Which foreign policy position for Switzerland?


by Dr iur Marianne Wüthrich

Admittedly, it is not always easy for Switzerland as a small and preferably independent state and its representatives in politics and diplomacy, and even more so in the context of contractual negotiations, to cope with the predominance of the EU in everyday European affairs. It can also be quite difficult to maintain an upright attitude towards foreign politicians of all kinds, but, in the subject matter, to remain steadfast on the basis of the rule of law and neutrality policy. But it is possible, this is often documented, and corresponds to the self-chosen role of Switzerland.
If you want to appear on the media’s frontpages, you will choose a different approach than the careful politician who is concerned with the matter. And everyone who has trained to tell foreign committees what they want to hear and to act accordingly is sometimes even in danger of sweeping uncomfortable national referenda – or the resulting constitutional articles – under the carpet.

“Only when Swiss government members and diplomats have a dialogue with foreign governments on an equal footing it will be possible to offer good offices in interstate conflicts.” (picture reuters)

Great excitement in various European countries: The Turkish Foreign Minister and other Turkish politicians of the government party want to appear abroad to convince their fellow citizens living there that they should vote in the upcoming referendum in the sense of the government. Many European politicians and media are criticizing the content of the planned Turkish constitutional reform because it would significantly strengthen the power of the head of state and weaken Parliament’s ponderosity which would be a threat from a democratic and constitutional perspective. From this position some politicians, also in Switzerland, vote for entry bans and bans on speaking. How is this to be assessed from the perspective of constitutional and public international law?

The freedom of expression is valid

Well, it is the right of the media to publish their opinion on informing voting documents at home and abroad. This corresponds to the freedom of the press. Freedom of expression, however, does not only apply to the press, but to every human being, whether or not we share his opinion. So also to foreign politicians who want to visit their compatriots in Switzerland and talk to them – whether we have sympathies for the government or not. Of course, the freedom of speech is also valid for the opponents of the government’s bill.

In a mood of heated and excited debates, it is a good thing that the head of The Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), Federal Councillor Didier Burkhalter, said in an interview in the first program of the radio station in the French speaking part of Switzerland, RTS (Radio Télévision Suisse), that the freedom of expression is unquestionable one of the most fundamental rights in the democratic constitutional state. In contrast to other European governments, he stood by the fact that, from this perspective, there was no reason to prevent the presence of the Turkish Foreign Minister Mevlüt Cavusoglu in Switzerland (see box with excerpts from the interview).

Handling with foreign governments in Swiss way

In fact the planned presence of the Turkish Foreign Minister in Zurich did not take place on 12 March. Apparently Federal Councillor Burkhalter in a personal meeting with his Turkish colleague has been able to achieve, that the minister decided to renounce his visit for now – without any unintended comments. On 23 March, Federal Councillor Burkhalter met Foreign Minister Cavusoglu in Berne – without any prior notice and without media presence. Then Cavusoglu met some visitors at the Turkish embassy.
The prudent behaviour of the Swiss Federal Council is therefore an indispensable basis for Swiss neutrality policy. Only when Swiss government members and diplomats have a dialogue with foreign governments on an equal footing it will be possible to offer good offices in interstate conflicts. So Burkhalter could make an effort to achieve a rapprochement between the war parties in 2014 in Ukraine when Switzerland held the OSCE presidency. The people of Ukraine and other heavily disrupted and destroyed countries should be wished that Switzerland could use the institution of good offices more often.
According to Federal Councillor Burk­halter’s opinion some Swiss media have had second thoughts about the democratic and constitutional foundations that apply not only to those whose opinions suit our book: “For our country freedom of speech is a valuable commodity – unlike many States in the European neighbourhood. Whoever wants to speak in front of a meeting has to abide by the laws, such as the racism standard, and he has to abide strictly by the security requirements of the authorities. Rightly we do not know any other conditions. It cannot be that we generally want to forbid the presence of foreign politicians, just because sometimes their attitudes do not fit us. Let us not forget that, on 1 August, our Federal Councils would also like to be present in front of Swiss citizens abroad, where they would certainly hold political speeches, possibly even promote a yes or no vote.” (“St. Galler Tagblatt” from 18 March 2017)

Turkish referendum and abidance by the principles of the rule of law

From the democratic point of view, however, it should be noted that the Turkish population is, after all, allowed to vote on whether or not it wants a shift of power towards the president. The fact that fundamental reforms are submitted to voters is not common throughout Europe, let alone in the European Union. Its top politicians often speak loudly and concisely in order to demand compliance with “democratic basic values” in other countries – but woe if the citizens of individual EU member states dare to vote against the pre-determined direction of march from Brussels.
Perhaps the majority of Turkish voters – in view of wars launched from abroad and the resulting chaos and terror in their neighbour states – have other ideas how their state is to be led? It is the Turkish people to decide. Naturally, in doing so, the principles of the rule of law and the fundamental rights of individual people must be respected. This is, as already mentioned, more to be attained on an equal footing and in peace, than by unobjective verbal attacks.    •

Quelle attitude en matière de politique extérieure pour la Suisse?

par Marianne Wüthrich, docteur en droit

Il est vrai qu’il n’est pas toujours facile pour la Suisse et ses représentants politiques et diplomatiques de s’en sortir dans la vie quotidienne européenne, et à plus forte raison lors de pourparlers contractuels comme petit Etat – aussi indépendant que possible –, face à la prédominance de l’UE. Confrontés à des politiciens étrangers de toutes sortes, cela peut aussi être assez délicat de conserver sa droiture d’esprit, en restant toujours le fondement de l’Etat du droit et de la politique de neutralité. Cependant, c’est possible, c’est maintes fois prouvé et cela correspond au rôle choisi par la Suisse.
Quiconque aime se retrouver sur la une des journaux choisira une autre procédure que celle du politicien scrupuleux dont la tâche est de demeurer au centre. Celui qui s’est entraîné à adapter ses paroles aux commissions étrangères et à agir de la sorte, s’expose même au danger d’occulter des décisions populaires gênantes – ou plutôt les articles constitutionnels qui en découlent.

«Seulement si les membres et les diplomates du gouvernement suisse et les gouvernements étrangers se parlent sur un pied d’égalité, il est possible d’offrir et d’exercer lors de conflits interétatiques les bons offices.» (photo reuters)

Une grande nervosité règne dans plusieurs Etats européens: le ministre turc des Affaires étrangères et d’autres politiciens turcs du parti gouvernemental veulent se présenter à l’étranger, pour convaincre leurs concitoyens dans ces pays à voter en faveur du gouvernement lors du référendum imminent. De nombreux politiciens et médias européens critiquent le contenu de la réforme constitutionnelle prévue, étant donné qu’elle renforcerait considérablement le pouvoir du chef d’Etat en affaiblissant parallèlement le poids du Parlement. Donc, cela serait préoccupant du point de vue de la démocratie et de l’Etat de droit. Partant de ce point de vue, divers politiciens, également en Suisse, se prononcent en faveur d’une interdiction d’entrée dans le pays et de s’exprimer. Comment interpréter cela du point de vue de l’Etat de droit et du droit international?

La liberté d’opinion en œuvre

C’est certainement le droit des médias, de publier leur opinion sur les objets de votations se déroulant à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du pays. Cela correspond à la liberté de la presse. La liberté d’opinion ne s’applique cependant pas seulement à la presse, mais à tout être humain, indépendamment de notre opinion personnelle. Donc, aussi pour des politiciens étrangers visitant leurs compatriotes en Suisse et voulant leur parler – indépendamment de notre sympathie face à ce gouvernement ou non. Pour les adversaires du projet gouvernemental, la liberté d’expression s’applique bien sûr de la même manière.
Dans une atmosphère de débats enflammés et énervés, il est bon d’entendre le chef du Département fédéral des Affaires étrangères (DFAE), le conseiller fédéral Didier Burk­halter, s’exprimer objectivement et clairement dans une interview avec le 1er programme de la Radio Télévision Suisse (RTS 1) en faveur de la validité incontestable de la liberté d’opinion comme l’un des droits centraux dans tout Etat de droit démocratique. Contrairement à d’autres gouvernements européens, il a déclaré que de ce point de vue, il n’y avait aucune raison – outre la question sécuritaire – d’empêcher que le ministre turc des Affaires étrangères Mevlüt Cavusoglu puisse s’exprimer en Suisse (cf. encadré avec des extraits de l’interview).

Contacts avec les gouvernements étrangers à la manière suisse

Le 12 mars, la prise de parole programmée du ministre turc des Affaires étrangères dans le canton de Zurich n’a pas eu lieu. Il semble que le conseiller fédéral Burkhalter ait pu convaincre son collègue turc, lors d’un entretien personnel, de renoncer pour l’instant à sa visite – sans que des remarques désobligeantes s’en suivent. Le 23 mars, le conseiller fédéral Burkhalter a reçu à Berne, sans préavis et sans présence des médias, le ministre des Affaires étrangères Cavusoglu. Puis, celui-ci a rencontré quelques visiteurs à l’ambassade turque.
Cette démarche réfléchie du Conseil fédéral est une base indispensable de la
politique de neutralité suisse: seulement si les membres et les diplomates du gouvernement suisse et les gouvernements étrangers se parlent sur un pied d’égalité, il est possible d’offrir et d’exercer lors de conflits interétatiques les bons offices. Ainsi, M. Burkhalter a pu encourager en 2014
en Ukraine un rapprochement des partis de guerre, lorsque la Suisse avait la présidence de l’OSCE. Cela serait entièrement à l’avantage des populations de l’Ukraine et d’autres pays durement touchés par les crises et les destructions, si la Suisse pouvait à nouveau engager ses bons offices plus souvent.
Après la prise de position du conseiller fédéral Burkhalter, plusieurs médias suisses se sont souvenus des bases démocratiques et d’Etat de droit, valables non seulement pour ceux, dont l’avis nous plait: «Pour notre pays, la liberté d’opinion est un bien de grande importance – à la différence de nombreux Etats européens. Chez nous, quiconque veut parler devant une assemblée, doit respecter les lois, par exemple à la norme pénale concernant le racisme, et doit suivre strictement les exigences sécuritaires des autorités. Nous ne connaissons à juste titre pas d’autres conditions. Nous n’avons aucun droit d’interdire en général les prises de parole de politiciens étrangers, seulement parce que leurs convictions parfois ne nous conviennent pas. N’oublions pas, que nos conseillers fédéraux aiment bien prendre la parole à l’occasion du 1er-Août devant les Suisses à l’étranger et qu’il tiennent des discours politiques, éventuellement même en s’engageant pour un Oui ou un Non lors de votations.» («St. Galler Tagblatt» du 18/3/17)

Le référendum turc et le respect des principes fondamentaux de l’Etat de droit

Du point de vue démocratique, il faut tout de même relever le fait que la population turque a la possibilité de s’exprimer pour dire s’ils veulent ou non donner davantage de pouvoir au président d’Etat. Le fait de présenter à l’électorat une réforme fondamentale, n’est de loin pas usuel partout en Europe, notamment pas dans l’Union européenne. Ses politiciens de pointe se manifestent certes souvent à voix haute et distincte, pour exiger des autres Etats le respect «des valeurs démocratiques fondamentales» – mais gare, si les citoyens d’Etats membres de l’UE osent s’opposer à la direction de marche définie par Bruxelles.
Il se pourrait que la majorité des électeurs turcs aient – face aux guerres fomentées par l’étranger et le chaos et la terreur qui s’en est suivi dans leurs Etats voisins – d’autres idées, de la manière comment leur Etat doit être dirigé? C’est uniquement au peuple turc d’en décider. Ce faisant, il est bien entendu que les principes de l’Etat de droit et les droits fondamentaux des individus doivent être respectés. Comme déjà mentionné, cela peut être atteint plus facilement à l’aide d’échanges d’égal à égal plutôt que par des attaques verbales déplacées.     •