How can democracy in Germany become more direct?

by Christian Fischer

After the general election, we have a more colourful parliament in Germany and are experiencing great difficulties in forming a government. However, many citizens do not see this as the expression of an increased diversity of opinion and of irreconcilable contradictions – too much do most parties argue about points which are not really fundamental, and too much are their differences recognisable rather as tactical games in the party poker than as sound arguments. In the citizenry, therefore, voices against a facade democracy and for more direct democracy are becoming louder. That is why the relationship between direct and representative democracy shall for once be examined in more detail here.

“Vote today!” Why not also in Germany? (picture ma)

First, the term “representative”, by which our democracy in Germany is often characterised, must itself be examined critically. It does not appear in German Basic Law. Karl Albrecht Schachtschneider points out1 that the term was introduced by Carl Schmitt in 1928, in order to politically legitimise an ostensibly democratic system – or better said: to deprive the people of their right of decision. In the teaching of the Schmitt student Gerhard Leibholz, who unfortunately determined the jurisprudence of the Federal Constitutional Court over 20 years, the concept of representation served to establish the dominion by “representative” parties over a no longer sovereign citizenship. The political system of Germany would, on the contrary, be correctly described by the concept of (parliamentary) “substitution”. In this term, the constitutionally desired sovereignty of citizens is not lost.

Direct or via substitution – a contrast?

Even in Switzerland in which directl democracy is further developed, and which must be mentioned as a point of reference on this subject, there are parliamentary representatives who draft laws, laws of which not less than 90% are not “presented to the people”. Of course here every law can be put to a nationwide vote if 50,000 signatures demand this. The people can also initiate constitutional changes themselves, if they collect 100,000 signatures calling for this. At the federal level, laws passed by parliament and having constitutional status must be brought “before the people”. But all of this is no substitute for an at least semi-professional legislature. And certainly not for other genuine representation tasks of the state. Every court verdict is pronounced “in the name of the people”. Every “minister” and every policeman acts on behalf of the sovereignty of the people. And that is as it should be.
If you think of a democracy as a political cooperative (Switzerland is a “confederation”) in which the associates (“citizens”) have equal voting rights, then you see that there must also be membership meetings (“elections”) in which committees capable of acting are chosen. In the big “democracy cooperative”, these are a parliament as a legislative and a government as an executive branch, and a number of other sovereign institutions. In each cooperative, the committees are left alone with their work for a while; they can and must act independently. With a complex cooperative like a state, day-to-day business is far more extensive than, say, with a cooperative of winegrowers.
Unfortunately, in our state the parties have become more powerful and ensure that there is less and less contact between parliament and the sovereign, and that the people as sovereign can make themselves known politically almost exclusively via party activity – as if just being a citizen were not enough for “maturity”. In Germany this is also a consequence of the jurisprudence of the Federal Constitutional Court, which was shaped by Carl Schmitt’s doctrine,2 whereby to all intents and purposes, the parties were established as representatives of the people.

Fair and just elections

In Germany, unlike in many other democracies, a double electoral system has been set up for national elections, where one citizen per constituency is directly elected with a first vote and one party with a second vote. In this way the personality of a representative is to the fore on the one hand, and on the other hand, the proportionality of the second vote prevents a majority of the votes (for all defeated candidates) from being virtually ignored – as is the case with the majority voting system. That is a good idea. However, the candidates for direct election are almost always party representatives at the same time, and many of them are placed on the party list for the second vote in such a way that they are secure of their mandate even as runner-up or third place finisher. So this in turn almost reduces the idea to absurdity.
There are exceptions. In the last federal election in 2017, there were 28 non-party direct candidates, of which one reached 9% of the votes in his constituency; the others remained more or less clearly in the per mille region.3 Concerning party proportionality, a 5% clause has also been introduced – without any constitutional obligation – so that only fairly stable (and always sponsored!) parties make the final leap into parliament. Parties with fewer than about 2.8 million votes do not achieve a seat in the “Bundestag”. Even this arbitrary rule might be questioned some time!
Nevertheless, with the two votes, the elections of our representatives are clearly “fairer” than would be the case with an exclusive majority vote. But regardless of which direct candidates are elected, parliament will always reflect the second vote of the parties by means of the overhang seats. German Basic Law did not want that: “Political parties shall participate in the formation of the political will of the people.” (Article 21) That and nothing else is the function which the German Basic Law assigns to the political parties, and it does not say that the representation of the parties in proportion to each other should be practically the only possible form of expression for the will of the electorate – which would then really be only representative. Or that the parliamentarians would then even be under the obligation to vote in accordance with party policy, contrary to Art. 38 of the Basic Law (“Members of the German ‘Bundestag’ […] shall be representatives of the whole people, not bound by orders or instructions, and responsible only to their conscience”). So this pressure to vote in accordance with party policy is illegal.
Perhaps it would be more correct if the parties’ participation were limited to the second vote in each constituency: the first vote is for a direct candidate who, of course, belongs to a party but should not be allowed to be on a party list at the same time. The first vote would therefore be true majority voting. The constitutionally intended “participation of the political parties” is sufficiently given by the second vote. This provides for a broader representation of the different popular wills (plural) than can be obtained by an exclusively majority voting. The current criticism of the many overhang mandates would be pointless. The faction formation could, for example, be restricted to the party representatives of the second vote. Half of the deputies (first vote) would remain non-attached; of course they would be allowed to vote with a political group if they so wanted. Perhaps many party politicians would not get involved in the first-vote experiment, and the chance for non-party or party-politically non-career-minded, matter-of-fact citizens to be elected into the “Bundestag” would be greater. The vote cast for a candidate rather than a party which is actually intended by the two-vote system would be largely freed from the parties’ grip, and by its party proportionality, the second vote would even have largely mitigated the injustices of pure majority voting.
This is meant only as a contribution to a discussion about how party power might be limited. Measured against the mere “participation in the formation of wills” stipulated by German Basic Law, the parties would be very well served, because they would still have a higher degree of political decision-making power than can be read out of this sentence in the constitution.

Plebiscites in the federation, the states and the municipalities

This also states: “All state authority […] shall be exercised by the people through elections and other votes and through specific legislative, executive, and judicial bodies.” (Article 20, emphasis cf.). However, there are still no plebiscites as the exercise of popular power at the federal level today.
Once in 2002, there was an attempt supported by 348 of 549 delegates in the German “Bundestag”, i.e. by 63.3%. 66.7% would have been needed. It was to introduce a constitutional amendment that would allow the people to introduce legislative popular initiatives into the legislature by means of a three-stage voting procedure. (This requires the amendment of Art. 76 of the Basic Law, because this does not yet provide for the plebiscite as a source of legislation.)
Also in 2006, 2010, and 2013, there were attempts at parliamentary level and in coalition negotiations, but these failed mainly because of the CDU/CSU, and partly because of other parties.4 The association “Mehr Demokratie (more democracy) e.V.” has for many years been campaigning for the implementation of this Basic Law instruction,5 and also did so currently after the last “Bundestag” election, and parallel to the coalition negotiations.
But on which topics might there be plebiscites at federal level? Article 73 of the Basic Law provides information: Foreign and foreign trade policy, nationwide infrastructure tasks, defense and monetary policy, some other topics. Yes, these are important issues, but many important political issues are matters of the states or the subject of “concurrent” legislation of the federation and the states (Article 74 of the Basic Law), i.e. between the “Bundestag” and the “Bundesrat”. That is also good, because the more decentralised and federal the organisation of the state, the more democratic it is.
Speaking of federalism, our “Bundesrat” (federal council) can also be taken into consideration when considering direct democracy. The citizens are not very conscious of it as the council representing the states. There is a reason for this: It is not elected by the citizens. It is an assembly of the state governments, i.e. their executives, which have 3–6 votes depending on the federal state. Why not elect the “Bundesrat” (federal council) by direct vote after an according constitutional amendment of Art. 51? And let it have its own personnel? One could still go with several representatives per federal state and fashion this election according to a system in which a vote is cast for a candidate rather than a party, with one vote per citizen. Of course, the candidates can be party members. But then not only first place finishers, but also second, third and so on placers could join the state representation.
But let us return to the plebiscite. Referendum regulations were already included in the state constitutions of some federal states between 1946 and 1950, in the other states between 1974 and 1996. There are also such regulations at municipal level. The rules are very different, and not infrequently the necessary quorums are so high, that they discourage interested citizens from the outset from taking on such hardships with so little hope of success. For example, this led to more than 1,500 referendums having been held in Bavaria by 2013, but not a single one in Saarland after this joined the Federal Republic. Nationwide, more than 7,000 referendums were counted.6 An example of a plebiscite which failed because of the quorum was an initiative in Rielasingen, Baden-Wuerttemberg, which demanded that a well-run secondary school be continued. Even though a large majority of the voters were in favour, the necessary quorum was not achieved.
Plebiscites led to the reestablishment of the state of Baden-Wuerttemberg in 1952, and to the admission of the Saarland into the Federal Republic in 1955–1957. In 1996, the merger of Berlin and Brandenburg was rejected by referendum of the population. Other random examples are the non-smokers’ protection in Bavaria or the school reform in Hamburg (both 2010), the partial privatisation of the Berlin water works or the project “Stuttgart 21” (both 2011), the rejection of a huge outlet center on the former freight yard (and Loveparade-) area in Duisburg, or the approval for the continued operation of Tegel Airport in Berlin (both 2017).
So despite the lack of coordination at the federal level, direct democracy is by no means a foreign body in the political life of our country. Voting must be possible on all issues of public concern, and, incidentally, also on questions of tax collection!
Werner WŁthrich gives a detailed account of Switzerland’s positive experience of tax settlements by the sovereign7 and summarises this as follows: “The objection that such a thing works only on a small scale, like in municipalities or in small cantons, has proved to be a mistake. The referendums have repeatedly led to amazing results that stand the test – perhaps precisely because the voters are not financial and economic experts.” In Switzerland, this works above all through the interplay between parliamentary work and direct initiatives from the people. This successful interplay can also be followed over decades using the example of agriculture.8 It is indeed easier to reconcile individual initiatives with an overall popular will with the help of parliamentary mediation and proposals, which perhaps also take into account more, and more far-reaching criteria. Marianne WŁthrich demonstrates how this process can in the meantime also start to unravel in Switzerland.9

What should be done in Germany?

Plebiscites on factual issues must be anchored institutionally, not only at the state and community levels, but also at the federal level. This is what German Basic Law has been aiming at since 1949. For this purpose, Art. 76 (1) must be amended so that bills can also be introduced into the “Bundestag” directly by referenda or, depending on the outcome, can gain legal force immediately.
At the same time, plebiscites at the state and local level must be further developed and put to practical use; democracy thrives on decentralised federalism, and many important topics are constitutionally no federal topics. The quorums must be made low-threshold or even completely abolished everywhere. What is the democratic meaning of these quorums if approved ballots are sufficiently officially published?
Voting must be possible on all issues, unless they pursue goals that violate the “eternal” Articles 1 and 20 of the Basic Law. This is especially true for topics of tax collection. On this point, the previous regulations at the state and local level have to be corrected. There is no constitutional justification for this restriction.
Finally the direct right of the sovereign to vote on matters in the legislative process requires the awareness among politicians that this is part of the self-evident political practice in a democracy. The people have at least a certain influence on the cooperation of their chosen politicians, in the selection of their representatives. Yes, lobbying, party power and the peculiar laws of the profession of politicians are posing major obstacles precisely at this point. Therefore, in addition to the plea for better voting rules, let me introduce the proposal into the debate here that candidates for the first, the direct vote should not be allowed to protect themselves via second vote on the party lists at the same time. This question might be the subject of a direct legislative initiative at the federal level, too – if that were finally possible. Lastly, federalism can be strengthened by transforming the Federal Council from a body of state governments into a body of directly elected representatives of the states, thereby enhancing its value.
We may not give up our democracy; we must make it more direct – also in the sense of our Basic Law.     •

1    Schachtschneider, Karl Albrecht. Die nationale Option (the national option). Rottenburg 2017, p. 72 f.
2    ibid
3    http://buergerkandidaten.de/ and http://buergerkandidaten.de/bewerbungen/472
4    https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volksentscheid
5    https://www.mehr-demokratie.de/  and https://www.volksentscheid.de/
6    https://www.mehr-demokratie.de/  and https://www.volksentscheid.de/
7    WŁthrich, Werner. https://www.zeit-fragen.ch/en/numbers/2017/no-27-14-november-2017/taxes-and-finances-in-switzerland-determined-by-the-people.html
8    WŁthrich, Werner. www.zeit-fragen.ch/en/numbers/2017/no-2223-23-september-2017/agriculture-and-direct-democracy-part-4.html
9    WŁthrich, Marianne. https://www.zeit-fragen.ch/en/numbers/2017/no-27-14-november-2017/direct-democracy-is-based-on-honesty-mutual-respect-and-mutual-trust.html

(Translation Current Concerns)

Wie kann Demokratie in Deutschland direkter werden?

von Christian Fischer

Nach der Bundestagswahl haben wir in Deutschland ein bunteres Parlament und erleben grosse Schwierigkeiten bei der Regierungsbildung. Einen Ausdruck von gewachsener Meinungsvielfalt und unüberbrückbaren Gegensätzen sehen viele Bürger darin aber nicht – zu sehr streiten sich die meisten Parteien nur über wenig Grundsätzliches, zu sehr sind die Differenzen eher als taktische Spiele im Parteienpoker denn als sachgerechte Auseinandersetzungen erkennbar. In der Bürgerschaft werden in letzter Zeit daher Stimmen gegen eine Fassadendemokratie und für mehr direkte Demokratie lauter. Deshalb wird hier das Verhältnis von direkter und repräsentativer Demokratie einmal etwas genauer beleuchtet.

Zuerst muss der Begriff «repräsentativ» selbst kritisch beleuchtet werden, mit dem unsere Demokratie in Deutschland oft gekennzeichnet wird. Er kommt im Grundgesetz nicht vor. Karl Albrecht Schachtschneider weist darauf hin,1 dass der Begriff 1928 von Carl Schmitt eingeführt wurde, um ein vordergründig demokratisches System politisch zu legitimieren – oder besser: das Volk zu entmündigen. Mit dem Begriff der Repräsentation sei in der Lehre des Schmitt-Schülers Gerhard Leibholz, der leider 20 Jahre lang die Rechtsprechung des Bundesverfassungsgerichts bestimmt habe, die Herrschaft durch «repräsentative» Parteien über eine dadurch nicht mehr souveräne Bürgerschaft etabliert worden. Das ­politische System Deutschlands wäre dagegen richtig mit dem der (parlamentarischen) «Vertretung» beschrieben. In diesem Begriff geht die grundgesetzlich gewollte Souveränität der Bürger nicht verloren.

Warum nicht auch in Deutschland? (Bild zvg)

Direkt oder Vertretung – ein Gegensatz?

Auch in der direktdemokratisch weiter entwickelten Schweiz, die bei diesem Thema als Bezugspunkt genannt werden muss, gibt es parlamentarische Volksvertreter, die Gesetze erarbeiten, Gesetze, die zu mindestens 90 % nicht «vors Volk» kommen. Gewiss, jedes Gesetz kann hier vors Volk gebracht werden, wenn 50 000 Unterschriften dies verlangen. Das Volk kann auch selbst verfassungsändernde Gesetze initiieren, wenn 100 000 Unterschriften dafür vorliegen. Auf der Bundesebene müssen vom Parlament beschlossene Gesetze mit Verfassungsrang «vors Volk» gebracht werden. Aber all dies ist kein Ersatz für eine mindestens halbprofessionelle Legislative. Schon gar nicht für andere echte Repräsentationsaufgaben des Staates. Jedes Gerichtsurteil wird «im Namen des Volkes» gesprochen. Jeder «Minister» und jeder Polizist handelt hoheitlich im Auftrag des Volkes. Und das ist auch gut so.
Stellt man sich die Demokratie als eine ­politische Genossenschaft vor (die Schweiz ist eine «Eidgenossenschaft»), in der die Genossen («Bürger») gleiches Stimmrecht haben, dann sieht man, dass es auch dort Mitgliederversammlungen («Wahlen») geben muss, die handlungsfähige Ausschüsse wählen. In der grossen «Genossenschaft Demokratie» sind das ein Parlament als Legislative, eine Regierung als Exekutive und eine Reihe von anderen hoheitlichen Institutionen. In jeder Genossenschaft sind die Ausschüsse eine Zeit lang allein gelassen, sie können und müssen selbständig handeln. Bei einer so komplexen Genossenschaft wie dem Staat ist das Tagesgeschäft ungleich umfangreicher als bei einer Genossenschaft von Weinbauern.
Allerdings sorgen in unserem Staat leider die mächtiger gewordenen Parteien dafür, dass es immer weniger Kontakt zwischen Volksvertretung und Souverän gibt, der sich selbst fast nur über Parteiaktivität politisch zur Geltung bringen kann – so als genüge es für die «Mündigkeit» nicht, einfach nur Bürger zu sein. Das ist in Deutschland auch eine Folge der von Carl Schmitts Lehre geprägten Rechtsprechung des Bundesverfassungsgerichtes,2 wodurch praktisch die Parteien als Repräsentanten des Volkes etabliert wurden.

Gerechtigkeit bei Wahlen

In Deutschland hat man, anders als in vielen anderen Demokratien, bei nationalen Wahlen ein doppeltes Wahlsystem eingerichtet, bei dem mit einer ersten Stimme ein Bürger pro Wahlkreis direkt gewählt wird und mit einer zweiten eine Partei. Damit wird zum einen die Persönlichkeit eines Abgeordneten in den Vordergrund gestellt, zum anderen wird über den Proporz der Zweitstimme verhindert, dass in jedem Wahlkreis ein Grossteil der Stimmen (für alle unterlegenen Kandidaten) praktisch unbeachtet bleibt – wie dies beim Mehrheitswahlrecht der Fall ist. Das ist eine gute Idee. Allerdings sind die Direktkandidaten fast immer zugleich Parteienvertreter, und viele von ihnen sind über die Zweitstimmen-Parteiliste so abgesichert, dass sie auch als Zweit- oder Drittplatzierte ihr Mandat erhalten, womit die Idee fast wieder ad absurdum geführt wird.
Es gibt Ausnahmen. Bei der letzten Bundestagswahl 2017 hat es 28 parteiunabhängige Direktkandidaten gegeben, von denen einer 9 % der Stimmen in seinem Wahlkreis erreicht hat; die anderen blieben eher im Promillebereich.3 Beim Parteienproporz hat man ausserdem – ohne grundgesetzliche Verpflichtung – eine 5 %-Klausel eingeführt, so dass nur einigermassen stabile (und immer auch fremdfinanzierte!) Parteien den Sprung ins Parlament schaffen. Parteien mit weniger als etwa 2,8 Millionen Stimmen kommen nicht in den Bundestag. Auch diese willkürliche Regelung kann einmal in Frage gestellt werden!
Dennoch sind mit den zwei Stimmen die Wahlen unserer Vertreter deutlich «gerechter», als dies bei einem ausschliesslichen Mehrheitswahlrecht der Fall wäre. Aber egal, welche Direktkandidaten gewählt werden – mittels Überhangmandaten wird das Parlament stets den Zweitstimmenproporz der Parteien abbilden. Das hat das Grundgesetz nicht so gewollt: «Die Parteien wirken bei der politischen Willensbildung des Volkes mit.» (Art. 21) Das und nichts anderes ist die Funktion, die das Grundgesetz den Parteien zuweist, und es besagt gerade nicht, dass die Proporzverhältnisse der Parteien untereinander praktisch der einzige – dann wirklich nur repräsentative – Willensausdruck des Volkes sein sollen. Oder gar, dass die Abgeordneten dann entgegen Art. 38 GG («Die Abgeordneten […] sind Vertreter des ganzen Volkes, an Aufträge und Weisungen nicht gebunden und nur ihrem Gewissen unterworfen») einem Fraktionszwang unterliegen. Dieser ist grundgesetzwidrig.
Vielleicht wäre es richtiger, wenn die Mitwirkung der Parteien auf die zweite Stimme in jedem Wahlkreis beschränkt wäre: Die erste Stimme steht einem Direktkandidaten zu, der natürlich einer Partei angehören, aber nicht gleichzeitig auf einer Parteiliste stehen darf. Für die Erststimme würde also echtes Mehrheitswahlrecht gelten. Die grundgesetzlich gewollte «Mitwirkung der Parteien» ist über die Zweitstimme ausreichend gegeben. Eine breitere Vertretung der unterschiedlichen Volkswillen (Plural) als bei einem ausschliesslichen Mehrheitswahlrecht ist dadurch gegeben. Die aktuelle Kritik an den vielen Überhangmandaten wäre gegenstandslos. Die Fraktionsbildung könnte zum Beispiel auf die Parteienvertreter der Zweitstimme beschränkt sein. Die Hälfte der Abgeordneten (Erststimme) bleibt fraktionslos; natürlich dürfen sie mit einer Fraktion abstimmen, wenn sie wollen. Vielleicht würden sich viele Parteipolitiker gar nicht auf das Erststimmenexperiment einlassen, und die Chance, dass parteilose oder parteipolitisch nicht karrierebewusste, sondern sach­orientierte Bürger in den Bundestag kommen, wäre grösser. Die mit dem Zweistimmen­system eigentlich gewollte Persönlichkeitswahl wäre vom Parteiengriff weitgehend befreit, aber auch die Ungerechtigkeiten eines reinen Mehrheitswahlrechts wären über den Parteienproporz der Zweitstimme weitgehend gemildert.
Dies nur als Diskussionsbeitrag, wie die Parteienherrschaft beschränkt werden könnte. Gemessen an der grundgesetzlich nur gewollten «Mitwirkung bei der Willensbildung» wären die Parteien damit sehr gut bedient, denn sie hätten dann immer noch ein höheres Mass an politischer Entscheidungskraft, als aus dem Grundgesetz herausgelesen werden kann.

Abstimmungen in Bund, Ländern und Gemeinden

Ein weiteres hat das Grundgesetz bestimmt: «Alle Staatsgewalt […] wird vom Volke in Wahlen und Abstimmungen und durch besondere Organe der Gesetzgebung, der vollziehenden Gewalt und der Rechtsprechung ausgeübt» (Art. 20; Hervorhebung cf). Abstimmungen als Ausübung der Volksgewalt gibt es auf Bundesebene aber bis heute nicht.
Es gab einmal im Jahr 2002 im Deutschen Bundestag einen Vorstoss, den 348 von 549 Abgeordneten unterstützt haben, also 63,3 %. Nötig gewesen wären 66,7 %. Damit sollte eine Grundgesetzänderung eingeführt werden, die es erlaubt, dass das Volk über ein dreistufiges Abstimmungsverfahren Gesetzesinitiativen in die Legislative einbringt. (Dafür ist die Änderung des Art. 76 GG notwendig, weil dieser die Volksabstimmung als Quelle der Gesetzgebung bisher nicht vorsieht.)
Auch 2006, 2010, 2013 gab es Versuche auf Parlamentsebene und bei Koalitionsverhandlungen, die aber zumindest an der CDU/CSU, zum Teil auch an anderen Parteien scheiterten.4 Der Verein «Mehr Demokratie e.V.» wirbt seit vielen Jahren und auch aktuell nach der letzten Bundestagswahl parallel zu den Koalitionsverhandlungen für die Erfüllung dieses Grundgesetzauftrages.5
Aber zu welchen Themen könnte es Volksentscheide auf Bundesebene überhaupt geben? Artikel 73 GG gibt dazu Auskunft. Aussen- und Aussenhandelspolitik, bundesweite Infrastrukturaufgaben, Verteidigungs- und Währungspolitik, einige andere Themen. Ja, das sind wichtige Themen, aber viele wichtige politische Themen sind Ländersache oder Gegenstand der «konkurrierenden» Gesetzgebung zwischen Bund und Ländern (Art. 74 GG), also zwischen Bundestag und Bundesrat. Auch das ist gut so, denn je dezentraler, föderaler der Staat organisiert ist, desto demokratischer ist er.
Apropos Föderalismus: Bei den Überlegungen zur direkteren Demokratie kann auch unser Bundesrat einmal in den Blick genommen werden. Er ist im Bewusstsein der Bürger als Ländervertretung nicht sehr präsent. Das hat einen Grund: Er wird von den Bürgern nicht gewählt. Es handelt sich um eine Versammlung der Länderregierungen, also der Exekutiven, die je nach Bundesland 3–6 Stimmen haben. Warum nicht auch – nach entsprechender Grundgesetzänderung von Art. 51 – den Bundesrat direkt wählen? Mit eigenem Personal? Man könnte es weiterhin bei mehreren Vertretern pro Bundesland belassen und diese Wahl mit einer Stimme pro Bürger als Persönlichkeitswahl gestalten. Selbstverständlich können die Kandidaten Parteimitglieder sein. Es kämen dann aber nicht nur Erstplatzierte, sondern auch Zweit-, Dritt- usw. -Platzierte in die Ländervertretung.
Doch zurück zur Abstimmung. In einigen Bundesländern wurden Abstimmungsregelungen bereits zwischen 1946 und 1950 in die Landesverfassungen aufgenommen, in den anderen Ländern zwischen 1974 und 1996. Auch auf kommunaler Ebene gibt es solche Regelungen. Die Bestimmungen sind sehr unterschiedlich gestaltet, nicht selten mit solchen Quoren, dass es die Interessenten von vornherein abschreckt, eine ergebnislose Mühsal auf sich zu nehmen. Das führte zum Beispiel dazu, dass in Bayern bis 2013 insgesamt über 1500 Bürgerentscheide durchgeführt wurden, im Saarland nach seinem Eintritt in die Bundesrepublik dagegen kein einziger. Bundesweit wurden über 7000 Bürgerbegehren gezählt.6 An einem Quorum knapp gescheitert ist zum Beispiel eine Initiative im badischen Rielasingen zum Erhalt einer gut geführten Realschule, obwohl eine starke Mehrheit der abstimmenden Bürger sich dafür ausgesprochen hatte.
Abstimmungen hatten bereits 1952 zur Neugründung des Landes Baden-Württemberg und 1955–1957 zur Aufnahme des Saarlandes in die Bundesrepublik geführt. 1996 wurde die Zusammenlegung von Berlin und Brandenburg per Referendum von der Bevölkerung abgelehnt. Beliebige andere Beispiele sind der Nichtraucherschutz in Bayern oder die Schulreform in Hamburg (beide 2010), die Teilprivatisierung der Berliner Wasserbetriebe oder das Projekt Stuttgart 21 (beide 2011), die Ablehnung eines riesigen Outlet-Centers in Duisburg auf dem ehemaligen Güterbahnhofs- (und Loveparade-)Gelände oder die Zustimmung zum Weiterbetrieb des Flughafens Tegel in Berlin (beide 2017).
Trotz der fehlenden Abstimmungsregelung auf Bundesebene ist direkte Demokratie also keineswegs ein Fremdkörper im politischen Leben unseres Landes. Abstimmungen müssen möglich sein zu allen Fragen von öffentlichem Belang, übrigens auch zu Fragen der Steuererhebung!
Die positiven Erfahrungen der Schweiz zu Steuerabstimmungen durch den Souverän direkt referiert Werner Wüthrich ausführlich7 und fasst zusammen: «Der Einwand, dass so etwas nur im kleinen Rahmen wie in den Gemeinden oder in kleinen Kantonen funktioniert, hat sich als Irrtum erwiesen. Die Volksabstimmungen haben immer wieder zu erstaunlichen Ergebnissen geführt, die sich bewähren – vielleicht gerade weil die Stimmbürgerinnen und Stimmbürger keine Finanz- und Wirtschaftsexperten sind.» Das funktioniert in der Schweiz vor allem durch das Wechselspiel zwischen parlamentarischer Arbeit und direkten Initiativen aus dem Volk. Auch am Beispiel der Landwirtschaft lässt sich dieses erfolgreiche Wechselspiel über Jahrzehnte hinweg verfolgen.8 Mithilfe von parlamentarischen Vermittlungen und Vorschlägen, die vielleicht auch andere, weitergreifende Kriterien berücksichtigen, lassen sich Einzel­initiativen mit einem gesamten Volkswillen besser vermitteln. Dass inzwischen auch in der Schweiz dieser Prozess leider ins Stolpern geraten kann, wird von Marianne Wüthrich dargestellt.9

Was stünde in Deutschland an?

Abstimmungen zu Sachfragen müssen institutionell verankert werden, nicht nur auf Länder- und Gemeindeebene, sondern auch auf Bundesebene. Das will das Grundgesetz seit 1949. Dazu muss Art. 76 (1) geändert werden, damit Gesetzesvorlagen auch durch Volksabstimmungen direkt in den Bundestag eingebracht werden oder je nach Ergebnis unmittelbar Gesetzeskraft bekommen können.
Zugleich müssen die Abstimmungen auf Landes- und Gemeindeebene weiterentwickelt und praktisch genutzt werden; Demokratie lebt vom dezentralen Föderalismus, und viele wichtige Themen sind grundgesetzlich gar keine Bundesthemen. Die Quoren müssen überall niederschwellig gestaltet oder ganz abgeschafft werden. Welchen demokratischen Sinn haben sie denn, wenn zugelassene Abstimmungen amtlich ausreichend bekanntgemacht werden?
Abstimmungen müssen zu allen Themen möglich sein, soweit sie nicht Ziele verfolgen, die gegen die «ewigen» Artikel 1 und 20 des Grundgesetzes verstossen. Das gilt besonders für Themen der Steuererhebung. In diesem Punkt sind die bisherigen Regelungen auf Länder- und Gemeindeebene zu korrigieren. Es gibt keine verfassungsrechtliche Begründung für diese Beschränkung.
Das direkte Abstimmungsrecht im Gesetzgebungsprozess durch den Souverän erfordert schliesslich ein Bewusstsein bei den Politikern, dass dies zur selbstverständlichen Praxis einer Demokratie gehört. Darauf, dass die Politiker kooperieren, hat das Volk zumindest bei der Auswahl seiner Vertreter einen gewissen Einfluss. Ja, der Lobbyismus, die Parteienherrschaft und die Eigengesetzlichkeiten des Berufspolitikerwesens stellen gerade an dieser Stelle hohe Hürden auf. Deshalb wird hier neben dem Plädoyer für bessere Abstimmungsregeln der Vorschlag in die Debatte geworfen, dass Erststimmenkandidaten nicht zugleich über Parteilisten via Zweitstimme abgesichert sein dürfen. Auch das könnte Gegenstand einer direkten Gesetzesinitiative auf Bundesebene sein – wenn die denn endlich möglich wäre. Schliesslich kann über eine Stärkung des Föderalismus nachgedacht werden, indem man den Bundesrat von einem Gremium der Landesregierungen in ein Gremium von direkt gewählten Landesvertretern umwandelt und damit aufwertet.
Wir dürfen unsere Demokratie nicht aufgeben, wir müssen sie – auch im Sinne des Grundgesetzes – direkter machen.    •

1    Schachtschneider, Karl Albrecht. Die nationale Option. Rottenburg 2017, S. 72 f.
2    Schachtschneider, Karl Albrecht. Die nationale Option. Rottenburg 2017, S. 72 f.
3    http://buergerkandidaten.de/ und http://buergerkandidaten.de/bewerbungen/472 
4    https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volksentscheid 
5    https://www.mehr-demokratie.de/  und https://www.volksentscheid.de/
6    https://www.mehr-demokratie.de/  und https://www.volksentscheid.de/
7    Wüthrich, Werner. https://www.zeit-fragen.ch/de/ausgaben/2017/nr-2728-7-november-2017/steuern-und-finanzen-in-der-schweiz-vom-volk-bestimmt.html
8    Wüthrich, Werner. https://www.zeit-fragen.ch/de/ausgaben/2017/2223-12-september-2017/landwirtschaft-und-direkte-demokratie-teil-4.html 
9    Wüthrich, Marianne. https://www.zeit-fragen.ch/de/ausgaben/2017/nr-2728-7-november-2017/direkte-demokratie-gruendet-auf-redlichkeit-gegenseitiger-achtung-und-gegenseitigem-vertrauen.html