Letter to the Editor

Swiss agricultural policy – what next?

In order to find answers to this question that are fit for the future, constitutional lawyer Dr Marianne WŁthrich made extensive contributions in her differentiated analyses in Current Concerns. The last ones in No 31 from 15 December 2017, where she pointed out the risk of giving too much room for interpretation about the Federal Council’s counterproposal to the food security initiative of the Swiss Farmers Association. I allow myself to complete her analyses by noticing that Federal Councillor Schneider-Ammann cannot ensure any more the livelihood of 52,000 farming  if he – in context of the Agricultural Policy 2022 –  reduces the import duties for agricultural products. This for the following reasons:

  1. The Swiss farmers are in majority family businesses, they cultivate  their own farming land. Whether mountain area or valley area, farm and stable form their livelihood, the retirement and future of the family is often associated with part-time employment.
  2. They can only produce food, which is product of their landscape: in the mountain area milk and meat, because there only grows grass; in the valley area fruit, fruits, vegetables, rapeseed oil, milk and meat because of milder climate, more nutritious soil and more rational to cultivate agricultural land.
  3. It is not everywhere that small and medium-sized family businesses can be brought together without loss in large companies, and large-scale niche production is a contradiction in terms!
  4. According to Article 104 of the Federal Constitution Swiss farmers should ensure 50–60% of the nutritional need of  the Swiss population! With regard to animal welfare and food quality they fulfill the highest claims worldwide. This is only possible with a living price-performance ratio.
       If this is disturbed by reduced import duties on cheaply produced food imports, the continued existence of the majority of our farms is threatened!
       Our touristically attractive Swiss landscape will degenerate, landslides will pile up, ski slopes (alpine pastures) will fumble. Public traffic and transit traffic are at risk when street embankments and avalanche defenses are no longer maintained by farmers (forestry workers). The most attractive cultural land of Europe will lose its recreational value for tourism and for urban and agglomeration population!
  5. With the help of the “Fair-Food Initiative” of the “Greens” and the initiative “For food sovereignty” from “Uniterre” and the “Alliance for Food Security” Federal Council and Parliament should bring their agricultural policy back to a realistic course!

Matthias Elmiger, Ebnat-Kappel

(Translation Current Concerns)

Leserbrief

Wie weiter in der Schweizer Landwirtschaftspolitik?

Um auf diese Frage zukunftstaugliche Antworten zu finden, hat Staatsrechtlerin Dr. Marianne Wüthrich in ihren differenzierten Analysen in Zeit-Fragen umfassende Beiträge geleistet. Zuletzt in Nr. 31 vom 5.12.2017, wo sie auf die Gefahr des zu grossen Interpretationsspielraums beim Bundesrätlichen Gegenvorschlag zur Ernährungssicherheitsinitiative des Schweizerischen Bauernverbandes hingewiesen hat. Ich erlaube mir, Frau Dr. Wüthrichs Analysen mit der Feststellung zu ergänzen, dass Bundesrat Schneider-Ammann die Existenzgrundlage von 52 000 Bauernfamilien nicht mehr gewährleisten kann, wenn er im Rahmen der Agrarpolitik 2022 die Einfuhrzölle für Landwirtschaftsprodukte abbaut. Dies aus folgenden Gründen:

  1. Die Schweizer Bauernbetriebe sind mehrheitlich Familienbetriebe, die ihren eigenen Grund und Boden bewirtschaften und pflegen. Ob Berggebiet oder Talgebiet, Hof und Stall bilden Existenzgrundlage, Altersvorsorge und Zukunft der Familie, oft verbunden mit Nebenerwerbstätigkeiten.
  2. An Nahrungsmitteln können sie nur produzieren, was die Landschaft ihrer Region hergibt: im Berggebiet Milch und Fleisch, weil nur Gras wächst; im Talgebiet Obst, Früchte, Gemüse, Rapsöl, Milch und Fleisch, wegen milderem Klima, nährstoffreicheren Böden und rationeller zu bewirtschaftenden Agrarflächen.
  3. Nicht überall kann man kleine und mittlere Familienbetriebe ohne Verlust in Grossbetrieben zusammenführen, und Nischenproduktion im grossen Stil ist ein Widerspruch in sich!
  4. Nach Artikel 104 der Bundesverfassung sollten Schweizer Bauern 50–60 % des Ernährungsbedarfs der Schweizer Bevölkerung sicherstellen! Bezüglich Tierwohl und Lebensmittelqualität erfüllen sie weltweit Höchstansprüche, was nur bei einem existenzsichernden Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis möglich ist.
       Wird dieses durch gesenkte Einfuhrzölle auf billig produzierten Lebensmittelimporten gestört, ist die Weiterexistenz der Mehrheit unserer Landwirtschaftsbetriebe bedroht!
       Unser touristisch attraktives Schweizer Landschaftsbild wird verkommen, Erdrutsche werden sich häufen, Skipisten (Alpweiden) werden verbuschen. Öffentlicher Verkehr und Transitverkehr sind gefährdet, wenn Strassenböschungen und Lawinenschutzwälder nicht mehr durch Bauern (Forstarbeiter) gepflegt werden. Das attraktivste Kulturlandschaftsland Europas wird seinen Erholungswert für Tourismus und für Stadt- und Agglomerationsbevölkerung verlieren!
  5. Mit Hilfe der «Fair-Food-Initiative» der «Grünen» und der Initiative «Für Ernährungssouveränität» von «Uniterre» und der «Allianz für Ernährungssicherheit» müss­ten Bundesrat und Parlament ihre Landwirtschaftspolitik wieder auf einen realistischen Kurs bringen!

 

Matthias Elmiger, Ebnat-Kappel