The sovereign state is indispensable – especially in a globalised economy

by Dr iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Some contemporaries find the term “nation state” difficult to use: Adherence to one’s own state in a “globalised”, unbounded world is nowadays sometimes associated with narrow-mindedness, isolation towards the outside world and even rejection of other nations and cultures. However, such a negative definition of the term does no justice whatsoever to the real meaning of the nation state. We can also call it a “sovereign state”, by the way, then the aversion of certain circles becomes clearer. A small state like Switzerland, for example, whose population holds on to sovereignty, the greatest possible independence in foreign policy and the optimal freedom of its citizens with strong direct-democratic instruments makes it difficult for major powers like the USA and the EU to impose their power policies or the interest policies of their corporations. It becomes embarrassing when Swiss politicians, law professors, diplomats and think tanks declare the sovereignty of their own country obsolete in a “globalised world”, i.e. want to cut off the branch on which they also sit comfortably.

It is therefore all the more pleasing to hear other voices that attach particular importance to the sovereign nation state, especially in this day and age, as the Swiss social scientist and publicist Beat Kappeler and Harvard professor of economics Dani Rodrik said in the Schweizer Monat of March 2018, whose results are very similar from very different points of view.

“The freedom of citizens and their prosperity are increasing at an above-average rate with decentralisation and with small states. This is as historically proven and experienced a fact as competition from a wide variety of national solutions has brought progress. The union of ‘ever closer union’ in Europe as a supposed expression of the old spin [EU as a peace project] is an abuse. It also eliminates competition between solutions, that is, progress.” (Beat Kappeler)

“Freedom and progress depend on the order of the nation state”

Beat Kappeler defines the state as “the binding of a population through history and will, on bounded territory “1. This corresponds to the three classical elements of state people, state territory and state authority as prerequisites of the state: a population that lives on a territory with fixed borders and is – in the case of Switzerland at least – “by history and will” (or a “social contract”, as Jean-Jacques Rousseau called it) subject to a state authority whose supreme control in the democratic state is exercised by the people themselves, the sovereign.

Kappeler explains the necessity of the nation state as follows: “The nation state is the guarantor of fundamental rights, enforcement before courts, legislation and pensions, the organisation of the territory, social policy, education, infrastructures and their supply and disposal.”

The most urgent task of the state is therefore to protect the legal and social security of its population – and not the interests of foreign powers and corporations. The sovereign constitutional state then decides for itself which treaties it wants to conclude with other states: “It (the nation State) does what no supranational organisation can do. Supranational regulations are only necessary if one sovereign state acts on other nations.”

Why the small state of Switzerland is superior to a large entity like the EU

“The freedom of citizens and their prosperity are increasing at an above-average rate with decentralisation and with small states. This is as historically proven and experienced a fact as competition from a wide variety of national solutions has brought progress. The union of ‘ever closer union’ in Europe as a supposed expression of the old spin [EU as a peace project] is an abuse. It also eliminates competition between solutions, that is, progress.” According to Kappeler, a prosperous coexistence also includes the “solidarity” of the citizens, which should not mean “all-round welfare state care”, but that “everyone has to contribute according to his or her strengths, and not that some only receive, others only pay”.

The principle of solidarity understood in this way also functions far more fairly and controlled in the small-scale community, especially in the communes, than when distributing with the large trowel of billion-euro funds in Brussels. But in Switzerland too, for example, entitlement to social benefits such as invalidity pensions or unemployment benefits must be increasingly strictly controlled in order to prevent abuses at the expense of taxpayers and insurance premium payers as far as possible. This is hardly possible in a large centralist state or a bureaucratic colossus like the EU.

The economic, social  and political progress is closely linked with the nation state

The clear statement by Dani Rodrik in the same issue of Schweizer Monat2 is particularly gratifying - not a matter of course for an economics professor at Harvard University and the London School of Economics and Political Science. He is convinced that the nation state is indispensable in a global capitalist economic world. It is true that “within the intelligentsia […] the majority dismissed it as unsuitable – morally irrelevant, even reactionary – to meet the challenges of a globalised world”. This is a fatal mistake for Dani Rodrik: “A well-founded defence of the nation state would begin with the assumption that markets need rules. Everything that goes beyond a simple exchange between neighbours needs investment in transport, communication and logistics, needs enforcement of contracts, provision of information and precautions against fraud, a stable and reliable means of exchange, arrangements for a social distribution of income and much more”. According to Rodrik, markets also need institutions that “fulfil critical functions with regard to regulation, redistribution, monetary and fiscal stability and conflict resolution. So far, these tasks have mainly been carried out by nation states”. If these requirements are not met or cannot be enforced by the individual sovereign states, we know that this can have terrible consequences for the population, and local companies cannot survive because it is not possible to operate without a minimum degree of legal certainty.

“Where nation states fail, are economic collapses and civil wars”

If we continue to spin Rodrik’s idea, it means the other way round: great powers that deliberately cover well-functioning states with wars and chaos do not aim at prospering international trade from one to the same, but pursue other interests (arms and drug trafficking, access to sought-after resources, land grabbing, etc.). On the territory of states whose governments, parliaments and courts are weakened by paramilitary gangs and warlords and cannot enforce their rights, there is much room for foreign powers and corporations to use themselves in contravention of national and international law and in violation of the most basic human rights. By contrast, economic companies that want to trade honestly from country to country and from continent to continent depend on strong constitutional states.

“A lack of appreciation of the nation state leads to a dead end. We scale markets beyond a size that can still be controlled; we establish global rules that mock the real diversity of needs and preferences; we weaken the nation states without taking their place. The deeper cause of the neglected injustices of globalisation and the health problems of our democracies lies in the misunderstanding that nation states are the foundation of the capitalist order”. (Dani Rodrik)

Advantages of discordant world community

Professor Dani Rodrik points out that the individual nation states have different approaches not only to the regulation of financial markets and trade, but also to the creation of important social compromises: “The world does not agree on how to balance equality and opportunities, public health and environmental risks against technological innovation, stability against dynamism, profits against social and cultural values. A divided world community “enables experiments and competition between different institutional concepts as well as mutual learning”. Here the reader involuntarily thinks of the fundamental differences between Switzerland, a small, direct-democratic, federalist state, and the centrally regulated and authoritarian EU. In the competition of institutional concepts, Switzerland scores better in practically every area, for example in terms of national debt or unemployment rates and especially in terms of  the population’s satisfaction due to its strong co-decision rights.

Lack of appreciation of the nation state leads to a dead end

Finally, Rodrik criticises the circles that dismiss criticism of international trade agreements by saying that critics are not open-minded enough to enter into an open discussion: “To hide behind cosmopolitanism is only a weak substitute for winning political debates at the factual level. His conclusion: “A lack of appreciation of the nation state leads to a dead end. We scale markets beyond a size that can still be controlled; we establish global rules that mock the real diversity of needs and preferences; we weaken the nation states without taking their place. The deeper cause of the neglected injustices of globalisation and the health problems of our democracies lies in the misunderstanding that nation states are the foundation of the capitalist order”.     •

1  Kappeler, Beat. Das Recht auf alles verdirbt das Recht. (The right to everything spoils the right). In: Schweizer Monat 1054 of March 2018; Beat Kappeler is lic. sc. pol. Hautes Etudes Internationales, studies at the University of Geneva and in West-Berlin, Dr h.c. of the University of Basel, long-time secretary of the Swiss Federation of Trade Unions SGB, today freelance publicist and author.

Rodrik, Dani. Der unterschätzte Nationalstaat. (The underestimated nation state). In: Schweizer Monat 1054 of March 2018.
Dani Rodrik is an economics professor at Harvard University and a visiting professor at the London School of Economics and political science. He deals with questions of globalisation, political economy, economic growth and development. The topic discussed here has been published: The Globalization Paradox. Democracy and the future of the world economy. German Edition Munich 2011. ISBN 978 3 406 61351 7

A bond with your own country

mw. The sovereign state - especially in direct democracy - lives through the active participation of us citizens. It is up to us adults, parents and teachers to guide our youth to this responsible and beautiful task.

In this way, an inner bond to the pillars of sovereign Switzerland can develop and grow:  direct democracy, federalism, permanent armed neutrality, the freedom and independence of Switzerland as a whole and its citizens. On this foundation, we can also pass on to our young people the openness to the world which has always been true to the Swiss simply because of their location in the middle of Europe: the willingness to live in peace and cultural and economic exchange with our neighbours and with all people and peoples of the world, the obligation of neutral Switzerland to contribute and provide help in a world full of need. This does not include the participation of the Swiss army in NATO manoeuvres and EU military missions, which must be ended as soon as possible! This would release further funds for the worldwide work of the ICRC, for calling for compliance with the Geneva Conventions, for development aid such as that provided by the SDC: on the ground together with the people. Of course, this also includes granting the right of asylum to people who are under political persecution. And last but not least, a consistent policy of neutrality would make Switzerland once again more credible for its offer of good services.

Equal sovereign states as a basis for a peaceful world

mw. The greatest, indeed vital task of the sovereign states for humankind is their contribution to peace in the world. Every state is obligated by the UN Charter to maintain its order against the outside world, to defend itself against infringements by other states, to refrain from attacks against them, and not to interfere in their internal affairs without being asked.

The mission of the UN is to initiate and accompany all necessary and possible steps to maintain peace. To this end, however, the treaty of all sovereign states as equal members of the world community, as laid down in the Charter, would be indispensable. Today, the fundamental mistake in the United Nations system stands in the way: the special status of the five veto states.

The Great Powers China, France, Great Britain, Russia, and the United States can use this instrument on the one hand to approve wars of aggression contrary to international law and, on the other, to prevent the condemnation of affiliated aggressor states because the UN system does not impose any obligation on them to abstain from the vote.

Only a fundamental revision of the UN system can remedy this scandalous unequal treatment of states. To promote peace and thus for the benefit of all peoples, a more just world order must be considered and discussed
everywhere.

Der souveräne Staat ist unverzichtbar – besonders in einer globalisierten Wirtschaft

Zum 1. August

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Mit dem Begriff «Nationalstaat» tun sich manche Zeitgenossen schwer: Das Festhalten am eigenen Staat in einer «globalisierten», entgrenzten Welt wird heute zuweilen mit Engstirnigkeit, Abschottung nach aussen bis hin zur Ablehnung anderer Nationen und Kulturen verknüpft. Eine solche negative Besetzung des Begriffs wird jedoch der tatsächlichen Bedeutung des Nationalstaates in keiner Weise gerecht. Wir können ihn übrigens auch «souveräner Staat» nennen, dann wird die Abneigung gewisser Kreise dagegen klarer durchschaubar. Einem Kleinstaat wie der Schweiz zum Beispiel, dessen Bevölkerung mit starken direktdemokratischen Instrumenten an der Souveränität, der grösstmöglichen aussenpolitischen Unabhängigkeit und der optimalen Freiheit der Bürger festhält, können Grossmächte wie die USA und die EU nur schwer ihre Machtpolitik beziehungsweise die Interessenpolitik ihrer Konzerne aufzwingen. Peinlich wird es, wenn Schweizer Politiker, Rechtsprofessoren, Diplomaten und Think tanks die Souveränität des eigenen Landes in einer «globalisierten Welt» für obsolet erklären, also den Ast, auf dem auch sie komfortabel sitzen, absägen wollen.
Um so erfreulicher ist es, dass vermehrt auch andere Stimmen zu hören sind, die dem souveränen Nationalstaat gerade in der heutigen Zeit besondere Bedeutung zumessen, so der Schweizer Sozialwissenschaftler und ­Publizist Beat Kappeler und der Harvard-Ökonomieprofessor Dani Rodrik im Schweizer Monat vom März 2018, die aus ganz unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln zu sehr ähnlichen Resultaten kommen.

«Die Freiheit der Bürger und auch ihr Wohlstand nehmen mit Dezentralisierung, mit Kleinstaaten überproportional zu. Das ist ebenso historisch belegter und erfahrener Fakt, wie dass der Wettbewerb verschiedenster nationaler Lösungen den Fortschritt brachte. Die Union des ‹immer engeren Zusammenschlusses› in Europa als unterstellter Ausdruck des alten Spins [EU als Friedensprojekt] ist ein Missbrauch. Sie beseitigt zudem den Wettbewerb der Lösungen, also den Fortschritt.» (Beat Kappeler)

«Die Freiheit und der Fortschritt hängen an der Ordnung des Nationalstaats»

Beat Kappeler definiert den Staat als «Regelbindung einer Einwohnerschaft durch Geschichte und Willen, auf umgrenztem Territorium»1. Dies entspricht den drei klassischen Elementen Staatsvolk, Staatsgebiet, Staatsgewalt als Voraussetzungen des Staates: Eine Bevölkerung, die auf einem Territorium mit festen Grenzen lebt und sich – im Falle der Schweiz jedenfalls – «durch Geschichte und Willen» (oder einen «Gesellschaftsvertrag», wie Jean-Jacques Rousseau es nannte) einer Staatsgewalt unterstellt, deren oberste Kontrolle im demokratischen Staat das Volk selbst, der Souverän ausübt.
Die Notwendigkeit des Nationalstaates erklärt Kappeler so: «Der Nationalstaat ist Garant der Grundrechte, der Durchsetzung vor Gerichten, der Rechtssetzung sowie der Renten, der Organisation des Territoriums, der Sozialpolitik, der Bildung, der Infrastrukturen und deren Versorgung und Entsorgung.»
Vordringlichste Aufgabe des Staates ist demnach der Schutz der rechtlichen und sozialen Sicherheit seiner Bevölkerung – und nicht etwa der Interessen ausländischer Mächte und Konzerne. Der souveräne Rechtsstaat entscheidet im weiteren selbst, welche Verträge er mit anderen Staaten abschliessen will: «Er [der Nationalstaat] leistet, was keine übernationale Organisation zu leisten vermag. Übernationaler Regelungen bedarf es nur dann, wenn der eine souveräne Staat auf andere Nationen einwirkt.»

Warum der Kleinstaat Schweiz einem Grossgebilde wie der EU überlegen ist

«Die Freiheit der Bürger und auch ihr Wohlstand nehmen mit Dezentralisierung, mit Kleinstaaten überproportional zu. Das ist ebenso historisch belegter und erfahrener Fakt, wie dass der Wettbewerb verschiedenster nationaler Lösungen den Fortschritt brachte. Die Union des ‹immer engeren Zusammenschlusses› in Europa als unterstellter Ausdruck des alten Spins [EU als Friedensprojekt] ist ein Missbrauch. Sie beseitigt zudem den Wettbewerb der Lösungen, also den Fortschritt.» Zu einem gedeihlichen Zusammenleben gehört nach Kappeler auch die «Solidarität» der Bürger, womit nicht eine «wohlfahrtsstaatliche Rundumversorgung» gemeint sein darf, sondern, dass «jeder nach seinen Kräften beizutragen hat, und nicht, dass einige nur beziehen, andere nur bezahlen».
Auch das so verstandene Solidaritätsprinzip funktioniert im kleinräumigen Gemeinwesen, insbesondere in den Gemeinden, weit gerechter und kontrollierter als beim Verteilen mit der grossen Kelle aus Milliarden-Fonds in Brüssel. Aber auch in der Schweiz muss zum Beispiel die Berechtigung zum Bezug sozialer Leistungen wie Invalidenrenten oder Arbeitslosengelder zunehmend strenger kontrolliert werden, um Missbräuche auf Kosten der Steuer- und Versicherungsprämienzahler möglichst zu verhindern. In einem zentralistischen Grossstaat oder einem bürokratischen Koloss wie der EU ist dies kaum möglich.

Der wirtschaftliche, gesellschaftliche und politische Fortschritt hängt eng mit dem Nationalstaat zusammen

Besonders erfreulich ist die klare Stellungnahme von Dani Rodrik in derselben Ausgabe des Schweizer Monat2 – für einen Ökonomieprofessor an der Harvard University und der London School of Economics and Political Science keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Er vertritt die überzeugende Meinung, dass der Nationalstaat gerade in einer globalen kapitalistischen Wirtschaftswelt unverzichtbar ist. Er werde zwar «innerhalb der Intelligenzija […] mehrheitlich als untauglich abgetan – moralisch irrelevant, ja reaktionär –, den Herausforderungen einer globalisierten Welt zu begegnen». Dies ist für Dani Rodrik ein fataler Fehler: «Eine solide begründete Verteidigung des Nationalstaates würde mit der Annahme beginnen, dass Märkte Regeln brauchen. […] Alles, was über einen einfachen Austausch zwischen Nachbarn hinausgeht, braucht Investitionen in Transport, Kommunikation und Logistik, braucht Durchsetzung von Verträgen, Bereitstellung von Informationen und Vorkehrungen gegen Betrug, braucht ein stabiles und verlässliches Tauschmittel, braucht Arrangements für eine sozialkonforme Verteilung der Erträge und vieles mehr.» Märkte benötigen nach Rodrik auch Institutionen, welche «kritische Funktionen hinsichtlich Regulierung, Umverteilung, monetärer und fiskaler Stabilität und Konfliktregelung erfüllen. Diese Aufgaben wurden bislang im wesentlichen von Nationalstaaten getragen».
Wenn diese Anforderungen durch die einzelnen souveränen Staaten nicht erfüllt werden oder nicht durchgesetzt werden können, kann dies, wie wir wissen, schreckliche Folgen für die Bevölkerung haben, und lokale Unternehmen können nicht überleben, weil es nicht möglich ist, ohne ein Mindestmass an Rechtssicherheit zu wirtschaften.

«Wo Nationalstaaten scheitern, sind wirtschaftliche Einbrüche und Bürgerkriege die Folge»

Wenn wir diesen Gedanken Rodriks weiterspinnen, heisst das umgekehrt: Grossmächte, die vorsätzlich gut funktionierende Staatswesen mit Kriegen und Chaos überziehen, haben nicht einen prosperierenden internationalen Handel von gleich zu gleich zum Ziel, sondern verfolgen andere Interessen (Rüstungs- und Drogenhandel, Zugang zu begehrten Ressourcen, Land grabbing usw.). Auf dem Territorium von Staaten, deren Regierungen, Parlamente und Gerichte durch paramilitärische Banden und Warlords geschwächt sind und ihr Recht nicht durchsetzen können, besteht viel Raum für ausländische Mächte und Konzerne, um sich im Widerspruch zu Landes- und Völkerrecht und in Missachtung der grundlegendsten Menschenrechte selbst zu bedienen. Wirtschaftliche Unternehmen dagegen, die von Land zu Land und von Kontinent zu Kontinent ehrlichen Handel betreiben wollen, sind auf starke Rechtsstaaten angewiesen.

«Mangelnde Wertschätzung des Nationalstaates führt in eine Sackgasse. Wir skalieren Märkte bis über eine Grösse hinaus, die noch kontrolliert werden kann; wir stellen globale Regeln auf, die der tatsächlichen Vielfalt an Bedürfnissen und Vorlieben spotten; wir schwächen die Nationalstaaten, ohne etwas an ihre Stelle zu setzen. Die tiefere Ursache für die vernachlässigten Ungerechtigkeiten der Globalisierung sowie für die Gesundheitsprobleme unserer Demokratien liegt in der Verkennung der Tatsache, dass Nationalstaaten das Fundament der kapitalistischen Ordnung bilden.» (Dani Rodrik)

Vorteile einer uneinigen Weltgemeinschaft

Professor Dani Rodrik weist darauf hin, dass die einzelnen Nationalstaaten nicht nur die Regulierung der Finanzmärkte und des Handels verschieden angehen, sondern auch die Herstellung wichtiger sozialer Kompromisse: «Die Welt ist sich nicht einig, wie Gleichheit und Chancen gegen einander abzuwägen sind, Volksgesundheit und Umweltrisiken gegen technologische Neuerung, Stabilität gegen Dynamik, Profite gegen gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Werte.» Eine uneinige Weltgemeinschaft «ermöglicht Experimente und Wettbewerb zwischen unterschiedlichen institutionellen Konzepten sowie gegenseitiges Lernen».
Hier denkt der Leser unwillkürlich an die grundlegenden Unterschiede zwischen dem direktdemokratischen, föderalistischen Kleinstaat Schweiz und der zentralistisch geregelten und autoritär geführten EU. Im Wettbewerb der institutionellen Konzepte schneidet die Schweiz praktisch auf jedem Gebiet besser ab, zum Beispiel bei der Staatsverschuldung oder den Arbeitslosenquoten und ganz besonders in bezug auf die Zufriedenheit der Bevölkerung auf Grund ihrer starken Mitentscheidungsrechte.

Mangelnde Wertschätzung des Nationalstaates führt in eine Sackgasse

Schliesslich kritisiert Rodrik die Kreise, welche Kritik an internationalen Handelsabkommen damit abtun, die Kritiker seien zu wenig weltoffen, um sich einer offenen Diskussion zu stellen: «Sich (aber) hinter Weltoffenheit zu verschanzen, ist nur ein schwacher Ersatz dafür, politische Debatten auf der Sachebene für sich zu entscheiden.» Sein Fazit: «Mangelnde Wertschätzung des Nationalstaates führt in eine Sackgasse. Wir skalieren Märkte bis über eine Grösse hinaus, die noch kontrolliert werden kann; wir stellen globale Regeln auf, die der tatsächlichen Vielfalt an Bedürfnissen und Vorlieben spotten; wir schwächen die Nationalstaaten, ohne etwas an ihre Stelle zu setzen. Die tiefere Ursache für die vernachlässigten Ungerechtigkeiten der Globalisierung sowie für die Gesundheitsprobleme unserer Demokratien liegt in der Verkennung der Tatsache, dass Nationalstaaten das Fundament der kapitalistischen Ordnung bilden.»    •

1    Kappeler, Beat. Das Recht auf alles verdirbt das Recht. In: Schweizer Monat 1054 vom März 2018; Beat Kappeler ist lic. sc. pol. Hautes Etudes Internationales, Studien an der Universität Genf und in Westberlin, Dr. h.c. der Universität Basel, langjähriger Sekretär des Schweizerischen Gewerkschaftsbundes SGB, heute freier Publizist und Buchautor.
2    Rodrik, Dani. Der unterschätzte Nationalstaat. In: Schweizer Monat 1054 vom März 2018  Dani Rodrik ist Ökonomieprofessor an der Harvard University und Gastprofessor an der London School of Economics and Political Science. Er beschäftigt sich mit Fragen der Globalisierung, der politischen Ökonomie, des Wirtschaftswachstums und der Entwicklung. Zum hier behandelten Thema ist erschienen: Das Globalisierungsparadox. Die Demokratie und die Zukunft der Weltwirtschaft. Deutsche Ausgabe München 2011. ISBN 978 3 406 61351 7

Verbundenheit mit dem eigenen Land

mw. Der souveräne Staat – besonders in der direkten Demokratie – lebt durch die aktive Beteiligung von uns Bürgern. Unsere Jugend an diese verantwortungsvolle und schöne Aufgabe heranzuführen, ist Sache von uns Erwachsenen, den Eltern und Lehrern.
So kann die innere Verbundenheit mit den Säulen der souveränen Schweiz entstehen und wachsen: der direkten Demokratie, dem Föderalismus, der immerwährenden bewaffneten Neutralität, der Freiheit und Unabhängigkeit der Schweiz als Ganzes und ihrer Bürger. Auf diesem Fundament können wir unserer Jugend auch die Weltoffenheit weitergeben, die den Schweizern allein schon wegen ihrer Lage mitten in Europa seit jeher eigen war: die Bereitschaft, mit den Nachbarn und mit allen Menschen und Völkern dieser Welt in Frieden und kulturellem wie wirtschaftlichem Austausch zu leben, die Verpflichtung der neutralen Schweiz, zuzuspringen und Hilfe zu leisten in einer Welt voller Not. Nicht dazu gehört die Teilnahme der Schweizer Armee an Nato-Manövern und an militärischen EU-Einsätzen, die schleunigst zu beenden sind! Damit würden weitere Gelder frei für die weltweite Arbeit des IKRK, für die Einforderung der Einhaltung der Genfer Konventionen, für eine Entwicklungshilfe, wie sie die DEZA leistet: vor Ort mit den Menschen zusammen. Dazu gehört selbstverständlich auch die Gewährung des Asylrechts für politisch verfolgte Menschen. Und nicht zuletzt wäre die Schweiz mit einer konsequenten Neutralitätspolitik auch wieder glaubwürdiger für ihr Angebot der Guten Dienste.

Gleichberechtigte souveräne Staaten als Grundlage für eine friedliche Welt

mw. Die grösste, ja, für die Menschheit überlebenswichtige Aufgabe der souveränen Staaten ist ihr Beitrag zum Frieden in der Welt. Jeder Staat ist durch die Uno-Charta dazu verpflichtet, auch gegen aussen Ordnung zu halten, sich gegen Übergriffe anderer Staaten zu verteidigen, Angriffe gegen diese zu unterlassen und sich auch nicht ungebeten in deren innere Angelegenheiten einzumischen.
Auftrag der Uno ist es, alle notwendigen und möglichen Schritte zur Erhaltung des Friedens einzuleiten und zu begleiten. Dazu wäre allerdings die in der Charta festgelegte Behandlung aller souveränen Staaten als gleichberechtigte Glieder der Weltgemeinschaft unverzichtbare Voraussetzung. Dem steht heute der fundamentale Fehler im System der Vereinten Nationen im Wege: die Sonderstellung der fünf Vetostaaten. Die Grossmächte China, Frankreich, Grossbritannien, Russland und die USA können mit diesem Instrument zum einen völkerrechtswidrige Angriffskriege absegnen und zum anderen die Verurteilung von ihnen nahestehenden Aggressorstaaten verhindern, weil das Uno-System ihnen keine Verpflichtung zur Stimmenthaltung auferlegt.
Nur eine fundamentale Revision des Uno-Systems kann diese stossende Ungleichbehandlung der Staaten beheben. Zur Förderung des Friedens und damit zum Wohle aller Völker muss eine gerechtere Weltordnung angedacht und überall diskutiert werden.