“Light, air, freedom” – The Ahrenshoop artists’ colony turns 125

by Alfried Nehring*

Light, air, freedom – with these signal words, the Ahrenshoop Art Museum celebrates the founding of the “Künstlerkolonie Ahrenshoop” 125 years ago with a big anniversary exhibition this season. Young painters followed the example of their colleague Paul Müller-Kaempff in 1892, who had completed his training with the landscape painters Hans Gude and Eugen Bracht in Berlin, to settle down in the small fishing village on the coast of the Baltic Sea. Among the founding members was the painter Elisabeth von Eicken, who was already very well known at that time. Ladies had no access to the academies and thus the artists’ colony enjoyed a large clientele in their painting schools for ladies from the beginning on. They were of great concern for them and source of income equally for the founders Paul Müller-Kaempff and Friedrich Wachenhusen.

Paul Müller-Kaempf. Sweeping view over the village Ahrenshoop with goat herders and fishermen, 1890. (picture ma)

The unusual light between sea and Bodden attracted the painters as well as the clear air, the smell of salt of the Baltic Sea and the freshness of the jungle-like forest, which today still extends from the eastern village exit of Ahrenshoop to the island of Rügen as “Vorpommersche Boddenlandschaft” (Western Pomerania Lagoon Area National Park). Far removed from the regulated and hierarchical art business of the capital, from the hustle and bustle, the narrowness and the destruction of nature, becoming increasingly widespread by a wild industrialisation, they allowed themselves, to use the truth of nature in a still undestroyed uncivilised landscape for the most important measure of their painting. They colonised the small village and its picturesque surroundings by their art.
In simple words Paul Müller-Kaempff has recorded in his memoirs, what fascinated him about Ahrenshoop at that time and how a rather random study trip became a life choice for him: “In the late summer of 1889 I stayed in Wustrow on the ‘Fischland’ with my colleague, the animal painter Oskar Frenzel, to paint sketches. On an occasional hike on the high bank, reaching the last hill, suddenly there lay a village at our feet: Ahrenshoop. Nobody was to be seen, the hoary thatched roofs, the gray willows, and gray dunes gave the whole picture a touch of deepest seriousness and perfect virginity. Nowhere a bleak utility building with a cardboard roof, nothing that disturbed the overall impression, the village road very wide and sandy, no wire fence, no billboard. Behind the village on the Schifferberg the churchyard gazed over with white and black wooden lattices and crosses, overgrown with golden yellow blooming hawkweed. Dunes, forest and lake, in the distance we could see the dark line of the Darss. The dunes crowned with ancient white haw trees, hollies and wild roses. This was a place of study, as I had always wished for.” The idea for one of his most famous paintings, “Alter Schifferfriedhof im Dünen” from 1893 was formed by these impressions.

Paul Müller-Kaempf. Old boatman’s cemetery in the dunes, 1893. (picture ma)

In the new art museum of Ahrenshoop, created by civic involvement, the painting is always present for the visitors and tourists as a permanent loan from the art gallery at Kiel. It is one of 11 works from the period of the artists’ colony, for which the municipality of Ahrenshoop has built an artistic path with weather-resistant large-format reproductions on the occasion of the founding jubilee on the painters’ former motifs.
As an artist colony, Ahrenshoop has the advantage that its countryside is a magnet for the following generations and artists of European standing. In June of 1911, the Russian painters, Marianne von Werefkin and Alexej von Jawlenski travelled to Prerow, not far from Ahrenshoop on the Baltic Sea, as summer guests. The latter experienced a new beginning in his creativity. He wrote: “I painted in very strong, glowing colours, absolutely the opposite of natural and material. This was the turning point in my art.” Marianne von Werefkin integrated her impressions in colourfully expressionistic paintings “The cliffs of Ahrenshoop” which can be found today in the Museum of Modern Art in Ascona.
In a collection of exhibitions due to the jubilee of the artist colony, the Art Museum Ahrenshoop displays a further exhibition, dedicated to the artistic dialogue between tradition and modern. It seems to be an unusual idea, to confront the paintings of the Japanese artist, Leiko Ikemura, who currently lives in Berlin, with the paintings of the colour magician, Emil Nolde. The double presentation is part of the project “Nolde in the North” which, at the occasion of the 150th birthday of the painter, unifies the Nolde-Foundation in their original building, Seebüll together with nine other North German museums.

Leiko Ikemura. Genesis – St. Ursula, 2016. (picture ma)

Even if Nolde and Ikemura have never met and their paths in life and their work conditions were totally different, the museum’s guest can discover inspiring analogies through the paintings chosen by the curator, Dr Katrin Arrieta. Their realistic landscapes combined with natural experiences are a decided source of their art. As such, they are part of the tradition of landscape painting, as it developed in the 19th century.
Emile Nolde was born in 1867 in his beloved land between seas, Schleswig-Holstein and although he is only 6 years younger than Paul Müller-Kaempff, he stands for a completely new artist generation. As a skilled wood sculptor for the making of furniture, in 1893 he became a teacher for drawing and modelling in the Industry and Trade Museum in St. Gallen. His “Mountain postcards” of the summits which are depicted as figures of legends, sold so well that he decided to become an independent painter.
More than hundred years later Leiko Ikemura transferred her impressions of her studystay in Swiss Grisons in the tradition of Japanese Tuscan painting to a cycle of fairy mountainous landscapes, particularly large and impressive the picture “Genesis – St. Ursula” from 2016, Tempora on canvas. After her studies in Spain, stays in Zurich and Munich, Leiko Ikemura creates the artistic breakthrough in Cologne. In 1987, she received a first large-scale personal exhibition at the “Museum für Gegenwartskunst” in Basel, which today owns more than 100 works by Ikemura.
In 1907, Emil Nolde is chosen by the artist group Brücke as their spokesman because of his expressive coloring. Great successes of his exhibitions also lead to his membership in the Berlin Secession, from which he becomes excluded after an argument with Max Liebermann. His life in the metropolis and the art scene in the capital do not satisfy him. After all he finds the seclusion and inspiration he desired for his work in his own residence in Seebüll. There he created his world-famous still lifes in which “flower scenes” ripen into color-sparkling sensuous art experiences. Between the flower pictures of Ikemura and Nolde an artistic dialogue is also taking place in the exhibition at the Ahrenshoop Art Museum.

During the last 125 years Ahrenshoop has also changed considerably. At the time the artists started a dynamic that changed the remote fishing village to a long term destination for tourists. Nevertheless the local structure from the time of the artists’ colony is still recognisable, the surrounding landscape is largely natural. In the Darss forest, in the dunes of the Baltic Sea and in the meadows of the Bodden you can still feel the genius loci of once.
Even the architecture of the new art museum in Ahrenshoop is an expression of this connection between tradition and modernity. The Berlin-based architect group Staab has put the ensemble of a typical farm with a thatched roof into a modern cubature and covered it with architctural bronze.
By the anniversary year with its many-feceted cultural offerings Ahrenshoop has further consolidated its reputation as an artist’s place and gained charisma. The ties with Switzerland outlined here should be a small example.     •

* The author lives in Ahrenshoop. He was a succesful film and television producer and is the author of art books. His biography of the Russioan impressionist Isaak Levitan was presented in Current Concerns from 11 May 2017 (http://www.zeit-fragen.ch/en/ausgaben/2017/nr-11-9-mai-2017/abendglocken-an-der-wolga.html).

(Translation Current Concerns)

Marianne von Werefkin. High coast of Ahrenshoop, 1911.
(picture ma)
Art museum Ahrenshoop. Combination of tradition and modernity. (picture ma)

«Lumière, air, liberté» – le 125e anniversaire de la fondation du village d’artistes d’Ahrenshoop

par Alfried Nehring*

Lumière, air, liberté – c’est avec ces paroles-phares que le musée d’art d’Ahrenshoop célèbre cette saison par une grande exposition commémorative la fondation, il y a 125 ans, d’«Ahrenshoop, village d’artistes». En 1892, de jeunes peintres, hommes et femmes, suivirent l’exemple de leur collègue Paul Müller-Kaempff, lequel ayant achevé sa formation auprès des paysagistes Hans Gude et Eugen Bracht à Berlin, venait de s’établir dans ce petit village de pêcheurs sur la côte de la mer Baltique. Parmi les membres fondateurs, on trouvait également la déjà très célèbre femme-peintre Elisabeth von Eicken. Des écoles d’art privées réservées aux femmes, qui à cette époque n’avaient pas accès à l’académie des Beaux-Arts, fournirent dès le début une grande affluence à la colonie d’artistes et constituèrent en même temps pour les deux fondateurs, Paul Müller-Kaempff et Friedrich Wachenhusen, objectif et gagne-pain.

Paul Müller-Kaempff. Vue sur le village d’Ahrenshoop avec chevriers et pêcheurs, 1890.
(photo mad)

La lumière extraordinaire régnant entre la mer et la lagune du Saaler Bodden attirait elle aussi les peintres, tout comme l’air pur, l’odeur saline de la mer Baltique et la fraicheur de la forêt protégée. Cette forêt est située à l’est du village d’Ahrenshoop et s’étend encore aujourd’hui, jusqu’à l’île de Rügen, formant le «Parc national de Poméranie occidentale». Bien loin de la scène artistique réglementée et hiérarchisée de la capitale, de l’agitation, de l’étroitesse et de la destruction de la nature désormais largement répandues autour d’elle par l’industrialisation sauvage, ils s’octroyaient la liberté de rendre dans leur peinture, comme principal critère d’évaluation et toute sa véracité, un paysage encore intact, et pas encore touché par la civilisation. Par leur art, ils colonisèrent le petit village et ses alentours pittoresques.
Dans ses mémoires, Paul Müller-Kaempff a relaté avec des mots simples ce qui le fascinait alors à Ahrenshoop, et comment un voyage d’études entrepris plutôt par hasard se révéla pour lui une décision vitale: «A la fin de l’été 1889, avec mon collègue Oskar Frenzel, peintre animalier, je fis halte à Wustrow dans le Fischland, afin de réaliser des croquis. A l’occasion d’une randonnée sur la rive droite, alors que nous avions atteint les dernières hauteurs, un village s’étendit soudain à nos pieds: Ahrenshoop. Personne en vue, les toits de roseaux d’un gris passé, les pâturages gris et les dunes grises donnaient à ce spectacle impressionant un relief d’une profonde gravité et parfaitement inviolé. Nulle trace de construction utilitaire au toit de carton bitumé, rien qui dérange l’effet d’ensemble, la rue du village très large et sablonneuse, aucune clôture métallique, aucun panneau publicitaire. Derrière le village sur le Schifferberg, on voyait le cimetière aux grilles de bois et aux croix blanches et noires, envahi par les épervières en fleur jaune d’or. Les dunes, la forêt et la mer, et au loin les contours sombres du Darss. Des dunes couronnées de très anciens buissons d’aubépine, de houx et d’églantine. C’était un vrai sujet d’étude, comme je l’avais toujours souhaité.» A partir de ces impressions se met en place l’idée de l’un de ses tableaux les plus connus: «Ancien cimetière de marins dans les dunes» de 1893.

Paul Müller-Kaempff. Ancien cimetière de marins dans les dunes, 1893. (photo mad)

Les touristes et les visiteurs peuvent toujours voir le tableau, prêté à titre permanent par le Musée d’art et de culture de Kiel, dans le nouveau Musée d’art d’Ahrenshoop créé dans le cadre de l’engagement citoyen. Il fait partie des 11 œuvres de l’époque de la colonie d’artistes pour laquelle la commune Ahrenshoop a construit un sentier parsemé d’œuvres d’art avec des reproductions grand format et résistant aux intempéries à l’occasion de l’anniversaire de la fondation selon les motifs anciens des peintres.
Haut-lieu artistique, Ahrenshoop a l’avantage d’avoir été, par ses paysages, un pôle d’attraction pour les générations suivantes et les artistes de renommée européenne. En juin 1911, les peintres russes Marianne von Werefkin et Alexej de Jawlenski se rendirent à Prerow à titre d’invités d’été, non loin d’Ahrenshoop sur la mer Baltique. Alexej de Jawlensky y expérimenta un bouleversement de son processus créatif. Il écrit: «Là, je me mis à peindre avec des couleurs très vives, brûlantes, absolument pas naturalistes ni thématiques. Ce fut un tournant de mon art.» Marianne von Werefkin traitait ses impressions dans un tableau expressionniste haut en couleurs «La falaise d’Ahrenshoop» qui se trouve aujourd’hui au Musée d’art moderne d’Ascona.
Dans le carrousel d’expositions à l’occasion de la commémoration de la colonie d’artistes, le Musée d’Ahrenshoop montre une autre exposition consacrée au dialogue artistique entre la tradition et l’époque moderne. Cela peut sembler de prime abord une idée extraordinaire que de confronter les tableaux de la peintre japonaise Leiko Ikemura, vivant aujourd’hui à Berlin, à ceux du magicien des couleurs, Emil Nolde. La présentation double fait partie du projet «Nolde dans le Nord», qui réunit pour le 150e anniversaire de la naissance du peintre la fondation Nolde dans sa maison d’origine de Seebüll à des expositions spéciales dans neuf autres musées d’Allemagne du Nord.

Leiko Ikemura. La Genèse – Sainte Ursule, 2016. (photo mad)

Bien que Nolde et Ikemura ne se soient jamais rencontrés et qu’on ne puisse imaginer des vies et des conditions de travail si différentes, le visiteur peut découvrir dans les tableaux choisis par Katrin Arrieta, la directrice artistique et curatrice du Musée, des analogies pleines d’inspiration. Pour les deux artistes, leur expérience de la nature liée à des paysages réels est la source décisive de leur art. Ils se trouvent ainsi complètement dans la tradition de la peinture paysagiste, telle qu’elle est apparue dans les colonies d’artistes au XIXe siècle.
Emil Nolde, né en 1867 dans le pays d’entre-deux mers qu’il a tant aimé, le Schleswig-Holstein, n’a que 6 ans de moins que Paul Müller-Kaempff et fait partie cependant d’une génération d’artistes totalement nouvelle. Sculpteur sur bois qualifié pour l’ébénisterie, il devient en 1893 professeur spécialisé de dessin et de modelage au Musée des arts et métiers de Saint-Gall. Ses «cartes postales de montagne» des sommets alpins se vendant si bien en tant que légendes folkloriques, qu’il décide de devenir peintre indépendant.
Plus d’un siècle plus tard, Leiko Ikemura traite ses impressions d’un séjour d’études dans les Grisons dans la tradition de la peinture japonaise à l’encre de Chine dans un cycle de paysages de montagne fabuleux, et tout particulièrement le tableau grand format si impressionnant «La Genèse – Sainte Ursule» de 2016, Tempora sur toile.
Après ses études en Espagne, des séjours à Zurich et Munich, Leiko Ikemura accomplit à Cologne sa percée artistique. En 1987, elle voit sa première exposition personnelle de grande envergure au Musée d’art contemporain de Bâle qui possède aujourd’hui plus de 100 œuvres d’Ikemura.
En 1907, Emil Nolde est choisi comme porte-parole par le mouvement artistique Brücke en raison de son expressive maîtrise des couleurs. Des expositions particulièrement couronnées de succès amènent également son ralliement au mouvement Sécession berlinoise, duquel il sera cependant exclu à la suite d’une polémique avec Max Liebermann. La vie dans la grande ville et la scène artistique métropolitaine ne le satisfont pas. Il retrouve enfin dans sa demeure, conçue à Seebüll selon son propre projet, la solitude désirée pour son travail et son inspiration. C’est là que naissent ses natures mortes connues dans le monde entier, dans lesquelles s’épanouissent des «destins de fleur» jaillissant de sensuelles expériences artistiques. Ainsi, s’établit au Musée d’Ahrenshoop un dialogue artistique entre les tableaux de fleurs d’Ikemura et de Nolde.

Au cours des 125 ans écoulés depuis la fondation de la colonie d’artistes, Ahrenshoop a aussi beaucoup changé. A l’époque les peintres avaient initié une dynamique transformant, pour les touristes, un lointain village de pêcheurs en lieu de nostalgie. Pourtant, la structure locale du temps de la colonie d’artistes est encore reconnaissable car le paysage alentour est resté à l’état de nature. Dans le Darsswald, dans les dunes au bord de la mer Baltique et dans les prés du Bodden, on sent encore le génie du lieu d’autrefois.
L’architecture du nouveau Musée des beaux-arts d’Ahrenshoop est elle aussi l’expression de ce lien entre la tradition et l’époque moderne. Le groupe d’architectes berlinois Staab a façonné un ensemble sous la forme d’une ferme locale caractéristique avec son toit de chaume, transformée en formes cubiques recouvertes de bronze bruni.
Tout au long de l’année de commémoration, et avec ses offres culturelles multiformes, Ahrenshoop a réaffirmé son renom en tant que haut-lieu artistique et a acquis en notoriété. Les liens ici esquissés avec la Suisse doivent en être un petit exemple.    •

* L’auteur vit à Ahrenshoop. Il a été producteur de cinéma et de télévision couronné de succès et il est maintenant auteur de livres d’art. Nous avons présenté sa biographie de l’impressionniste russe Isaak Levitan dans Horizons et débats no 11 du 15/5/17.

Marianne von Werefkin. La falaise d’Ahrenshoop, 1911. (photo mad)
Musée d’art d’Ahrenshoop. Lien étroit entre la tradition et la modernité. (photo mad)