Protection of free will formation in direct democracy

Federal Supreme Court repeals a federal vote for the first time

by Dr iur. Marianne WŁthrich

Many citizens rightfully complain about the Federal Council’s voting information on some of the bills: unobjective, one-sided, false statements, concealment of important facts, discrediting of opponents’ arguments, up to deliberate influencing of the voters – all these methods have already been used by Federal Councilors to get the majority of the voting population to make the “right” decision. In the case of particularly important bills, the Federal Council resp. its administrative team begins “laying a carpet of opinion” long time before a vote, a clearly manipulative procedure. For example, the Federal Council’s “Explanations on the Swiss-EU institutional framework agreement” of 16 January 20191 already contain the entire construct of disinformation that we are very likely to find in the voting booklet before the referendum (unless the whole thing is stopped by politics!).
    With such controversial information, the executive violates a fundamental right of the citizen, which is indispensable in the direct democratic state: the free formation of opinion. This fundamental right is enshrined in Article 34, par. 2, of the Federal Constitution: “The guarantee of political rights protects the freedom of the citizen to form an opinion and to give genuine expression to his or her will.”
    How can we demand the protection of this fundamental right? In the case of cantonal and municipal votes with voting complaints, which, if justified, are protected by the competent cantonal authorities, sometimes also by the Federal Supreme Court of last instance. This is more difficult against state disinformation at the federal level because the Federal Court has only limited powers here.
    Nevertheless, on 10 April the Federal Supreme Court, for the first time in its history, declared a federal referendum void, the voting on the initiative “For marriage and family – against the marriage penalty”. Thus, the supreme court has demonstrated, as it were, that the citizens should have a claim on protection of their free formation of will even in federal votes. Yes, of course – but how and by which institution?

First, a few words on the plebiscite involved: What the initiative was about, why an appeal was lodged against the result of the vote and on what preliminary grounds (the written reasons for the ruling are still pending) the Federal Supreme Court overturned the vote.

Cancellation of the vote because of massive wrong number in the voting booklet

The federal popular initiative “For marriage and family – against the marriage penalty” was launched by the CVP (Christian democratic people’s party). It argued that married couples vs. unmarried couples should not be penalised by the state, for example by double taxpayers paying more taxes or by giving retired married couples less Old-age and survival’s insurance (OASI)) than two individuals. In the referendum of February 28, 2016, the initiative was narrowly rejected, with around 55,000 more no-votes (50.8% against 49.2% yes); 16 1/2 against 6 1/2 cantons voted for it.2
Two and a half years later, it turned out that one number in the voting booklet was not correct: While some 80,000 affected double-earner couples were mentioned here, the Federal Council informed in the summer of 2018 that it was actually around 454,000, i.e. over five times more. Individual citizens in several cantons then complained to the respective government council and demanded that the vote be repealed. After refusing their complaints, they appealed to the Federal Court.
The Federal Court endorsed the complaints and justified the cancellation of the vote in its press release of 10 April as follows: “The incomplete and non-transparent information of the Federal Council has violated the voting rights of the voters. Given the tight rejection of the bill and the gravity of the irregularities, it is possible that the result of the vote could have been different.”
The Federal Supreme Court relied on Article 34, par. 2 of the Federal Constitution, which protects freedom of formation of will and unalterated voting.

Position of the Federal Court in the Swiss state framework

Unlike in most states, we have no constitutional jurisdiction at the federal level. In direct democratic Switzerland, the highest authority is not the Federal Court, but the sovereign (people and estates). Federal referendums are in principle not legally voidable except in the case of clear procedural errors. Anyone who does not agree with this must continue to try politically to assert his or her opinion.
Thus, Article 189, par. 4 of the Federal Constitution states: “Acts of the Federal Assembly or the Federal Council may not be challenged in the Federal Supreme Court. Exceptions may be provided for by law.” According to the “Federal Law on the Federal Supreme Court (BGG)”, the Federal Supreme Court can judge complaints concerning the political voting rights of citizens as well as popular elections and votes (Article 82 c.). However, this only applies “in cantonal matters”, while at the federal level, voting rights complaints are only made against “decrees of the Federal Chancellery” (Article 88, par.1 BGG).
However, the example of the popular initiative against the marriage penalty shows once again that this lack of protection can be very scandalous. Rainer Schweizer, professor on constitutional law, justifies in the interview on page 6 his legal opinion that the protection of fundamental rights of Art. 34 Federal Constitution against false voting information must also apply at the federal level, because it is not about rights of the Federal Council and Parliament, but about the protection of citizens.     •

1    https://www.eda.admin.ch/dam/dea/de/documents/abkommen/InstA-Erlaeuterungen_de.pdf
2    Federal Chancellery. Referenda. Template No. 596. https://www.bk.admin.ch/ch/d/pore/va/20160228/det596.html

Schutz der freien Willensbildung in der direkten Demokratie

Bundesgericht hebt erstmals eine eidgenössische Abstimmung auf

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Viele Bürger beklagen sich mit Recht über die Abstimmungsinformationen des Bundesrates zu manchen Vorlagen: unsachliche, einseitige, falsche Aussagen, Verschweigen wichtiger Fakten, Diskreditierung von Argumenten der Gegner, bis hin zur absichtlichen Beeinflussung der Stimmberechtigten – all diese Methoden haben Bundesräte schon benutzt, um die Mehrheit des Stimmvolks zum «richtigen» Entscheid zu bringen. Bei besonders wichtigen Vorlagen beginnt der Bundesrat beziehungsweise seine Mannschaft in der Verwaltung, schon lange Zeit vor einer Abstimmung «einen Meinungsteppich zu legen», ein klar manipulatives Vorgehen. So enthalten beispielsweise die «Erläuterungen zum institutionellen Rahmenabkommen Schweiz-EU» des Bundesrates vom 16. Januar 20191 bereits das ganze Desinformationskonstrukt, das wir vor dem Volksentscheid mit grosser Wahrscheinlichkeit im Abstimmungsbüchlein wieder finden werden (ausser das Ganze wird von der Politik schon vorher gestoppt!).
Mit derlei umstrittenen Informationen verletzt die Exekutive ein fundamentales Recht der Bürger, das im direktdemokratischen Staat unabdingbar ist: die freie Meinungsbildung. Dieses Grundrecht ist in Artikel 34 Absatz 2 der Bundesverfassung verankert: «Die Garantie der politischen Rechte schützt die freie Willensbildung und die unverfälschte Stimmabgabe.» Wie können wir den Schutz dieses Grundrechts einfordern? Bei kantonalen und kommunalen Abstimmungen mit Abstimmungsbeschwerden, die, wenn sie begründet sind, von den zuständigen kantonalen Behörden, zuweilen auch vom Bundesgericht als letzter Instanz geschützt werden. Gegen staatliche Desinformation auf eidgenössischer Ebene ist dies schwieriger, weil das Bundesgericht hier nur beschränkte Befugnisse hat.
Am 10. April hat das Bundesgericht trotzdem, zum ersten Mal in seiner Geschichte, eine eidgenössische Volksabstimmung für ungültig erklärt, die Abstimmung über die Initiative «Für Ehe und Familie – gegen die Heiratsstrafe». Damit hat das oberste Gericht gleichsam demonstriert, dass die Bürger auch bei eidgenössischen Abstimmungen einen Anspruch auf Schutz ihrer freien Willensbildung haben sollten. Ja, natürlich – aber wie und durch welche Institution?

Zunächst einige Worte zur betroffenen Volksabstimmung: Worum es in der Initiative ging, warum gegen das Abstimmungsresultat Beschwerde eingereicht wurde und mit welcher vorläufigen Begründung (die schriftliche Urteilsbegründung steht noch aus) das Bundesgericht die Abstimmung aufgehoben hat.

Aufhebung der Abstimmung wegen massiv falscher Zahl im Abstimmungsbüchlein

Die eidgenössische Volksinitiative «Für Ehe und Familie – gegen die Heiratsstrafe» wurde von der CVP lanciert. Sie forderte, dass Verheiratete gegenüber Unverheirateten durch den Staat nicht benachteiligt werden dürfen, etwa indem Doppelverdiener mehr Steuern bezahlen müssen oder pensionierte Ehepaare weniger AHV (Altersrente) erhalten als zwei Einzelpersonen. In der Volksabstimmung vom 28.2.2016 wurde die Initiative knapp abgelehnt, mit rund 55 000 mehr Nein-Stimmen (50,8 % Nein gegen 49,2 % Ja); 16 1/2 gegen 6 1/2 Kantone stimmten dafür.2
Zweieinhalb Jahre später stellte sich heraus, dass eine Zahl im Abstimmungsbüchlein nicht korrekt war: Während hier von rund 80 000 betroffenen Doppelverdiener-Ehepaaren die Rede war, informierte der Bundesrat im Sommer 2018, es seien in Wirklichkeit rund 454 000, also über fünfmal mehr. Darauf erhoben einzelne Bürger in mehreren Kantonen beim jeweiligen Regierungsrat Beschwerde und verlangten die Aufhebung der Abstimmung. Nach der Ablehnung ihrer Beschwerden zogen sie diese ans Bundesgericht weiter.
Das Bundesgericht hiess die Beschwerden gut und begründete in seiner Medienmitteilung vom 10. April die Aufhebung der Abstimmung so: «Die unvollständigen und intransparenten Informationen des Bundesrates haben die Abstimmungsfreiheit der Stimmberechtigten verletzt. Angesichts der knappen Ablehnung der Vorlage und der Schwere der Unregelmässigkeiten ist es möglich, dass das Abstimmungsresultat anders hätte ausfallen können.»
Dabei stützte sich das Bundesgericht auf Art. 34 Absatz 2 der Bundesverfassung, der die freie Willensbildung und die unverfälschte Stimmabgabe schützt.

Stellung des Bundesgerichts im Schweizer Staatsgefüge

Anders als in den meisten Staaten kennen wir keine Verfassungsgerichtsbarkeit auf Bundesebene. In der direktdemokratischen Schweiz steht zuoberst nicht das Bundesgericht, sondern der Souverän (Volk und Stände). Eidgenössische Volksentscheide sind im Prinzip rechtlich nicht anfechtbar, ausser bei klaren Formfehlern. Wer damit nicht einverstanden ist, muss auf politischem Weg weiter versuchen, sich mit seiner Meinung durchzusetzen.
So bestimmt Artikel 189 Absatz 4 der Bundesverfassung: «Akte der Bundesversammlung und des Bundesrates können beim Bundesgericht nicht angefochten werden. Ausnahmen bestimmt das Gesetz.» Gemäss «Bundesgesetz über das Bundesgericht (BGG)» kann das Bundesgericht zwar Beschwerden «betreffend die politische Stimmberechtigung der Bürger und Bürgerinnen sowie betreffend Volkswahlen und -abstimmungen» beurteilen (Artikel 82 c.). Allerdings gilt dies nur «in kantonalen Angelegenheiten», während auf Bundesebene Stimmrechtsbeschwerden lediglich gegen «Verfügungen der Bundeskanzlei» vorgesehen sind (Artikel 88 Absatz 1 BGG).
Das Beispiel der Volksinitiative gegen die Heiratsstrafe zeigt jedoch einmal mehr, dass dieser fehlende Schutz sehr stossend sein kann. Staatsrechtsprofessor Rainer Schweizer begründet im Interview auf Seite 3 seine Rechtsauffassung, dass der Grundrechtsschutz des Art. 34 BV gegen falsche Abstimmungsinformationen auch auf eidgenössischer Ebene gelten muss, weil es hier nicht um Rechte von Bundesrat und Parlament geht, sondern um den Schutz der Bürger.    •

1    https://www.eda.admin.ch/dam/dea/de/documents/abkommen/InstA-Erlaeuterungen_de.pdf
2    Bundeskanzlei. Volksabstimmungen. Vorlage Nr. 596. https://www.bk.admin.ch/ch/d/pore/va/20160228/det596.html