Why a framework agreement cannot work

Switzerland is wired differently

by Robert Seidel

In its new composition, the Federal Council would like to conclude a “framework agreement”, newly called “market access agreement” with the EU leadership by the end of 2018. After the turmoil at the end of 2017 – visit of EU Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker, early commitment to the contribution of a cohesion billion for the EU, time limitation for the recognition of Swiss access to stock markets abruptly introduced by the EU and announcement of the new head of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Ignazio Cassis, that he would press the reset button – now everything obviously stays the same. Or does it? Will the bullet be bitten and the subordinate role possibly accepted after all, via a framework agreement? The Federal Council would like to have various Swiss “industries” participate in its deliberations. Of course, it would be interesting to know why industries, which industries, and why exactly these? The whole thing is to be re-coordinated by the new head of the Directorate for European Affairs (DEA), the well-known EU turbo Roberto Balzaretti. He is responsible as State Secretary for the coordination of all negotiations with the European Union. So the question arises as to why the Federal Council is still maneuvering and trying to score points in Brussels?

Let’s face it: The EU has for some time now been building up an army for operations around the world, including “domestic” operations. Apparently, 70 years of peace are enough for the “peace power EU”. Less well-known, but even scarier, is the fact that in the EU states – despite the ECHR and human rights and despite persistent protests – the death penalty has been made possible again since 2008.1 Unemployment, the working poor, unregulated migration, unresolved debt problems and the sale of public services remain unresolved issues in the EU countries. This is what our contracting partner for a framework agreement looks like at first glance, from the outside.

Vote on tax rates

The EU also differs from Switzerland internally: If people in any EU country are dissatisfied with their level of taxation, they cannot influence this through a communal assembly or a cantonal or statewide vote. Tax rates are determined by the government. With very few exceptions, factual issues cannot be voted on: whether this or that building is built, or whether you have to pay radio and television fees, or if a new jet plane is to be financed – in the EU all these decisions are made by professional politicians instead of by the citizens. Politicians like Donald Tusk, Jean-Claude Juncker, Emmanuel Macron, Sebastian Kurz, Silvio Berlusconi, Andrea Nahles or Mariano Rajoy make the decisions. These politicians are often passed from one political post to the next – like Jean-Claude Juncker, who switched from the post of Luxembourg Prime Minister to EU Commission President, or, in a similarly undemocratic way, Jose Manuel Barroso or Roman Prodi; only Martin Schulz had no luck with his own party on the occasion of his proposed change from the post of EU Parliament President into a new German Federal Government. All these professional politicians form their own political caste. They are not subject to the outcome of any election. They repeatedly appear in various crucial positions.

EU – government without a people

When a German Chancellor decides to open the German and thus the European borders, as Angela Merkel did in 2015, then this can be done quite simply, all laws aside. Much can be said about the EU, but one thing it is not, and that is democratic. Not everyone is allowed to play the role of Angela Merkel. If, for example, Viktor Orbán or Beata Szydło from the Visegrad states should express their wishes, then it may easily happen that their country is had up before the European Court of Justice ECJ for violating the “spirit of the EU”.
Who appoints the EU judges remains a secret and so does the reason for which they are appointed – none of them is elected by the people. Equally mysterious is the question of why a Finnish judge should judge on Italian stone oven pizzas, or a Maltese judge on the Swedish mining laws concerning iron ore mining.
With a framework agreement, pardon, a “market access agreement”, Switzerland would uncomplainingly have to implement all EU provisions. Then even a referendum or an initiative would be of no more avail. Everything would be prescribed down to the smallest details, even to the curvature of the banana, but this would of course still be relatively irrelevant. The matter becomes more interesting when we get to tax questions, financial regulations or regulations in the areas of construction or of food (for example concerning GM technology). The regulatory requirements will be substantial, and in cases of doubt, if we disagree, a “foreign judge” will turn the balance. Maybe a Portuguese or a Lithuanian … and maybe the Federal Council will then present the fact, that a Swiss was allowed sit at the table when the judgement was pronounced, as a success of its negotiating efforts with the EU.

Why no solid free trade agreement?

For whom does such subordination to the EU bring so many advantages that they have been pushing and shoving, lying, and soft-soaping us for several decades now? Even the assertion that things go better with the bilateral treaties than without them, is completely unproven. It is but an allegation. Of course, the proponents highlight the alleged benefits. But honestly, more could have been achieved with just a few well-negotiated free trade agreements. More than ever before, the bilaterals with their guillotine clause have proven to be a burden on our country.
And it is probably more due to our Federal Council’s europhile negotiations than to the EU, that no new appropriate and flexible solution has been found, which of course does not make things better. Why not, for example, re-draft the contracts between EU and EFTA? This may work without compulsion and without pressure, tailor-made for each of the many contractors.

What have we got that they do not have?

Why do we not bring all this face to face with what today constitutes part of our political coexistence:

  • We can vote at the communal, cantonal and federal levels on a wide range of topics, including fundamental issues. No citizen in the entire EU is allowed to do this!
  • We can initiate political decisions on the initiative and referendum laws ourselves and thus influence the political events in the country at every level. This is what citizens of EU countries dream of.
  • We vote on major financial expenditures (Gotthard Base Tunnel), changes in the law (pension reform) or changes in taxation. Many citizens in the EU would also like to be able to do that.
  • Our politicians are much closer to their constituents. If they want to make a career, they must appear credible and honest to the citizens in order to succeed in the elections.

Of course, we know that our legal framework contains many small imperfections, too. But the comparison between the Gotthard Base Tunnel and the Berlin-Brandenburg Airport alone speaks volumes in terms of democratic popular partizipation, the level of cost overruns, the non-compliance with time schedules, the quality of the work done and the satisfaction of the population. Our decision-making processes are often longer, but the consensus is broader, and therefore everybody is better satisfied.

The independent existence of officials

Unfortunately, we cannot but note with regret that parts of our administration sometimes start to lead an uncontrolled life of their own under their chief officials, and that they start initiating things that were not always agreed on and that are even against the wishes of the epopulation (such as Bologna or PfP). We strive to bring those officials back to their original tasks.

Some want a bigger slice of the EU cake

In our country, as in every other country, too, there are also groups of people who want to put their own economic advantage above the rights and independence of their fellow citizens. Some of them argue that in favour of preserving jobs and wealth in our country, they are “necessity-driven” to renounce some of their rights (and of course some of the rights of their fellow citizens as well) to the benefit of the EU, because it is our largest trading partner. (Although, on closer inspection, their course of action is not quite so unselfish.) Some of them earn their money as global players or working for global players. They suggest we give up rights so that the piece of the EU cake stays big enough. In exchange for a waiver we would then be allowed to continue yodelling or shopping cheaply in the EU countries … – only concerning the big picture, we should be “insightful” and leave the final decisions to the “experts” in Strasbourg …

Where is the broad and controversial discussion?

A broad and controversial debate is missing. Today, instead of 200 newspapers (1980), we have only a handful of major publishers and some europhile TV and radio stations – and these facilities are now expected to provide a discussion platform for opinion forming. But in the meanwhile, more and more citizens have got the impression that they are being fobbed off with PR, spin doctoring, opinions patched together, or half-truths.

EU accession or “cold” affiliation to the EU?

Both sides – the EU in Brussels and the “cherry pickers” on the Swiss side – have been planning a Swiss accession to the EU for over two decades, whether as an EU member or in the form of a quiet “cold” affiliation. The citizens are meanwhile to be mentally prepared for the “change”. Power and money are the driving forces. There are many who want limitless and unrestricted trade and limitless and unrestrained top down government without the “pesky” participation of those affected. Instead, a bit of folklore and “Swissness” may be allowed for everyone …

Direct democracy as an export hit, instead of Brussels absolutism

This is the wrong direction. The Federal Council’s statements sound hollow, the media repeat things parrot-fashion or spool the film forward. Would not our neighbours in Germany and France give their right arm to at last, at least once, have a say in politics, which however decides mercilessly over their heads. The Austrians would also like to have a say in a few questions that directly affect their lives. Now they have just been ripped off: Instead of “direct democracy based on the Swiss model”, there is now monarchical governance under the aegis of a green president. In Greece, the quiet social catastrophe of the EU austerity measures to rescue the banks might long ago have been ended and money could have been paid again for doctors, hospitals and pensions.
Direct democracy is an export hit; despotism Brussels style is an outdated model from the era of enlightened absolutism. Almost everyone in the country knows this now. But does the Federal Council know yet?     •

1     Article 6 of the Treaty of Lisbon makes the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the EU legally binding. Article 2 of this EU Charter of Fundamental Rights states (2): “No one shall be condemned to the death penalty, or executed.”  However, the explanations are also applicable. The so-called Explanatory Notes to Article 2 of the EU’s Charter of Fundamental Rights state in Article 2(2): “Deprivation of life shall not be regarded as inflicted in contravention of this article when it results from the use of force which is no more than absolutely necessary … (c) “… in action lawfully taken for the purpose of quelling a riot or insurrection.” The second exception when the death penalty may be imposed is for “acts committed in time of war or of imminent threat of war”.

(Translation Current Concerns)

Various voting posters. At the communal, cantonal and federal level, Swiss citizens have the opportunity to directly influence politics through voting. Individuals, groups, parties or other organisations campaign/engage in the different votes.

Warum ein Rahmenabkommen nicht funktionieren kann

Die Schweiz tickt anders

von Robert Seidel

Der Bundesrat möchte in seiner neuen Zusammensetzung bis Ende 2018 mit der EU-Führung ein «Rahmenabkommen», neu «Marktzutrittsabkommen», abschliessen. Nach den Turbulenzen am Ende des Jahres 2017 – Besuch des EU-Kommissionspräsidenten Jean-Claude Juncker, frühzeitige Zusage einer Kohäsionsmilliarde für die EU, abrupte Befristung des Börsenzugangs durch die EU und der Ankündigung des neuen Vorstehers des Departements des Äussern, Ignazio Cassis, den «Resetknopf» zu drücken –, bleibt nun offensichtlich alles beim Alten. Oder doch nicht? Möchte man mit einem Rahmenabkommen die Kröte, eine Unterordnung unter die EU, eventuell doch noch schlucken? In seine Überlegungen möchte der Bundesrat verschiedene Schweizer «Branchen» einbeziehen. Da wäre natürlich interessant zu erfahren, warum Branchen, welche und warum genau diese? Neu koordiniert werden soll das Ganze vom neuen Direktor der Direktion für europäische Angelegenheiten (DEA), einem bekannten EU-Turbo, Roberto Balzaretti. Er übernimmt die Koordination der gesamten Verhandlungen mit der Europäischen Union als Staatssekretär. Es stellt sich also die Frage, warum der Bundesrat immer noch laviert und versucht, in Brüssel zu punkten?

Seien wir ehrlich, die EU baut seit einiger Zeit und jetzt verstärkt eine Armee für Einsätze in der ganzen Welt auf, auch für Einsätze im «Inland». Offenbar sind der «Friedensmacht EU» 70 Jahre Frieden genug. Weniger bekannt, aber noch erschreckender ist, dass in den EU-Staaten – trotz EMRK und der Menschenrechte – seit 2008 die Todesstrafe wieder möglich ist.1 Dies trotz anhaltender Proteste. Aber auch Arbeitslosigkeit, Working poor, ungeregelte Migration, ungelöste Schuldenprobleme und Ausverkauf der öffentlichen Daseinsvorsorge bleiben weiterhin ungelöste Dauerthemen in den EU-Staaten. So sieht der Vertragspartner für ein Rahmenabkommen auf den ersten Blick von aussen aus.

Über den Steuerfuss abstimmen

Anders als in der Schweiz ist es auch im Inneren der EU: Wenn sich in irgendeinem EU-Land jemand an der Höhe der Steuerlast stört, dann kann er nicht über eine Gemeindeversammlung oder eine kantonale oder landesweite Abstimmung Einfluss darauf nehmen. Die Höhe wird von seiner Regierung festgelegt. Bis auf sehr wenige Ausnahmen kann man nicht über Sachfragen abstimmen: Ob dieses oder jenes Gebäude gebaut wird oder ob man Radio- und Fernsehgebühren zahlen muss oder ob ein neuer Düsenjet finanziert werden soll – all diese Entscheidungen treffen in der EU Berufspolitiker statt der Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Politiker wie Donald Tusk, Jean-Claude Juncker, Emanuel Macron, Sebastian Kurz, Silvio Berlusconi, Andrea Nahles oder Mariano Rajoy entscheiden. Es sind häufig Politiker, die von einem Politposten zum nächsten weitergereicht werden – so wie Jean-Claude Juncker, der vom -Posten eines luxemburgischen Premierministers zum EU-Kommissionspräsidenten wechselte, oder ähnlich undemokratisch Jose Manuel Barroso oder Roman Prodi, nur Martin Schulz hatte Pech mit seiner eigenen Partei beim vorgesehenen Wechsel vom -Posten eines EU-Parlamentspräsidenten in eine neue deutsche Bundesregierung. Es sind Berufspolitiker aus einer eigenen Politikerkaste. Sie sind nicht abhängig vom Ausgang irgendeiner Wahl. Sie tauchen immer wieder in verschiedenen entscheidenden Positionen auf.

EU – Regieren ohne Volk

Wenn eine deutsche Bundeskanzlerin wie Angela Merkel 2015 beschliesst, die deutschen und damit die europäischen Grenzen zu öffnen, dann geschieht das ganz einfach; Gesetze hin, Gesetze her. Die EU ist vieles, nur eines ist sie nicht: demokratisch. Es darf eben auch nicht jeder Angela Merkel spielen. Wenn zum Beispiel Viktor Orbán oder Beata Szydło aus den Visegrad-Staaten Wünsche äussern, dann kann es sein, dass ihr Land schnell einmal vor den Europäischen Gerichtshof EuGH wegen Verstoss gegen den «Geist der EU» zitiert wird.

Wer die EU-Richter aus welchem Grund ernennt, bleibt geheimnisumwoben – vom Volk selbst gewählt wird keiner. Genauso geheimnisvoll ist die Frage, warum ein finnischer Richter über die Steinofenpizza der Italiener oder ein maltesischer Richter über das schwedische Minenrecht beim Eisenerzabbau urteilen soll.

Mit einem Rahmenabkommen, pardon, einem «Marktzutrittsabkommen», würden auch die Schweizer EU-Bestimmungen klaglos nachvollziehen müssen. Da wäre dann auch mit einem Referendum oder einer Initiative nichts mehr zu machen. Bis in den kleinsten Lebensbereich hinein wird alles vorgeschrieben, selbst die Krümmung der Banane, was ja noch relativ unrelevant wäre. Interessanter wird es bei Steuerfragen, Finanzregelungen oder Vorschriften im Bereich Bau oder im Bereich Lebensmittel (zum Beispiel bei der Gentechnik). Die Vorschriften werden erheblich sein, und im Zweifelsfall, wenn wir nicht einverstanden sind, wird ein «fremder Richter» den Ausschlag geben. Vielleicht ein Portugiese oder eine Litauerin … und vielleicht wird der Bundesrat uns dann als Erfolg seiner Verhandlungsbemühungen mit der EU präsentieren, dass ein Schweizer bei der Urteilsverkündung auch am Tisch sitzen dürfe …

Warum kein solides Freihandelsabkommen?

Für wen bringt solch eine Unterordnung unter die EU so viele Vorteile, dass er nun schon seit mehreren Jahrzehnten drängelt, zwängelt, lügt und Honig ums Maul schmiert? Selbst die Behauptung, dass es mit den bilateralen Verträgen besser sei als ohne, ist völlig unbewiesen. Es wird behauptet. Natürlich streichen die Befürworter angebliche Vorteile heraus. Aber ehrlich, mit ein paar gut ausgehandelten Freihandelsabkommen hätte man schon mehr erreicht. Die Bilateralen haben sich mit ihrer Guillotineklausel inzwischen mehr denn je als Ballast für unser Land erwiesen. Und dass keine neue angemessene und flexible Lösung gefunden wurde, liegt wahrscheinlich mehr an unserer bundesrätlich europhilen Verhandlungsführung als an der EU, was die Sache natürlich nicht besser macht.

Warum zum Beispiel nicht die Verträge zwischen EU und EFTA wieder neu ausarbeiten? Das kann ohne Zwang und ohne Druck funktionieren, für jeden der vielen Vertragspartner massgeschneidert.

Was haben wir, was die nicht haben?

Halten wir demgegenüber doch noch einmal fest, was heute einen Teil unseres politischen Zusammenlebens ausmacht:

  • Wir können auf Gemeinde-, Kantons- und Bundesebene über verschiedenste, auch grundlegende Sachfragen abstimmen. Das kann in der gesamten EU kein Bürger!
  • Wir können politische Entscheidungen über das Initiativ- und Referendumsrecht selbst einleiten und damit auf jeder Ebene das politische Geschehen im Land beeinflussen. Davon träumen die Bürger in den Ländern der EU.
  • Wir stimmen über grössere finanzielle Ausgaben (Gotthardbasistunnel), über Rechtsänderungen (Rentenreform) oder über Änderungen im Steuerwesen ab. Das würden viele Bürger in der EU auch gerne können.
  • Politiker sind bei uns viel enger an ihre Wähler gebunden. Wenn sie Karriere machen wollen, müssen sie vor den Bürgern glaubwürdig und ehrlich erscheinen, um bei der Wahl zu bestehen.

Natürlich wissen wir um die vielen kleinen Unzulänglichkeiten auch in unserer Ordnung. Doch alleine der Vergleich zwischen dem Gotthardbasistunnel und dem Flughafen Berlin-Brandenburg spricht Bände: in Bezug auf die demokratische Mitsprache der Bürger, auf die Höhe der Kostenüberschreitungen, das Überschreiten des Zeitplans, die Qualität sowie die Zufriedenheit der Bevölkerung. Unsere Entscheidungswege sind oft länger, aber der Konsens ist breiter und damit auch die Zufriedenheit aller.

Das Eigenleben von Chefbeamten

Auch wir müssen leider feststellen, dass Teile der Verwaltungen unter ihren Chefbeamten manchmal beginnen, ein unkontrolliertes Eigenleben zu führen und Dinge zu initiieren, die nicht immer abgesprochen und von der Bevölkerung auch nicht gewollt waren (wie zum Beispiel Bologna oder PfP). Wir sind bemüht, sie auf ihre eigentlichen Aufgaben zurückzuführen.

Einige wollen einen grösseren Teil vom EU-Kuchen

Es gibt in unserem Land auch Kreise, wie in jedem Land, die ihren wirtschaftlichen Vorteil über die Rechte und die Eigenständigkeit ihrer Mitbürger stellen wollen. Manche führen an, sie würden wegen der Arbeitsplätze und des Wohlstands im Land «notgedrungen» auf manche ihrer Rechte (und auch gleich noch auf die Rechte ihrer Mitbürger) zugunsten der EU als grösstem Handelspartner verzichten. (Was dann aber bei genauerer Betrachtung doch nicht ganz so uneigennützig ist.) Einige von ihnen verdienen ihr Geld als Globalplayer oder bei einem Globalplayer. Sie empfehlen uns, Rechte abzugeben, damit das Stück vom EU-Kuchen gross genug bleibe. Für einen Verzicht dürften wir dann weiterhin jodeln oder günstig im EU-Land einkaufen … – nur im Grossen und Ganzen, da sollten wir «einsichtig» werden und den «Experten» in Strassburg den letzten Entscheid überlassen …

Wo bleibt die breite und kontroverse Diskussion?

Eine breite und kontroverse Debatte fehlt. Wir haben heute statt 200 Zeitungen (1980) nur eine Handvoll grosser Verlagshäuser und einige europhile TV- und Radiosender – und diese Einrichtungen sollten nun eine Diskussionsplattform zur Meinungsbildung bieten. Doch immer mehr Bürger haben inzwischen den Eindruck, sie werden mit PR, Spin doctoring, Meinungsteppichen oder Halbwahrheiten abgespeist.

EU-Beitritt oder «kalter» Anschluss?

Beide Seiten – die EU in Brüssel und die «Rosinenpicker» auf der Schweizer Seite – planen seit über zwei Jahrzehnten einen Anschluss an die EU, egal ob als EU-Mitglied oder in Form eines stillen «kalten» Anschlusses. Die Bürgerinnen und Bürger sollen mental schon einmal parat gemacht werden für den «Change». Macht und Geld sind die Triebfedern. Viele wünschen sich einen grenzen- und hemmungslosen Handel und ein grenzen- und hemmungsloses Durchregieren von oben nach unten, ohne lästige Mitsprache der Betroffenen. Dafür darf ein bisschen Folklore und «Swissness» für alle sein …

Direkte Demokratie als Exportschlager statt Brüsseler Absolutismus

Die Richtung ist falsch. Die Stellungnahmen des Bundesrates tönen hohl, die Medien plärren nach oder spulen vor. Was würden unsere Nachbarn in Deutschland und Frankreich dafür geben, endlich einmal, auch nur ein bisschen, in der Politik mitzubestimmen, die gnadenlos über ihre Köpfe hinweg entscheidet. Auch die Österreicher hätten gerne bei ein paar Fragen mitgeredet, die ihr Leben direkt betreffen. Jetzt wurden sie gerade über den Tisch gezogen: Anstatt «direkte Demokratie nach Schweizer Modell» gibt es jetzt monarchisches Regieren unter der Ägide eines grünen Präsidenten. In Griechenland hätte man schon längst die leise soziale Katastrophe der EU-Sparmassnahmen zur Bankenrettung beendet und wieder Geld für Ärzte, Spitäler und Renten bezahlt.

Die direkte Demokratie ist ein Exportschlager; Despotie a la Brüssel ist ein überholtes Modell aus der Zeit des aufgeklärten Absolutismus. Im Land weiss es mittlerweile fast jeder. Doch weiss es auch der Bundesrat schon?                                                                •

1   Mit Artikel 6 des Vertrages von Lissabon wird die Charta der Grundrechte der EU rechtsverbindlich. Im Artikel 2 dieser Grundrechtecharta der EU steht unter (2): «Niemand darf zur Todesstrafe verurteilt oder hingerichtet werden. Allerdings gelten auch die Erläuterungen dazu.» In den sogenannten Erläuterungen zu Artikel 2 der Grundrechtecharta der EU steht: «Eine Tötung wird nicht als Verletzung des Artikels betrachtet», wenn es erforderlich ist, «einen Aufruhr oder Aufstand rechtmässig niederzuschlagen». Die zweite Ausnahme, wann die Todesstrafe verhängt werden darf: «Für Taten in Kriegszeiten oder bei unmittelbarer Kriegsgefahr.»

Verschiedene Abstimmungsplakate. Auf Gemeinde-,Kantons- und auf Bundesebene haben die Schweizer Bürgerinnen und Bürger die Möglichkeit, über Abstimmungen direkt Einfluss auf die Politik zu nehmen. In den verschiedenen Abstimmungen engagieren sich Einzelpersonen, Gruppen, Parteien oder andere Organisationen.