Tremendous effects of the EU internal market?

Bertelsmann policy paper confirms: The gap between EU countries is becoming ever wider

by Dr iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Shortly before the EU elections, the “Bertelsmann Stiftung” has published a policy paper (a “study”, according to the German summary) that presents the effects of the EU’s internal market on the incomes of residents in the EU and EEA states, as well as in Switzerland, and comes to astonishing conclusions1, namely that, thanks to the internal market, per capita incomes are said to be rising considerably every year in all countries – admittedly not everywhere and equally strongly for everyone, but even so: “The EU internal market has not only led to the dismantling of border controls, but also basically brings Europeans a plus in their wallets. On average, EU citizens’ per capita welfare gains from the SM amount to 840 euros per year. For Germany, the annual increase in income per person amounts to 1,046 euros.”2
For many an unemployed Spaniard, a Greek pensioner or a German Hartz IV recipient, who can barely cover their minimum subsistence needs with their meagre monthly allowance, let alone take care of their families, such statements present a downright cynicism. The Bertelsmann strategy paper could therefore appear counterproductive to its hoped-for appeal to many EU voters.
In addition to the EU electorate, the study is particularly aimed at the Swiss and the British. Of all people, these two – who do not want to join the EU at all or who want to leave it again – are allegedly among the greatest profiteers of the EU’s internal market. What well-chosen bait dangled in front of us by Brussels so as to persuade us Swiss to approve the institutional framework agreement! And to make the British revoke their withdrawal decision.
What the financial blessings of participating in the EU’s internal market are all about, is to be examined here from a political point of view.

The Swiss mainstream media, at any rate, have been delighted to jump at this bait. The “St. Galler Tagblatt”, which belongs to the NZZ Group, warns under the title “We Swiss profiteers”: “Those political forces that cast doubt on our participation in the EU internal market […] must know that they are destroying prosperity. That is the price we pay when we dream of greater independence.”3
The British, on the other hand, were warned by Bertelsmann project manager and co-author of the strategy paper, Dominic Ponattu himself: “A complete withdrawal of the British from the internal market would have a severe impact, not only on Greater London but also on industrial and innovative regions in the south of the country.”4 With a focus on Great Britain, the British economist Professor Dr Giordano Mion, University of Sussex, who is also a member of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR), UK, was commissioned as the second author.5
In this context there is no place to itemise the economic model – that is difficult for laypersons to understand, or deliberately presented in a complicated manner? – used by Mion and Ponattu to “prove” the supposed, truly impressive income gains brought about by the EU single market. Let us leave aside the applied “gravity model” and the related simulation calculations, as well as estimates of how strongly the EU internal market, or its disappearance, could affect trade.6

Attempt at explaining the model to laypersons – and critical deliberations

Essentially, it is not so difficult: the authors assume that trade between companies in the internal market (e.g. an Italian and a Polish company) is financially more advantageous because of lower trade costs (elimination of customs duties and non-tariff barriers7). This has a positive effect on prices and production (consumers can afford more because of lower prices = increasing demand; therefore more can be produced = increasing supply). “On the one hand, this ensures more competition for the best products and the lowest prices; on the other hand, the internal market facilitates investment by companies within Europe […].”
Entrepreneurs on the high-price island of Switzerland, for example, are forced to stand the pace in the competition for the best products, and they often can, but they would have no chance in the struggle for low prices. More competition would, in turn, lead to further price reductions and, as a consequence, to more economic growth, so the authors. “The stronger trade integration caused by the single market will ultimately lead to a shift in economic resources (labour and capital) from the less productive to the most productive firms and to a stronger increase in overall economic productivity.”8
In plain language this means that, for example, the production of tomatoes is transferred from farmers in the Mediterranean countries (= less productive companies) to Dutch conglomerates (= most productive companies), because the latter firms’ CEOs have more practice with pro-competitive tactics. From there the tomatoes are then transported to a low-cost country in the southeast of the EU to be processed into canned food, and finally back to the Mediterranean or elsewhere for sale. It is true that this back and forth movement of raw materials, individual parts, semi-finished and finished products across the continent does pollute the air and produce congestion and noise, yet in turn it creates many low-wage jobs for truck drivers and correspondingly higher profits for large logistics groups (= the overall economic productivity can grow more strongly). This whole network of production chains in the EU’s internal market is causing prices to fall further, “which can increase consumer welfare”. Or rather the welfare or the profits of the major shareholders and managers of the multinationals? For the welfare of tomato farmers and their families, as well as of those unemployed for whom jobs could be created in potential canneries in the Mediterranean, would be many times greater if they could produce, process and consume locally (as recommended by the World Agricultural Report TAASTD).
For welfare does not necessarily mean financial prosperity, but rather the well-being of people in their families and at work, as well as an autonomous coexistence in the larger community, their physical and mental well-being, a good educational and health care system, and all the other things necessary for a decent life. The EU internal market construct has led people far away from such a life model. In a Europe of free and equal sovereign states, living and working together for the good of all could be much better organised.

EU internal market does not contribute to more justice – quite the contrary

The Bertelsmann strategy paper is not about this kind of welfare of people in the local working world and in their life together, it is about money, and this is highly unfairly distributed in the well-organised market economy of the EU’s internal market. According to Aart de Geus, Chairman of the Bertelsmann Stiftung Executive Board: “The EU internal market is one of the biggest driving factors of our prosperity and works in a way similar to that of the market economy: not everyone benefits equally, but everyone wins.”9 Really everyone?
The study first compares the “economic effects of the domestic market at the country level” and comes to a less surprising conclusion: Within the countries there are large differences in the development of per capita income. According to the study, “Switzerland leads with 2,914 euros per capita in income gains, followed by Luxembourg (2,834 euros) and Ireland (1,894 euros)”. Germany and France are also among the top ten, with income gains of a good 1000 euros per capita, while Bulgaria and Romania are at the bottom of the list with 242 and 193 euros respectively, and Greece and Portugal also record small increases.
At the regional level, Zurich ranks at the top, ahead of Luxembourg, Vorarlberg and Salzburg, allegedly because of its proximity to Germany (lower costs due to short distances to major trading partners) – an absurd explanation in a time of cheap flights and when the cheapest products come from Africa, despite long distances. – The financial centre of London as well as other British economic centres are also far to the front.
From this, the study draws two by no means new conclusions: “These results show that small, open economies with a strong trade orientation and high competitiveness gain most from the internal market”. And: “… that countries in the geographical centre of Europe benefit more […]”10.
Nothing new under the sun – only that in the strategy paper, increasing per capita income is recorded as a success of the EU internal market. One could also start from the other side: Obviously, despite all levelling down by an all-pervading bureaucracy, it has not been possible to achieve more justice than this in the “Peace Project Europe” – nor is that the goal. “Not everyone benefits equally …”.

Questionable corrections of inequalities – cui bono?

We take the main findings of the Bertelsmann Strategy Paper from the English original (the German summary does not get to the heart of the matter quite so clearly): “Our results suggest that gains from the SM may further reinforce pre-existing regional differences, this way adding to the core-periphery pattern and inequality more generally.”11 We have been able to see only too well, how many people’s former hopes that accession to the EU would make them and their country enjoy more prosperity were shattered, in Greece and other countries living under the dictates of the IMF/ECB/Brussels triad.
The countermeasures proposed by the strategy paper: “Productivity-inhancing measures” in the regions concerned, i.e. “investment in (digital) infrastructure and upskilling” within the framework of the EU cohesion policy. This brings to mind all sorts of ideas: which large companies are making these investments in order to generate further profits? What are the benefits for the “recipient” states? Further debts? Wouldn’t it be to their greater advantage if they could decide for themselves, what resources they need to get their economies back on track? So that they could very pleasurably be active themselves in cooperative farms and family businesses …
“Moreover, promoting competition is vital to make sure that all countries and regions reap the benefits of the SM with respect to both higher productivity as well as lower prices.”12 Though thousandfold repeated, this construct does not work, at least not for the lower income regions: Competition is primarily of benefit to large companies, and those are already well out in front.
Finally, the strategy paper targets the services market: “Almost 75 % of EU-wide value added are based on services, yet, only about a third of all EU exports are services. Better regulation on services trade could thus allow for an even greater size of the economic pie to be achieved through the SM.”13
So should all services be entrusted to the borderless EU market? Education, health, energy, environment, as well as several other fields? No way!

Imports and exports Switzerland/EU: deficit for Switzerland
Switzerland’s foreign trade balance has been positive for decades, i.e. the value of exports in Swiss francs is greater than the value of imports (export surplus). However, this does not apply to trade with the EU states: Switzerland imports significantly more goods from the European states (the EU and some other states that are not significant in terms of numbers) than it exports. 61 % of imports in 2017 came from Europe, but only 49 % of exports went to European countries. On the other hand, exports to Asia and North America have increased in recent years.
Source: Federal Statistical Office. Switzerland’s foreign trade in 2017. The most important partners.

Stability of Swiss economy is not EU merit

As far as Switzerland is concerned, it had a place among the three countries with the highest per capita income (worldwide) long before the bilateral agreements with the EU. Small economies have always had to be “open” in order to prosper, i.e. to trade with all countries and peoples and to cultivate cultural exchange. This is especially the case if, like Switzerland, they have few raw materials of their own. The good condition of Switzerland as a business location is by no means due solely to its financial centre, which generates only a small share of GDP (6–8 per cent) and has moreover been under pressure for years from its more powerful competitors – including the EU! On the contrary, around 99 per cent of companies based in Switzerland are SMEs active in a wide variety of sectors, many of them training apprentices and doing business primarily in Switzerland.
Another internal factor is Switzerland’s dual vocational training. In addition to grammar schools and universities, it is of central importance for the well-being of the Swiss population and for the low unemployment rate, especially among the younger generation. It requires a good primary school education, a high level of motivation and reliability, as well as the ability to cooperate – “many hands make light work”. (A warning to the school reformers who are unfortunately in control today: beware of sawing off the branch we are all sitting on!)
But the fact that the Swiss are doing well also has to do with the fact that they “keep order in their own house”: thanks to their direct democratic rights, their small-scale economy and the rights of the cantons, which are still strong in the federalist state, and – this is particularly important! – thanks to their armed neutrality. Countries that do not wage wars and need their army only for defence not only save a lot of money, but have energy left to utilise for much more meaningful things in the world.14
The prosperity of Switzerland or any other country has little to do with its participation in the EU internal market, as Bertelsmann confirm in the above conclusion of their study. We have been doing business with companies in other European countries for a long time, long before there was an EU, and will hopefully continue to do so for a long time to come. Tailor-made free trade agreements, such as the 1972 one still in force today between Switzerland (and the other EFTA states) and the EC, are far more suitable instruments for a sovereign state than political integration into a centralist bureaucracy colossus.    •

1    “Estimating economic benefits of the Single Market for European countries and regions. Policy Paper”. Bertelsmann Stiftung 2019. German short version: “Ökonomische Effekte des EU-Binnenmarktes in Europas Ländern und Regionen. Zusammenfassung der Studie” (www.bertelsmann-stiftung.de/fileadmin/files/BSt/Publikationen/GrauePublikationen/EZ_Study_SingleMarket.pdf)
2    Title page Bertelsmann Stiftung of 8 May 2019 (www.bertelsmann-stiftung.de/de/themen/aktuelle-meldungen/2019/mai/eu-binnenmarkt-erhoeht-pro-kopf-einkommen-der-deutschen-um-1000-euro-jaehrlich/) (in German)
3    St. Galler Tagblatt of 8 May 2019
4    Title page Bertelsmann Stiftung of 8 May 2019 (www.bertelsmann-stiftung.de/de/themen/aktuelle-meldungen/2019/mai/eu-binnenmarkt-erhoeht-pro-kopf-einkommen-der-deutschen-um-1000-euro-jaehrlich/) (in German)
5    According to wikipedia the CEPR has no connection with the US-American Center for Economic and Policy Research, which uses the same abbreviation.
6    “Estimating economic benefits of the Single Market for European countries and regions. Policy Paper”. Bertelsmann Stiftung 2019. German short version, p. 7. According to the footnote on p. 3, a detailed theoretical derivation of the model is available on demand.
7    Tariff barriers to trade are primarily tariffs. Non-tariff trade barriers are all other measures to protect domestic production and make imports more difficult, for example technical regulations, registration formalities for imports, quality requirements for products, import bans or restrictions, etc. (German version taken from Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon. wirtschaftslexikon.gabler.de/definition/non-tarifaere-Trade Barriers-37062)
8    “Economic effects of the EU internal market in Europe‘s countries and regions. Summary of the study”, p. 4
9    Cover page Bertelsmann Stiftung, 8 May 2019
10    “Economic effects of the EU internal market in Europe’s countries and regions. Summary of the study”, p. 4
11    Estimating economic benefits of the Single Market for European countries and regions. Policy Paper”. Bertelsmann Foundation 2019 Conclusion, p. 23
12    Conclusion, p. 23
13    Conclusion, p. 23
14    Thus the Swiss offer of good services is more likely to be used, if the Federal Council behaves absolutely impartially in conflicts: For this reason, Switzerland was recently asked once again by the US government to assume its consular representation in its dealings with Venezuela.

Sagenhafte Auswirkungen des EU-Binnenmarktes?

Bertelsmann-Strategiepapier bestätigt: Schere zwischen den EU-Staaten geht immer weiter auseinander

von Dr. iur. Marianne Wüthrich

Kurz vor den EU-Wahlen veröffentlicht die Bertelsmann Stiftung ein Strategiepapier (laut der deutschen Kurzfassung eine «Studie»), das die Auswirkungen des EU-Binnenmarktes auf die Einkommen der Einwohner in den EU- und EWR-Staaten sowie in der Schweiz darstellt und zu erstaunlichen Ergebnissen kommt.1 In sämtlichen Ländern würden die Pro-Kopf-Einkommen dank des Binnenmarktes jährlich beachtlich steigen – zugegebenermassen nicht überall und für jeden gleich stark, aber immerhin: «Der EU-Binnenmarkt hat nicht nur den Abbau von Grenzkontrollen bewirkt, sondern beschert den Europäern grundsätzlich auch ein Plus im Portemonnaie. Im Durchschnitt steigert der Binnenmarkt die Einkommen der EU-Bürger jährlich um rund 840 Euro pro Person. Für Deutschland beziffern sich die jährlichen Einkommenszuwächse pro Person auf 1 046 Euro».2
Für manchen stellenlosen Spanier, griechischen Rentner oder deutschen Hartz-IV-Bezüger, die mit ihrem kargen Monatsgeld kaum die minimalen Existenzbedürfnisse decken, geschweige denn für ihre Familie sorgen können, sind derlei Aussagen blanker Hohn. Das Bertelsmann-Strategiepapier könnte deshalb auf viele EU-Wähler entgegengesetzt wirken wie erhofft.
Neben der EU-Wählerschaft hat die Studie ganz besonders die Schweizer und die Briten im Visier. Ausgerechnet diese zwei Völker – die der EU gar nicht beitreten beziehungsweise diese wieder verlassen wollen – gehören angeblich zu den grössten Profiteuren des EU-Binnenmarktes. Was für ein raffinierter Köder, mit dem Brüssel uns Schweizer dazu bewegen will, dem institutionellen Rahmenabkommen zuzustimmen! Und die Briten, ihren Austrittsentscheid zurückzunehmen.
Was es mit den finanziellen Segnungen durch die Teilnahme am EU-Binnenmarkt auf sich hat, soll hier aus politischem Blickwinkel unter die Lupe genommen werden.

Die Schweizer Mainstream-Medien jedenfalls haben sich mit Wonne auf diesen Köder gestürzt. So warnt das zur NZZ-Gruppe gehörende «St. Galler Tagblatt» unter dem Titel «Wir Schweizer Profiteure»: «Jene politischen Kräfte, welche unsere Teilnahme am EU-Binnenmarkt […] infrage stellen, müssen wissen: Sie vernichten damit Wohlstand. Das ist der Preis, den wir bezahlen, wenn wir von einer grösseren Unabhängigkeit träumen.»3
Die Briten wiederum werden von Bertelsmann-Projektmanager und Mitautor des Strategiepapiers, Dominic Ponattu, höchstpersönlich gewarnt: «Ein vollständiger Austritt der Briten aus dem Binnenmarkt würde neben dem Grossraum London vor allem industrie- und innovationsstarke Regionen im Süden des Landes hart treffen.»4 Mit Fokus auf Grossbritannien wurde als zweiter Autor der britische Ökonom, Professor Dr. Giordano Mion, University of Sussex, beauftragt, der unter anderem auch Mitglied des «Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR), UK» ist.5
Es ist hier nicht der Rahmen, das für Laien schwer verständliche – oder absichtlich kompliziert formulierte? – ökonomische Modell aufzuschlüsseln, welches Mion und Ponattu anwenden, um die vermuteten, wahrhaft beeindruckenden Einkommensgewinne zu «beweisen», die der EU-Binnenmarkt zur Folge habe. Lassen wir das angewandte «Gravitationsmodell» und die damit verbundenen Simulationsrechnungen sowie die Schätzungen, wie stark sich der EU-Binnenmarkt beziehungsweise dessen Wegfall auf den Handel auswirken könnte, beiseite.6

Versuch einer Erklärung des Modells für Laien – und kritische Überlegungen

Eigentlich ist es nicht so schwierig: Die Autoren gehen davon aus, dass der Handel zwischen Unternehmen im Binnenmarkt (zum Beispiel einem italienischen und einem polnischen Betrieb) wegen der geringeren Handelskosten (Wegfall von Zöllen und nicht tarifären Handelshemmnissen7) finanziell günstiger ist. Dies habe eine positive Wirkung auf die Preise und die Produktion (die Konsumenten können sich wegen tieferer Preise mehr leisten = steigende Nachfrage; deshalb kann mehr produziert werden = steigendes Angebot). «Dies wiederum sorgt zum einen für mehr Wettbewerb um die besten Produkte und die niedrigsten Preise; zum anderen erleichtert der Binnenmarkt Investitionen von Unternehmen innerhalb Europas […].» Die Unternehmer auf der Hochpreisinsel Schweiz zum Beispiel sind gezwungen, im Wettbewerb um die besten Produkte mitzuhalten, und sie können dies auch oft, dafür wären sie beim Ringen um tiefe Preise chancenlos. Mehr Wettbewerb wiederum führe zu weiteren Preisabschlägen und als Folge davon zu mehr Wirtschaftswachstum, so die Autoren weiter: «Die stärkeren Handelsverflechtungen durch den Binnenmarkt führen letztlich dazu, dass volkswirtschaftliche Ressourcen (Arbeit und Kapital) von den weniger produktiven zu den produktivsten Firmen verschoben werden und die gesamtwirtschaftliche Produktivität stärker wachsen kann.»8
Das heisst im Klartext, dass zum Beispiel die Produktion von Tomaten von den Bauern in den Mittelmeerländern (= weniger produktive Firmen) in niederländische Grosskonzerne (= produktivste Firmen) verlegt wird, weil deren CEOs mehr Übung mit wettbewerbsfördernden Taktiken haben. Von dort werden die Tomaten dann in ein Billig­lohnland im Südosten der EU transportiert, um zu Konserven verarbeitet zu werden, und schliesslich zurück ans Mittelmeer oder anderswohin zum Verkauf. Durch dieses Hin- und Herfahren von Rohstoffen, Einzelteilen, Halbfertig- und Fertigprodukten quer über den Kontinent wird zwar die Luft verpestet und Stau und Lärm produziert, dafür entstehen viele Billiglohnstellen für Lastwagenchauffeure und entsprechend höhere Gewinne für die Logistik-Grosskonzerne (= die gesamtwirtschaftliche Produktivität kann stärker wachsen). Durch dieses ganze Produktionsketten-Geflecht des EU-Binnenmarktes sinken die Preise weiter, «was die Konsumentenwohlfahrt erhöhen kann». Oder eher die Wohlfahrt beziehungsweise die Gewinne der Grossaktionäre und Kader der Multis. Denn die Wohlfahrt der Tomatenbauern und ihrer Familien und der Arbeitslosen, für die in potentiellen Konservenfabriken am Mittelmeer Stellen entstehen könnten, wäre um ein Vielfaches grösser, wenn sie lokal produzieren, verarbeiten und konsumieren dürften (wie es der Weltagrarbericht empfiehlt).
Wohlfahrt meint nämlich nicht unbedingt finanziellen Wohlstand, sondern das Wohlergehen der Menschen in ihrer Familie und im Beruf und das selbstverantwortliche Zusammenleben in der grösseren Gemeinschaft, ihr körperliches und seelisches Wohlbefinden, ein gutes Bildungs- und Gesundheitswesen und was sonst für ein menschenwürdiges Leben nötig ist. Von einem solchen Lebensmodell hat das EU-Binnenmarkt-Konstrukt die Menschen weit weggeführt. In einem Europa der frei und auf Augenhöhe miteinander verkehrenden souveränen Staaten könnte das Zusammenleben und -wirtschaften zum Wohle aller Menschen viel besser eingerichtet werden.

EU-Binnenmarkt trägt nicht zu mehr Gerechtigkeit bei – im Gegenteil

Im Strategiepapier von Bertelsmann geht es nicht um eine so verstandene Wohlfahrt der Menschen in der lokalen Arbeitswelt und im Zusammenleben, hier geht's ums Geld, und dieses ist höchst ungerecht verteilt in der planmässig durchorganisierten Marktwirtschaft des EU-Binnenmarktes. So Aart de Geus, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Bertelsmann Stiftung: «Der EU-Binnenmarkt ist einer der grössten Treiber für unseren Wohlstand und wirkt ähnlich wie die Marktwirtschaft: Nicht jeder profitiert gleichermassen, aber alle gewinnen.»9 Wirklich alle?
Die Studie vergleicht zunächst die «ökonomischen Effekte des Binnenmarktes auf Länderebene» und kommt zum wenig überraschenden Schluss: Innerhalb der Länder bestehen grosse Unterschiede der Entwicklung des Pro-Kopf-Einkommens. Danach «steht die Schweiz mit 2914 Euro pro Einwohner an Einkommensgewinnen an der Spitze, gefolgt von Luxemburg (2834 Euro) und Irland (1894 Euro).» Auch Deutschland und Frankreich mit gut 1000 Euro Einkommensgewinnen pro Kopf befinden sich unter den zehn Spitzenplätzen, während Bulgarien und Rumänien mit 242 beziehungsweise 193 Euro am Schluss der Liste stehen und auch Griechenland und Portugal geringe Zuwächse verzeichnen.
Auf regionaler Ebene liegt Zürich an der Spitze vor Luxemburg, Vorarlberg und Salzburg, angeblich wegen seiner Nähe zu Deutschland (weniger Kosten infolge kurzer Wege zu grossen Handelspartnern) – eine absurde Begründung in einer Zeit der Billigflüge und der Billigstprodukte aus Afrika trotz langer Wege. – Weit vorn liegen auch der Finanzplatz London und andere britische Wirtschaftszentren.
Die Studie zieht daraus zwei keineswegs neue Schlussfolgerungen: «An diesen Ergebnissen zeigt sich, dass kleine, offene Volkswirtschaften mit starker Handelsorientierung und hoher Wettbewerbsfähigkeit vom Binnenmarkt besonders profitieren.» Und: «… dass Länder im geographischen Zentrum Europas stärker profitieren […]»10.
Nichts Neues unter der Sonne – nur dass im Strategiepapier zunehmende Pro-Kopf-Einkommen als Erfolg des EU-Binnenmarkts verbucht werden. Man könnte auch anders herum ansetzen: Offenbar ist es trotz der Gleichmacherei durch eine alles durchdringende Bürokratie nicht gelungen, zu mehr Gerechtigkeit im «Friedensprojekt Europa» zu gelangen – ist ja auch nicht das Ziel. «Nicht jeder profitiert gleichermassen …».

Zweifelhafte Korrekturen der Ungleichheiten – cui bono?

Die wichtigsten Resultate des Bertelsmann-Strategiepapiers entnehmen wir dem englischen Original (die deutsche Kurzfassung bringt die Sache nicht so klar auf den Punkt): «Unsere Ergebnisse deuten darauf hin, dass die Gewinne aus dem Binnenmarkt vorher bestehende regionale Unterschiede weiter verstärken und auf diese Weise das Kern-Peripherie-Muster und die Ungleichheit ganz allgemein verstärken können.»11 Diese Zerschlagung der einstigen Hoffnungen vieler Menschen, mit dem EU-Beitritt werde es ihnen und ihrem Land besser gehen, haben wir bei Griechenland und anderen Ländern, die unter dem Diktat des Dreigespanns IWF/EZB/Brüssel leben müssen, zur Genüge erlebt.
Die vom Strategiepapier vorgeschlagenen Mittel dagegen: «Produktivitätssteigernde Massnahmen» in den betreffenden Regionen, das heisst «Investitionen in (digitale) Infrastrukturen und Weiterbildungen» im Rahmen der EU-Kohäsionspolitik. Da kommen einem allerhand Gedanken: Welche Grosskonzerne tätigen diese Investitionen, um weitere Gewinne zu generieren? Was bringt es den «beschenkten» Staaten? Weitere Schulden? Würde es ihnen nicht viel mehr bringen, wenn sie selbst entscheiden könnten, welche Mittel sie benötigen, um ihre Wirtschaft auf Vordermann zu bringen? Damit sie in Genossenschaftsbetrieben und Familienunternehmen noch so gern selbst tätig sein könnten …
«Darüber hinaus ist die Förderung des Wettbewerbs von entscheidender Bedeutung, um sicherzustellen, dass alle Länder und Regionen sowohl in bezug auf eine höhere Produktivität als auch in bezug auf niedrigere Preise von den Vorteilen des Binnenmarktes profitieren.»12 Trotz tausendfacher Wiederholung geht dieses Konstrukt nicht auf, jedenfalls nicht für die einkommensschwächeren Regionen: Der Wettbewerb nützt in erster Linie den Grosskonzernen, die ohnehin schon die Nase vorn haben.
Zum Abschluss nimmt das Strategiepapier den Dienstleistungsmarkt ins Visier: «Fast 75 % der EU-weiten Wertschöpfung basieren auf Dienstleistungen, doch nur etwa ein Drittel aller EU-Exporte sind Dienstleistungen. Eine bessere Regulierung des Dienstleistungshandels könnte es daher ermöglichen, dass der wirtschaftliche Kuchen durch den Binnenmarkt noch grösser wird.»13
Alle Dienstleistungen dem grenzenlosen EU-Markt überantworten? Bildung, Gesundheit, Energie, Umwelt und zahlreiche weitere Bereiche? Bloss nicht!

Importe und Exporte Schweiz/EU: Defizit für die Schweiz
Die Aussenhandelsbilanz der Schweiz ist seit Jahrzehnten positiv, das heisst, der Wert der Exporte ist in Schweizerfranken grösser als der Wert der Importe (Exportüberschuss). Allerdings gilt dies im Handel mit den EU-Staaten nicht: Aus den europäischen Staaten (EU und einige weitere Staaten, die zahlenmässig nicht gross ins Gewicht fallen) importiert die Schweiz bedeutend mehr Güter als sie exportiert. 61 % der Importe kamen im Jahr 2017 aus Europa, aber nur 49 % der Exporte gingen in europäische Länder. Dafür nahmen die Exporte nach Asien und Nordamerika in den letzten Jahren zu. Quelle: Bundesamt für Statistik. Aussenhandel der Schweiz 2017. Die wichtigsten Partner.

Guter Zustand der Schweizer Wirtschaft ist nicht das Verdienst der EU

Was die Schweiz betrifft: Einen Platz unter den drei Ländern mit dem höchsten Pro-Kopf-Einkommen (weltweit) hatte sie schon lange vor den bilateralen Verträgen mit der EU. Kleine Volkswirtschaften, erst recht, wenn sie wie die Schweiz wenig eigene Rohstoffe haben, müssen seit jeher «offen» sein, um zu prosperieren, das heisst mit allen Ländern und Völkern Handel treiben und kulturellen Austausch pflegen, sie müssen sich besonders einsetzen und brauchen verschiedene Standbeine. So ist der gute Zustand des Schweizer Wirtschaftsstandorts keineswegs nur dem Finanzplatz zu verdanken, der lediglich einen kleinen Teil des BIP einbringt (6–8 Prozent) und zudem von seinen mächtigeren Konkurrenten – darunter auch die Vertragspartnerin EU! – seit Jahren unter Druck gesetzt wird. Vielmehr sind rund 99 Prozent der Unternehmen mit Sitz in der Schweiz KMU der verschiedensten Branchen, viele von ihnen bilden Lehrlinge aus und geschäften in erster Linie im Inland.
Ein weiterer interner Faktor ist die duale Berufsbildung. Neben den Gymnasien und den Hochschulen ist sie von zentraler Bedeutung für das Wohlergehen der Schweizer Bevölkerung und für die tiefe Arbeitslosenquote, vor allem auch bei der jungen Generation. Sie setzt eine gute Volksschulbildung, hohe Leistungsbereitschaft und Zuverlässigkeit sowie die Fähigkeit zur Kooperation – «einander in die Hände arbeiten» – voraus. (Eine Warnung an die heute leider dominierenden Schulreformer: Hütet euch davor, diesen Ast, auf dem wir alle sitzen, abzusägen!)
Dass es den Schweizern gutgeht, hängt aber auch damit zusammen, dass sie «in ihrem Haus selbst für Ordnung schauen»: dank ihren direktdemokratischen Rechten, der kleinräumigen Wirtschaft und den immer noch starken Rechten der Kantone im föderalistischen Bundesstaat und – besonders wichtig! – dank der bewaffneten Neutralität. Länder, die keine Kriege führen, sondern ihre Armee nur zur Verteidigung brauchen, sparen nicht nur viel Geld, sondern können ihre Kräfte für weit Sinnvolleres auf der Welt einsetzen.14
Mit der Teilnahme am EU-Binnenmarkt hat der Wohlstand der Schweiz oder irgend­eines anderen Landes wenig zu tun, wie Bertelsmann im obigen Fazit seiner Studie bestätigt. Mit den Unternehmen in anderen europäischen Staaten haben wir schon lange, bevor es eine EU gab, Handel getrieben und werden es hoffentlich noch lange tun. Dafür sind massgeschneiderte Freihandelsverträge, wie der heute immer noch geltende zwischen der Schweiz (und den anderen EFTA-Staaten) und der EG von 1972, für einen souveränen Staat ein weit tauglicheres Instrument als die politische Einbindung in einen zentralistischen Bürokratiekoloss.    •

1    «Estimating economic benefits of the Single Market for European countries and regions. Policy Paper». Bertelsmann Stiftung 2019. Deutsche Kurzfassung: «Ökonomische Effekte des EU-Binnenmarktes in Europas Ländern und Regionen. Zusammenfassung der Studie» (www.bertelsmann-stiftung.de/fileadmin/files/BSt/Publikationen/GrauePublikationen/EZ_Study_SingleMarket.pdf)
2    Titelseite Bertelsmann Stiftung vom 8.5.2019 (www.bertelsmann-stiftung.de/de/themen/aktuelle-meldungen/2019/mai/eu-binnenmarkt-erhoeht-pro-kopf-einkommen-der-deutschen-um-1000-euro-jaehrlich/)
3    St. Galler Tagblatt vom 8.5.2019
4    Titelseite Bertelsmann Stiftung vom 8.5.2019
5    Gemäss Wikipedia hat das CEPR «keine Verbindung zum US-amerikanischen Center for Economic and Policy Research, das die gleiche Abkürzung verwendet.»
6    «Ökonomische Effekte des EU-Binnenmarktes in Europas Ländern und Regionen. Zusammenfassung der Studie», S. 3. Die ausführliche theoretische Herleitung des Modells ist gemäss Fussnote 1 (S. 3) auf Anfrage verfügbar.
7    Als tarifäre Handelshemmnisse bezeichnet man vor allem Zölle. Nicht tarifäre Handelshemmnisse sind alle anderen Massnahmen, um die Inlandproduktion zu schützen und Importe zu erschweren, zum Beispiel technische Vorschriften, Anmeldeformalitäten für Importe, Qualitätsanforderungen an Produkte, Importverbote oder -beschränkungen usw. (Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon. wirtschaftslexikon.gabler.de/definition/nicht-tarifaere-handelshemmnisse-37062)
8    «Ökonomische Effekte des EU-Binnenmarktes in Europas Ländern und Regionen. Zusammenfassung der Studie», S. 4
9    Titelseite Bertelsmann Stiftung vom 8.5.2019
10    «Ökonomische Effekte des EU-Binnenmarktes in Europas Ländern und Regionen. Zusammenfassung der Studie», S. 4
11    «Our results suggest that gains from the SM may further reinforce pre-existing regional differences, this way adding to the core-periphery pattern and inequality more generally.» («Estimating economic benefits of the Single Market for European countries and regions. Policy Paper». Bertelsmann Stiftung 2019. Conclusion, S. 23)
12    «Moreover, promoting competition is vital to make sure that all countries and regions reap the benefits of the SM with respect to both higher productivity as well as lower prices». Conclusion, S. 23
13    «Almost 75 % of EU-wide value added are based on services, yet, only about a third of all EU exports are services. Better regulation on services trade could thus allow for an even greater size of the economic pie to be achieved through the SM.» Conclusion, S. 23
14    So wird das Schweizer Angebot der Guten Dienste eher genutzt, wenn der Bundesrat sich in Konflikten absolut unparteiisch verhält: Vor kurzem wurde deshalb die Schweiz einmal mehr von der US-Regierung gebeten, ihre konsularische Vertretung im Umgang mit Venezuela zu übernehmen.