What good team spirit is capable of

A possibly record-breaking school class

by Heini Hofmann

The old secondary school in Uetendorf with bell tower, to the left of it the old
primary school Berg; both do not exist anymore. (Picture FWU)

The old village school was more modest compared to today, but not as bad as modernism often discredits it in retrospect, maybe it was even a better life education. The evidence of this is the example of a secondary school class whose team spirit was so strong that, decades after graduation, they were able to realise a class reunion with a class mate who emigrated to Australia when they were still at school.
An almost complete class reunion at the other end of the world, that is probably record-breaking. And also the descendants of this classmate in Down Under, who now, at the age of 80, can be proud of six children, 17 grandchildren and already 17 great grandchildren!

Like a big family

Most of the classmates of Uetendorf Secondary School near Thun who were born in 1938 and left school in 1954, now have 80 years under their belt. Of those 27, however, 11 have already died. At regular school reunions memories are recalled of a school time, when many things were different: In the old secondary school on the Uetendorf mountain with the creaking wooden stairs and the turret, from which the eleven o’clock bell sounded, you sat at wooden boards, wrote with pencil and ink and the teacher with chalk on the blackboard. No calculators, mobile phones or computers and certainly no designer clothes, but woollen jumpers hand-knitted by mother. They carried satchels, the girls wore braids and aprons, the boys short hair and knickerbocker trousers.
The staff room was a wooden bench in front of the schoolhouse, under the open sky, even in winter! PE lessons took place on a forest clearing, with rolled-up trousers and sleeves. In the break there was milk; Uetendorf at that time was still a farming village. And because this school also served other communities in the hill country in front of the Stockhorn Mountains, the pupils - from Thierachern, Uttigen, Seftigen, Gurzelen, Amsoldingen, Uebeschi and Höfen - came with their bicycles or in snowy winters with their skis, one from Höfen even with horse and sledge. For them, there was soup, bread and apples for lunch. In short, the class was like a big family; that bound together.

Farewell and reunion

But in 1950, in the 6th grade, there was a turning point: One day the class teacher announced that Vreni Schärer would leave us – forever. Her family migrated to Australia, that distant continent that was usually hidden on the back of the globe at the front of the classroom. After a cumbersome voyage across the Suez Canal, Vreni arrived in her new home and then sent the class regularly letters with kangaroo and koala pictures, and this favour was returned by the class with letters and calendar photos from the old homeland. However, after the school years, this contact then ebbed away a bit.
Until one day – in 1993, more than 40 years after her emigration – Vreni unexpectedly turned up in Switzerland. And – the old class spirit worked: Within just 24 hours, an almost complete class reunion in Burgdorf near Kirchberg, the birthplace of our expat-classmate, whose name now was Verena Johnson-Schärer, was successfully summoned and Vreni was visibly pleased. She brought her husband Kevin, a nice Australian, and proudly showed the photos of her six children (four daughters, two sons) and the already large number of grandchildren.

Class reunion in the garden of the classmate in Nabiac, Australia. (Picture HHJ)

Crazy class reunion

Everybody reminisced, joked and laughed, and the author jokingly suggested that the next class reunion should be held in Australia. A short silence, a soft murmur, then suddenly from several sides a timid, then more and more decided: “Why not?” The fuse burned, and once again the class spirit was there: The crazy idea was adopted! So it happened that three years later, in September 1996, the majority of the class (including partners) boarded the plane with destination Sydney at Zurich Airport – for a perfectly planned, three and a half week journey through Australia with the – possibly Guinness record-breaking – class reunion at Vreni’s as the highlight!
All were still fit enough, perhaps thanks to break milk and forest gymnastics of yesteryear … The journey took us from Sydney along the east coast via Brisbane and Cairns to Darwin and from there through the middle of the continent via Alice Springs and Ayers Rock to Kangaroo Island and Adelaide – and from there via Singapore back home. But besides all the sightseeing and excursions and the amazement of the mighty natural wonders, including the Great Barrier Reef, the visit to our classmate in Nabiac/NSW, counting just under 600 inhabitants and located upcountry the east coast at the height of Surfers’ Paradise, on the sixth day of the journey, was of course the most emotional highlight of our trip.

Unforgettable experience

Since their retirement Vreni and Kevin have been living on small self-catering farm there, after previously operating a garage in Sydney. Actually, one could call it a subtropical paradise; because the house is surrounded by a magnificent flowery park-like garden, overgrown by tall eucalyptus trees, where wallabies (small kangaroos), wild rabbits and colourful birds are frolicking. Around it are pastures for cattle and horses. A large drinking water cistern serves to bridge the often extreme dry-season.
And what a reception on arrival! Everyone is standing in front of the house waving Bernese and Swiss flags. Obviously the old home has not been forgotten. After eating, drinking and chatting, there is an unplanned climax of the journey: a digestive night walk through the dark outback. No one speaks a word, everybody listens to the strange animal sounds in field, bush and swamp. And above us the southern starry sky sparkles with the magnificent Milky Way and the Southern Cross, as we have never seen it in such intensity, because there is no light pollution. One begins to understand that Vreni has become fond of her new home here.

Little epilogue

Since then, Vreni with her Kevin came to Switzerland once more in 2004, which again was an opportunity for a spontaneous class reunion at Lake Thun, where the two from Down Under (then) were surprised to spot Australian black swans among the white swans. However, these illegal immigrants later fared less well than our legally emigrated Vreni in the land of kangaroos, koalas, and kookaburras. After the death of her husband, she came once more to the old homeland in 2012, accompanied by a son, to visit her almost 100-year-old mother and participate in the 20th class reunion. On her 80th birthday, which she celebrated in Australia as the first of the class, all her six children, 34 grand and great-grandchildren plus relatives met, although they live scattered across half of the continent, 85 people in total. The team spirit lives on in the extended family!
What probably also speaks for the former village school: Even today Vreni writes amazingly beautiful letters by hand in her mother tongue, which she could never use in everyday life, what is more, she writes in an amusing style and almost without mistakes. Think of our email “culture”! In short: the old elementary school, today, from the point of view of permanent school reforms, often ridiculed as “Pestalozzianian”, was definitely much simpler, but maybe this is why it generated close-knit communities. And notabene all students have made something of their lives, both professionally and physically, despite the inexistence of the Internet and the gym. This is not sentimental romanticism, just a statement.     •
(Translation Current Concerns)

Tastings from Vreni‘s Letters

“My grandmother, a ‘Verdingkind’* (‘contract child’) from the village Seftigen, always said that she never needed to go hungry, she had enough potatoes and vegetables but never enough bread. Therefore we, her grandchildren, had to pay attention that no ‘Brösmeli’ (breadcrumb) be left behind, that was a sin in her eyes! If she had to eat bread here (in Australia), it was, for her, less of a sin (to leave breadcrumbs); because our bread is not as good as in Switzerland! But one gets used to everything.”
“On my 80th birthday I became great-grandmother for the 17th time. Once great-grandmother and the 18th grandchild is already on the way. I have a difficult time remembering all the names, let alone the birth dates of everyone! On my Round Birthday, I received a card from the Swiss Consulate in Sidney and from an official in our parish as well. One has to reach the age of 100 in order to receive a card from Queen Elisabeth. That will no longer be possible for me…“
“Due to the dryness, the kangaroos come closer to the houses where the grass is a bit greener. Unfortunately, many are hit by cars in searching for grass. Our 32 year old horse had to be put to sleep by the veterinarian. The first few days for his ‘son‘, also already 23 years old, were difficult, he didn‘t want to eat and simply remained standing under the same tree. Now he‘s doing better and our two dogs are around him often. Even animals have feelings!“

*Verdingkinder – children in Switzerland who were taken from their parents, often due to poverty and sent to live with new families, often poor farmers who needed cheap labour.

Wozu guter Teamgeist fähig ist

Eine rekordverdächtige Schulklasse

von Heini Hofmann

Das alte Sekundarschulhaus in Uetendorf mit Glockentürmchen, links davon das alte Primarschulhaus Berg; beide existieren nicht mehr. (Bild FWU)

Die alte Dorfschule war im Vergleich zu heute bescheidener, aber nicht so schlecht, wie der Modernismus sie retrospektiv öfters diskreditiert, ja, vielleicht war sie sogar die bessere Lebensschulung. Dies belegt das Beispiel einer Sekundarschulklasse, deren Teamgeist so gross war, dass sie Jahrzehnte nach Schulabschluss eine Klassenzusammenkunft bei einer während der Schulzeit ausgewanderten Kameradin in Australien zu realisieren vermochte.
Ein fast vollzähliges Klassentreffen am andern Ende der Welt, das ist wohl rekordverdächtig. Und ebenso die Nachkommensrate dieser Klassenkameradin in Down under, die jetzt im Alter von 80 Jahren stolz sein darf auf 6 Kinder, 17 Grosskinder und bereits 17 Urgrosskinder!

Wie eine grosse Familie

Jetzt haben sie bald alle 80 Jährchen auf dem Buckel, die Klassenkameradinnen und -kameraden des Jahrgangs 1938 der Sekundarschule Uetendorf bei Thun mit Schulabgang 1954. Von damals 27 sind allerdings bereits 11 verstorben. An regelmässigen Klassentreffen werden Erinnerungen wachgerufen an eine Schulzeit, da vieles noch anders war: Im alten Sekundarschulhaus auf dem Uetendorf-Berg mit den knarrenden Holztreppen und dem Türmchen, von welchem das Elf-Uhr-Glöcklein ertönte, sass man noch an Holzpulten, schrieb mit Bleistift und Tinte und der Lehrer mit Kreide an die Wandtafel. Keine Taschenrechner, Handys und Computer und schon gar keine Designerklamotten, dafür Glismets von Muttern. Man trug Schultornister, die Mädchen Zöpfe und Schürzen, die Buben kurze Haare und Knickerbockerhosen.
Das Lehrerzimmer war eine Holzbank vor dem Schulhaus, unter freiem Himmel, auch im Winter! Geturnt wurde auf einer Waldlichtung, mit hochgekrempelten Hosen und Ärmeln. In der Znünipause gabs Pausenmilch; Uetendorf war damals noch ein Bauerndorf. Und weil diese Schule auch anderen Gemeinden im Hügelland vor der Stockhornkette diente, kamen die Schülerinnen und Schüler – von Thierachern, Uttigen, Seftigen, Gurzelen, Amsoldingen, Uebeschi und Höfen – mit den Velos oder in damals noch schneereichen Wintern mit den Skiern, einer von Höfen sogar mit Ross und Schlitten. Für sie gab es im Schulhaus über Mittag Suppe, Brot und Äpfel. Kurz: Die Klasse war wie eine grosse Familie; das schweisste zusammen.

Abschied und Wiedersehn

Doch 1950 in der 6. Klasse (= 2. Sek) gab es eine Zäsur: Der Klassenlehrer teilte eines Tages mit, dass uns das Vreni Schärer verlasse – für immer. Seine Familie wandere nach Australien aus, auf jenen fernen Kontinent, der am Globus vorne im Schulzimmer meist auf dessen Rückseite versteckt war. Nach einer beschwerlichen Schiffsreise via Suezkanal gelangte Vreni in seine neue Heimat und schickte der Klasse nun regelmässig Briefe mit Känguruh- und Koalabildli, und diese revanchierte sich mit Klassenbriefen und geschleckten Kalenderhelgeli aus der alten Heimat. Doch nach der Schulzeit verebbte dieser Kontakt dann etwas.  
Bis eines Tages – es war 1993, mehr als 40 Jahre nach ihrer Auswanderung – das Vreni unverhofft in der Schweiz auftauchte. Und siehe da, der alte Klassengeist funktionierte: Innerhalb von nur 24 Stunden gelang es, eine bereits zwei Tage später stattfindende, fast vollzählige Klassenzusammenkunft in Burgdorf, nahe ihrem Geburtsort Kirchberg, einzuberufen, was die Auslandschweizer Klassenkameradin, die jetzt Verena Johnson-Schärer hiess, sichtlich freute. Sie brachte ihren Mann Kevin mit, einen sympathischen Australier, und zeigte stolz die Fotos der sechs Kinder (vier Töchter, zwei Söhne) und der bereits stattlichen Anzahl Grosskinder.

Klassentreffen im Parkgarten der Klassenkameradin im australischen Nabiac. (Bild HHJ)

Verrücktes Klassentreffen

Man schwelgte in Erinnerungen, scherzte und lachte, und der Schreibende kalauerte, dass man die nächste Klassenzusammenkunft in Australien machen sollte. Kurzes Schweigen, leises Raunen, dann plötzlich von mehreren Seiten ein zuerst zaghaftes, dann immer dezidierteres: «Warum eigentlich nicht?» Die Lunte brannte, und einmal mehr spielte der Klassengeist: Der verrückte Beschluss wurde gefasst! So begab es sich denn, dass drei Jahre später, im September 1996, der Grossteil der Klasse (samt Gschpusis) in Kloten das Flugzeug mit Ziel Sydney bestieg – für eine perfekt geplante, dreieinhalbwöchige Reise durch Australien mit Highlight Klassentreffen bei Vreni, was wohl fast Guinness-rekordverdächtig war!
Fit genug waren alle noch, vielleicht dank Pausenmilch und Waldturnen von einst … Die Reise führte von Sydney die Ostküste hinauf via Brisbane und Cairns bis Darwin und von hier durch die Mitte des Kontinents hinunter via Alice Springs und Ayers Rock nach Kangaroo Island und Adelaide – und von hier wieder via Singapur zurück nach Hause. Doch neben all den vielen Besichtigungen und Ausflügen und dem Staunen ob den gewaltigen Naturwundern, Great Barrier Reef inklusive, war natürlich der emotionalste Höhepunkt der Reise der Besuch bei unserer Klassenkameradin am sechsten Reisetag in Nabiac/NSW, knapp 600 Einwohner zählend und an der Ostküste auf der Höhe von Surfers Paradise landeinwärts gelegen.

Unvergessliches Erlebnis

Hier haben sich Vreni und Kevin (nach der Pensionierung) auf eine kleine Selbtversorgerfarm zurückgezogen, nachdem sie vorher in Sydney eine Garage betrieben hatten. Eigentlich könnte man es ein subtropisches Paradies nennen; denn das Haus ist umgeben von einem prächtigen, von hohen Eukalyptusbäumen überschatteten, blumenreichen Parkgarten, wo sich Wallabys (Zwergkänguruhs), Wildkaninchen und buntfarbene Vögel tummeln. Darum herum sind Weiden für Rinder und Pferde. Eine grosse Trinkwasser-Zisterne dient zur Überbrückung der oft extremen Trockenzeit.
Und welch ein Empfang beim Eintreffen! Alle stehen vor dem Haus und winken mit Berner- und Schweizer-Fähnchen. Die alte Heimat hat man offensichtlich nicht vergessen. Nach Essen, Trinken und Palavern kommt es zu einem ungeplanten Höhepunkt der Reise: ein gemeinsamer Verdauungs-Nachtspaziergang durchs finstere Outback. Keiner spricht ein Wort, alle lauschen den fremdartigen Tierstimmen in Feld, Busch und Sumpf. Und über uns funkelt der südliche Sternenhimmel mit grandioser Milchstrasse und Kreuz des Südens, wie wir dies in solcher Intensität noch nie gesehen haben, weil ohne jegliche Lichtverschmutzung. Man beginnt zu verstehen, dass dem Vreni hier seine neue Heimat lieb geworden ist.

Kleiner Epilog

Seither war das Vreni mit ihrem Kevin 2004 nochmals in der Schweiz, was wieder Anlass war für eine spontane Klassenzusammenkunft am Thunersee, wo die beiden aus Down under (damals) nicht schlecht staunten, unter den weissen Höckerschwänen auch Australische Schwarzschwäne zu erblicken. Diesen illegalen Immigranten erging es jedoch später weniger gut als unserem im Land der Känguruhs, Koalas und Kookaburras legal eingewanderten Vreni. Nach dem Tod seines Mannes kam es 2012 noch einmal, begleitet von einem Sohn, in die alte Heimat, um seine fast 100jährige Mutter zu besuchen und am 20. Klassentreffen teilzunehmen. An ihrem 80. Geburtstag, den sie nun als Erste der Klasse feierte, trafen sich in Australien, obschon sie über den halben Kontinent verstreut leben, alle 6 Kinder, sämtliche 34 Gross- und Urgrosskinder plus Verwandte, insgesamt 85 Personen. Der Teamgeist lebt auch in der Grossfamilie weiter!
Was wohl ebenfalls für die ehemalige Dorfschule spricht: Noch heute schreibt Vreni gestochen schöne Briefe von Hand in ihrer Muttersprache, die sie im Alltag nie verwenden konnte, und dies erst noch in amüsantem Stil und fast fehlerfrei. Man vergleiche mit unserer Mail«kultur»! Kurz: Die alte Volksschule, aus Sicht der heute sich jagenden Reformen als pestalozzianisch belächelt, war wohl in vielem simpler, aber vielleicht gerade deshalb im zwischenmenschlichen Bereich kittender. Und notabene haben alle damit auch ihren Weg gemacht, sowohl beruflich wie sportlich, trotz Inexistenz von Internet und Turnhalle. Dies ist keine sentimentale Beschönigung, lediglich eine Feststellung.    •

Kostproben aus Vrenis Briefen

«Meine Grossmutter, ein Verdingkind aus Seftigen, sagte immer, sie musste nie hungern, hatte genug Kartoffeln und Gemüse, aber nie genug Brot. So mussten wir Grosskinder aufpassen und kein ‹Brösmeli› liegen lassen, das war eine Sünde in ihren Augen! Wenn sie das Brot hier hätte essen müssen, wäre es ihr wohl weniger ‹sündhaft› gewesen; denn unser Brot ist nicht so gut wie in der Schweiz! Aber man gewöhnt sich an alles.»
«Wurde am Tag nach meinem 80. Geburtstag zum 17. Mal Urgrossmutter, und das 18. Urgrosskind ist schon unterwegs. Habe bald Mühe, alle Namen zu behalten, geschweige denn das Geburtsdatum von allen! Zu meinem runden Geburtstag erhielt ich eine Gratulationskarte vom Schweizer Konsulat in Sydney und auch eine vom ‹Beamten› in unserer Gemeinde. Man muss aber 100jährig werden, bevor man eine von Königin Eliza­beth erhält. Das wird für mich wohl nicht mehr möglich werden …»
«Da es trocken ist, kommen die Känguruhs näher zu den Häusern, wo das Gras noch ein wenig grüner ist. Leider werden dann viele von den Autos überfahren, wenn sie den Strassen nach grasen. Unser 32 Jahre altes Pferd musste vom Tierarzt eingeschläfert werden. Für sein ‹Junges›, das auch schon 23jährig ist, waren die ersten paar Tage schlimm, es wollte nicht fressen und blieb einfach unter dem gleichen Baum stehen. Nun geht es wieder gut, unsere zwei Hunde gehen viel zu ihm. Auch Tiere haben Gefühle!»