Federal Council and Parliament show unusual resistance

Stocktaking at the beginning of the 2018 winter session

by Dr iur. Marianne Wüthrich

The federal referendum on the self-determination initiative (SBI) is over. Only one third of the voters voted in favour. One of the main reasons for the disappointing result is once again an extremely sharp counter-campaign, which was largely based on untruths that were deliberately set into the world. For example, the slogan “No to the anti-human rights initiative” or the absurd claim that acceptance of the initiative would result in the “automatic termination” of hundreds of important contracts for the economy. That and why these statements do not apply has already been explained in detail in Current Concerns. Part of the counter-program was also the propaganda against the authors of the initiative, because the SVP (Swiss people’s party) has been in the way on the path to Brussels for 26 years (EEA vote 1992).
    But the real challenge in the run-up to this and many other referendums in recent and future years is the uniquely strong position of the sovereign in direct democracy. The bringing down of the SBI is merely a piece in the mosaic of the big business game with the aim of breaking open the sovereign states - not just Switzerland. Ultimately, it is therefore the Swiss people themselves who must constantly oppose attempts to crack the system embodying the Swiss model.
    It is the task of every citizen to maintain and strengthen this resistance. We expect our representatives of the people to be attentive and persistent in safeguarding the rights of the people and parliament. After the vote is before the election: The federal elections in autumn 2019 will certainly come - and are already showing some effect!

UN Migration Pact: Council of States demands vote in parliament

On 29 November, the Council of States, as first chamber, refused with 22 no to 14 yes with 4 abstentions to drop the signing of the Pact entirely.1 After all, it clearly decided with 25:15 votes that the Federal Council has to submit the Pact to parliament for approval.2 On 6 December, the National Council will decide on two identical motions.
The migration pact aims at a worldwide free movement of persons, in the sense of global capital, and thus at the weakening of sovereign states and democracy (see Current Concerns from 14 November and 28 November). Already five EU members and other states reject this idea. Switzerland would do well to follow their example. On 29 November, even in the German Bundestag, the proponents of the Pact only very narrowly prevailed (372 in favour out of 644 votes, 153 against, 141 abstentions).3
Actually, the Federal Council is solely responsible for the decision to sign the Pact, because it is so-called “legally non-binding”. Shortly before the referendum on the SBI, however, this prime example of the dominance of executive power rattled many parliamentarians. The Parliament has now taken this important business into its own hands, and Federal Councillor Ignazio Cassis has cancelled his trip to Marrakech.
It is to be hoped that the National Council will at least join the Council of States and thus support the serious objections of its own Political Institutions Committees. The effects of the migration pact on our sovereignty and public welfare would be so serious that the Parliament should actually subject the decision to a popular referendum. That is not yet the case – but it can still be done.

Cohesion billion: A clear sign from the Council of States to Brussels - a fine democratic political lesson!

On 29 November, the Council of States, as first chamber, approved the payment of a further CHF 1.3 billion over ten years to the EU Cohesion Fund4 only on condition that the EU renounces discriminatory measures against Switzerland - and this practically unanimously, with 38 votes to 1 and 2 abstentions.5
Background: As is well known, last year’s President of the Confederation Doris Leuthard promised EU Commission President Juncker 1.3 billion Swiss francs in November 2017 in front of running cameras - without having been authorised to do so by Parliament and without demanding any consideration in return!
In the summer of 2018, the Federal Council led – after that! – a consultation procedure (Federal Council press release of 29 September 2018). Many participants, including a whole number of cantonal governments, demanded that the Federal Council and Parliament only pay the money “if Switzerland’s interests are safeguarded in the dossiers that are central to their relations with the EU”, for example the Glarus state councilor.6
Along this line, the Political Institutions Committee of the Council of States voted 6 to 4 in favour of a temporary suspension of cohesion payments: “In the view of the PIC new contributions to the EU will only be considered if the EU grants unlimited recognition to Swiss stock exchanges and visible progress is made in bilateral relations”. The Finance Committee followed suit. The Foreign Affairs Committee (FAC), on the other hand, recommended that the Council of States approve the payment with 6 votes to 6 and the President’s deciding vote.7
In the Council of States debate from 29 November, the proposal of the minority of the FAC (six members of the FDP (the Liberals) and SVP parliamentary groups) surprisingly prevailed. The following condition was attached to the federal decree on the framework credit for cohesion: “Obligations may only be entered into on the basis of this framework credit if there are clear signs of improvements in bilateral relations with the European Union and the EU does not adopt any discriminatory measures against Switzerland”.
The Council of States finally voted almost unanimously in favour of this minority proposal from the “centre-right” (by the way, the no vote and the two abstentions came from the SVP parliamentary group, because the latter is fundamentally opposed to payments of cohesion funds). Such a thing rarely happens in the Council of States! According to an insider, this astonishing result is also related to the forthcoming elections: Most voters do not want people’s representatives to fill the EU coffers with our billions in tax revenue for nothing.
For the National Council, which will probably deal with the framework credit for cohesion in the spring session, the stakes have been set.
Negotiations on the framework agreement between Switzerland and the EU are deadlocked
A unique farce has been taking place between Brussels and Berne for four years now. The EU wants to create a “roof” over the more than 100 agreements between Switzerland and the EU in order to create “common rules” (= EU law) and thus “legal certainty” (for whom?). In fact, such a construct was doomed to fail from the outset because the EU system happens to be incompatible with the Swiss state structure. Accordingly, the parties are getting increasingly entangled in the negotiations.
Now the EU Commission has once more painted the town red: According to the press, EU Commissioner Johannes Hahn has once again set the Federal Council a “final date”, 7 December.8 For its part, the Federal Council has postponed the meeting planned for 30 November to 7 December. Because it is now in a completely new situation: For the first time its majority has fallen - against the framework agreement. (The Federal Council is a collegial government and takes its decisions according to the opinion of its majority).

Majority in the Federal Council has turned: No to the current version of framework agreement

For some time now, the discussion in Berne has mainly revolved around the accompanying measures for the free movement of persons, which – not only from the point of view of the trade unions – are indispensable for the protection of domestic jobs from wage dumping and sham service companies. The EU, on the other hand, insists in principle on the adoption of EU law, which protects employees far less against immigration from other EU states. On 27 November, three Federal Councillors met for the umpteenth time with the heads of trade unions and employers’ associations and with cantonal representatives. The programme on the Swiss television news “Tagesschau” lasted 1:02 minutes and brought nothing new: The trade unions insist on the Swiss wage protection measures, the Federal Council wants “to reach agreement with the EU on the framework agreement before the end of the year”.9
But what is absolutely new is that the two SP (Swiss Social Democratic Party) Federal Councillors Simonetta Sommaruga and Alain Berset – who have actually always been in favour of closer integration of Switzerland into the EU – do not want to leave the trade unions out in the rain now and have therefore taken sides with the two SVP Federal Councillors Ueli Maurer and Guy Parmelin, who have always been opposed to a framework agreement. This means that four Federal Councillors are opposed to the other three from the FDP and CVP (Christian Democratic People’s Party), i.e. the Federal Council as a whole is opposed to the current version of the agreement and to Brussels.

Wage protection discussion distractsfrom actual legal natureof Framework Agreement

Despite these new majorities, the Federal Council has still not disclosed what should really be in the treaty. For the mysterious framework agreement would have to overcome the high hurdle of a popular referendum, which would understandably give the EU turbos in the Bundeshaus a headache. However, keeping the contents of the treaty locked up for this reason does not comply with the rules of direct democracy.
Anyway, the essential contents have long been known: Switzerland would have to automatically adopt past and future EU law, and the EU Court of Justice would decide how EU law is to be interpreted. A court of arbitration could at most decide on a few important disagreements. Whatever legal content the Federation of Trade Unions or the Federal Council today refer to as red lines – something quite different is of real central importance: If Switzerland were to commit itself to adopting laws that the EU would not adopt for another 5 or 10 years, we as citizens would waive our political rights in advance. And that applies to an unknown number of laws with unknown contents. Whether in 5 or 10 years EU leaders will allow restricting themselves by the red lines, they once promised Switzerland, is most questionable. It is also still unclear for how many and for which bilateral agreements Switzerland would have to adopt EU law.
So the real reason why the Federal Council won’t tell us what exactly is included is obvious: If we could read it in black and white where Brussels wants to intervene, then the federal government of Berne can forget about signing the framework agreement.

Trade unions want to prevent a yes to Limitation Initiative

On 31 August 2018, the SVP and the Auns (Action for an Independent and Neutral Switzerland) submitted their popular initiative “for a Moderate Immigration” (“Limitation Initiative”). This initiative calls for the termination of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (FMPA) if the Federal Council is unable to negotiate a cessation with the EU within one year. This is why, according to recent newspaper reports, union leaders are insisting so firmly on the Swiss accompanying wage protection measures. Not that their trade unionists should come up with the idea that by managing immigration independently they could protect themselves even better against wage dumping.
By the way, the limitation initiative is the result of the parliament’s failure to implement the constitutional article on controlling immigration (mass immigration initiative). And the reason for the non-implementation is that the majority of our elected representatives have stared transfixed like rabbits at every frown of the ladies and gentlemen in Brussels when formulating their changes to the law.

The small state of Switzerland is much more flexible than some people think

In fact, the EU states themselves have a great interest in a neighbourhood on good terms with Switzerland. Although it is small, it has a great deal of purchasing power and, above all, financial solvency. Brussels would also be reluctant to forego most bilateral agreements. In addition, the small state of Switzerland has the enormous advantage of being very flexible and, thanks to direct democracy and a certain inherent thrift, is usually able to make ends meet better than other countries. We could live well without an FMPA and especially without the land transport agreement. We can certainly also live without EU stock market recognition, just as we found a viable way after being thrown out of Erasmus+ to organise student exchanges much less bureaucratically and even cheaper – and in addition we were even able to financially support foreign guest students. It goes without saying that we want to continue to engage in a lively economic and cultural exchange with the other European states and their peoples, as we have always done, but please on an equal footing.    •

1     Motion Germann 18.3935. UN Migration Pact. No signature by Switzerland. On the decision of the Council of States: SRF News of 29 November 2018
2    Motion Political Institutions Committee of the Council of States PIC-S 18.4103 and Motion Foreign Affairs Committee of the Council of States FAC-S 18.4106. UN Migration Pact. Submitting the approval decision to the Federal Assembly
3    Neue Zürcher Zeitung from 30 November 2018
4     FDFA. Business 18,067 “Economic and social disparities in the enlarged EU. 2nd Swiss contribution to selected EU countries”.
5     SRF News from 29 November 2018
6     Consultation response Canton Glarus 19 June 2018 www.admin.ch/ch/d/gg/pc/documents/2948/Zweiter-Schweizer-Beitrag_Stellungnahmen.pdf
7     Press releases of the PIC-S from 12 October 2018, of the FC-S from 19 October 2018, from the FAC-S of 26 October 2018
8     St. Galler Tagblatt from 30 November 2018
9    SRF News from 29 November 2018

An institutional framework agreement with the EU must be subject to mandatory referendum

The Federal Constitution stipulates

    Art. 140 Mandatory referendum
    1 The following must be put to the vote of the People and the Cantons:
    [...] b. accession to organisations for collective security or to supranational communities:

If the National Council and the Council of States should ever approve a framework agreement – which we hope will not happen – then, from the point of view of constitutional law, an obligatory vote by the people and the cantons is necessary. For although the Framework Treaty is not identical with EU accession, it would result in massive restrictions on the direct-democratic and federalist rights of citizens in broad areas of law that are not yet known. The expected cutbacks in people’s rights are comparable to those that would occur if we were to join the EEA. In 1992, Parliament therefore made this subject to a mandatory referendum.
This classification under constitutional law is confirmed by the current preliminary draft of the Federal Council for an extension of the mandatory referendum to
“international treaties whose implementation requires an amendment to the Federal Constitution or which contain provisions of constitutional rank in one of the following areas [...]” (Federal Constitution Art. 140 para. 1 b to new).1
It is to be expected that some parliamentarians hope that the optional referendum (without a majority of the cantons) will reduce the risk of failure somewhat. But keeping the people’s rights small in the election year is not a favourable option. And to postpone the referendum beyond autumn 2019 for tactical reasons would be too transparent a manoeuvre. So, either an obligatory referendum – or much better: an abort of the whole exercise.

1     “Mandatory referendum for international treaties of a constitutional nature; implementation of Motion 15.3557 Caroni”. Explanatory Report of the Federal Department of Justice and Police FDJP of 15 August 2018

Bundesrat und Parlament zeigen sich ungewohnt resistent

Bestandesaufnahme zu Beginn der Wintersession 2018

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Die eidgenössische Volksabstimmung über die Selbstbestimmungsinitiative (SBI) ist vorbei. Lediglich ein Drittel der Stimmenden legte ein Ja in die Urne. Einer der Hauptgründe für das enttäuschende Resultat ist einmal mehr eine überaus scharfe Gegenkampagne, die gröss­tenteils auf bewusst in die Welt gesetzten Unwahrheiten beruhte. So der Slogan «Nein zur Anti-Menschenrechts-Initiative» oder die absurde Behauptung, eine Annahme der Initiative hätte die «automatische Kündigung» von Hunderten für die Wirtschaft bedeutenden Verträgen zur Folge. Dass und warum diese Aussagen nicht zutreffen, wurde in Zeit-Fragen bereits ausführlich dargelegt. Teil des Gegenprogramms war auch die Stimmungsmache gegen die Urheber der Initiative, denn die SVP stört seit 26 Jahren (EWR-Abstimmung 1992) den Weg nach Brüssel.
   Aber die eigentliche Kampfansage im Vorfeld dieser und etlicher anderer Volksabstimmungen der letzten und der nächsten Jahre gilt der einmalig starken Stellung des Souveräns in der direkten Demokratie. Denn die zu Fall gebrachte SBI ist lediglich ein Mosaikstein im grossen Planspiel mit dem Ziel, die souveränen Staaten – nicht nur die Schweiz! – aufzubrechen. Letztlich ist es also das Schweizervolk selbst, das sich den Versuchen, die Grundpfeiler des Schweizer Modells zu knacken, immer von neuem entgegenstellen muss.
Diesen Widerstand zu erhalten und zu stärken ist Aufgabe jeder Bürgerin, jedes Bürgers. Von unseren Volksvertretern erwarten wir, dass sie die Rechte von Volk und Parlament aufmerksam und beharrlich wahren. Nach der Abstimmung ist vor der Wahl: Die eidgenössischen Wahlen im Herbst 2019 kommen bestimmt – und zeigen bereits einige Wirkung!

Uno-Migrationspakt: Ständerat verlangt Abstimmung im Parlament

Am 29. November lehnte es der Ständerat als Erstrat zwar mit 22 Nein zu 14 Ja bei 4 Enthaltungen ab, die Unterzeichnung des Paktes gleich ganz zu versenken.1 Immerhin hat er mit 25:15 Stimmen deutlich entschieden, dass der Bundesrat dem Parlament den Pakt zur Zustimmung zu unterbreiten hat.2 Am 6. Dezember wird der Nationalrat über zwei gleichlautende Motionen entscheiden.
Der Migrationspakt zielt auf eine weltweite Personenfreizügigkeit hin, im Sinne des globalen Kapitals, und somit auf die Schwächung der souveränen Staaten und der Demokratie (siehe Zeit-Fragen vom 6.11. und 20.11.). Bereits fünf EU-Mitglieder und weitere Staaten lehnen dieses Ansinnen ab. Die Schweiz täte gut daran, ihrem Beispiel zu folgen. Am 29. November setzten sich sogar im Deutschen Bundestag die Befürworter des Paktes nur sehr knapp durch (372 Ja von 644 Stimmen, 153 Nein, 141 Enthaltungen).3
Eigentlich ist der Bundesrat allein zuständig für den Beschluss zur Unterzeichnung des Paktes, weil dieser sogenannt «rechtlich unverbindlich» ist. Kurz vor der Volksabstimmung über die SBI schreckte aber dieses Paradebeispiel für die Dominanz der Exekutivgewalt viele Parlamentarier auf. Jetzt hat das Parlament dieses wichtige Geschäft in die Hand genommen, und Bundesrat Ignazio Cassis hat seine Reise nach Marrakesch abgesagt.
Es ist zu hoffen, dass der Nationalrat sich dem Ständerat mindestens anschliessen und damit die ernstzunehmenden Einwände seiner eigenen Staatspolitischen Kommission unterstützen wird. Die Auswirkungen des Migrationspaktes auf unsere Souveränität und unser Gemeinwohl wären so schwerwiegend, dass das Parlament die Entscheidung darüber eigentlich einer Volksabstimmung unterstellen sollte. Davon ist zwar bisher nicht die Rede – das kann aber noch werden.

Kohäsionsmilliarde: Deutliches Zeichen des Ständerates an Brüssel – ein demo­kratiepolitisches Lehrstück der feinen Art!

Der Ständerat hat am 29. November als Erst­rat der Bezahlung weiterer 1,3 Milliarden Franken über zehn Jahre in den EU-Kohäsionsfonds4 nur unter der Bedingung zugestimmt, dass die EU auf diskriminierende Massnahmen gegenüber der Schweiz verzichtet – und zwar praktisch einstimmig, mit 38 zu 1 Stimme bei 2 Enthaltungen.5
Vorgeschichte: Bekanntlich hatte die letztjährige Bundespräsidentin Doris Leuthard im November 2017 vor laufender Kamera EU-Kommissionspräsident Juncker 1,3 Milliarden Franken versprochen – ohne dazu vom Parlament ermächtigt worden zu sein und ohne eine Gegenleistung einzufordern!
Im Sommer 2018 führte dann der Bundesrat – hinterher! – ein Vernehmlassungsverfahren durch (Medienmitteilung des Bundesrates vom 29.9.2018). Viele Teilnehmer, darunter eine ganze Reihe von Kantonsregierungen, forderten von Bundesrat und Parlament, das Geld nur dann zu bezahlen, «wenn die Interessen der Schweiz in für sie zentralen Dossiers in den Beziehungen zur EU gewahrt sind», so zum Beispiel der Glarner Regierungsrat.6
In diesem Sinn sprach sich die Staatspolitische Kommission des Ständerates mit 6 zu 4 Stimmen für eine vorläufige Sistierung der Kohäsionszahlungen aus: «Neue Beiträge an die EU kommen nach Ansicht der SPK erst in Frage, falls die EU eine unbefristete Anerkennung der schweizerischen Börsen gewährt und sichtliche Fortschritte in den bilateralen Beziehungen gemacht werden.» Dem schloss sich die Finanzkommission an. Die Aussenpolitische Kommission (APK) dagegen empfahl dem Ständerat mit 6 zu 6 Stimmen und dem Stichentscheid des Präsidenten, die Bezahlung zu bewilligen.7
In der Ständeratsdebatte vom 29. November setzte sich nun überraschend der Vorschlag der Minderheit der APK (sechs Mitglieder der FDP- und der SVP-Fraktion) durch. Dem Bundesbeschluss über den Rahmenkredit Kohäsion wurde folgende Bedingung angehängt: «Es dürfen erst Verpflichtungen auf Grundlage dieses Rahmenkredits eingegangen werden, wenn sich klar ersichtlich Verbesserungen in den bilateralen Beziehungen zur Europäischen Union abzeichnen und die EU keine diskriminierenden Massnahmen gegen die Schweiz erlässt.»
Diesem Minderheitsvorschlag von «Mitte rechts» stimmte nun der Ständerat schliess­lich fast einstimmig zu (die Nein-Stimme und die beiden Enthaltungen stammten übrigens aus der SVP-Fraktion, denn diese ist grundsätzlich gegen die Bezahlung von Kohäsionsgeldern). So etwas gibt’s auch im Ständerat selten! Nach Einschätzung einer Insiderin hängt dieses erstaunliche Resultat auch mit den bevorstehenden Wahlen zusammen: Die meisten Wähler wollen keine Volksvertreter, die mit unseren Steuermilliarden ohne Gegenleistung die EU-Töpfe füllen.
Für den Nationalrat, der den Rahmenkredit Kohäsion voraussichtlich in der Frühjahrssession behandeln wird, sind damit die Pflöcke gesetzt.

Verhandlungen zum Rahmenvertrag Schweiz–EU stecken fest

Zwischen Brüssel und Bern spielt sich seit vier Jahren eine einmalige Farce ab. Die EU will ein «Dach» über die mehr als 100 Verträge zwischen der Schweiz und der EU spannen, um «gemeinsame Regeln» (= EU-Recht) und damit «Rechtssicherheit» (für wen?) zu schaffen. Tatsächlich war ein solches Konstrukt von Anfang an zum Scheitern verurteilt, denn das EU-System ist nun einmal mit der Schweizer Staatsstruktur nicht kompatibel. Entsprechend verheddern sich die Parteien in den Verhandlungen zunehmend.
Nun hat die EU-Kommission wieder einmal auf die Pauke gehauen: Laut Presse hat EU-Kommissar Johannes Hahn dem Bundesrat ein weiteres Mal einen «letzten Termin» gesetzt, den 7. Dezember.8 Der Bundesrat seinerseits hat seine für den 30. November geplante Sitzung auf den besagten 7. Dezember verschoben. Denn er befindet sich in einer völlig neuen Situation: Erstmals ist seine Mehrheit gekippt – gegen das Rahmenabkommen. (Der Bundesrat ist eine Kollegialregierung und trifft seine Entscheide entsprechend der Meinung seiner Mehrheit.)

Mehrheit im Bundesrat hat sich gekehrt: Nein zur aktuellen Fassung des Rahmenabkommens

Seit einiger Zeit dreht sich die Diskussion in Bundesbern hauptsächlich um die Flankierenden Massnahmen zur Personenfreizügigkeit, die – nicht nur aus Sicht der Gewerkschaften – für den Schutz der inländischen Arbeitsplätze vor Lohndumping und Scheindienstleistungsbetrieben unverzichtbar sind. Die EU dagegen beharrt im Prinzip auf Übernahme von EU-Recht, das die Arbeitnehmer weit weniger vor der Zuwanderung aus anderen EU-Staaten schützt. Am 27. November trafen sich zum x-ten Mal drei Bundesräte mit den Spitzen der Gewerkschaften und Arbeitgeber-Verbände und mit Kantonsvertretern. Die Sendung dazu in der Tagesschau des Schweizer Fernsehens dauerte 1:02 Minuten und brachte nichts Neues: Die Gewerkschaften beharren auf den Schweizer Lohnschutzmassnahmen, der Bundesrat möchte «noch vor Ende Jahr mit der EU über ein Rahmenabkommen einig werden».9
Absolut neu ist aber: Die beiden SP-Bundesräte Simonetta Sommaruga und Alain Berset – die eigentlich seit jeher für eine engere Einbindung der Schweiz in die EU waren – wollen jetzt die Gewerkschaften nicht im Regen stehen lassen und haben sich deshalb auf die Seite der beiden SVP-Bundesräte Ueli Maurer und Guy Parmelin geschlagen, die schon immer gegen ein Rahmenabkommen waren. Damit stehen vier Bundesräte gegen die übrigen drei aus FDP und CVP, das heisst, der Gesamtbundesrat stellt sich gegen die aktuelle Fassung des Abkommens und gegen Brüssel.

Lohnschutzdiskussion lenkt von der tatsächlichen Rechtsnatur des Rahmenabkommens ab

Trotz dieser neuen Mehrheitsverhältnisse hat der Bundesrat nach wie vor nicht offengelegt, was wirklich im Vertrag stehen soll. Denn der geheimnisvolle Rahmenvertrag müss­te die hohe Hürde einer Volksabstimmung schaffen, was den EU-Turbos im Bundeshaus verständlicherweise Bauchweh macht. Die Vertragsinhalte deswegen unter Verschluss zu halten entspricht allerdings nicht den Regeln der direkten Demokratie.
Dennoch sind die wesentlichen Inhalte längst bekannt: Die Schweiz müsste bisheriges und künftiges EU-Recht automatisch übernehmen, und wie EU-Recht auszulegen ist, entscheidet der EU-Gerichtshof. Ein Schiedsgericht könnte also höchstens über wenige wichtige Uneinigkeiten entscheiden. Welche Rechtsinhalte auch immer der Gewerkschaftsbund oder der Bundesrat heute als rote Linien bezeichnen – von wirklich zentraler Bedeutung ist etwas ganz anderes: Wenn die Schweiz sich verpflichtet, Gesetze zu übernehmen, welche die EU erst in 5 oder 10 Jahren beschliessen wird, würden wir Bürger im voraus auf unsere politischen Rechte verzichten. Und zwar in bezug auf eine unbekannte Menge von Gesetzen mit unbekannten Inhalten. Ob sich die EU-Spitzen dann in 5 oder 10 Jahren durch rote Linien, die sie einst der Schweiz zugesagt haben, einschränken lassen werden, ist sehr fraglich. Auch ist nach wie vor unklar, für wie viele und welche bilateralen Verträge die Schweiz EU-Recht übernehmen müsste.
Der wahre Grund, warum der Bundesrat uns Stimmbürgern nicht verraten will, was genau drinsteht, ist also klar: Wenn wir schwarz auf weiss lesen können, wo Brüssel überall hineingreifen will, kann Bundesbern den Rahmenvertrag «is Chämi schriibe».
Gewerkschaften wollen ein

Ja zur Begrenzungsinitiative verhindern

Am 31. August 2018 reichten die SVP und die Auns (Aktion für eine unabhängige und neutrale Schweiz) ihre Volksinitiative «für eine massvolle Zuwanderung» («Begrenzungsinitiative») ein. Diese fordert die Kündigung des Personenfreizügigkeitsabkommens (FZA), falls der Bundesrat dessen Beendigung nicht innerhalb eines Jahres mit der EU aushandeln kann. Deshalb, so war kürzlich in der Zeitung zu lesen, beharren die Gewerkschaftsspitzen so eisern auf den Schweizer Flankierenden Lohnschutzmassnahmen. Nicht, dass ihre Gewerkschafter auf die Idee kommen, mit der eigenständigen Steuerung der Zuwanderung könnten sie sich sogar noch besser vor Lohndumping schützen.
Die Begrenzungsinitiative ist übrigens die Folge der Nicht-Umsetzung des Verfassungsartikels zur Steuerung der Zuwanderung (Masseneinwanderungsinitiative) durch das Parlament. Und die Nichtumsetzung hat ihren Grund darin, dass die Mehrheit unserer Volksvertreter bei der Formulierung ihrer Gesetzesänderungen wie hypnotisierte Chüngeli auf jedes Stirnrunzeln der Herrschaften in Brüssel gestarrt haben.

Der Kleinstaat Schweiz ist viel flexibler, als manche denken

Tatsächlich haben die EU-Staaten selbst grosses Interesse an einer freundschaftlichen Nachbarschaft mit der Schweiz. Denn diese ist zwar klein, aber sehr kauf- und vor allem zahlungskräftig. Auch würde Brüssel auf die meisten bilateralen Abkommen ungern verzichten. Ausserdem hat der Kleinstaat Schweiz den überaus grossen Vorteil, sehr flexibel zu sein und dank direkter Demokratie und darauf beruhender relativer Sparsamkeit meist besser über die Runden zu kommen als andere Länder. Wir könnten auch ohne FZA gut leben und erst recht ohne das Landverkehrsabkommen. Bestimmt können wir auch ohne EU-Börsenanerkennung leben, genauso wie wir nach dem Hinauswurf aus Erasmus+ einen Weg gefunden haben, den Studentenaustausch weitaus unbürokratischer und erst noch billiger selbst zu ordnen – und wir konnten sogar die ausländischen Gaststudenten finanziell unterstützen. Selbstverständlich wollen wir weiterhin regen wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Austausch mit den anderen europäischen Staaten und Völkern, so wie wir es seit jeher gehalten haben, aber bitte auf gleicher Augenhöhe.    •

1    Motion Germann 18.3935. Uno-Migrationspakt. Keine Unterzeichnung durch die Schweiz. Zum Entscheid des Ständerates: SRF News vom 29.11.2018
2    Motion Staatspolitische Kommission des Ständerates SPK-S 18.4103 und Motion Aussenpolitische Kommission des Ständerates APK-S 18.4106. Uno-Migrationspakt. Zustimmungsentscheid der Bundesversammlung unterbreiten
3    Neue Zürcher Zeitung vom 30.11.2018
4    EDA. Geschäft 18.067 «Wirtschaftliche und soziale Ungleichheiten in der erweiterten EU. 2. Schweizer Beitrag an ausgewählte EU-Staaten»
5    SRF News vom 29.11.2018
6    Vernehmlassungsantwort Kanton Glarus vom 19.6.2018 https://www.admin.ch/ch/d/gg/pc/documents/2948/Zweiter-Schweizer-Beitrag_Stellungnahmen.pdf
7    Medienmitteilungen der SPK-S vom 12.10.2018, der FK-S vom 19.10.2018, der APK-S vom 26.10.2018
8    St. Galler Tagblatt vom 30.11.2018
9    SRF News vom 29.11.2018

Ein institutioneller Rahmenvertrag mit der EU muss dem obligatorischen Referendum unterstellt werden

mw. Die Bundesverfassung schreibt vor:

Art. 140 Obligatorisches Referendum
1 Volk und Ständen werden zur Abstimmung unterbreitet:
[…] b. völkerrechtliche Verträge, die:
1. den Beitritt zu Organisationen für kollektive Sicherheit oder zu supranationalen Gemeinschaften vorsehen; […]

Falls National- und Ständerat einem Rahmenvertrag je zustimmen sollten – was wir nicht hoffen –, ist aus staatsrechtlicher Sicht eine obligatorische Abstimmung von Volk und Ständen erforderlich. Denn obwohl der Rahmenvertrag nicht identisch ist mit einem EU-Beitritt, hätte er doch massive Einschränkungen der direktdemokratischen und föderalistischen Rechte der Bürger in weiten und heute noch nicht bekannten Rechtsbereichen zur Folge. Die zu erwartenden Abstriche an den Volksrechten sind mit denen im Falle eines EWR-Beitritts vergleichbar. Diesen hat das Parlament deshalb 1992 dem obligatorischen Referendum unterstellt.
Bekräftigt wird diese staatsrechtliche Einordnung durch den aktuellen Vorentwurf des Bundesrates für eine Erweiterung des obligatorischen Referendums auf
«völkerrechtliche Verträge, deren Umsetzung eine Änderung der Bundesverfassung erfordert oder die Bestimmungen von Verfassungsrang in einem der folgenden Bereiche enthalten […]» (BV Art. 140 Absatz 1 b bis neu).1
Es ist zwar damit zu rechnen, dass manche Parlamentarier sich mit dem fakultativen Referendum (ohne Ständemehr) ein etwas kleineres Risiko des Scheiterns erhoffen. Aber im Wahljahr die Volksrechte kleinzuhalten, ist keine günstige Option. Und die Volksabstimmung aus wahltaktischen Überlegungen über den Herbst 2019 hinauszuschieben, wäre ein zu durchsichtiges Manöver. Also entweder ein obligatorisches Referendum –oder viel besser: ein Abbruch der ganzen Übung.

1    «Obligatorisches Referendum für völkerrechtliche Verträge mit verfassungsmässigem Charakter; Umsetzung der Motion 15.3557 Caroni». Erläuternder Bericht des Eidgenössischen Justiz- und Polizeidepartements EJPD vom 15.8.2018