The Raiffeisenbanks in Switzerland and the principle of cooperation

by Dr phil René Roca*

For more than 20 years I have, with conviction, been a member of one of the 255 legally autonomous and cooperatively organised Raiffeisenbanks. However, lately, like many other members of the cooperative, I have been alarmed by certain developments in this cooperative bank. The Vincenz case, which I will not go into any further, is only symptomatic of these.
If you visit the website of my bank, the Raiffeisenbank Rohrdorferberg-Fislisbach, you come across a comic strip, well-made in terms of PR and in a prominent position, which advertises membership of the bank and concludes with the following motto: “Become co-owner of a bank, and determine how things are going to be.” The motto confirms an important guideline of the cooperative principle. If I want to become a member of a Raiffeisenbank, I buy a share and so become co-owner of the bank. At the annual general meeting, I have exactly one vote, regardless of whether I have one or more share certificates – according to the principle of “one person, one vote”. But the cooperative idea involves much more.

Mutual self-help as purpose?

If I look at the important article stating the purpose of my Raiffeisenbank in its articles of association, I come across the following sentence (Art. 2): “The bank conducts the following banking transactions in mutual self-help in the sense of the cooperative ideas of Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen [...].” What does this article of purpose mean? What does “mutual self-help” mean? What exactly do the “cooperative ideas of Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen” include? Article 5 of the articles of association further states that the bank is “a member of Raiffeisen Switzerland” and recognises its statutes. Raiffeisen Switzerland is itself organised as a cooperative. My bank, the Raiffeisenbank Rohrdorferberg-Fislisbach, is thus as it were a member of Raiffeisen Switzerland, which is based in St Gallen. If one studies Raiffeisen Switzerland’s statutes, the special article stating the purpose of the association (Article 3) is also remakable: “Raiffeisen Switzerland aims to propagate and reinforce the cooperative ideas of Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen in Switzerland [...]” Again, “mutual self-help” is mentioned, and the “cooperative ideas of Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen” are even to be propagated and reinforced.

Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen
(1818–1888) (picture www.raiffeisen.ch)

Cooperative roots in the 19th century

At this point it is needful to take a short trip into history. As a mayor in his German hometown, Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen (1818-1888), whose 200th birthday we are celebrating this year, saw the hardships and worries of the farmers and traders of his time. Loans were only to be had with high interest rates and borrowers were soon caught in a debt trap. From what he saw, Raiffeisen drew the practical conclusion that the needy could only engage in the fight against usury and for fair credit in a joint alliance, true to the motto: “All for one and one for all”. The soon-to-be-founded “Aid Organisation” was “mutual self-help” in action, and the foundation stone for the first Raiffeisenbank. Raiffeisen assigned the task to serve as garantors for debts to richer fellow citizens. For example, farmers borrowed money to buy cows. They had to pay back the loan within five years. Their wealthy fellow citizens were liable for potential losses in solidarity and with their private assets. There was no dividend. Later, the borrowers became members, too, as they formed savings in good times, which could in turn be mortgaged. This form of capacity-building is a socio-ethical principle that belongs to the cooperative idea and has its roots in Christian charity, as Raiffeisen repeatedly emphasised.
The cooperative idea can be explained as resting on three terms combined with the word “self”: In addition to self-help these are self-responsibility and self-determination. The will to self-determination has a long tradition in the Swiss Confederation. Cooperatives in various forms have been attested in Switzerland since the late Middle Ages. That is why the idea of Raiffeisen fell on fertile ground especially in our country. In 1899, Father Johann Traber (1854-1930) founded the first Raiffeisenbank in Bichelsee. Since then, Bichelsee has been referred to as the “Raiffeisen Rütli of Switzerland”. Father Traber writes about the first Raiffeisenbank: “So the institution is really democratic and at the same time genuinely Christian; it is not money that governs here, but the moral value of the individual person.” The cooperative banks supported industrialisation in Switzerland sustainably and underpinned by democracy.
Apart from that, the cooperative principle and thus the demand for self-determination were an essential tradition in the 19th century, to first of all develop and then continuously expand direct democracy with the referendum and initiative first at the communal and cantonal level and finally also in the Swiss Confederation.

Considerations for securing and strengthening the cooperative principle

So what does this cooperative idea mean today? How can Raiffeisen’s ideas be propagated and reenforced, and how can the idea of “mutual self-assistance” be filled with new content? Here are three considerations to this effect:

  1. The current structure of Raiffeisen is centralised. The 255 autonomous cooperative banks are managed by St Gallen by means of a top-down strategy. This does not correspond to the cooperative idea. The basis, i.e. the cooperative members of each Raiffeisen bank, should decide by means of a decentralised (federal) structure, how things are going to be. The association must serve the individual banks, and not vice versa. That is how it was meant originally. The mergers of the Raiffeisenbanks were and are also wrong, leading to ever larger entities and less and less say.
  2. Raiffeisen Switzerland determines the strategy of the banking group, which is then approved by the delegates of the Raiffeisen banks. The delegates are organised in regional unions in the form of 21 associations (!). This structure is complex and above all undemocratic. As a member of the cooperative, I have never heard of these delegates at a general meeting or in any other way, so I do not know them and therefore cannot vote them in or out.
  3. The 1.9 million members of the cooperative must take the development of their Raiffeisenbank more strongly into their own hands again. First, they must call for the necessary transparency within the framework of the General Assembly, and then they must assert more influence concerning the strategic management of the bank, so that the actual cooperative idea can be reasserted; only then the cooperative idea can be spread and reinforced, which would be a blessing for the economy.

The Raiffeisen representatives are quite willing to talk, as I was able to convince myself personally. Now a broad discussion is to be conducted with the rank and file, i.e. the members of the cooperative, in order to secure cooperative co- and self-determination and to secure them for the 21st century.     •

* René Roca has a doctorate in history and is a grammar school teacher. He heads the Research Institute for Direct Democracy (www.fidd.ch).
(Translation Current Concerns)

Die Raiffeisenbanken in der Schweiz und das Genossenschaftsprinzip

von Dr. phil. René Roca*

Schon seit über 20 Jahren bin ich aus Überzeugung Genossenschafter bei einer der 255 rechtlich autonomen und genossenschaftlich organisierten Raiffeisenbanken. In letzter Zeit haben mich allerdings – wie viele andere Genossenschafter auch – gewisse Entwicklungen der Genossenschaftsbank aufgeschreckt. Der Fall Vincenz, auf den ich nicht weiter eingehen möchte, ist dafür nur symptomatisch.

Besucht man die Webseite meiner Bank, der Raiffeisenbank Rohrdorferberg-Fislisbach, stösst man prominent auf einen PR-mässig gut aufgemachten Comic-Streifen, der für eine Mitgliedschaft bei der Bank wirbt und mit folgendem Motto schliesst: «Werden Sie Miteigentümerin einer Bank, und bestimmen Sie, wo’s langgeht.» Mit dem Motto wird ein wichtiger Grundsatz des Genossenschaftsprinzips bestätigt. Wenn ich Mitglied einer Raiffeisenbank werden will, zeichne ich einen Anteilschein und werde damit Miteigentümer der Bank. An der jährlichen Generalversammlung habe ich damit genau eine Stimme, egal, ob ich einen oder mehrere Anteilscheine besitze – ganz nach dem Prinzip «Ein Mensch, eine Stimme». Doch der Genossenschaftsgedanke beinhaltet weit mehr.

Gemeinsame Selbsthilfe als Zweck?

Schaue ich mir dazu nun die Statuten meiner Raiffeisenbank an, stosse ich beim wichtigen Zweckartikel (Art. 2) auf folgenden Satz: «Die Bank betreibt in gemeinsamer Selbsthilfe im Sinn des genossenschaftlichen Gedankengutes von Friedrich Wilhelm Raiff­eisen folgende Bankgeschäfte […].» Was bedeutet dieser Zweckartikel? Was heisst «gemeinsame Selbsthilfe»? Was beinhaltet konkret das «genossenschaftliche Gedankengut von Friedrich Wilhelm Raiff­eisen»? In Artikel 5 der Statuten heisst es weiter, die Bank sei «Mitglied von Raiffeisen Schweiz» und anerkenne deren Statuten. Die Raiffeisen Schweiz ist selbst als Genossenschaft organisiert. Meine Bank, die Raiff­eisenbank Rohrdorferberg-Fislisbach, ist also sozusagen Genossenschafter der Raiff­eisen Schweiz. Studiert man den Zweckartikel der Raiffeisen Schweiz mit Sitz in St. Gallen, fällt auch dort der Zweckartikel (Art. 3) auf: «Raiff­eisen Schweiz bezweckt in gemeinsamer Selbsthilfe die Verbreitung und Vertiefung des genossenschaftlichen Gedankengutes von Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen in der Schweiz […].» Schon wieder taucht die «gemeinsame Selbsthilfe» auf, und das «genossenschaftliche Gedankengut von Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen» soll sogar verbreitet und vertieft werden.

Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen (1818–1888)
(Bild www.raiffeisen.ch)

Genossenschaftliche Wurzeln im 19. Jahrhundert

An dieser Stelle ist ein kurzer Ausflug in die Geschichte nötig. Friedrich Wilhelm Raiff­eisen (1818–1888), dessen 200. Geburtstag wir dieses Jahr feiern, sah als Bürgermeister seiner deutschen Heimat die Nöte und Sorgen der Bauern und Gewerbetreibenden seiner Zeit. Die Leute erhielten nur Kredite mit stark erhöhten Zinsen und gerieten bald in eine Schuldenfalle. Raiffeisen zog daraus den praktischen Schluss, dass die Notleidenden nur im gemeinsamen Zusammenschluss den Kampf gegen den Wucher und für faire Kredite aufnehmen konnten, ganz nach dem Motto: «Einer für alle, alle für einen.» Der bald gegründete erste «Hilfsverein» war gelebte «gemeinsame Selbsthilfe» und der Grundstein für die erste Raiffeisenbank. Raiffeisen nahm reichere Mitbürger in die Pflicht, die als Bürge für die Kreditaufnahme dienten. So erhielten zum Beispiel Landwirte Geld, um Kühe zu kaufen. Sie mussten den Kredit innert fünf Jahren tilgen. Die Wohlhabenden hafteten für Ausfälle solidarisch und mit ihrem Privatvermögen. Eine Dividende gab es nicht. Später wurden auch die Kreditnehmer Mitglieder, da diese in guten Zeiten Ersparnisse bildeten, die wiederum belehnt werden konnten. Diese Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe stellt ein sozialethisches Prinzip dar, das zum Genossenschaftsgedanken gehört und in der christlichen Nächstenliebe, wie es Raiffeisen immer wieder betonte, seine Wurzeln hat.
Der Genossenschaftsgedanke kann neben der Selbsthilfe mit zwei weiteren «Selbst» erläutert werden, der Selbstverantwortung und der Selbstbestimmung. Der Wille zur Selbstbestimmung besitzt in der schweizerischen Eid-Genossenschaft eine lange Tradition. Genossenschaften in diversen Formen sind in der Schweiz seit dem Spätmittelalter nachweisbar. Deshalb fiel die Idee von Raiffeisen besonders in unserem Land auf fruchtbaren Boden. 1899 gründete Pfarrer Johann Traber (1854–1930) in Bichelsee die erste Raiff­eisenbank. Seither wird Bichelsee als das «Rütli von Raiffeisen Schweiz» bezeichnet. Pfarrer Traber schreibt über die erste Raiff­eisenbank: «Die Einrichtung ist also echt demokratisch und zugleich echt christlich; da regiert nicht die Geldmacht, sondern der sittliche Wert der Person.» Die Genossenschaftsbanken unterstützten die Industrialisierung in der Schweiz nachhaltig und auf einem demokratischen Fundament.
Abgesehen davon waren das Genossenschaftsprinzip und damit auch die Forderung nach Selbstbestimmung im 19. Jahrhundert ein zentrales Traditionsgut, um zuerst auf Gemeinde- und Kantonsebene und schliesslich auch im eidgenössischen Bundesstaat die direkte Demokratie mit Referendum und Initiative zu entwickeln und kontinuierlich auszubauen.

Überlegungen zur Sicherung und Stärkung des Genossenschaftsprinzips

Was heisst nun dieser Genossenschaftsgedanke heute? Wie können die Gedanken von Raiffeisen verbreitet und vertieft und wie kann die «gemeinsame Selbsthilfe» mit neuem Inhalt gefüllt werden? Dazu drei Überlegungen:

  1. Die heutige Struktur von Raiffeisen ist zentralistisch. Die 255 autonomen Genossenschaftsbanken werden von St. Gallen mittels einer Top-Down-Strategie geführt. Das entspricht nicht dem Genossenschaftsgedanken. Die Basis, also die Genossenschafter jeder Raiffeisenbank, sollte mittels einer dezentralen (föderalen) Struktur entscheiden, wo’s langgeht. Der Verband muss den einzelnen Banken dienen und nicht umgekehrt. So war es ursprünglich auch gemeint. Falsch waren und sind auch die Fusionen der Raiffeisenbanken, die zu immer grösseren Gebilden führen und zu immer weniger Mitsprache.
  2. Raiffeisen Schweiz bestimmt die Strategie der Bankengruppe, die von den Delegierten der Raiffeisenbanken abgesegnet werden. Die Delegierten sind in Regionalverbänden in Form von 21 Vereinen (!) organisiert. Diese Struktur ist komplex und vor allem undemokratisch. Als Genossenschafter habe ich anlässlich einer Generalversammlung oder auf anderen Wegen noch nie etwas von diesen Delegierten gehört, kenne diese also nicht und kann sie ergo auch nicht wählen oder abwählen.
  3. Die 1,9 Millionen Genossenschafterinnen und Genossenschafter müssen die Entwicklung ihrer Raiffeisenbank wieder stärker in die eigenen Hände nehmen. Zuerst ist im Rahmen der Generalversammlung die nötige Transparenz einzufordern und dann Einfluss auf die strategische Führung der Bank zu nehmen, damit dem tatsächlichen Genossenschaftsgedanken wieder Geltung verschafft werden kann; erst dann kann man den Genossenschaftsgedanken verbreiten und vertiefen, was ein Segen für die Wirtschaft wäre.

Die Vertreter von Raiffeisen sind durchaus gesprächsbereit, davon konnte ich mich persönlich überzeugen. Nun ist eine breite Diskussion mit der Basis, das heisst den Genossenschafterinnen und Genossenschaftern, zu führen, um damit die genossenschaftliche Mit- und Selbstbestimmung zu sichern und ins 21. Jahrhundert zu retten.    •

*    René Roca ist promovierter Historiker und Gymnasiallehrer. Er leitet das Forschungsinstitut direkte Demokratie (www.fidd.ch).