The culture of cooperative ethics and its way of life

To the new publication “Cooperative economising – modern construction. Architecture of Cooperatives in Saxony”

by Urs Knoblauch, culture journalist, Fruthwilen

In general, too little is known about the enormous expansion of cooperative systems worldwide. With its more than 21 million members especially in Germany, it deserves more attention in society and in educational institutions.

“On the road to a new economy” Poster of the consumer association “Vorwärts” Dresden around 1930, showing the originally planned building complex of the own businesses. (Picture: Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen (“Cooperative economising – modern construction”, p. 9)

This was the starting point of the publication project of the “Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig” (Dresden University of Applied Sciences). Since museum and exhibition design as well as museum education enjoy great popularity and investment, the idea was born to establish an interdisciplinary course of studies in “museum education”. The richly illustrated publication “Cooperative economising – modern construction. The Architecture of Cooperatives in Saxony”) combines modern architectural development with the cooperative idea. The aim is to convey the valuable way of life of cooperatives to students and the younger generation. According to the authors and Leipzig university lecturers Dirk Schaal and Enrico Hochmuth, “architecture as a cultural form of expression of the cooperative idea has rarely been addressed”.
Especially to celebrate the anniversary of the founding of the Bauhaus movement, an important topic in the context of the cooperative is addressed. The concerns of the Bauhaus ought not be reduced to formal criteria, just as the cooperatives entail more than just an economic model but form a future-oriented ethical way of life. These original concerns must be ensured with care. They should always be reflected against the background of human scientific findings and their political goals.

On architecture as a cultural form of expression of the cooperative idea

The authors of the work succeed in presenting a synopsis of architecture and cooperative idea in the Saxony region with its impressive industrial culture. Dirk Schaal worked as a science archivist and is currently head of the Koordinierungsstelle Sächsische Industriekultur (Coordination Office of Saxon Industrial Culture). Dr Enrico Hochmuth is an architectural historian and was, for many years, an active leading curator of the Schultze-Delitzsch-Haus (Schultze-Delitzsch-House). The German Museum of Cooperatives (Deutsches Genossenschaftsmuseum). He has worked for the successful inclusion of the German cooperative system on Unesco’s list of intangible cultural heritage together with Dietmar Berger, the initiator. Hochmuth works as an event and project manager at the University’s Media Faculty. In 2017, the “1st Museum Education Colloquium” with new research results was held with great success. Dr Stefan W. Krieg-von Hösslin, architectural historian and city conservator of Leipzig (monuments) also contributed to the work.
In the first part of the publication, the authors present the theoretical and historical references to industrialisation and the forward-looking social cooperative system. In the second part, 16 impressive cooperative buildings are presented, mostly in Saxony and in the style of the once again popular Bauhaus architecture. “This is the first time that outstanding and predominantly listed sites belonging to the architecture of the reform movement and classical modernism have been compiled here. A broad spectrum is represented with housing cooperatives, the large consumer cooperatives in Leipzig and Dresden as well as the nationally significant production facilities of the central purchasing cooperatives GEG with buildings in Riesa, Frankenberg or Chemnitz”. (flap text)

Architecture as a mirror of certain concepts of man and models of society

The diverse language of form, function and practical application of the cooperative form of working and living of the industrial heritage is impressive. Dirk Schaal writes: “The cooperative movement is part of our industrial culture. In the social, religious and national conflicts of the 19th century, it helped to shape the cultural transformation of Germany into a modern industrial country and met central questions of industrial society”. (p. 8)
The cooperative idea was propagated with well-designed posters, equipment and furniture. It was not only a matter of providing affordable food or affordable housing, “but also of creating working conditions in one’s own company or creating social housing conditions which noticeably improved the situation of the middle and lower income groups for the individual” (p. 8). The functional, powerful and dominant factory buildings that were built already before the First World War were intended to symbolise the new basic attitude of cooperative life in a “hostile environment” (p. 21).
In addition to the acrimonious economic and political debates, there were also ideological, political and formal differences among the architects. At that time, the traditional “Heimatschutzstil” (style of listed buildings), popular among the population, dominated. With the “Neues Bauen” (“New Construction”) of modernity and the new industrial technologies and materials, however, a “new man” was also propagated. According to Dirk Schaal, “The design of the settlements according to the cooperative principles of the community was aimed at the ‘New Man’ propagated by the cooperatives” (p. 32). This should make more reference to the social nature of man, the political movements and the democratisation of social coexistence. This year’s Bauhaus anniversary was conceived to increasingly focus on the original concerns of the interdisciplinary interaction of the social Bauhaus idea of modernity but also facilitate critical reflections. It is not about a modern formalism, as often seen today, but about aesthetics and ethics of the individual and the common good.
Especially in the first third of the 20th century, modern design principles became more and more accepted not only in Germany, but also in other European countries. “In addition to renowned architects – such as Walter Gropius, for Konsum Dessau-Törten or Max Taut, for a department store of the Konsumgenossenschaft (consumer cooperative-society) Berlin und Umgebung (and surroundings) – a predominant number of architects are to be found here who had adopted the principles of modern construction in the course of their professional practice or had already aquired them during their training.” (p. 32)
Anyone familiar with the historic region of Saxony and the surrounding area will be amazed by the great economic, cultural and social achievements and buildings. They are partly documented in the book. With the dissolution of the GDR, valuable cultural assets were also endangered. Despite the considerable rescue of the building fabric and its reconstruction, there is still a great deal of work to be done.

Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch and Wilhelm Raiffeisen

Enrico Hochmuth graphically introduces the topic “Cooperatives in Saxony” using the example of the Hermann Schulze Delitzsch Monument on Marienplatz in Delitzsch, designed in 1891 by sculptor Erwin Weissenfels. Its changeful history, from the melting down for the war economy during the Second World War to the 1950 replica by the sculptor Max Alfred Brumme and the removal to another location for a monument of the first president of the GDR as well as the return of the restored monument to its original location in 1991, exemplifies the political dealings with the cooperative idea.
“Germany’s first successful commercial cooperative was founded in 1849 by Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch (1808–1883) with 57 shoemakers in Delitzsch. With their Association of Basic Commodities, the tradesmen are able to arrange the purchase of basic commodities, tools, machines and other commodities at a reduced rate and to later take the sale of their products into their own hands. The liberal Schulze-Delitzsch saw this as an opportunity to advance the situation of the needy tradesmen and petty traders. “In addition to the economic pressure exerted by industrialisation, the transformation from a corporative to a bourgeois society was also associated with the loss of traditional life contexts and social networks.” (p. 34) 1889, the experiences of Schulze-Delitzsch’s initiated mergers and production cooperatives were taken into account in a ground-breaking law on cooperatives and led to a “founding boom of cooperatives in the German states” (p. 34).
 In this context, the beneficial work of Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen (1818–1888), proceeding from the Westerwald, must also be pointed out. Sustained by deep benevolence, social connectedness with the people, Christian ethics as well as trust in the charitable human nature, he founded the cooperative, local “Raiffeisenkassen”. (Raiffeisen Banks) His central idea: “We are only strong in communion”, and with the three “selves” of the cooperative, self-help, self-governance and self-responsibility, the principle of subsidiarity (responsibility from below, built up by each individual human being) is also included. Thus, democratic participation should be made possible and secured. Each cooperative member has a voice in the decisions, regardless of his social situation and the number of cooperative-shares. The “rural credit societies and common warehouses initiated by Raiffeisen experienced a marked expansion with the creation of rural purchasing and sales cooperatives by Wilhelm Haas” (p. 37).
Closely linked to this are the credit cooperatives, which were initially set up with “advance disbursement associations” along the lines of the rural credit cooperative established in Denmark in 1846 and which in many countries also promoted the establishment of People’s banks.
With the aid of examples, Enrico Hochmuth illustrates the great success of the pioneers Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch and Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen. “In a first wave of foundations about one hundred productive cooperatives of craftsmen in various fields emerged throughout Germany between 1860 and 1889.”One such association is the mill and bakery Bärenhecke Raiffeisen-Genossenschaft e.G. in Bärenhecke, in the eastern foothills of the Erz Mountains. Today, the historic mill and bakery are equally a cooperative business and a technical monument to visit. On 20 August 1898, the company was founded by 26 local farmers as Cooperative for Milling, Baking and Storage Warehousing, Oberes Müglitztal e.G.m.b.H., in order to take into their own hands the grain processing right up to the end product itself. The water mill on the Müglitz acquired by the cooperative obrained a link to a light railway and started production as early as 1899. By 1913, 300 members had joined the company. To support the farmers, especially in the years of crises’, the cooperative set up a bank department which existed until 1993. In 1995, in order to preserve and promote the monument, a “Förderverein Technisches Denkmal Getreidemühle Bärenhecke e.V.” (Foundation Technical Monument Grain Mill) was founded. (p. 34) With additional examples, the author presents the successful cooperative precision clock factory Glashütte, electricity cooperatives and agricultural production cooperatives.

Schaal, Dirk; Hochmuth, Enrico. Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen. Architektur der Genossenschaften in Sachsen. (Cooperative management – modern building. Architecture of cooperatives in Saxony). Halle (Saale) 2019,
ISBN 978 3 96311 051 1 (in German)

Cooperatives in the service of the individual and the common good

In addition to agricultural cooperatives, the image in the urban regions of the 19th and 20th centuries was especially shaped by cooperative factory buildings, consumer and bulk purchase companies as well as housing cooperatives. Throughout their history, the cooperatives have always had to cope with difficult times. Particularly affected were agricultural enterprises in connection with political changes. “Once in 1933 the cooperative associations and together with them the cooperatives were brought into line,” says Enrico Hochmuth, “restructuring measures occured after 1945. While production cooperatives played only a minor role in the western occupation zones and the FRG, they played a major role in the Soviet occupation zone and later in the GDR. In 1946, the Soviet Military Administration permitted the establishing of these associations, with order number 160, and a model statute became mandatory. Economic supervision was the responsibility of the newly structured Chambers of Crafts. The Act on the Promotion of Crafts adopted in 1950 or the Ordinance on the Production Associations of Crafts (PHG) of 1958 pushed forward the restriction of crafts and small businesses and the forced collectivisation of cooperatives. The role of the Purchase and supply cooperatives (ELG) of the crafts, was also regulated. Cooperatives, like state enterprises, now had to fulfil requirements within the framework of state planning. After 1990, the companies were again transformed into classical cooperatives or other forms of enterprise.” (p. 6f.) In 2002, the cooperative association in Saxony had 92 productive cooperatives and 235 agricultural cooperatives among its members. Due to their success, they have become more evident in united Germany” (p. 37).

Paying more attention to basic principles of a cooperative way of life and ethics

The historical explanations make it clear that the current problematic restructuring and “modernisation” within the framework of globalisation and centralisation as well as the worldwide radical market neoliberalism endanger the original cooperative idea. Especially in the Swiss Confederation, there are alarming developments, also in the Raiffeisen cooperative banks. It is necessary for cooperative members to demand and live their rights and duties as well as the original concerns and ethics of democratic co-determination of the members in accordance with the cooperative principle. The book presented here makes a valuable contribution to this – as well as to the understanding of the cooperative architecture of modernity.     •

Die Kultur der genossenschaftlichen Ethik und Lebensform

Zur Neuerscheinung «Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen. Die Architektur der Genossenschaften in Sachsen»

von Urs Knoblauch, Kulturpublizist, Fruthwilen

Allgemein ist zu wenig bekannt, dass das Genossenschaftswesen weltweit eine enorme Ausbreitung gefunden hat. Gerade auch in Deutschland verdient es mit den über 21 Millionen Genossenschaftsmitgliedern mehr Beachtung in der Gesellschaft und in den Bildungseinrichtungen.

Plakat des Konsumvereins «Vorwärts» Dresden um 1930. Dargestellt ist der ursprünglich geplante Baukomplex der Eigenbetriebe. (Bild aus Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen, S. 9)

Das war der Ausgangspunkt des Publikationsprojekts der Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig. Da sich Museums- und Ausstellungsgestaltung sowie Museumspädagogik grosser Popularität und Investitionen erfreuen, entstand die Idee, einen interdisziplinären Studiengang «Museologie» aufzubauen. Die reich bebilderte Publikation «Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen. Die Architektur der Genossenschaften in Sachsen» verbindet die moderne Architekturentwicklung mit dem Genossenschaftsgedanken. Damit sollen den Studenten und der jüngeren Generation die wertvolle Lebensform der Genossenschaften vermittelt werden. «Die Architektur als eine kulturelle Ausdrucksform der Genossenschaftsidee», so die Autoren und Leipziger Hochschuldozenten Dirk Schaal und Enrico Hochmuth, «ist bislang nur selten thematisiert worden».
Gerade anlässlich des Jubiläums der Gründung der Bauhaus-Bewegung wird im Zusammenhang mit der Genossenschaft eine wichtige Thematik angesprochen. Die Anliegen des Bauhauses dürfen nicht auf formale Kriterien reduziert werden, ebenso beinhalten gerade die Genossenschaften mehr als ein Wirtschaftsmodell, sie bilden eine zukunftweisende ethische Lebensform. Diesen ursprünglichen Anliegen muss Sorge getragen werden. Sie sollten stets mit vor dem Hintergrund der humanwissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse und auf ihre politischen Ziele hin reflektiert werden.

Zur Architektur als einer kulturellen Ausdrucksform der Genossenschaftsidee

Den Autoren des Werks gelingt eine Zusammenschau von Architektur und Genossenschaftsidee im Raum Sachsen mit seiner beeindruckenden Industriekultur. Dirk Schaal war als Wissenschaftsarchivar tätig und leitet derzeit die Koordinierungsstelle Sächsische Industriekultur. Dr. Enrico Hochmuth ist Architekturhistoriker und war langjähriger und aktiver Leitender Konservator des Schulze-Delitzsch-Hauses, Deutsches Genossenschaftsmuseum. Er hat sich zusammen mit Dietmar Berger, dem Initiator, für die erfolgreiche Aufnahme des Deutschen Genossenschaftswesens in die Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes der Unesco eingesetzt. An der Hochschule ist Hochmuth an der Fakultät Medien als Veranstaltungs- und Projektmanager tätig. 2017 wurde mit grossem Erfolg das «1. MuseologieKolloquium» mit neuen Forschungsergebnissen veranstaltet. Auch der Architekturhistoriker und Stadtkonservator von Leipzig (Denkmale) Dr. Stefan W. Krieg-von Hösslin hat zum Werk beigetragen.
Im ersten Teil der Publikation werden von den Autoren die theoretischen und historischen Bezüge zur Industrialisierung und zum zukunftsweisenden sozialen Genossenschaftswesen dargestellt. Im zweiten Teil werden 16 eindrückliche Genossenschaftsbauten, zumeist in Sachsen und im Stil der wieder populären Bauhaus-Architektur, vorgestellt. «Herausragende und überwiegend denkmalgeschützte Orte, die der Architektur der Reformbewegung und der klassischen Moderne zuzuordnen sind, wurden hier erstmals zusammengestellt. Mit Wohnungsgenossenschaften, den grossen Konsumgenossenschaften in Leipzig und Dresden sowie den national bedeutsamen Produktionsstätten der zentralen Einkaufsgenossenschaften GEG mit Bauten in Riesa, Frankenberg oder Chemnitz ist ein breites Spektrum vertreten.» (Klappentext)

Architektur als Spiegel bestimmter Menschenbilder und Gesellschaftsmodelle

Die vielfältige Formensprache, Funktion und praktische Anwendung der genossenschaftlichen Arbeit- und Lebensform des Industriekulturgutes ist beeindruckend. Dirk Schaal schreibt dazu: «Die Genossenschaftsbewegung ist Teil unserer Industriekultur. In den sozialen, religiösen und nationalen Auseinandersetzungen des 19. Jahrhunderts prägte sie den Kulturwandel Deutschlands zum modernen Industrieland mit und stellte sich zentralen Fragen der Industriegesellschaft.» (S. 8)
Mit gut gestalteten Plakaten, Geräten und Mobiliar wurde der Genossenschaftsgedanke verbreitet. Es ging nicht nur um das Bereitstellen von bezahlbaren Lebensmitteln oder preiswertem Wohnraum, «sondern durch das Gestalten der Arbeitsbedingungen im eigenen Unternehmen oder das Schaffen sozialer Wohnverhältnisse konnte die Situation der mittleren und unteren Einkommensschichten für den Einzelnen spürbar verbessert werden» (S. 8). Die funktionalen, kraftvollen und dominanten Fabrikbauten, die bereits vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg entstanden, sollten in einer «feindlichen Umgebung» die neue Grundhaltung des genossenschaftlichen Lebens symbolisieren (S. 21).
Neben den scharfen wirtschaftspolitischen Auseinandersetzungen bestanden auch unter den Architekten weltanschauliche, politische und formale Differenzen. Damals dominierte der in der Bevölkerung beliebte traditionelle «Heimatschutzstil». Mit dem «neuen Bauen» der Moderne und den neuen industriellen Technologien und Materialien wurde jedoch auch ein «neuer Mensch» anvisiert. «Die Gestaltung der Siedlungen nach genossenschaftlichen Prinzipien der Gemeinschaft zielte», so Dirk Schaal, «auf den von den Genossenschaften propagierten ‹Neuen Menschen›» (S. 32). Damit sollte auf die Sozialnatur des Menschen, die politischen Bewegungen und die Demokratisierung des gesellschaftlichen Zusammenlebens mehr Bezug genommen werden. Das diesjährige Bauhausjubiläum sollte sich vermehrt auf die ursprünglichen Anliegen des interdisziplinären Zusammenwirkens der sozialen Bauhausidee der Moderne ausrichten und auch kritische Reflek­tionen ermöglichen. Es geht nicht um einen modernen Formalismus, wie er heute oft zu sehen ist, sondern um eine Ästhetik und Ethik des Individual- und Gemeinwohls.
Gerade im ersten Drittel des 20. Jahrhunderts setzten sich die modernen Gestaltungsprinzipien nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in anderen europäischen Ländern immer mehr durch. «Neben namhaften Architekten – wie beispielsweise Walter Gropius für den Konsum Dessau-Törten oder Max Taut für ein Kaufhaus der Konsumgenossenschaft Berlin und Umgebung – finden sich hier überwiegend Architekten, die Prinzipien des modernen Bauens im Laufe ihrer Berufspraxis übernommen oder bereits während ihrer Ausbildung erlernt hatten.» (S. 32)
Wer die geschichtsträchtige Gegend Sachsens und Umgebung kennt, staunt über die grossartigen wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und sozialen Leistungen und Bauwerke. Sie sind teilweise im Buch dokumentiert. Mit der Auflösung der DDR war auch wertvolles Kulturgut gefährdet. Trotz der beachtlichen Rettung von Bausubstanz und dem Neuaufbau ist noch eine grosse Arbeit zu bewältigen.

Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch und Wilhelm Raiffeisen

Enrico Hochmuth führt anschaulich in das Thema «Genossenschaften in Sachsen» am Beispiel des 1891 vom Bildhauer Erwin Weissenfels gestalteten Hermann-Schulze-Delitzsch-Denkmals am Marienplatz in Delitzsch ein. Seine wechselvolle Geschichte von der Einschmelzung für die Kriegswirtschaft im Zweiten Weltkrieg bis zu der Nachbildung von 1950 durch den Bildhauer Max Alfred Brumme und der Versetzung an einen anderen Ort für ein Denkmal des ersten Präsidenten der DDR sowie der Rückführung des restaurierten Denkmals 1991 an den ursprünglichen Standort macht beispielhaft den politischen Umgang mit der Genossenschaftsidee deutlich.  
«Die erste erfolgreiche gewerbliche Genossenschaft Deutschlands gründete im Jahr 1849 Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch (1808–1883) mit 57 Schuhmachern in Delitzsch. Mit ihrer Rohstoff-Association konnten die Handwerker den Einkauf von Rohstoffen, Werkzeugen, Maschinen und weiteren Bedarfsartikeln günstiger gestalten sowie später auch den Verkauf ihrer Produkte in die eigene Hand nehmen. Der liberale Schulze-Delitzsch sah darin eine Möglichkeit, die ­Situation der notleidenden Handwerker und Kleingewerbetreibenden zu verbessern. Neben dem wirtschaftlichen Druck durch die Industrialisierung verband sich der Wandel von der ständischen zur bürgerlichen Gesellschaft auch mit dem Verlust tradierter Lebenszusammenhänge und sozialer Netzwerke.» (S. 34) Die Erfahrungen mit den von Schulze-Delitzsch angeregten Zusammenschlüssen und Produktionsgenossenschaften wurden 1889 in einem wegweisenden Genossenschaftsgesetz berücksichtigt und führten zu einem «Gründungsboom von Genossenschaften in den deutschen Staaten» (S. 34).
In diesem Zusammenhang muss auch auf das vom Westerwald ausgehende segensreiche Wirken von Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen (1818–1888) hingewiesen werden. Getragen von einer tiefen Nächstenliebe, einer sozialen Verbundenheit mit den Menschen, einer christlichen Ethik sowie einem Vertrauen in die mitmenschliche Wesensnatur, begründete er die genossenschaftlichen, lokalen «Raiffeisenkassen». Seine Leitidee war: «Nur in der Gemeinschaft sind wir stark», und mit den drei «Selbst» der Genossenschaft, der Selbsthilfe, der Selbstverwaltung und der Selbstverantwortung, ist auch das Subsidiaritätsprinzip (Verantwortung von unten, vom einzelnen Menschen her aufbauen) beinhaltet. Damit sollte die demokratische Mitgestaltung ermöglicht und gesichert werden. Jedes Genossenschaftsmitglied hat bei den Entscheidungen eine Stimme, unabhängig von seiner sozialen Lage und der Anzahl der Genossenschaftsanteile. Die von Raiffeisen initiierten «bäuerlichen Darlehenskassen» und gemeinschaftlichen Lagerhäuser erfuhren «mit der Schaffung ländlicher Einkaufs- und Absatzgenossenschaften durch Wilhelm Haas eine deutliche Erweiterung» (S. 37).
Eng damit verknüpft sind die Kreditgenossenschaften, welche anfänglich mit «Vorschuss-Vereinen» nach dem Vorbild der 1846 in Dänemark aufgebauten bäuerlichen Kreditgenossenschaft entstanden sind und in vielen Ländern auch die Entstehung der Volksbanken förderten.
Enrico Hochmuth zeigt anhand von Beispielen den grossen Erfolg der Pioniere Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch und Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen auf. «In einer ersten Gründungswelle entstanden zwischen 1860 und 1889 deutschlandweit rund einhundert Produktivgenossenschaften von Handwerkern in unterschiedlichen Bereichen. Ein solcher Zusammenschluss ist die Mühle und Bäckerei Bärenhecke Raiffeisengenossenschaft e.G. in Bärenhecke im östlichen Erzgebirgsvorland. Die historische Mühle nebst Bäckerei ist heute gleichermassen genossenschaftlicher Betrieb und zu besichtigendes technisches Denkmal. Am 20. August 1898 wurde die Firma als Müllerei-, Bäckerei- und Lagerhausgenossenschaft Oberes Müglitztal e.G.m.b.H. von 26 Bauern aus der Umgebung gegründet, um die Verarbeitung des Getreides bis hin zum Endprodukt selbst an die Hand zu nehmen. Die von der Genossenschaft erworbene Wassermühle an der Müglitz erhielt einen Kleinbahnanschluss und nahm bereits 1899 die Produktion auf. Bis 1913 traten der Unternehmung 300 Mitglieder bei. Zur Unterstützung der Bauern, besonders in den Krisenjahren, gliederte die Genossenschaft eine Bankabteilung an, die bis 1993 bestand. Zur Erhaltung und Vermittlung des Denkmals gründete sich 1995 ein Förderverein Technisches Denkmal Getreidemühle Bärenhecke e.V.» (S. 34) An weiteren Beispielen stellt der Autor die erfolgreiche genossenschaftliche Präzisionsuhrenfabrik Glashütte, Elektrizitätsgenossenschaften und landwirtschaftlichen Produktionsgenossenschaften vor.

Schaal, Dirk; Hochmuth, Enrico. Kooperativ wirtschaften – modern bauen. Die Architektur der Genossenschaften in Sachsen. Halle (Saale) 2019,
ISBN 978 3 96311 051 1

Genossenschaften im Dienst des Individual- und Gemeinwohls

Neben den landwirtschaftlichen Genossenschaften prägten vor allem die genossenschaftlichen Fabrikbauten, Konsum- und Grosseinkaufsgesellschaften sowie die Wohnbaugenossenschaften das Bild in den städtischen Regionen des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts. Die Genossenschaften hatten im Verlauf ihrer Geschichte stets auch schwierige Zeiten zu meistern. Dies betraf besonders landwirtschaftliche Betriebe im Zusammenhang mit politischen Veränderungen. «Nachdem 1933 die Genossenschaftsverbände und mit ihnen die Genossenschaften gleichgeschaltet worden waren», so Enrico Hochmuth, «kam es nach 1945 zur Restrukturierungen. Während in den westlichen Besatzungszonen und der BRD Produktionsgenossenschaften nur eine geringe Rolle spielten, besassen sie in der Sowjetischen Besatzungszone und späteren DDR eine grosse Bedeutung. 1946 gestattete die Sowjetische Militäradministration mit dem Befehl Nummer 160 die Gründung dieser Zusammenschlüsse, und ein Musterstatut wurde verpflichtend. Die wirtschaftliche Überwachung oblag den neustrukturierten Handwerkskammern. Mit dem 1950 beschlossenen Gesetz zur Förderung des Handwerks oder der Verordnung über die Produktionsgemeinschaften des Handwerks (PHG) von 1958 wurde die Beschränkung des Handwerks und Kleinbetriebe und die genossenschaftliche Zwangskollektivierung vorangetrieben. Ebenso wurde die Rolle der Einkaufs- und Liefergenossenschaften (ELG) des Handwerks geregelt. Genossenschaften hatten nun, wie staatliche Betriebe auch, Vorgaben im Rahmen der staatlichen Planung zu erfüllen. Nach 1990 wandelten sich die Betriebe wieder in klassische Genossenschaften oder andere Unternehmensformen um.» (S. 36f.) Der Genossenschaftsverband in Sachsen zählte 2002 unter seinen Mitgliedern 92 Produktivgenossenschaften und 235 Agrargenossenschaften. Durch ihren Erfolg werden sie «auch im vereinten Deutschland stärker wahrgenommen» (S. 37).

Grundlagen der genossenschaftlichen Lebensform und Ethik mehr beachten

Die geschichtlichen Darlegungen machen deutlich, dass die gegenwärtigen problematischen Umstrukturierungen und «Modernisierungen» im Rahmen der Globalisierung und Zentralisierung sowie der weltweite markt­radikale Neoliberalismus die ursprüngliche Genossenschaftsidee gefährden. Gerade auch in der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft zeigen sich alarmierende Entwicklungen, auch bei den Raiffeisen-Genossenschaftsbanken. Es ist notwendig, dass die Genossenschaftsmitglieder Rechte und Pflichten sowie die ursprünglichen Anliegen und die Ethik der demokratischen Mitgestaltung der Mitglieder im Genossenschaftsprinzip einfordern und leben. Das hier vorgestellte Buch leistet dazu einen wertvollen Beitrag – wie auch zum Verständnis der genossenschaftlichen Architektur der Moderne.    •