“Federal Council hampers small hydro power plants development”

by Dr iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Swiss Small Hydro, the Swiss Association of Small Hydropower issued a media release with this headline, one day after the publication of the excellent article “Harassment around the Electricity Agreement Switzerland – EU” by Dr Ernst Pauli (Current Concerns No 8 from 18 April 2018 [https://www.zeit-fragen.ch/de/ausgaben/2018/nr-8-10-april-2018/die-zwaengerei-um-das-stromabkommen-schweiz-eu.html]). This was prompted by Swissgrid’s announcement1 in December 2017 to numerous investors that their small hydropower projects will not anymore be funded by the KEV (cost covering remuneration) without a compensation. Since the new Energy Act and the revised Energy Directives have gone into power on 1 January 2018, it has become clear that the Federal Council intends to apply this regulation on those 350 projects that were already on the waiting list without a transitional period.
Swiss Small Hydro’s media release from 11 April refers to this: “This means that fully planned, approved and ready-to-build small hydropower plants fall by the wayside. As a result, transacted investments worth millions made on the basis of earlier assurances by the Federal Government will be lost. The goals formulated in the 2050 Energy Strategy for hydroelectric expansion are at risk, as half of the new capacity should come from small hydropower plants.”
How absurd can one be? The new energy strategy, which the Sovereign approved on 21 May 2017, rightly places the promotion of renewable energies at the forefront. Hydropower is by far the most important renewable energy source in Switzerland, accounting for an impressive 56 per cent of our electricity production (Swiss Federal Office of Energy from 1.1.2017). While every homeowner receives subsidies for the installation of solar cells on the roof, small hydroelectric power plants are not to receive any KEV-funding in the future. In the voting booklet, the Federal Council justified this rejection of the country’s number one power source as follows: “New small hydroelectric power plants are no longer subsidised, as their low electricity production often has a disproportionate impact on nature”.
This was one of the reasons why I voted “no”, for example. Since if we have to import more foreign coal and nuclear power after the shutdown of nuclear power plants or even build gas power plants, these are far more serious impacts on nature than hydroelectric power plants, which are best suited to our climate and topography and still improve self-sufficiency.
In this sense, the Association of Small Hydropower: “The implementation of the Energy Strategy 2050 is clearly heading in the wrong direction in this area. Instead of promoting energy production through domestic renewable energies such as small-scale hydropower, it is being hampered. The approved small hydropower projects could be implemented immediately and would produce over 450 million kilowatt hours of renewable electricity. This corresponds approximately to the average annual consumption of 100,000 Swiss households”.
It’s the talk of the town: The more than 600 small Swiss Power Providers, the majority of which are in the hands of the communes, have long been a thorn in the flesh of the Federal Council, because so many “players” would not be compatible with regard to an electricity agreement with the EU. Unfortunately, Ernst Pauli’s assessment must be confirmed: EU involvement is obviously more important to the Federal Council and its team in the federal administration than promoting self-sufficiency through democratically and federally supported small power plants.    •

1     National grid company, created in 2006 in view of the gradually planned liberalisation of the Swiss electricity market.

To keep small hydro power plants alive or to build new one’s even without KEV – why not found a cooperative?

mw. It is by no means inevitable that power plant projects are abandoned just because the federal subsidies expected by investors do not flow. Even if the team in the federal administration pursues other goals, we as citizens do not have to give in. Our communes are responsible for providing basic supplies to their population and in the communal assemblies and parliaments, we citizens have always supported them with our taxpayers’ money. We won’t let ourselves be cut off from our own electricity generation!
Or we found a cooperative: There are solar cooperatives all over the country today, for example the Solar Genossenschaft Zentralschweiz (Solar Cooperative Central Switzerland, http://www.solarg.ch) under the motto “Some things go better together”, or the Solar Energie Zürisee with over 100 members, which was founded in 1997 long before there was a cost covering remuneration (KEV) by the Federal Government (http://www.solarenergie-zuerisee.ch). Why not found a hydropower plant cooperative as well? Instead of staring at the KEV funding like a rabbit caught in the headlights, we could rather work together to make better use of our strongest source of electricity right where we live.
But even a communal or cooperative power plant cannot and does not want to be constantly in debt. Therefore, the unsatisfactory KEV provision in the Energy Act must be changed as quickly as possible to maintain and expand hydropower.

«Bundesrat nimmt der Kleinwasserkraft den Schnauf»

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Mit diesem Titel gab «Swiss Small Hydro» («Schweizer Verband der Kleinwasserkraft») eine Medienmitteilung heraus, einen Tag nach dem Erscheinen des ausgezeichneten Artikels «Die Zwängerei um das Stromabkommen Schweiz-EU» von Dr. Ernst Pauli (Zeit-Fragen Nr. 8 vom 10. April 2018 [https://www.zeit-fragen.ch/de/ausgaben/2018/nr-8-10-april-2018/die-zwaengerei-um-das-stromabkommen-schweiz-eu.html]). Anlass dafür war die Mitteilung von Swissgrid1 vom Dezember 2017 an zahlreiche Investoren, dass ihre Kleinwasserkraft-Projekte entschädigungslos aus der KEV (kostendeckende Einspeisevergütung) fallen werden. Nachdem nun am 1.1.2018 das neue Energiegesetz und die revidierten Energieverordnungen in Kraft getreten sind, zeigte sich, dass der Bundesrat diese Regelung ohne Übergangsfrist für die 350 Projekte, die schon vorher auf der Warteliste standen, durchzuziehen gedenkt.
Dazu die Medienmitteilung von «Swiss Small Hydro» vom 11. April: «So bleiben fertig geplante, bewilligte und baureife Kleinwasserkraftwerke auf der Strecke. Dadurch gehen Vorinvestitionen in Millionenhöhe verloren, die auf Grund von früheren Zusicherungen des Bundes getätigt wurden. Die in der Energiestrategie 2050 formulierten Ziele für den Zubau aus Wasserkraft sind gefährdet, denn die Hälfte des Zubaus sollte durch die Kleinwasserkraft erfolgen.»
Wie ist diese Absurdität möglich? Die neue Energiestrategie, welcher der Souverän am 21. Mai 2017 zugestimmt hat, stellt mit Recht die Förderung der erneuerbaren Energien in den Vordergrund. Die Wasserkraft ist der mit Abstand bedeutendste erneuerbare Energieträger in der Schweiz, macht sie doch beachtliche 56 Prozent unserer Stromproduktion aus (Bundesamt für Energie vom 1.1.2017). Während jeder Hausbesitzer für die Installation von Solarzellen auf dem Dach Fördergelder erhält, sollen jedoch kleine Wasserkraftwerke künftig nichts mehr aus dem Topf der KEV erhalten. Im Abstimmungsbüchlein begründete der Bundesrat diese Absage an die Stromquelle Nummer 1 des Landes so: «Neue Kleinwasserkraftwerke werden nicht mehr gefördert, da angesichts ihrer geringen Stromproduktion der Eingriff in die Natur oft unverhältnismässig gross ist.»
Dies war einer der Gründe, warum ich zum Beispiel Nein gestimmt habe. Denn wenn wir nach der Abschaltung der Atomkraftwerke mehr ausländischen Kohle- und Atomstrom importieren oder gar Gaskraftwerke bauen müssen, sind dies weit schwerwiegendere Eingriffe in die Natur als die Wasserkraftwerke, die nun einmal zu unserem Klima und unserer Topographie am besten passen und erst noch die Selbstversorgung verbessern.
In diesem Sinne auch der Verband der Kleinwasserkraft: «Die Umsetzung der Energiestrategie 2050 zielt in diesem Bereich klar in die falsche Richtung. Statt die Energieproduktion durch einheimische erneuerbare Energien wie die Kleinwasserkraft zu fördern, wird diese gehemmt. Die bewilligten Kleinwasserkraftprojekte könnten sofort realisiert werden und würden über 450 Millionen Kilowattstunden erneuerbaren Strom produzieren. Das entspricht etwa dem durchschnittlichen Jahresverbrauch von 100 000 Schweizer Haushaltungen.»
Die Spatzen pfeifen es von den Dächern: Dem Bundesrat sind die über 600 kleinen Schweizer Kraftwerkgesellschaften, die mehrheitlich in der Hand der Gemeinden sind, schon lange ein Dorn im Auge, weil so viele «Akteure» im Hinblick auf ein Stromabkommen mit der EU nicht kompatibel wären. Die Einschätzung von Ernst Pauli muss leider bestätigt werden: Die EU-Einbindung ist dem Bundesrat und seiner Mannschaft in der Bundesverwaltung offensichtlich wichtiger als die Förderung der Selbstversorgung durch demokratisch und föderalistisch abgestützte Kleinkraftwerke.    •

1    Nationale Netzgesellschaft, 2006 im Hinblick auf die schrittweise geplante Liberalisierung des Schweizer Strommarkts entstanden.

Kleinwasserkraftwerke auch ohne KEV erhalten oder neu errichten – warum nicht eine Genossenschaft gründen?

mw. Dass Kraftwerkprojekte aufgegeben werden, nur weil die Bundessubventionen, mit denen die Investoren gerechnet haben, nun vielleicht nicht fliessen werden, ist keineswegs unausweichlich. Auch wenn die Mannschaft in der Bundesverwaltung andere Ziele verfolgt, müssen wir Bürger nicht klein beigeben. Unsere Gemeinden sind verantwortlich für die Grundversorgung ihrer Bevölkerung, in den Gemeindeversammlungen und -parlamenten tragen wir Bürger diese seit jeher auch mit unseren Steuergeldern mit. Wir lassen uns doch die eigene Stromproduktion nicht kappen!
Oder wir gründen eine Genossenschaft: Es gibt heute überall im Land Solargenossenschaften, so zum Beispiel die Solar Genossenschaft Zentralschweiz (http://www.solarg.ch) mit dem Motto «Manches geht gemeinsam besser», oder die Solarenergie Zürisee mit über 100 Genossenschafterinnen und Genossenschaftern, die bereits 1997 gegründet wurde, lange bevor es eine kostendeckende Einspeisevergütung (KEV) des Bundes gab (http://www.solarenergie-zuerisee.ch). Warum nicht auch eine Wasserkraftwerkgenossenschaft gründen? Statt wie hypnotisierte Chüngeli auf den KEV-Topf zu starren, tun wir uns doch lieber zusammen, um unsere stärkste Stromressource dort, wo wir leben, besser zu nutzen.
Aber auch ein Gemeinde- oder Genossenschaftskraftwerk kann und will nicht endlos rote Zahlen schreiben. Deshalb muss die unbefriedigende KEV-Bestimmung im Energiegesetz schnellstmöglich auf Erhaltung und Ausbau der Wasserkraft geändert werden.