Harassment around the Electricity Agreement Switzerland – EU

by Dr.-Ing. Ernst Pauli

An integrated European electricity grid has existed for more than 50 years. The Star of Laufenburg, which connected the European high-voltage grids for the first time, is an example of European cooperation, to which 24 nations have joined over time. At that time, each country could produce its own electricity, but in the event of a power plant outage, it wanted to be able to draw on electricity from a neighbouring country. So there has already been European-wide cooperation and, since 1975, a steadily increasing volume of electricity trading starting from small amounts, long before an Electricity Agreement with the EU was under discussion. Still a new Electricity Agreement was fully negotiated in 2014, when the EU stopped the negotiations for political reasons and made the institutional framework agreement a mandatory prerequisite for further negotiations and the conclusion of the Electricity Agreement. However, cooperation in the area of electricity supply and also electricity trading currently works without an Electricity Agreement.

Small power station on the river of Thur. In a liberalised EU-power maket there would be definitely no place for the over 600 independent small and middlesized electric power companies owned by the communities and the cantons. (picture mt)

For decades, European electricity trading and supply to Switzerland was coordinated through voluntary cooperation within the UCTE (Union for the Coordination of the Transmission of Electricity), legally protected by the 1972 Free Trade Agreement and the GATT Customs and Trade Agreement to which Switzerland is a party. The Electricity Agreement as it is now planned, described by many Swiss politicians as “mandatory”, doesn’t contribute to the perfectly functioning electricity trade. It is like “bringing coal to Newcastle”. However, it is meant to serve as a means for Switzerland to ultimately bring its sovereignty to Brussels. For Swiss politicians, there seems to be no alternative but to completely open up the Swiss electricity market via the Electricity Agreement in an important area of public service, both for large consumers, as has already happened, and for private households, who can then obtain their electricity from private providers at home and abroad.

“The idea of self-sufficiency and public service has no place in the numerous studies and expert opinions. It seems to have been abandoned by the Federal Council.” (Kopie 2)

“The idea of self-sufficiency and public service has no place in the numerous studies and expert opinions. It seems to have been abandoned by the Federal Council.”

Switzerland will need more electricity imports

Due to the 2050 energy strategy, more and more electricity imports into Switzerland will become necessary. This is referred to as the “electricity gap”, which is said to arise around 2020. However, by 2015 Switzerland was only in a position to produce significant electricity surpluses in three summer months and to hardly achieve a reasonable balance of electricity imports and exports over the year. The situation will worsen if the Swiss nuclear power plants are shut down as planned and the expansion of new renewable energies continues as slowly as today. The political manoeuvring, the current uncertainty has lead to a situation that not even the trump card of the Swiss electricity generation, the hydropower, is being rapidly expanded. Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard, head of the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications, does not see this a problem. She wants to secure Switzerland’s power-supply with electricity from abroad. Logically, the Electricity Agreement is “mandatory” for her. However, in situations of widespread electricity shortages, each country will use up its own power with priority, and electricity imports from abroad will then no longer be ensured. The abundant capacity available in Germany today will be significantly reduced with the planned shutdown of the last nuclear power plants and of existing coal-fired power plants. Switzerland’s now planned “strategic reserve capacity” will also only be a drop in the ocean in an prolonged shortage period, especially towards the end of winter, when the water reservoirs are empty, and will not even suffice for short-term supply.

“Ultimately, in addition to the desired open market, the electricity agreement is a means to force Switzerland closer to the EU by linking it to the institutional framework agreement and to increase the pressure on Switzerland to conclude it. But the Electricity Agreement is definitely not needed for Switzerland’s electricity supply and electricity trading.”

Harassment around the Electricity Agreement Switzerland – EU

The planned market opening gives the opportunity for more turnover and profit, above all to the large and also foreign companies. It endangers the existence of Switzerland’s electricity supply system, which has grown over decades having more than 600 utilities at municipal and cantonal level. It is thus intended to ensure the supply of electricity to a Switzerland that can no longer fully rely on its own electricity production. This also means that potential foreign suppliers can supply electricity to the end customer in Switzerland, can participate in water concessions, offer in all Swiss projects and, for example, can buy Swiss power plants. In preparation for the required free market and the free choice of the utility company, the Swiss electricity grids have already been transferred to an independent grid company “Swissgrid” in anticipatory obedience. An electricity supply company may no longer have its own supply grid, as it was the case in the past. Access to a private customer or a major customer by other companies, including foreign companies, must not be hindered or prevented.
The Electricity Agreement with the EU is intended to regulate all requirements for an open market in Switzerland. It had already been practically completed by 2014. In this situation, after the vote on the mass immigration initiative, which did not go according to Brussels’ taste, Brussels introduced the coupling of the Electricity Agreement to an institutional framework agreement as a purely new politically motivated demand, and thus the Electricity Agreement was put on hold at that time. The EU negotiator and EU Commissioner Miguel Arias Caņete, apparently satisfied with the outcome of the negotiations, tried his best and proposed a provisional agreement in 2015 on the basis of the fully negotiated Electricity Agreement with Switzerland’s immediate participation in Europe-wide electricity trading, even without prior clarification of institutional issues, i.e. without the framework agreement. However, he was not able to assert himself against its EU Commission colleagues, who apparently pursue politically far reaching plans, namely to bring Switzerland very close to full EU membership by means of the Institutional Framework Agreement and to realise an open market on their terms.
Contrary to popular opinion, Switzerland with its pumped storage plants and reservoirs is not even really interesting for the EU as a reserve electricity supplier. Switzerland’s storage capacities are rather small in view of the huge quantities of volatile wind and solar power that might have to be substituted in the EU. It’s not about the power anymore. It is about economic liberalisation and the institutional framework agreement.

Electricity Agreement and the EU’s third Internal Market Package

The content of the Electricity Agreement, as it was probably negotiated, is not public. However, it can be expected to adopt the objectives listed in the EU’s Third Internal Market Package. These are ambitious environmental targets to be achieved by 2020, namely a 20% share of renewable energies, a 20% reduction in CO2 emissions (1990 basis) and a 20% reduction in energy consumption (1990 basis). These targets will probably be revised upwards again for Switzerland due to its good starting position. Fully open markets will also be included as a major and important objective. As already mentioned, the unbundling of ownership of electricity production and grids is already anticipated in Switzerland. The State Aid Act excludes certain subsidies and tax privileges, which must also be interpreted as aiming for privatised utilities which must no longer be owned by the municipalities or cantons. All activities in the field of electricity supply will have to be put out to international tender. In return, Switzerland will be able to sit at the table in all European regulatory bodies on the subject of electricity and at least find out what is planned in detail. Access to European regulatory bodies is still partially denied today. There are no more advantages for Switzerland.

The Federal Council is now only pursuing an open market

The Federal Council has been supported by a large number of consultancies in these matters. These are companies whose profile and history directly show the proximity to market liberal ideas (Frontier Economics), which from a purely economic point of view see the open market positively (Polynomics) or companies under clear American influence (Booz Allen Hamilton). There is a voice lacking that supports good Swiss policy and supports the interests of national utilities in Switzerland today, to keep them as granularly structure as possible. All consultants are pursuing the idea of a free market, other solidary, cooperative or communally organised forms are not taken into account. Nowhere is it mentioned that the supply contracts and capacity reservations with French nuclear power plants, which will soon expire, will no longer be possible in the liberalised market, and thus a significant pillar of today’s Swiss electricity supply will be lost. The idea of self-sufficiency and public service has no place in the numerous studies and expert opinions. It seems to have been abandoned by the Federal Council.

What is the Electricity Agreement?

Today, there is a well-functioning electricity trading, even with an office of the Swiss branch of the European electricity exchange EPEX in Berne. Switzerland has long been a transit country for large quantities of electricity to Italy. The links with the neighbouring EU-countries Germany, Austria and France work perfectly. Ultimately, in addition to the desired open market, the Electricity Agreement is a means to force Switzerland closer to the EU by linking it to the institutional framework agreement and to increase the pressure on Switzerland to conclude it. But the Electricity Agreement is definitely not needed for Switzerland’s electricity supply and electricity trading.    •

Die Zwängerei um das Stromabkommen Schweiz – EU

von Dr. Ing. Ernst Pauli

Seit mehr als 50 Jahren ist ein integriertes europäisches Stromnetz Realität. Der Stern von Laufenburg, der die europäischen Hochspannungsnetze erstmals zusammenführte, steht für eine europäische Zusammenarbeit, der sich im Laufe der Zeit 24 Nationen angeschlossen haben. Damals konnte sich jedes Land selbst versorgen. Bei Kraftwerksausfällen wollte man aber auf Strom aus dem Nachbarland zurückgreifen können. Es gab also schon europaweite Zusammenarbeit und seit 1975 aus kleinen Anfängen auch ein stetig steigendes Stromhandelsvolumen, lange bevor ein Stromabkommen mit der EU zur Diskussion stand. Ein neues Stromabkommen war 2014 komplett ausgehandelt, als die EU die Verhandlungen aus politischen Gründen stoppte und das institutionelle Rahmenabkommen zur zwingenden Voraussetzung für weitere Verhandlungen bzw. den Abschluss im Strombereich ins Spiel brachte. Doch die Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der Versorgung mit Elektrizität und auch der Stromhandel funktionieren auch ohne Stromabkommen.

Kleinkraftwerk an der Thur. Für die über 600 eigenständigen kleinen und mittleren Elektrizitätsgesellschaften in Gemeinde- und Kantonsbesitz wäre im liberalilsierten EU-Strommarkt definitiv kein Platz. (Bild mt)

Der europäische Stromhandel und die Versorgung der Schweiz wurden über Jahrzehnte im Rahmen einer freiwilligen Zusammenarbeit in der Organisation UCTE (Union for the Coordination of the Transmission of Electricity) koordiniert, rechtlich abgesichert durch das Freihandelsabkommen von 1972 und das Zoll- und Handelsabkommen GATT, denen die Schweiz beigetreten ist. Das jetzt geplante Stromabkommen, von vielen Schweizer ­Po­litikern als «zwingend» bezeichnet, trägt als Beitrag zu dem heute bestens funktionierenden Stromhandel «Eulen nach Athen». Es soll aber wohl auch als Hebel dienen, damit die Schweiz ihre Souveränität letztlich nach Brüssel trägt. Es scheint für die Schweizer Politiker keine Alternative zu geben, als über das Stromabkommen in einem wichtigen Bereich des Service public den Schweizer Strommarkt nunmehr ganz zu öffnen, sowohl für die Grossverbraucher, wie schon geschehen, als auch für private Haushalte, die dann ihren Strom von privaten Anbietern aus dem In- und Ausland beziehen können.

«Der Gedanke einer Selbstversorgung und des Service public hat in den zahlreichen Studien und Gutachten keinen Platz. Er scheint vom Bundesrat aufgegeben worden zu sein.»

Die Schweiz wird vermehrt Stromimporte brauchen

Auf Grund der Energiestrategie 2050 werden immer mehr Stromimporte in die Schweiz notwendig werden. Man spricht von der «Stromlücke», die etwa ab 2020 entstehen soll. Jedoch war die Schweiz schon im Jahr 2015 nur noch in 3 Sommermonaten in der Lage, nennenswerte Stromüberschüsse zu produzieren und übers Jahr eine einigermassen ausgeglichene Bilanz der Ein- und Ausfuhr von Strom zu erreichen. Die Situation wird sich verschärfen, wenn die Schweizer Kernkraftwerke nach Plan abgeschaltet werden und der Ausbau der neuen erneuerbaren Energien so langsam wie bisher weitergeht. Das politische Taktieren, die gegenwärtig offene Situation und Unsicherheit führen dazu, dass nicht einmal die Trumpfkarte der Schweizer Elektrizitätswirtschaft, die Wasserkraft, zügig ausgebaut wird. Die Vorsteherin des UVEK (Departement für Umwelt, Verkehr, Energie und Kommunikation) Leuthard findet das alles kein Problem. Sie will mit dem Strom aus dem Ausland die Versorgungssicherheit für die Schweiz erreichen. Logischerweise ist das Stromabkommen für sie «zwingend». In Situationen von grossräumiger Stromknappheit wird sich aber jedes Land erst einmal selber versorgen, und ein Stromimport aus dem Ausland ist dann nicht mehr sicher. Die heute reichlich vorhandene Kapazität in Deutschland wird mit dem geplanten Abschalten der letzten Kernkraftwerke und noch vorhandener Kohlekraftwerke signifikant kleiner. Auch wird die jetzt geplante «strategische Reservekapazität» der Schweiz in einer länger dauernden Problemperiode, vor allem gegen Ende des Winters, wenn die Stauseen leer sind, nur noch ein Tropfen auf den heissen Stein sein und nicht einmal für die kurzfristige Versorgung ausreichen.

«Letztlich ist das Stromabkommen neben der angestrebten Markt­öffnung ein Hebel, die Schweiz über die Kopplung mit dem institutionellen Rahmenabkommen näher an die EU zu zwingen und den Druck auf die Schweiz zu erhöhen. Für die Stromversorgung der Schweiz und den Stromhandel braucht es dieses Abkommen nicht.»

Die Zwängerei um das Stromabkommen Schweiz – EU

Die geplante Marktöffnung, die vor allem den grossen, auch ausländischen Unternehmen die Chance auf mehr Umsatz und Gewinn bietet, die aber die Existenz des über Jahrzehnte gewachsenen Stromversorgungssystems der Schweiz mit mehr als 600 Versorgungsunternehmen auf Gemeinde- und Kantonsebene in Gefahr bringt, soll also die Stromversorgung einer Schweiz, die sich nicht vollständig mehr auf eigene Stromproduktion abstützen kann, sicherstellen. Das bedeutet auch, dass potente ausländische Anbieter Strom bis zum Endverbraucher in die Schweiz liefern können, an Wasserkonzessionen teilhaben können, in allen Schweizer Projekten offerieren und zum Beispiel Schweizer Kraftwerke kaufen können. Zur Vorbereitung auf den geforderten freien Markt und die freie Wahl des Versorgungsunternehmens hat man bereits in vorauseilendem Gehorsam die Schweizer Stromnetze in eine unabhängige Netzgesellschaft «Swissgrid» überführt. Ein Stromversorgungsunternehmen darf nicht mehr wie früher üblich sein eigenes Versorgungsnetz haben. Der Zugang anderer, auch ausländischer Unternehmen zu einem Privatkunden oder einem Grosskunden soll nicht behindert oder verhindert werden können.
Das Stromabkommen mit der EU soll alle Voraussetzungen für eine Marktöffnung in der Schweiz regeln. Es war 2014 bereits praktisch fertig ausgehandelt. In dieser Situation wurde von Brüssel, nach der Abstimmung über die Masseneinwanderungsinitative, die nicht nach Brüsseler Gusto verlaufen war, die Kopplung des Stromabkommens an ein institutionelles Rahmenabkommen als neue, rein politisch motivierte Forderung eingebracht, und damit wurde das Stromabkommen erst einmal gestoppt. Der verhandelnde EU-Unterhändler und EU-Kommissar Miguel Arias Cañete, offenbar zufrieden mit dem Verhandlungsergebnis, versuchte noch sein Bestes und schlug 2015 auf der Basis des fertig verhandelten Stromabkommens ein vorläufiges Abkommen mit sofortiger Teilnahme der Schweiz am europaweiten Stromhandel vor, auch ohne vorherige Klärung der institutionellen Fragen, also ohne das Rahmenabkommen. Er konnte sich gegen seine EU-Kommissions-Kollegen aber nicht durchsetzen, die politisch offenbar sehr viel weiter gehende Pläne verfolgen, nämlich die Schweiz mit dem Institutionellen Rahmenabkommen sehr nahe an eine EU-Vollmitgliedschaft zu bringen und die Marktöffnung zu ihren Bedingungen zu realisieren.
Dabei ist die Schweiz mit ihren Pumpspeicherwerken und Stauseen entgegen den landläufigen Meinungen als Reserve-Stromlieferant für die EU nicht einmal wirklich interessant. Die Schweizer Speicherkapazitäten sind angesichts der riesigen Mengen von volatilem Wind- und Sonnenstrom, der in der EU gegebenenfalls substituiert werden müss­te, eher klein. Es geht nicht mehr um den Strom. Es geht um die Liberalisierung der Wirtschaft und um das Institutionelle Rahmenabkommen.

Stromabkommen und das Dritte Binnenmarktpaket der EU

Der Inhalt des Stromabkommens, wie es wohl verhandelt wurde, ist nicht öffentlich. Man kann aber davon ausgehen, dass es die Ziele, die im Dritten Binnenmarktpaket der EU aufgelistet sind, übernimmt. Es sind ambitiöse Umweltziele, die bis 2020 umgesetzt werden sollen, nämlich ein Anteil von erneuerbaren Energien von 20 %, eine Senkung der CO2-Emissionen um 20 % (Basis 1990) und eine Senkung des Energieverbrauchs um 20 % (Basis 1990). Diese Ziele werden für die Schweiz auf Grund ihrer guten Ausgangslage wahrscheinlich nochmals nach oben korrigiert. Darüber hinaus wird die vollständige Marktöffnung als grosses und wichtiges Ziel enthalten sein. Die Entflechtung von Besitz an Stromproduktion und Stromnetzen ist in der Schweiz wie gesagt bereits vorweggenommen. Das Beihilferecht schliesst gewisse Subventionen und Steuerprivilegien aus, was wohl auch so interpretiert werden muss, dass die Versorgungsunternehmen privatisiert werden und nicht mehr im Besitz der Gemeinden oder Kantone sein dürfen. Alle Aktivitäten im Bereich der Stromversorgung werden international ausgeschrieben werden müssen. Dafür darf dann die Schweiz in allen Europäischen Gremien zum Thema Strom mit am Tisch sitzen und zumindest erfahren, was im Detail geplant wird. Der Zugang zu Europäischen Gremien wird ihr heute noch teilweise verweigert. Mehr Vorteile für die Schweiz sind nicht zu erkennen.

Der Bundesrat verfolgt nur noch die Marktöffnung

Der Bundesrat hat sich in diesen anstehenden Fragen von einer grossen Zahl von Berater-Firmen unterstützen lassen. Es sind Firmen, deren Profil und Geschichte direkt die Nähe zu marktliberalem Gedankengut zeigten (Frontier Economics), die aus rein wirtschaftswissenschaftlicher Sicht die Markt­öffnung ­positiv sehen (Polynomics) oder Firmen unter eindeutig amerikanischem Einfluss (Booz Allen Hamilton). Es fehlt eine Stimme, die gut schweizerische Politik unterstützt und die Interessen der nationalen, möglichst subsidiären heutigen Versorgungsunternehmen in der Schweiz vertritt. Alle Berater gehen von der Idee des freien Marktes aus, andere, solidarische, genossenschaftliche oder kommunal organisierte Formen finden keine Berücksichtigung. Dass die bald einmal auslaufenden Lieferverträge und Kapazitätsreservierungen mit französischen Kernkraftwerken im liberalisierten Markt nicht mehr möglich sein werden und damit eine signifikante Stütze der heutigen Schweizer Stromversorgung wegfällt, findet nirgendwo Erwähnung. Der Gedanke einer Selbstversorgung und des Service public hat in den zahlreichen Studien und Gutachten keinen Platz. Er scheint vom Bundesrat aufgegeben worden zu sein.

Was ist das Stromabkommen?

Es gibt heute einen gut funktionierenden Stromhandel, sogar mit einer Schweizer Niederlassung der europäischen Strombörse EPEX in Bern. Die Schweiz ist schon seit langem ein Transitland für grosse Mengen von Strom, der nach Italien geliefert wird. Die Verknüpfungen mit den EU-Nachbarländern Deutschland, Österreich und Frankreich funktionieren bestens. Letztlich ist das Stromabkommen neben der angestrebten Marktöffnung ein Hebel, die Schweiz über die Kopplung mit dem institutionellen Rahmenabkommen näher an die EU zu zwingen und den Druck auf die Schweiz zu erhöhen. Für die Stromversorgung der Schweiz und den Stromhandel braucht es dieses Abkommen nicht.    •