The people want to set the course themselves

On the framework agreement and the referendum of 25 November

by Werner WŁthrich, D. Sc. (Admin.)

Ever since the 1992 No to the EEA, there has been a tendency to tie back the direct participation of the people. 18 full and half cantons voted against political affiliation to the EU at the time. Nevertheless, for 13 years (until 2005!) the Federal Council with its policy officially has pursued the strategic goal of joining the EU (which was also supported by the parliament). Popular initiatives were and are only half-heartedly or hardly at all implemented, international treaties are talked – and written – up as “international law” so as to get mixed in the minds with humanitarian international law and human rights, in order not to be questioned. – It is time to take countermeasures, so that the direct interaction between the authorities and the people, which has been tried and tested for many years, can function again!

Riburg salt works entrance in Rheinfelden. Schweizer Salinen AG (Swiss salt works corporation) is an enterprise run under private law in sole possession of the 26 Swiss cantons and the Principality of Liechtenstein. Fixed prices support the peripheral regions throughout Switzerland. It is part of our economic constitution that the people design, shape and share responsibility for economic freedom in the interests of the common good. (picture wikipedia)

Switzerland has a liberal economic order. It is the only country that has recognised economic freedom as a civil right in its constitution since the 19th century – in combination with direct democracy. Since then, around 200 economic votes have taken place at the federal level – on corporate taxes, taxes in general, on the “debt brake”, on economic and industrial policy (innovation risk guarantee), on the cartel system, vocational training, the monetary system, on nuclear power plants, the electricity market and other energy issues, on agriculture, on immigration, the protection of employees, tenants and consumers, price monitoring, on social insurance, on the protection of the environment, water and animals, on co-determination of employees, shorter working hours or more holidays, on minimum wages, excessive bonuses and wages at the management levels of large companies, on a wide variety of international agreements …
The people themselves determine the cornerstones of their free economic order. And the people have also repeatedly set the course and the direction of our economic policy themselves. In 1972 they clearly said Yes to the comprehensive free trade agreement with the then EC, which did not provide for any political integration – and twenty years later they clearly said No to the EEA, which would have changed broad areas of Switzerland’s politics. Similar questions also arise today in connection with the enjoined framework agreement, with which the EU once again wants to align and integrate Switzerland politically.
Our economic constitution revolves around the principle that, via their constitutional rights, the Swiss coin and shape their economic freedom and take a share of the responsibility. – Today, the results speak for themselves. It would therefore be negligent to use the means of direct democracy to break out or even only to weaken a supporting pillar. The “No” campaign, which attempts to persuade us that acceptance would be the kiss of death for the future, is absurd. Switzerland has always been export-oriented – even more before the First World War than today. The export industry has always learned to cope with the circumstances and difficulties – even with the strong franc. All this has strengthened our country and not weakened it. Today’s internationalist trends are no reason to bring about a system change.
Actually, it is self-evident that we should say Yes to self-determination and direct democracy!        •

Das Volk will die Weichen selbst stellen

Zum Rahmenvertrag und zur Volksabstimmung vom 25. November

von Dr. rer. publ. Werner Wüthrich

Es gibt seit dem EWR-Nein von 1992 eine Tendenz, die direkte Mitsprache des Volkes zurückzubinden. 18 Ganz- und Halbkantone haben damals gegen die politische Anbindung an die EU gestimmt. Trotzdem verfolgte der Bundesrat mit seiner Politik noch während 13 Jahren (bis 2005!) offiziell das strategische Ziel, der EU beizutreten (was vom Parlament gestützt wurde). Volksinitiativen wurden und werden nur noch halbherzig oder fast nicht umgesetzt, internationale Verträge werden zum «Völkerrecht» hochstilisiert und in den Köpfen mit dem Humanitären Völkerrecht und den Menschenrechten vermischt, so dass wir sie nicht in Frage stellen dürfen. – Es ist an der Zeit, Gegensteuer zu geben, so dass das langjährig bewährte und vielfach geübte direkte Zusammenspiel zwischen den Behörden und dem Volk wieder funktioniert!

Einfahrt Saline Riburg in Rheinfelden. Die Schweizer Salinen AG ist ein privatwirtschaftlich geführtes Unternehmen im alleinigen Besitz der 26 Schweizer Kantone und des Fürstentums Liechtenstein. Mit fixen Preisen werden die Randregionen gesamtschweizerisch unterstützt. Es gehört zu unserer Wirt- schaftsverfassung, dass das Volk die Wirtschaftsfreiheit im Sinne des Gemeinwohls gestaltet, prägt und mitverantwortet. (Bild wikipedia)

Die Schweiz hat eine liberale Wirtschaftsordnung. Sie ist das einzige Land, das seit dem 19. Jahrhundert die Wirtschaftsfreiheit in der Verfassung als Freiheitsrecht anerkennt – verbunden mit der direkten Demokratie. Auf Bundesebene haben seither gegen 200 Wirtschaftsabstimmungen stattgefunden – zu den Unternehmenssteuern, Steuern ganz allgemein, über die «Schuldenbremse», zur Konjunktur- und Industriepolitik (Innovationsrisikogarantie), zum Kartellwesen, zur Berufsbildung, zum Geldwesen, zu den AKW, dem Strommarkt und andern Energiefragen, zur Landwirtschaft, zur Zuwanderung, zum Schutz der Arbeitnehmer, der Mieter und Konsumenten, zur Preisüberwachung, zu den Sozialversicherungen, zum Umwelt-, Gewässer- und Tierschutz, über die Mitbestimmung, kürzere Arbeitszeiten oder mehr Ferien, zum Mindestlohn, über die überrissenen Boni und Löhne in den Führungsetagen der grossen Unternehmen, über die verschiedensten internationalen Verträge …
Das Volk bestimmt die Eckpunkte der freiheitlichen Wirtschaftsordnung selber. Und es hat auch die Weichen und die Richtung in der Wirtschaftspolitik immer wieder selber gestellt. So hat es 1972 klar ja gesagt zum umfassenden Freihandelsvertrag mit der damaligen EG, der keine politische Einbindung vorsah – und zwanzig Jahre später klar nein zum EWR, der die Schweiz in weiten Bereichen politisch verändert hätte. Ähnliche Fragen stellen sich auch heute mit dem geforderten Rahmenvertrag, mit dem die EU die Schweiz erneut politisch angleichen und anbinden will.
Es gehört zum Kern unserer Wirtschaftsverfassung, dass das Schweizervolk die Wirtschaftsfreiheit über die Volksrechte gestaltet, prägt und mitverantwortet. – Die Resultate können sich heute sehen lassen. Es wäre deshalb fahrlässig, mit der direkten Demokratie eine tragende Säule herauszubrechen oder diese auch nur zu schwächen. Die Nein-Kampagne, die ein düsteres Zukunftsszenario herbeizureden versucht, ist absurd. Die Schweiz war schon immer exportorientiert – vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg noch mehr als heute. Die Exportindustrie hat stets gelernt, mit den Umständen und Schwierigkeiten zurechtzukommen – auch mit dem starken Franken. Dies alles hat unser Land gestärkt und nicht geschwächt. Die heutigen internationalistischen Trends sind kein Grund, um einen Systemwechsel herbeizuführen.
Eigentlich ist es selbstverständlich, ja zur Selbstbestimmung und zur direkten Demokratie zu sagen!    •