“By no means a gift to the farmers”

A plea for the federal law on the taxation of agricultural and forestry properties

Interview with National Councillor Olivier Feller, FDP Waadt

The “Federal law on the taxation of agricultural and forestry properties” aims to mitigate the potentially ruinous effects of a Federal Supreme Court (of Switzerland) judgment of 2 December 2011 on farming families. Prior to this judgment, if a farmer wanted to sell part of his property as building land, he was required to pay a real estate gains tax according to cantonal law. The same rule applied in accordance with local construction law requiring the farmer to transfer his house and garden to private assets in order to keep occupying it upon his retirement. With this decision, the Federal Supreme Court behaves as though it were the legislator and invents a new income tax for the farmers. In addition to the cantonal real estate gains tax, the federal government could thus increase this capital gain by means of direct federal tax load – as income! (The federal government only recognizes this income tax, no wealth tax that – of course – would be much lower.)
Effectively, this means that a farmer or a couple looking to retire have to pay hundreds of thousands of francs in income tax for their private residence to the federal government despite not even having earned that money.
One can only hope that the National Council will find a compromise in the spring session in order for the Council of States to be prepared to correct its negative decision on 12 December 2016.

Current Concerns: Could you briefly explain the problems farmers face regarding the taxation of agricultural lots?

National Councillor Olivier Feller: On 2 December 2011, the Federal Court announced its decision to establish a previously unknown distinction between lots subject to agricultural land law and those that are not. The issue at heart is to determine how to tax the profits made when selling or transfering land from business assets to private ones. When dealing with a lot subject to land law, the real estate transfer tax continues to be applied. What is new is that if a lot is not subject to land law, the entire profit is subject to income tax. This judgment by the Federal Court had the effect of having drastically increased the debts owed from one day to the next. The Waadt canton provides a good example of this. The percentage for a real estate gains tax for a lot not subject to land law used to be 7%, if the period of ownership exceeded 24 years. Since 2 December 2011, such a lot is subject to an income tax rate of 50%, with additional AHV fees.

What led to this situation?

In accordance with the principle of the separation of power, the Federal Court is independent. Of course, I do respect its independence. The problem is that, apparently, the Federal Court did not foresee the immediate consequences of its judgment. A farmer, who wants to retire but keep living in his farmhouse at the same time, can be faced with fees of several hundred thousand francs because of his income tax, merely because
 his residence is transferred from his business assets to his personal assets. This is not only unjust, but it also contradicts the legal security and predictability that is supposed to be ensured by the Federal Court. What is more is that this law came into effect immediately on 2 December 2011 without a transitional period enabling farmers to adapt to the new taxation. In return, it highlights a real institutional problem. Whenever the parliament changes taxation laws, transitional periods are usually provided. That didn’t happen in the case of this Federal Court judgment.

In April of 2016, the National Council approved a draft bill that could have enabled a return to the previous tax practice. The Council of States opposed it in December 2016. What do you make of this situation?

I was very surprised by the Council of States’ decision. On 8 December 2014, it had supported a motion brought forth by my colleague, Leo Müller, commissioning the National Council to present a legislative change to reinstate the previous tax practice. Two years later, the Council of States voted for the exact opposite, i.e. non-occurrence. What a contradiction! It is difficult to understand such a turnaround. I sense that in certain circles, there is jealousy towards the enormous support that farmers enjoy with parliament. Furthermore, the federation’s financial situation has deteriorated over the last two years. The return to the previous tax practice in no way has to do with gifting anything to the farmers, even if some like to present it that way. In reality, a return to the previous practice would prevent a “tax robbery” that, without any democratic discussion, has been enabled from one day to the other by the Federal Court’s judgment in 2011.

What other opportunities to possibly limit the negative consequences of this Federal Court judgment do you see?

This dossier will be presented to the National Council again in 2017. The Committee for Economic Affairs and Taxes is going to elaborate on this topic again in its meeting on 20February and prepare it for further discussion at the National Council’s spring session. As a French-speaking correspondent for the Committee, I will, together with others, work towards achieving a fair solution to win the majority in the National Council as well as in the Council of States. It’s not going to be easy. But in policy, only battles that are not fought are lost from the start.    •

(Interview by Jean-Paul Vuilleumier)

Federal act on the taxation of agricultural and forestry land (16.031) – a chronology 2.12.2011 Federal Court decision: profits from selling agricultural and forestry land were exempt until a fundamental decision of the Federal Court in 2011 of the feder

2.12.2011:         


 

Federal Court decision: profits from selling agricultural and forestry land were exempt until a fundamental decision of the Federal Court in 2011 of the federal direct tax (income tax) (FC 138 II 32). In 2011, the Federal Court limited this privilege to lands that are subject to the Federal Act on the rural land rights. The profits from selling reserves of building land from the assets of agriculture and forestry enterprises are fully taxable since then.

14.3.2012:




National Councillor Leo Müller issued the motion* “Taxation of agricultural and forestry land” (12.3172) with 22 co-signatories. The Federal Council was supposed to provide a draft law to the Parliament, stating that agricultural and forestry plots, when transferred from business assets to private assets as well when sold will be charged with an income tax only on the capital cost, as it was the practice before the judgment of the Federal Court 2C_22/2011 in 2 December 2011.

9.5.2012:

Federal Council requests to reject the motion.

16.9.2013:

National Council supports the motion.

8.12.2014:

Council of States supports the motion.

11.3.2016:



Federal Council adopts its message to the Federal act on the taxation of agricultural and forestry land (16.031) and thus implements the motion which was transferred by the Parliament: all real estate of assets from an agricultural or forestry enterprise should benefit from a privileged taxation, as it was until 2011. He renounces to recommend the adoption of the proposal to the Parliament.

27.4.2016:

National Council follows its Advisory Committee and accepts the amendment as the First Chamber.

12.12.2016:

Council of States follows its Advisory Commission and rejects the law amendment as the Second Chamber.

Spring session 2017:

The National Council will discuss it again.

Quelle: https://www.parlament.ch/de/ratsbetrieb/amtliches-bulletin/amtliches-bulletin-die-verhandlungen?SubjectId=38871

*    A motion instructs the Federal Council to submit a bill to the Federal Assembly or to take a certain measure. Motions can be submitted by the majority of a committee and, during a session, by a parliamentary group or by an Assembly member. Motions must be accepted by both Councils.

(Translation Current Concerns)

«Cela n’a rien à voir avec un cadeau aux agriculteurs»

Plaidoyer en faveur de la loi fédérale sur l’imposition des immeubles agricoles et sylvicoles

Interview d’Olivier Feller, conseiller national PLR Vaud

La «loi fédérale sur l’imposition des immeubles agricoles et sylvicoles» a pour but d’atténuer les conséquences ruineuses de l’arrêt rendu par le Tribunal fédéral le 2 décembre 2011 pour certaines familles paysannes. Avant cet arrêt, un agriculteur payait selon le droit cantonal l’impôt sur les gains immobiliers s’il désirait vendre un terrain construit ou non construit situé en zone à bâtir. L’arrêt du Tribunal fédéral a chamboulé cette règle, soumettant la plus-value réalisée en cas de vente d’un terrain en zone à bâtir à l’impôt cantonal et fédéral sur le revenu. Pire, le simple transfert de la maison habitée par un agriculteur prenant sa retraite du patrimoine commercial au patrimoine privé doit être soumis à l’impôt cantonal et fédéral sur le revenu même si aucune plus-value effective n’est réalisée.
Afin de rétablir la pratique en vigueur jusqu’au 2 décembre 2011, le Conseil fédéral a transmis au Parlement, au début de l’année 2016, un projet de loi sur l’imposition des immeubles agricoles et sylvicoles. Cette loi a été acceptée par le Conseil national en avril 2016. Mais le Conseil des Etats a refusé d’entrer en matière en décembre 2016. Le dossier retourne ainsi au Conseil national. Il faut espérer que le Conseil national trouvera un compromis suffisamment solide lors de la prochaine session de printemps de manière à ce que le Conseil des Etats puisse s’y rallier.

Horizons et débats: En deux mots, pouvez-vous nous rappeler l’origine du problème rencontré par les agriculteurs en matière de fiscalité immobilière?

Olivier Feller: Le 2 décembre 2011, le Tribunal fédéral a rendu un arrêt qui introduit une distinction inédite pour les exploitations agricoles entre les terrains soumis au droit foncier rural et les terrains qui n’y sont pas soumis pour déterminer le statut des gains réalisés en cas de vente d’un bien ou en cas de passage d’un bien de la fortune commerciale à la fortune privée. S’il s’agit d’un terrain soumis au droit foncier rural, le gain peut continuer d’être imposé comme un gain immobilier, comme par le passé. En revanche, ce qui est nouveau, c’est que s’il s’agit d’un terrain qui n’est pas soumis au droit foncier rural, le gain doit être imposé comme un revenu. Cet arrêt du Tribunal fédéral a eu pour conséquence d’augmenter d’un jour à l’autre, de manière exorbitante, les impôts dus par les paysans dans certaines circonstances. Dans le canton de Vaud, par exemple, le gain réalisé lors de la vente d’un bien qui n’est pas soumis au droit foncier rural était taxé à un taux de 7% si la durée de possession dépassait les 24 ans. Depuis le 2 décembre 2011, ce gain est imposé comme un revenu, soit à un taux d’environ 50% sans compter les cotisations AVS dues sur le montant imposé.

Comment en est-on arrivé là?

Selon le principe de la séparation des pouvoirs, le Tribunal fédéral est indépendant. Je respecte cette indépendance. Le problème, c’est que le Tribunal fédéral n’a manifestement pas mesuré les effets concrets de sa décision. Un agriculteur qui souhaite renoncer à son activité professionnelle, mais rester dans son habitation, peut se voir réclamer des centaines de milliers de francs au titre de l’impôt sur le revenu en raison du simple passage de son logement de sa fortune commerciale à sa fortune privée. C’est inéquitable. Et contraire à la sécurité et la prévisibilité du droit, dont le Tribunal fédéral devrait pourtant être le garant … En plus, l’arrêt du Tribunal fédéral s’est appliqué immédiatement, dès le 2 décembre 2011, sans prévoir de période transitoire permettant aux agriculteurs de s’adapter à la nouvelle donne fiscale. Cela soulève un vrai problème institutionnel. Lorsque le Parlement modifie des règles fiscales, il prévoit en général des dispositions transitoires. Cela n’a pas été le cas avec l’arrêt du Tribunal fédéral.

Le Conseil national a accepté en avril 2016 un projet de loi pour revenir à l’ancienne pratique fiscale. Le Conseil des Etats a décidé le contraire en décembre 2016. Comment expliquez-vous cette situation?

La décision du Conseil des Etats me laisse perplexe. Il avait accepté, le 8 décembre 2014, par 33 voix contre 4 et 1 abstention, la motion de mon collègue Leo Muller demandant au Conseil fédéral d’élaborer un projet de loi rétablissant l’ancienne pratique fiscale. Deux ans plus tard, le Conseil des Etats décide l’exact inverse, en refusant d’entrer en matière sur le projet de loi. Quelle incohérence! Il est difficile de comprendre une telle volte-face. Je sens que certains milieux sont un peu jaloux du poids des défenseurs de l’agriculture aux Chambres fédérales. Et la situation financière de la Confédération est moins solide qu’il y a deux ans. Cela étant, le rétablissement de l’ancienne pratique fiscale n’aurait rien à voir avec un cadeau aux agriculteurs, contrairement à ce que disent certains. En réalité, le rétablissement de l’ancienne pratique permettrait d’éviter un «vol fiscal» rendu possible d’un jour à l’autre, sans débat démocratique, par l’arrêt rendu par le Tribunal fédéral en 2011.

Existe-t-il encore le moindre espoir de limiter les dégâts de cet arrêt du Tribunal fédéral?

Le dossier passe à présent à nouveau au Conseil national. La Commission de l’économie et des redevances examinera cet objet le 20 février en vue d’un traitement en plénum du Conseil national lors de la session de printemps. En tant que rapporteur francophone de la commission sur ce dossier, je vais m’engager, avec d’autres, pour que nous trouvions une solution aussi équitable que possible, susceptible de majorité tant au Conseil national qu’au Conseil des Etats. Ce sera difficile. Mais en politique, seuls les combats que l’on ne mène pas sont perdus d’avance.     •
(Propos recueillis par Jean-Paul Vuilleumier)

Loi fédérale sur l’imposition des immeubles agricoles et sylvicoles (16.031) – Chronologie

2/12/2011:





Arrêt du Tribunal fédéral: Les bénéfices tirés de la vente d’immeubles agricoles ou sylvicoles étaient exonérés de l’impôt fédéral direct jusqu’en 2011, année où le Tribunal fédéral a pris une décision de principe (ATF 138 II 32) consistant à limiter ce traitement particulier aux seuls immeubles soumis à la loi fédérale sur le droit foncier rural (LDFR). Depuis lors, les bénéfices qu’une exploitation agricole ou sylvicole enregistre avec la vente des réserves de terrain à bâtir qu’elle détient dans son actif immobilisé sont pleinement imposables.

14/3/2012:





Le conseiller national Leo Muller dépose avec 22 cosignataires la motion intitulée «Imposition des immeubles agricoles et sylvicoles» (12.3172). Elle demande au Conseil fédéral de soumettre au Parlement un projet de modification de loi afin que la notion d’«immeuble agricole et sylvicole» soit définie de telle façon que ces immeubles, lorsqu’ils sont transférés de la fortune commerciale à la fortune privée ou qu’ils sont aliénés, ne soient soumis à l’impôt sur le revenu que jusqu’à concurrence des dépenses d’investissement comme c’était le cas avant que le Tribunal fédéral ne rende l’arrêt 2C_11/2011 le 2 décembre 2011.

9/5/2012:

Le Conseil fédéral propose de rejeter la motion.

16/9/2013:

Le Conseil national soutient la motion.

8/12/2014:

Le Conseil des Etats soutient la motion.

11/3/2016:




Le Conseil fédéral adopte le message relatif à la loi fédérale sur l’imposition des immeubles agricoles et sylvicoles (16.031) et donne ainsi suite à la motion que le Parlement lui a transmise: tous les immeubles qu’une exploitation agricole ou sylvicole détient dans son actif immobilisé devraient êtres imposés de manière particulière, comme c’était le cas jusqu’en décembre 2011. Le Conseil fédéral propose toutefois au Parlement de refuser le projet.

27/4/2016:

Le Conseil national suit sa Commission et accepte la modification de la loi (Premier Conseil).

12/12/2016:

Le Conseil des Etats suit sa Commission et rejette la modification de la loi (Deuxième Conseil).

Session de printemps 2017

 Le Conseil national examinera une seconde fois le sujet.

 

Source: www.parlament.ch/fr/ratsbetrieb/suche-curia-vista/geschaeft?AffairId=20160031