Power outage

Power outage in Switzerland – big emergency exercise in Austria

rt. On 25 May, a total power outage could be narrowly avoided with the help of the European energy agencies. According to information from the “Tages-Anzeiger”, an enormous surge of electricity suddenly flowed to Switzerland’s northern border. As a result the systems were under extreme pressure and the grid company Swissgrid declared the critical alert level. If the situation had not been brought under control, some regions would have had to be taken off the grid. It becomes apparent just how closely Switzerland is interwoven with the European electricity grid and how important effective cooperation across European borders is.
In Austria, from 13 to 15 May, around 100 representatives from the federal ministries, the federal states as well as various emergency organisations and infrastructure facilities exercised a blackout – a total power cut. On the third day, the Austrian Federal Government was also involved in the “Helios crisis exercise”. Robert Stocker, head of the State Crisis and Emergency Management Authority SKKM, outlined the aim of the emergency exercise: “There is hardly any area of life that does not depend on electricity, and in this exercise we want to anticipate how we can deal best with an electricity shortage, especially at the federal level” (“Der Standard” from 12 May). For some time, Austria’s authorities have been working hard on precautionary measures for an emergency.
Only in Januar, a dangerous situation had emerged which almost led to a blackout all over Europe. In this context, in the “Standard” from 15 January, Herbert Saurugg, major in the Austrian Armed Forces and proven blackout specialist, pointed out how important it is to make appropriate provisions and to take precautions. Especially in weather conditions like in January, it does take some time before everything functions again. Therefore citizens should store up sufficient water and food supplies. We recommend long-life milk, sugar, tin vegetables or legumes as well as food that can be prepared by cooking in water – ideally you also have a gas cooker available. Because a blackout does not only have an immediate effect on the power supply, but also leads to longer lasting consequences. For example, frozen food can spoil if the cold chain is interrupted. (For Switzerland, refer to the excellent website www.alert.swiss.ch).
* * *
In this context, it was objectionable for the grid agency Swissgrid to claim that such incidents could only be effectively prevented by an electricity agreement with the EU – which allegedly is a precondition of the Framework Agreement with the EU.    •

Stromausfall

Stromausfall in der Schweiz – grosse Übung in Österreich

rt. Am 25. Mai konnte ein totaler Stromausfall mit Hilfe der europäischen Stromagenturen knapp vermieden werden. Gemäss Informationen des «Tages-Anzeigers» ist plötzlich enorm viel Strom zur Nordgrenze der Schweiz geflossen. Weil dadurch die Anlagen äusserst stark gefordert waren, hat die Netzgesellschaft Swissgrid die höchste Alarmstufe ausgerufen. Hätte die Lage nicht unter Kontrolle gebracht werden können, hätten einzelne Regionen vom Netz genommen werde müssen. Deutlich wird, wie eng die Schweiz mit dem europäischen Stromnetz verwoben ist und wie wichtig eine effektive Zusammenarbeit über die europäischen Grenzen hinweg ist.
In Österreich übten vom 13. bis 15. Mai an die 100 Vertreter aus den Bundesministerien, den Ländern sowie verschiedenen Einsatzorganisationen und Infrastruktureinrichtungen einen Blackout – einen totalen Stromausfall. In die «Krisenübung Helios» wurde am dritten Tag auch die österreichische Bundesregierung involviert. Der Leiter des Staatlichen Krisen- und Katastrophenschutzmanagements SKKM, Robert Stocker, stellte vor der Übung das Ziel vor: «Es gibt nahezu keinen Lebensbereich, der nicht auf Strom angewiesen ist, und wir wollen bei dieser Übung antizipieren, wie wir insbesondere auf Bundesebene bestmöglich mit einer Strommangellage umgehen können» («Der Standard» vom 12. Mai). Österreichs Behörden arbeiten schon seit geraumer Zeit intensiv an Vorkehrungen für einen Ernstfall.
Erst im Januar war es zu einer europaweit gefährlichen Situation gekommen, die fast zu einem Blackout geführt hätte. Der österreichische Bundesheermajor und ausgewiesene Blackout-Spezialist Herbert Saurugg wies im «Standard» vom 15. Januar in diesem Zusammenhang darauf hin, wie wichtig eine entsprechende Vorsorge sei. Gerade bei einer Wetterlage wie im Januar dauere es, bis alle Funktionen wiederhergestellt seien. Deshalb sollten Bürger ausreichend Wasser und Essensvorräte bereithalten. Empfohlen werden etwa Haltbarmilch, Zucker, Gemüse oder Hülsenfrüchte in Dosen sowie Nahrungsmittel, die man mit Kochwasser zubereiten könne – idealerweise besitzt man dann auch einen Gaskocher. Denn ein Blackout betrifft nicht nur akut die Stromversorgung, sondern hat auch längere Auswirkungen. So können etwa Lebensmittel verderben, weil die Kühlkette unterbrochen wird. (Für die Schweiz sei auch auf die ausgezeichnete Internetseite www.alert.swiss.ch hingewiesen).
* * *
Unangenehm fiel in diesem Zusammenhang die Behauptung der Netzagentur Swissgrid auf, dass nur durch ein Stromabkommen mit der EU – dessen Bedingung angeblich das Rahmenabkommen mit der EU sei – solche Vorfälle besser verhindert werden könnten.    •