement, they can only charge 35% import duty on poultry imports, but this is not enough. So the African farmers give up. And their collapse not only increases the country’s dependence on imports, but also causes the fading out of the knowledge about animal breeding and agriculture, which was traditionally transmitted and further developed over generations. It is no longer available to that community.
The EU’s fishing policy is turning out to be equally catastrophic for African countries. Big European ship owners have overfished the European fishing grounds by more than three-quarters, and are now urging European countries to conclude contracts with African countries in order to allow them to fish in their grounds. Not only do the big ship owners not participate in the costs – 90% are covered by taxpayers – but they can even count on subsidies. European taxpayers pay, and the fishermen of Somalia and Senegal catch no more fish. Indeed, this is a well-known fact. Angela Merkel’s Africa Commissioner GŁnter Nooke says: “A country should not use economic negotiations to destroy on the one hand, what its development ministry is trying to build up on the other hand.” Are these the Western European values, which are so frequently invoked by a certain side? Definitely not.

The food weapon – a popular free trade tool

Jean Ziegler’s contribution to the documentary “We feed the world” and the film by Hubert Sauper “Darwin’s nightmare”, both available on DVD, depict in frightening pictures, figures and facts the interrelationships here described. Already at the time when Jean Ziegler compiled his documentation, Western industries supported their farmers with more than one billion dollars a day and also subsidized agricultural exports to developing countries, so that any food export to a developing country occurred at prices that drove every native farmer to ruin. The agenda behind this procedure is easily understood: The food weapon is used in order to create dependencies and force cheap raw material imports, to open up new markets and to recruit the cheapest possible labour, as well as to enforce other things like, for example, setting up landfill sites for so-called problem scrap, where local inhabitants reclaim raw materials under conditions which endanger their lives. And is this brutal enforcement by means of economic power to be perceived by the peoples suffering under it as Western values?

The EFTA as an exemplary alternative

And yet there are alternatives to the market radical free trade agreements. In the EFTA, for example, we come to agreements in respectful coexistence on an equal footing and with the intention to create a win-win situation (to use a neo-economical term) for the stakeholders. From the outset, the EFTA was a counter-proposal to the market radical Anglo-American free market trade. To date, its members still negotiate agreements with other states, if these regard the orientation towards the common good, which was explained at the beginning of this text, as a basic requirement that has to be taken into account by all parties. This practice makes it clear that favourable trade agreements and social welfare orientation do not have to exclude each other. Quite the contrary is true! But where is the school book or teaching material that mentions this? Current Concerns has often reported on the EFTA. The knowledge about the devastating effects of unfair free trade agreements is available to everyone in text and images. Education in these questions is an indispensable commitment stemming from compassion, responsibility and love of peace. Decisive for this are the conception of man and the resulting view of the economy which determine the contract partners’ goals: Is it to be “make money, make more money,” or social well-being according to the hard-fought European traditions?    •

Raisons pour lesquelles de nombreux accords de libre-échange n’ont pas en vue le bien commun

par Ewald Wetekamp, Allemagne

De la paix …

L’Etat est une communauté d’intérêts dont l’objectif principal est la sécurité intérieure et extérieure. C’est pourquoi les citoyens des Etats démocratiques se sont mis d’accord de déléguer à l’Etat l’imposition du droit, avec la possibilité de recourir aux armes. Il possède donc le monopole de l’usage de la force. En conséquence, il a la compétence, sur la base du droit et de la loi d’imposer le maintien du droit par la force. Le droit et la loi ne sont dans ce contexte pas définis comme droit purement positiviste, mais comme la réalisation des droits naturels et humains s’exprimant dans le droit positif et pouvant à juste titre être considérés comme justes. En tant qu’individu et membre de la communauté, le droit et la justice reviennent par nature à la personne, ce qui garantit sa liberté. La condition de cette liberté est la sécurité intérieure et extérieure de la communauté.

… à la prospérité pour tous

Tout comme le monopole étatique de l’usage de la force – orienté selon le bien commun – a pour but le libre développement de chaque membre de cette communauté, les lois dans le domaine de l’économie doivent également être garanties par l’Etat en tant que représentant de la volonté des citoyens pour servir le bien commun et donc la prospérité de tous.
L’article 14, alinéa 2 de la Loi fondamentale allemande fixe ce but dans la formulation «Propriété oblige. Son usage doit contribuer en même temps au bien de la collectivité». L’aspiration entrepreneuriale justifiée par le bénéfice, la persévérance, la progression et l’expansion n’est pas empêchée ou limitée, mais l’orientation et le lien au bien commun attribue à toute aspiration entrepreneuriale la place qui lui est due: le bien commun de la collectivité étatique reliant ses membres. Le professeur Eberhard Hamer du Mittelstands­institut Hannover l’a très bien exprimé dans l’une de ses interventions lorsqu’il a défini en général les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) comme étant créées par des hommes, avec des hommes, pour les hommes. On ne peut guère mieux exprimer le lien entre l’activité entrepreneuriale et bien de l’individu et de la communauté.

Une «stratégie d’exécution» contraire à la démocratie

En ce qui concerne la défense d’accords de libre-échange, actuellement très à la mode, il est judicieux de jeter un regard sur l’histoire et d’analyser le procédé antidémocratique utilisé pour tenter d’imposer l’Accord de libre-échange TTIP; pour l’AECG (ou CETA) c’est la même chose. Antidémocratique parce que, bien que de grande importance pour les populations concernées, il a été négocié à huis clos. Même les représentants du peuple n’ont pas eu le droit de faire des copies de l’accord provisoire. Le texte a été mis à disposition des parlementaires allemands dans une salle séparée et surveillée, sans possibilité d’enregistrer quoi que ce soit. Même l’utilisation de téléphones portables était défendue, car on aurait sinon pu photographier les textes. Que voulait-on protéger ainsi? Un accord de plus de mille pages. A quoi bon? Ce qui aurait urgemment besoin d’être connu par le public est soigneusement tenu secret et débattu à huis clos. Cela n’a rien à voir avec une république, une Res publica, avec la cause publique, car c’est un comportement totalement antidémocratique. Et que font nos représentants du peuple? Personne ne proteste! Personne ne s’y oppose! Aucun média public et aucun magazine n’en parle. Et cela bien que des protestations massives aient eu lieu depuis plusieurs années et que les gens s’expriment dans les médias alternatifs par des pétitions en ligne et des récoltes de signatures atteignant un nombre de centaines de milliers de signataires.
Puis, nous sommes également confrontés à des néologismes sortant directement des officines des spin-doctors: «harmonisation de la concurrence». Ici deux notions ayant normalement une connotation positive, sont intentionnellement utilisées de manière abusive. Elles ne vont pas ensemble. Le professeur de droit public Karl-Albrecht Schachtschneider a critiqué maintes fois que tant dans la législation de l’UE que dans les accords de libre-échange, on utilise des notions de concurrence «libre» ou «équitable» sans en définir le sens. Dans le cas du TTIP, l’«harmonisation de la concurrence» revient à exiger la continuelle réduction des normes sociales et environnementales. Car, ce dont l’un ne veut pas, l’autre ne doit pas non plus le vouloir, sinon il y a «distorsion de concurrence» – voilà un autre de ces néologismes. Cela peut même être poursuivi en justice. La notion de «concurrence», créée par les groupes multinationaux et l’UE, s’élève ainsi au-dessus des législations nationales et s’avère être, en réalité, anticonstitutionnelle et tout aussi antidémocratique que la «stratégie d’exécution» décrite précédemment. Ce qui reste, c’est un Etat soumis aux exigences des multinationales. Ce n’est pas cela que nous pouvons vouloir.

Souveraineté alimentaire – première victime du libre-échange

Dans son livre «Pétrole, une guerre d’un siècle – l’ordre mondial anglo-américain» de 2015, le journaliste économiste William Engdahl décrit l’introduction du libre-échange en Grande-Bretagne par les financiers et les commerçants maritimes londoniens au cours de la première moitié du XIXe siècle. C’est l’établissement d’un nouvel instrument du pouvoir très puissant en main de l’élite financière anglaise. Au niveau de la théorie, ces cercles appartenant à la Cité de Londres ont eu recours (pas entièrement justifié) au philosophe moral et économiste Adam Smith qu’ils ont interprété comme s’il avait prôné la soumission volontaire de la société sous la tutelle d’un commerce ultralibéral et de l’automatisme des mécanismes du marché.
Le fait que l’essence de ce libre-échange ne prenne absolument pas en considération le bien commun, la justice sociale ou la souveraineté de l’Etat britannique fut illustré par la première grande victoire de ces représentants du libre-échange. En 1846, ils firent échouer la Loi sur les céréales («Corn law») garantissant aux paysans anglais et irlandais, pendant plus de 100 ans, l’achat de leurs moissons à des prix fixes assurant ainsi leur existence et la souveraineté alimentaire de l’Angleterre. Tout cela changea brusquement. Des coolies indiens et des fellahs égyptiens, se trouvant déjà sous la dominance de la Cité de Londres, se transformèrent aussitôt, avec leurs salaires de misère, en concurrents des paysans anglais et irlandais. La marée de produits agricoles à bas prix qui s’ensuivit rapidement ruina les paysans anglais et irlandais. Le libre-échange conduisit donc très directement à une misère massive contraignant de nombreux paysans à l’émigration. Ils devinrent donc immigrants dans d’autres Etats.

Dumping salarial forcé et appauvrissement voulu

Les «automatismes des mécanismes du marché» conduisirent à l’appauvrissement de la main d’œuvre industrielle étant donné que leurs salaires étaient liés au prix d’un pain qui se trouva en chute libre avant d’atteindre le niveau le plus bas. Il est évident que cette évolution en Angleterre eut également des répercussions flagrantes sur les agriculteurs et ouvriers industriels allemands et européens voire américains, puisque l’Angleterre inonda tous ces marchés de ses produits à prix cassés. C’est ainsi qu’on peut, sous la bannière de belles paroles, tels «libre-échange», mener des guerres économiques contre des pays émergents pour les empêcher à prospérer. En même temps, on implanta des germes pour la création de troubles sociaux et de protestations de masse à effet tardif ainsi que de nouveaux problèmes, tels les flux de réfugiés et migrants ayant comme effet la migration d’individus de cultures étrangères dans les Etats européens. Ces conséquences étaient également voulues et le demeurent aujourd’hui encore en plaçant les pays concernés devant des tâches presque insolubles.

La vraie nature du libre-échange

A la fin du chapitre, Engdahl tire la leçon suivante: «Pour être bref, la nature du libre-échange se définit de la manière suivante: elle divise les êtres humains en toujours moins de familles extrêmement riches et en un nombre en forte augmentation de personnes toujours plus pauvres et très souvent sous-alimentées. (Engdahl, «Pétrole, une guerre d’un siècle – l’ordre mondial anglo-américain», 2015 p. 14s.)
Le fait que la paupérisation et la misère ne soient pas décrites par les cercles de l’époque comme les conséquences réelles du libre-échange mais plutôt comme les conséquences de la surpopulation est cynique à l’extrême. C’est le début d’un chapitre que les cercles intéressés continuent à écrire jusqu’aujourd’hui.
Il faut absolument étudier aussi les annotations accompagnant ce premier chapitre citant l’économiste américain Henry C. Carey, en tant qu’esprit critique contemporain face à la politique britannique du libre-échange. Cet observateur clairvoyant dès le début, se sentant lié à ces contemporains, comprit parfaitement qui étaient les profiteurs du libre-échange. On est frappé de constater que les phénomènes et répercussions résultants des accords de libre-échange imposés sont récurrents aujourd’hui encore.

Le libre-échange, une guerre économique contre les «pays émergeants»

Il suffit de jeter un coup d’œil dans le livre de Friederike Beck intitulé «Die geheime Migrationsagenda», et notamment au chapitre 4 «EPA: Wie Freihandelsabkommen der EU mit afrikanischen Staaten dort wirt­schaftlichen Schaden anrichten» [EPA: Comment les accords de libre-échange de l’UE conclus avec les pays africains y causent des dégâts économiques] pour constater que les mécanismes du marché du libre-échange, décrits par Engdahl, suivent, également au XXIe siècle, ce même agenda débouchant sur les mêmes effets que ceux créés par l’abolition des lois céréales en Angleterre en 1846. EPA signifie Economic Partnership Agreement. En réalité, il n’y a vraiment pas lieu de parler de «partenariat» ou d’«accord», car l’ouverture des marchés africains pour les produits européens fut souvent imposée par des scénarios de guerre économique. Les Etats africains refusant d’ouvrir leurs marchés jusqu’à 83% aux produits européens et déclarant ne pas vouloir abolir, à rythme continuel, les droits de douane et les taxes, ont été punis par des droits de douane exorbitants pour importer leurs marchandises sur le marché européen. La conséquence en fut, à court ou à long terme, que plusieurs Etats africains durent abandonner en signant les contrats d’asservissement imposés.
De nombreux experts financiers voient un danger pour le développement de ces économies nationales africaines liées à ces accords de libre-échange, puisqu’ils ne sont pas – avec leurs marchés locaux – en mesure de concurrencer les marchés européens et leurs produits des économies nationales fortement industrialisées. De même ils ne sont pas en mesure de protéger leur propre économie nationale. Un exemple: depuis 2009, l’exportation de viande de poulet européenne excédentaire a triplé dans les Etats africains. Etant donné que les coûts de la production des agriculteurs locaux sont plus élevés, ceux-ci sont poussés à la banqueroute. Les mesures de protection des Etats africains n’ont pas d’effets. Selon l’accord, ils ne peuvent exiger que 35% de taux de douane sur les importations de volaille, mais cela ne suffit pas. Donc, les agriculteurs africains abandonnent leur exploitation. Suite à cet abandon, la dépendance des importations grandit et le savoir-faire dans les domaines de l’élevage des animaux et de l’agriculture transmis et perfectionné dans les familles durant des générations se perd. Il n’est plus à la disposition de cette communauté.
La politique de la pêche de l’UE a des effets tout aussi désastreux dans les Etats africains. Les grands armateurs européens ont déjà surexploité les zones de pêche européennes jusqu’à plus de trois quarts et obligent maintenant les Etats européens à conclure des contrats avec les Etats africains pour qu’ils puissent se servir dans leurs territoires de pêche. Non seulement que de grands armateurs ne participent pas aux frais – 90% sont financés par les contribuables –, mais ils peuvent aussi compter sur des subventions. Les contribuables européens paient, et au large de la Somalie et du Sénégal, les pêcheurs rentrent sans poisson. Cette tragédie est pourtant bien connue. Günter Nooke, le responsable pour l’Afrique d’Angela Merkels déclare: «Il ne faudrait pas d’un côté détruire par des négociations économiques ce que l’on tente de l’autre côté de construire par les activités du ministère de développement.» Est-ce cela les valeurs européennes occidentales, si souvent conjurées par certaines personnes? Certainement pas.

L’arme des denrées alimentaires – un instrument très populaire du libre-échange

La contribution de Jean Ziegler dans la documentation «We feed the world» et le film de Hubert Sauper «Le cauchemar de Darwin», les deux accessibles sur DVD, illustrent les liens décrits au moyen d’images épouvantables, de chiffres et de faits. Alors que dans la période d’élaboration de la documentation de Jean Ziegler, les nations industrielles occidentales soutenaient déjà leurs agriculteurs avec plus d’un milliard de dollars par jour et subventionnaient, en outre, encore les exportations agricoles dans des pays en voie de développement, si bien que chaque exportation de denrées alimentaires se faisait à des prix vouant tout agriculteur local à la faillite, l’agenda cachée est vite repérée: créer des dépendances par l’arme des denrées alimentaires pour forcer les exportations bon marché vers les pays du Nord de matières premières, développer des nouveaux débouchés au Sud et recruter les mains-d’œuvre à prix cassés. En outre, il s’agit par exemple aussi de construire des dépôts d’ordure pour les matières dangereuses, où les habitants recyclent les matières premières dans des conditions extrêmement dangereuses. Cette imposition brutale du pouvoir économique doit-elle être perçue par les peuples souffrants comme représentant les valeurs occidentales?

L’AELE, une alternative exemplaire

Pourtant, les alternatives aux accords de libre-échange sauvage ne manquent pas. Dans AELE par exemple, on a la possibilité de négocier des accords dans le respect réciproque et d’égal à égal, en créant une situation gagnant-gagnant pour toutes les parties. L’AELE fut dès le début un contre-projet au libre-échange sauvage des Anglo-Américains. Leurs membres négocient aujourd’hui encore des accords avec d’autres Etats qui respectent l’orientation sur le bien commun exposée au début de ce texte comme étant une condition fondamentale pour tous les participants. Leur pratique montre que les traités commerciaux avantageux et l’orientation vers le bien commun ne s’excluent pas. Tout au contraire! Cependant, dans quels livres d’enseignement ou manuels scolaires trouve-t-on cela? Au cours de la dernière décennie, Horizons et débats a informé à maintes reprises sur l’importance de l’AELE. Les informations sur les terribles effets des accords de libre-échange mal ficelés sont largement disponibles en textes et en images pour toutes personnes intéressées. L’exigence de se former également dans de telles questions est une auto-obligation incontournable – par compassion, responsabilité et amour de la paix. Le point décisif, définissant les buts des parties contractuelles, est l’image de l’homme et la vue sur l’économie en résultant: soit c’est «Make money, make more money» ou c’est le bien commun dans la meilleure tradition européenne acquise à force de luttes intenses!    •