One war can hide another – after the Caliphate, Rojava

by Thierry Meyssan

This map was published by Robin Wright nine months before the offensive by Daesh into Iraq and Syria. According to this Pentagon researcher, it rectifies the map published in 2005 by Ralf Peters for the reshaping of the Greater Middle East. (picture ma)

While the Syrian Arab Army, the Russian aviation and Hezbollah are preparing to finish off Daesh, the Pentagon is planning a new war against Syria, this time with Kurdish troops. Just as the mission of the Caliphate was to create a Sunnistan straddling Iraq and Syria, so the mission of “Rojava” is to create a Kurdistan straddling the two states, as the Pentagon has been publicly stating for the last four years.
According to US grand strategy, as defined by Admiral Cebrowski in 2001, and published in 2004 by his assistant Thomas Barnett, all of the Greater Middle East must be destroyed except for Israël, Jordan and Lebanon.
Consequently, the imminent victory against Daesh will change nothing of the Pentagon’s intentions.
President Trump is against the manipulation of the jihadists. He has stopped the financial and military support that his country was giving them, and has managed to convince Saudi Arabia and Pakistan to do the same. He has modified NATO policies in the matter. However, nothing yet hints as to whether or not he will also oppose the Pentagon’s grand strategy. As far as the US Interior is concerned, the whole of Congress is in league against him, and he has no possibility of preventing a procedure for destitution other than negotiating with the Democratic Party.
Donald Trump has composed his administration of ex-senior civil servants from the Obama administration, a number of opportunistic politicians, many improvised representatives, and very very few trustworthy personalities.
His special representative against Daesh, Brett McGurk, is an ex-collaborator of President Obama, and is supposed to serve Trump’s new policy. On 18 August, he organised a meeting with the tribal leaders to “fight Daesh”. However, the photographs he published attest to the fact that, on the contrary, several of Daesh’s leaders also participated in the meeting.
In the same vein, helicopters of the US Special Forces exfiltrated two European leaders of Daesh and their families from the outskirts of Deiz ez-Zor, before they could be taken prisoner by the Syrian Arab Army on 26 August. Two days later, they also exfiltrated about twenty more Daesh officers.
Everything looks as though the Pentagon were storing away its jihadist structure and conserving it for other operations elsewhere. Simultaneously, it is preparing a new episode against Syria with a new army, which, this time, will be composed around Kurdish forces.
This war, like the war against the Caliphate,was announced four years ago in the New York Times, by Robin Wright, a researcher at the US Institute of Peace (equivalent to the NED for the Pentagon). It also planned to divide the Yemen into two states, potentially shared between Riyadh and Abu Dhabi – and finally, last but not least, to dismember Saudi Arabia.
Meanwhile, the “Rojava” project corresponds to Israeli strategy, which, since the end of the 1990’s and the development of missiles, is no longer concentrated on controlling its border regions (the Sinai, the Golan and South Lebanon), but on taking its neighbours from behind (hence the creation of South Sudan and eventually, Greater Kurdistan).
The recruiting drive for European soldiers for the “Rojava” project has only just begun. A priori, it could assemble as many combatants as there were for the jihad, insofar as the members of the anarchist groups which provide manpower are as numerous in Europe as common law prisoners.
Indeed, the jihadist network began in French prisons before becoming a generalised “crusade”. It is probable that the recruitment within the anarchist movement will also spread as the conflict goes on. Washington, London, Paris and Berlin, who organised this recruitment, planned in the long term.
I use the word “crusade” deliberately, because these wars in the Middle Ages, like the one we have just experienced, were in fact European imperialist operations against the people of the Greater Middle East. It is just as grotesque to claim that there is a link between the message of Christ and the crusades as to claim a link between the Prophet and jihadism. In both cases, the commanders were “Westerners”1 and these conflicts exclusively served Western imperialism. The successive crusades bled across two centuries, and the majority of Chrisitians in the Levant fought alongside their Muslim compatriots against the invaders.
Not long ago, the French Minister for Foreign Affairs, Laurent Fabius, publicly declared that President Assad “did not deserve to be on Earth”, and confirmed that the jihadists were doing a “good job”. Many young people answered his call by joining Al-Nusra (Al-Qaida), then Daesh. Today, the French ex-Minister for Foreign Affairs, Bernard Kouchner, publicly announced that France would support the creation of state which would include Iraqi Kurdistan and the corridor to the Mediterranean via Syria. A few young Europeans have already answered this call, and many others will follow.
Today, as in 2011–12, the Western Press has taken the side of this new anti-Syrian army, supported by their governments. It will never question the treachery of Abdullah Öcalan, who renounced Marxist-Leninism for anarchy. It will repeat that Kurdistan has already been recognised by the Sèvres Conference, in 1920, but it will avoid looking at the documents which specify its boundaries. It will believe it to be legitimate in Iraq and Syria, although it is currently situated in Turkey. It will ignore the fact that the frontiers in fact correspond to nothing other than the plans developed by the Pentagon.
The referendum for the independence of the Iraqi region of Kurdistan and the territories annexed with the help of Daesh will launch the beginning of this operation, on 25 September. As in 2014, it will be intended to simultaneously destroy Iraq and Syria, this time without creating a “Sunnistan” from Rakka to Mossul, but a “Kurdistan”, on a territory linking Erbil and Kirkuk to the Mediterranean.    •

1    This term is poorly chosen insofar as “Westerner” is not opposed to “Oriental”, but to “Soviet”. I could find no other term to describe collectively the Europeans, the North-Americans and the Israelis. Author’s note.

(Translation Pete Kimberley)

Source: www.voltairenet.org from 19 September 2017

Kurds and Kurdistan

“The Kurds live in a region of strategic importance. Abundance of water and oil deposits are such a significant factor that neither Turkey nor Iraq can waive these resources also claimed by the Kurds. Thus, Kurdistan is of geopolitical importance for the Western world. This has contributed to a lively interest in the events and persons.” (p. 15)
“It’s abundance of water makes Kurdistan a strategic region of importance in an otherwise arid world. With a glance at the map the two streams Euphrates and Tigris are already dominating, but numerous rivers and lakes are to be added, e.g. the two Zab rivers and the Aras. The headstreams (those of the Euphrates are called Murat and Karasu) and the upper courses of the two streams run on Turkish territory. Several large dams (inter alia the Atatürk Dam southeast of Adiyaman) have been put into operation, used to produce electricity and in partly initiated and partially realized projects – such as the South East Anatolia Project (GAP, abbreviation for Güney-Dogu Anadolu Projesi) – to transform vast land between Urfa and Gaziantep into agricultural land.” (pp. 24)
“Oil deposits in Kurdistan are a major economic and geo-political factor. The distribution of the income from the oil fields of Kirkuk (not laying in the Kurdish part, but claimed by the Kurds) has not yet been conclusively clarified between the central government in Baghdad and the RRKI (regional government Kurdistan Iraq).” (p. 25)

Source: Strohmeier, Martin; Yalcin-Heckmann, Lale. Die Kurden. Geschichte. Politik. Kultur. 2010, ISBN 978-3406 59195 2

(Translation Current Concerns)

Nato’s Anarchist Brigades

“So the Pentagon has added to the number of ‘their’ Kurds, not only a few Arab and Assyrian mercenaries, but above all, militants from the European extreme-left. […] Just as the CIA has enrolled tens of thousands of young Western Muslims in order to turn them into Islamists, in the same way, it has recruited European anarchists to create the International Brigades, on the model of those which fought in 1936 in Barcelona against the fascists. We can also find auxiliary YPG/NATO troops such as the Internationalist Antifascist Batallion (Central Europe), the Bob Crow Brigade (English and Irish), the Henri Krasucki Brigade (French), the International Revolutionary People’s Guerrilla Forces (Americas), the Revolutionary Union for Internationalist Solidarity (Greek), the Unity of the Marxist-Leninist Party (Spanish), and all the pro-US Turkish groupuscules (DK, DKP, MLSPB-DC, PDKÖ, SI, TDP, TKEP/L, TKPML) to mention only the most visible (cf. “LGBT Brigades In Syria? Western Anarcho-Leftists Cutting Their Teeth With Western-Backed Kurdish YPG”, Brandon Turbeville, Activist Post, July 27, 2017. “Le Rojava, un califat d’extrême gauche? Réseaux ‘antifascistes’ et terrorisme: le laboratoire kurde”, Observatoire des extrêmes de gauche, 16 août 2017).

Source: Meyssan, Thierry. Nato’s Anarchist Brigades, www.voltairenet.org from 12 September 2017

Une guerre peut en cacher une autre – après le Califat, le «Rojava»

par Thierry Meyssan

Cette carte a été publiée par Robin Wright neuf mois avant l’offensive de Daesh en Irak et en Syrie. Selon la chercheuse du Pentagone, elle rectifie celle publiée en 2005 par Ralf Peters pour le remodelage du Moyen-Orient élargi. (photo mad)

Alors que l’Armée arabe syrienne, l’aviation russe et le Hezbollah s’apprêtent à en finir avec Daesh, le Pentagone planifie une nouvelle guerre contre la Syrie, cette fois avec des troupes kurdes. De même que la mission du Califat était de créer un Sunnistan à cheval sur l’Irak et la Syrie, de même celle du «Rojava» est de créer un Kurdistan à cheval sur les deux Etats, ainsi que le Pentagone le prévoit publiquement depuis quatre ans.
Selon la «grande stratégie» étatsunienne, définie par l’amiral Cebrowski en 2001 et publicisée en 2004 par son adjoint Thomas Barnett, l’ensemble du Proche-Orient élargi doit être détruit à l’exception d’Israël, de la Jordanie et du Liban.
Par conséquent, la victoire imminente contre Daesh ne changera pas les intentions du Pentagone.
Le président Trump s’est opposé à la manipulation des jihadistes. Il a stoppé le soutien financier et militaire que son pays leur accordait. Il est parvenu à convaincre l’Arabie saoudite et le Pakistan de faire de même. Il a modifié la politique de l’OTAN en la matière. Cependant rien ne permet de savoir s’il s’opposera également à la grande stratégie du Pentagone. Au plan intérieur, l’ensemble du Congrès s’est ligué contre lui et il n’a d’autre possibilité pour empêcher une procédure de destitution que de négocier avec le Parti démocrate.
Donald Trump a composé son administration avec d’anciens hauts-fonctionnaires de l’administration Obama, des politiciens opportunistes, beaucoup de responsables improvisés, et quelques très très rares personnalités de confiance.
Son représentant spécial contre Daesh, Brett McGurk, est un ancien collaborateur du président Obama censé servir sa nouvelle politique. Il a organisé le 18 août une réunion avec des chefs de tribus pour «lutter contre Daesh». Pourtant, les photographies qu’il en a diffusées attestent qu’au contraire plusieurs leaders de Daesh participaient à cette rencontre.
Dans la même veine, des hélicoptères des Forces spéciales américaines ont exfiltré deux chefs européens de Daesh et leurs familles des alentours de Deiz ez-Zor, avant qu’ils ne soient faits prisonniers par l’Armée arabe syrienne, le 26 août. Deux jours plus tard, ils ont à nouveau exfiltré une vingtaine d’autres officiers du Califat.
Tout se passe donc comme si le Pentagone repliait son dispositif jihadiste en le conservant pour des opérations sous d’autres cieux. Simultanément, il prépare une nouvelle manche contre la Syrie, avec une nouvelle armée. Cette fois composée autour de troupes kurdes.
Cette guerre, comme celle du Califat, a été annoncée il y a quatre ans dans le «New York Times», par Robin Wright, chercheuse à l’US Institute of Peace, équivalent de la NED (National Endowment for Democracy) pour le Pentagone. Elle prévoyait également de diviser le Yémen en deux Etats, comme pourrait se le partager aujourd’hui Riyad et Abu Dhabi; et enfin, last but not the least, de démembrer l’Arabie saoudite.
Au demeurant, le projet de «Rojava» correspond à la stratégie israélienne qui, depuis la fin des années 90 et le développement des missiles, ne vise plus à contrôler les frontières extérieures (le Sinaï, le Golan et le Sud du Liban), mais à prendre par revers ses voisins (d’où la création du Soudan du Sud et éventuellement du Grand Kurdistan).
Le recrutement de soldats européens pour le «Rojava» ne fait que commencer. Il a a priori la capacité de rassembler autant de combattants qu’il y en a eu pour le jihad, dans la mesure où les groupes anarchistes [cf. encadré] servant de vivier sont aussi nombreux en Europe que les prisonniers de droit commun.
En effet, la filière jihadiste a d’abord commencé dans les prisons françaises avant de se transformer en «croisade» généralisée. Il est probable que le recrutement au sein du mouvement anarchiste sera lui aussi élargi par la suite. Washington, Londres, Paris et Berlin qui ont organisé ce recrutement l’ont pensé dans la longue durée.
J’emploie délibérément le mot «croisade» car ces guerres du Moyen-Âge, comme celle que nous venons de vivre, étaient des opérations impérialistes européennes contre les peuples du Moyen-Orient élargi. Il est tout aussi grotesque de prétendre qu’il existe un lien entre le message du Christ et les croisades qu’il y en aurait un entre celui du Prophète et le jihadisme. Dans les deux cas, les donneurs d’ordre sont «occidentaux»1 et ces conflits servent exclusivement l’impérialisme occidental. Les croisades successives s’étalèrent sur deux siècles et la majorité des chrétiens du Levant se battirent aux côtés de leurs compatriotes musulmans contre les envahisseurs.
Jadis, le ministre français des Affaires étrangères, Laurent Fabius, déclarait publiquement que le président Assad «ne méritait pas d’être sur Terre» et assurait que les jihadistes faisaient du «bon boulot». De nombreux jeunes gens ont répondu à son appel en rejoignant Al-Nosra (Al-Qaïda), puis Daesh. Aujourd’hui, l’ancien ministre français des Affaires étrangères, Bernard Kouchner, annonce publiquement que la France soutiendra la création d’un Etat qui englobe le Kurdistan irakien et le couloir qui le relie à la Méditerranée à travers la Syrie. Quelques jeunes européens ont déjà répondu à cet appel, bien d’autres suivront.
Aujourd’hui, comme en 2011/12, la presse occidentale prend fait et cause pour cette nouvelle armée anti-syrienne soutenue par ses gouvernements. Jamais elle ne questionnera le retournement de veste d’Abdullah Öcalan, passé du marxisme-léninisme à l’anarchisme. Elle répétera que le Kurdistan a déjà été reconnu lors de la Conférence de Sèvres, en 1920, mais ne consultera pas les documents qui précisent ses frontières. Elle le croira légitime en Irak et en Syrie alors qu’il se situe dans l’actuelle Turquie. Elle ignorera le fait que son tracé correspond en réalité aux seuls plans du Pentagone.
Le référendum pour l’indépendance de la région irakienne du Kurdistan et des territoires annexés avec l’aide de Daesh lancera le début de cette opération, le 25 septembre. Comme en 2014, il s’agira de détruire simultanément l’Irak et la Syrie, cette fois non pas en créant un «Sunnistan» de Rakka à Mossoul, mais un «Kurdistan», sur un territoire reliant Erbil et Kirkouk à la Méditerranée.    •

Source:  voltairenet.org du 19/9/17

1    Ce terme est mal choisi dans la mesure où «occidental» ne s’oppose pas à «oriental», mais à «soviétique». Je n’ai pas trouvé d’autre mot pour désigner à la fois les Européens, les Nord-Américains et les Israéliens. NdA.

Les Kurdes et le Kurdistan

«Les Kurdes habitent une région d’intérêt stratégique. Sa richesse en eau et les gisements pétrolifères sont si importants que ni la Turquie ni l’Irak ne peuvent renoncer à de telles ressources réclamées aussi par les Kurdes. Ainsi, le Kurdistan est d’une importance géopolitique également pour le monde occidental. Ce qui explique l’intérêt apporté aux évènements et aux personnages.» (p. 15)
«Dans une région du monde en manque d’eau, la richesse en eau donne au Kurdistan une importance stratégique. En jetant un coup d’œil sur la carte, on remarque tout de suite les deux fleuves dominants, l’Euphrate et le Tigre, auxquels s’ajoutent de nombreux lacs et rivières, par exemple le Grand et le Petit Zab et l’Aras. Les sources (s’appelant Murat et Karasu pour l’Euphrate) et les cours supérieurs des deux fleuves se trouvent sur le territoire turc. Plusieurs grands barrages (tel le barrage Atatürk au sud-est d’Adiyaman), alimentant la région en électricité, y ont été mis en service. En outre, il y a des projets en cours de réalisation ou déjà terminés – comme le projet GAP (Güney-Dogu Anadolu Projesi) au sud-est de l’Anatolie – prévoyant de transformer de vastes parties de la région entre Urfa et Gaziantep en surfaces agricoles.» (p. 24s.)
«Les gisements de pétrole au Kurdistan sont un facteur de grande importance économique et géopolitique. Le gouvernement central de Bagdad et le RRKI (gouvernement régional du Kurdistan d’Irak) n’ont toujours pas clarifier définitivement la répartition des revenus des gisements pétrolifères de Kirkuk (revendiqués par les Kurdes bien qu’ils ne se trouvent pas sur leur territoire).» (p. 25)

Source: Strohmeier, Martin; Yalcin-Heckmann, Lale. Die Kurden. Geschichte. Politik. Kultur [Les Kurdes. Histoire, politique, culture] 2010. ISBN 978 3 406 59195 2

(Traduction Horizons et débats)

Les brigades anarchistes de l’OTAN

«Aussi le Pentagone a-t-il adjoint à ‹ses› kurdes, non seulement quelques mercenaires arabes et assyriens, mais aussi des militants de l’extrême-gauche européenne.
De même que la CIA a embrigadé des dizaines de milliers de jeunes musulmans occidentaux pour en faire des islamistes, de même, elle commence à recruter des anarchistes européens pour constituer des Brigades internationales, sur le modèle de celles qui se battirent en 1936 à Barcelone contre les fascistes. On trouve ainsi comme troupes supplétives du YPG/OTAN le Bataillon antifasciste internationaliste (Europe centrale), la Brigade Bob Crow (Anglais et Irlandais), la Brigade Henri Krasucki (Français), les Forces internationales et révolutionnaires de guérilla du peuple (Amériques), l’Union révolutionnaire pour la solidarité internationale (Grecs), l’Unité du Parti marxiste-léniniste (Espagnols), et tous les groupuscules turcs pro-américains (DK, DKP, MLSPB-DC, PDKÖ, SI, TDP, TKEP/L, TKPML) pour ne citer que les plus voyants.» (cf. «LGBT Brigades In Syria? Western Anarcho-Leftists Cutting Their Teeth With Western-Backed Kurdish YPG», Brandon Turbeville, Activist Post, July 27, 2017. «Le Rojava, un califat d’extrême gauche? Réseaux ‹antifascistes› et terrorisme: le laboratoire kurde», Observatoire des extrêmes de gauche, 16 août 2017.)

Source: Meyssan, Thierry. Les Brigades anarchistes de l’OTAN, www.voltairenet.org. du 12/9/17