Propaganda is marching

by Christian Fischer

For some time now it has been noticeable that the party Bündnis 90/Die Grünen is clearly more loved by the media than the other parties. For the CDU, a Merkel-twilight is being conjured up – although the Chancellor does more or less what she has always done. The CSU is often portrayed as an unpredictable, if not insane, power bloc. The SPD does not need to be further picked to pieces by the media – it does that itself. The FDP is mainly too small to be the object of loud praise or blame. The Left also tends to remain unnoticed, but sometimes it is commentated in a partly derogatory, partly supportive way, depending on how its various statements fit into the mainstream. The AfD is the welcome Beelzebub, against whom democratic reason has to stand up in disgust.
Now the Greens have clearly become the second strongest force in Bavaria – but they will probably not come to government responsibility, as in Baden-Württemberg, because there is another conservative force specific to Bavaria: the “Freie Wähler” (free voters). You need not be a great prophet to predict that they will not get a good press in the future.
For the mainstream is increasingly turning out to be coloured green. Here we find the allegedly unspent and credible political personnel, being able to show the citizen the path mapped out well in advance to a borderless European Union as the only acceptable way out of its fascist past. The other parties will gradually have to gather behind this flag if they want to survive. The extra-parliamentary auxiliary troops are already marching in this direction.
In many cities, over and over, demonstrations “against the right extremists” are being initiated to show that there are still yet “good Germans”. In Chemnitz, these good Germans revolt against “right-wing hunts” which, according to police reports, never took place – and remain silent about the manslaughter by a foreigner who should have been expelled long ago. The German cabaret is largely forced into line with the singing of “anti-fascist” contributions and government-friendly indignations at the opposition – criticism is at best voiced about the fact that the government does not tear down all borders (and thus all rule of law) quickly and consistently enough. On the other hand, a truly critical petition to the German Bundestag “Declaration 2018”,1 launched by Vera Lengsfeld, which deals with the government’s legal violations in connection with the opening of the border in 2015, is not reported – although 165,000 signatories had supported this petition in a short time and despite all kinds of harassment.
On 13 October 2018, an event with around 200,000 participants took place in Berlin under the motto “For an open society – solidarity instead of exclusion”. Solidarity with the victims of right-wing violence was expressly demonstrated. Newspaper articles report on the sidelines2 that the CDU was not one of the organisers. Reason: One organiser supported also left-wing extremist criminals, and various dubious organisations ranked among the organisers. The message of the media: the CDU is excluding itself from the march of the good.
The same weekend also saw simultaneously identical demonstrations in Karlsruhe, Frankfurt, Cologne, etc., in which the participation of television, cultural and cabaret personalities from Ranga Yogeshwar to Jan Böhmermann were a must.3 It is interesting to note that organisations such as Pulse of Europe, Mehr Demokratie e.V. (More democracy) and (so far) little-known activists under the names of We are Europe, Start with a friend, Demokratie in Bewegung (Democracy on the move), Volt Europa, Junge Europäische Föderalisten (Young European Federalists) are becoming increasingly active here, what we should indeed observe in the future.
The main thread in the current “narrative” is the propaganda against everything national, sometimes even explicitly against the national rule of law (thus suspected of fascism), and for a stronger European Union – in fact in the name of democracy! What a mockery. Nobody will seriously claim that the EU is a more democratic organisation than the German constitutional state, some of the propagandists even shamefacedly confirm a European “democracy deficit”. Who of these anti-fascists is interested in that? Who still knows that popular rule does not already exist when everyone takes to the streets and sings the right songs? Have we not had this already a few times in the 20th century?
However, we must take note of the fact that the content of the party landscape is currently reshaping in accordance with this narrative: EU or fascism. France set an example last year; we are imitating it with German thoroughness. We must observe this closely and defend our institutionally still existing democracy against this propaganda. There are counter-movements and counter-publics, even if practical and propagandistic obstacles are obstructing their way. In the future, being a democrat will probably mean being the child who exclaimed in Andersen’s fairy tale: “But he’s got nothing on!” – when the emperor strutted past in his new but non-existent clothes. “The EU has really nothing democratic on!”    •

1    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeOINHgQ7o4&feature=youtu.be 
2    “Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger” from 15 October 2018
3    ibid

Die Propaganda marschiert

von Christian Fischer

Schon seit einiger Zeit fällt es auf, dass die Partei Bündnis 90/Die Grünen von den Medien deutlich mehr geliebt wird als die übrigen Parteien. Für die CDU wird eine Merkel-Dämmerung herbeigeredet – obwohl die Kanzlerin nicht viel anderes macht, als sie immer gemacht hat. Die CSU wird gern als unberechenbarer, um nicht zu sagen unzurechnungsfähiger Machtblock dargestellt. Die SPD braucht medial nicht weiter zerpflückt zu werden – das tut sie schon selbst. Die FDP ist überwiegend zu klein, um Gegenstand von lautem Lob oder Tadel zu sein. Auch Die Linke bleibt eher unbeachtet, wird manchmal aber teils abwertend, teils zustimmend kommentiert, je nachdem, wie ihre verschiedenen Äusserungen in den Mainstream passen. Die AfD ist der willkommene Beelzebub, gegen den die demokratische Vernunft empört aufzustehen hat.
Nun sind die Grünen in Bayern zur deutlich zweitstärksten Kraft geworden – werden aber wohl doch nicht, wie in Baden-Württemberg, zur Regierungsverantwortung kommen, weil es bayernspezifisch noch eine andere konservative Kraft gibt: die Freien Wähler. Man muss kein grosser Prophet sein, um vorauszusagen, dass diese in Zukunft keine gute Presse bekommen werden.
Denn der Mainstream stellt sich zunehmend als grün eingefärbt heraus. Hier findet sich das angeblich unverbrauchte und glaubwürdige politische Personal, das den von langer Hand vorgezeichneten Weg zu einer grenzenlosen Europäischen Union dem Bürger als einzigen akzeptablen Weg aus seiner faschistischen Vergangenheit heraus weisen könne. Die anderen Parteien werden sich allmählich hinter dieser Fahne versammeln müssen, wenn sie überleben wollen. Die ausserparlamentarischen Hilfstruppen marschieren bereits in diese Richtung.
In vielen Städten werden immer wieder Demonstrationen «gegen rechts» ins Leben gerufen, womit gezeigt werden soll, dass es doch noch «gute Deutsche» gebe. In Chemnitz empören sich diese guten Deutschen gegen «rechte Hetzjagden», die es laut Polizeibericht nie gegeben hat – und schweigen zu dem Totschlag durch einen Ausländer, der längst ausser Landes gewiesen sein müss­te. Das deutsche Kabarett ist weitgehend gleichgeschaltet im Absingen «antifaschistischer» Beiträge und regierungsfreundlicher Empörungen über die Opposition – Kritik wird allenfalls daran geäussert, dass die Regierung nicht schnell und konsequent genug alle Grenzen (und damit alle Rechtsstaatlichkeit) niederreisst. Über eine von Vera Lengsfeld lancierte echt kritische Petition an den Deutschen Bundestag, die «Erklärung 2018»1, die die Rechtsbrüche der Regierung im Zusammenhang mit der Grenzöffnung 2015 zum Thema hat, wird dagegen nicht berichtet – obwohl in kurzer Zeit und trotz allerlei Schikanen 165 000 Unterzeichner diese Petition unterstützt hatten.
In Berlin fand am 13. Oktober 2018 eine Veranstaltung mit rund 200 000 Teilnehmern statt unter dem Motto «Für eine offene Gesellschaft – Solidarität statt Ausgrenzung». Es wurde ausdrücklich Solidarität mit den Opfern rechter Gewalt demonstriert. Zeitungsberichte melden am Rande,2 dass die CDU nicht zu den Veranstaltern zählte. Grund: Ein Veranstalter unterstütze auch linksextreme Verbrecher, und es zählten diverse «dubiose Organisationen» zu den Veranstaltern. Die Botschaft der Medien: Die CDU grenzt sich selbst aus vom Marsch der Guten.
Zeitgleich gab es am selben Wochenende auch in Karlsruhe, Frankfurt, Köln usw. gleichlautende Demonstrationen, bei denen die Fernseh-, Kultur- und Kabarett-Prominenz von Ranga Yogeshwar bis Jan Böhmermann nicht fehlen durfte.3 Interessant ist, dass hier zunehmend Organisationen wie Pulse of Europe, Mehr Demokratie e.V. und (bisher) noch wenig bekannte Aktivisten unter den Namen We are Europe, Start with a friend, Demokratie in Bewegung, Volt Europa, Junge Europäische Föderalisten tätig werden, die wir in Zukunft wohl beobachten sollten.
Der rote Faden in dem aktuellen «Narrativ» ist die Propaganda gegen alles Nationale, manchmal sogar schon ausdrücklich gegen die nationale (und damit im Faschismusverdacht stehende) Rechtsstaatlichkeit, und für eine stärkere Europäische Union – und zwar im Namen der Demokratie! Was für ein Hohn. Niemand wird im Ernst behaupten, dass die EU eine demokratischere Organisation sei als der deutsche Verfassungsstaat, manche der Propagandisten bestätigen sogar verschämt ein europäisches «Demokratie­defizit». Wen von diesen Antifaschisten interessiert das schon? Wer weiss noch, dass Volksherrschaft nicht schon dann besteht, wenn alle auf die Strasse gehen und die richtigen Lieder singen? Hatten wir das im 20. Jahrhundert nicht schon ein paarmal?
Aber wir müssen zur Kenntnis nehmen, dass entsprechend diesem Narrativ die Parteienlandschaft zurzeit inhaltlich neu gestaltet wird: EU oder Faschismus. Frankreich hat es letztes Jahr vorgemacht; wir machen es mit deutscher Gründlichkeit nach. Wir müssen das aufmerksam beobachten und unsere institutionell noch bestehende Demokratie gegen diese Propaganda verteidigen. Es gibt Gegenbewegungen und Gegenöffentlichkeiten, auch wenn man ihnen praktische und propagandistische Hindernisse in den Weg stellt. Demokrat sein heisst in Zukunft wohl: Das Kind sein, das in Andersens Märchen ausrief: «Aber er hat ja nichts an!» – als der Kaiser in seinen neuen, aber nicht vorhandenen Kleidern vorbeistolzierte. «Die EU hat ja gar nichts Demokratisches an!»    •

1    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QeOINHgQ7o4&feature=youtu.be
2    «Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger» vom 15.10.2018
3    ebd.