Children should continue to learn cursive*

The President of the German Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education (“Kultusministerkonferenz”, KMK), Dr Susanne Eisenmann, MD, has received a petition to rescue the cursive. This was announced by the Deutsche Sprachwelt (DSW) on 3 November 2017. Over 17,200 citizens sign with their signatures on the KMK, to ensure that primary schools continue to teach the children the cursive. Language conservationists have now handed over to Dr Eisenmann, MD, who is also Baden-Wuerttemberg’s Minister of Culture, seven large folders filled with petition lists.

[Translate to en:] Aktion «Rettet die Schreibschrift»: Wolfgang Hildebrandt (Aktion Deutsche Sprache, links), Thomas Paulwitz (Deutsche Sprachwelt) und Prof. Dr. Uta Seewald-Heeg (Neue Fruchtbringende Gesellschaft, rechts) übergeben Kultusministerin Dr. Susanne Eisenmann die Unterschriften. (Bild dsw)

ion to ban the abolition of joint writing tuition in her state. Due to the great popularity that the advocates of the joint writing during the collection of the signatures were allowed to learn, they are sure: “The mood in the population is clear: The cursive writing must remain. If children are able to write fluently and relaxed, they have an excellent tool for acquiring education and knowledge. They recognise spelling mistakes more quickly and thus learn to avoid them.”
The magazine Deutsche Sprachwelt (DSW) from Erlangen, the Aktion Deutsche Sprache (ADS) from Hanover, and the Neue Fruchtbringende Gesellschaft (NFG) from Köthen (Anhalt, Sxony-Anhalt) had collectively collected the signatures. Just a few years ago, they had already handed over a first, smaller amount with some 2,100 signatures to the former KMK President Bernd Althusmann in Hanover. The second delivery now followed in Stuttgart, with more than 15,100 signatures.
DSW editor-in-Chief Thomas Paulwitz, ADS chairman Wolfgang Hildebrandt and NFG chair Prof Dr Uta Seewald-Heeg thanked the Minister of Culture for her efforts to rescue the connected handwriting. Their gratitude was connected with the wish that Dr Eisenmann in the KMK would take a stand for the reintroduction of handwriting tuition in all federal states. “We do not need less, but more handwriting,” Paulwitz explained. Many of the advantages of connected writing – promoting fine motor skills, thinking and learning – are not only obvious, but also scientifically proven. Children should not be educated to become “writing-stutterers” by being deprived of arbitrarily appropriating a cultural asset.
In addition to Baden-Wuerttemberg, Bavaria, Saxony and, most recently, Schleswig-Holstein have given up the idea of replacing cursive writing with the so-called basic typeface – blockletters with little hooks that leaves it up to the pupils how they connect the letters – with correspondingly devastating results. The next goal of the action “Save the Script” (“Rettet die Schreibschrift”) is now that even federal states, known as writing-indolent, such as Thuringia, North Rhine-Westphalia, Hamburg and Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania are again ready to give more weight to handwriting lessons at elementary level.    •

Source: www.deutsche-sprachwelt.de of 3 November 2017

*    “Cursive”, also known as “longhand”, “script”, “joined-up writing”, “joint writing”, “running writing”, or “handwriting” is any style of penmanship in which the symbols of the language are written in a conjoined and/or “flowing” manner, generally for the purpose of making writing faster. Formal cursive is generally joined, but casual cursive is a combination of joins and pen lifts. The writing style can be further divided as “looped”, “italic”, or “connected”. (Wikipedia)

Il faut que les enfants continuent à apprendre l’écriture cursive

La présidente de la Conférence des ministres allemands de l’éducation et des affaires culturelles (Kultusministerkonferenz, KMK), Mme Susanne Eisenmann a obtenu les documents d’une récolte de signatures pour la «Sauvegarde de l’écriture cursive». C’est une information de la Deutsche Sprachwelt (DSW) du 3 novembre 2017. 17'200 citoyens demandent à la KMK de faire de sorte que les écoles primaires continuent à enseigner l’écriture cursive. Devant le Landtag de Bade-Wurtemberg (Parlement du Land), les protecteurs de la langue ont déposé en main de Mme Eisenmann, sept gros classeurs remplis de listes de signatures. Mme Eisenmann est également la ministre de l’Education et des affaires culturelles du Bade-Wurtemberg.

Action «Rettet die Schreibschrift»[Sauvegarde de l'écriture cursive]: Les signatures récoltées ont été remises à la ministre de la culture et de l'éducation Susanne Eisenmann. De gauche à droite: Wolfgang Hildebrandt (Aktion Deutsche Sprache), Thomas Paulwitz (Deutsche Sprachwelt), Susanne Eisenmann et Pr Uta Seewald-Heeg (Neue Fruchtbringende Gesellschaft). (Photo dsw)

Mme Eisenmann s’est sentie renforcée dans sa décision d’interdire l’abolition de l’écriture cursive dans son Land. Les défenseurs de l’écriture cursive ont reçu beaucoup de soutien pendant la récolte des signatures, et sont convaincus que «l’opinion publique est sans ambiguïté. L’écriture cursive doit rester. Si les enfants savent écrire couramment et sans crispations, ils disposent d’un formidable instrument pour acquérir formation et savoir. Ils reconnaissent plus facilement les fautes d’orthographe et apprennent ainsi à les éviter.»
Le journal linguistique DSW d’Erlangen, l’Action langue Allemande (ADS) de Hanovre et la Neue fruchtbringende Gesellschaft (NFG) de Köthen (Anhalt) ont récolté ensemble les signatures. Il y a quelques années, ils avaient déjà rendu une première petite partie d’environ 2100 signatures à M. Bernd Althusmann à Hanovre, à l’époque président de la KMK. Maintenant, la deuxième remise des signatures avec 15'100 signatures a eu lieu à Stuttgart.
Le rédacteur en chef de la DSW, Thomas Paulwitz, le président de l’ADS Wolfgang Hildebrandt et le président du NFG Uta Seewald-Heeg ont remercié la ministre des Affaires culturelles pour son engagement en faveur du sauvetage de l’écriture cursive. Ils ont ajouté le désir que Mme Eisenmann s’engage, au sein de la KMK, pour que dans tous les Länder allemands on se remette à enseigner l’écriture cursive. «Il nous faut pas moins mais davantage d’enseignement de l’écriture cursive», a déclaré M. Paul-witz. De nombreux avantages de l’écriture cursive sont évidents et scientifiquement prouvés, par exemple l’entraînement de la motricité fine, de la pensée et de l’apprentissage. Il faut faire tout le possible pour ne pas produire des enfants mutilés dans leur écriture, en leur soustrayant consciemment un bien culturel.
Outre le Bade-Wurtemberg, la Bavière, la Saxe et récemment aussi le Schleswig-Holstein ont également abandonné l’idée de remplacer l’écriture cursive par une «écriture de base». Celle-ci est une écriture en caractères d’imprimerie avec de petits crochets, où les enfants choisissent librement, s’ils veulent relier les lettres ou non – avec des résultats catastrophiques. La prochaine étape de l’action «Sauvez l’écriture cursive» sera de motiver également les Länder «paresseux en écriture» tels Thüringen, Rhénanie-du-Nord-Westphalie, Hambourg et Mecklembourg-Poméranie-Occidentale à renforcer l’enseignement de l’écriture cursive dans les écoles primaires.

Source: www.deutsche-sprachwelt.de  du 3/11/17

(Traduction Horizons et débats)