The Cooperative Idea – A Cultural Heritage of Humanity

New publication by Zeit-Fragen publishing house

In November 2016, the “cooperative idea” was declared part of the Intangible Cultural World Heritage of UNESCO. With the adoption the idea is to be protected and at the same time to be brought more strongly into the consciousness again as economic model. The impulse to declare the cooperative idea a World Heritage came in 2014 from­Dietmar Berger, the long-time president of the Middle German Cooperative Association. The Raiffeisen Association and the Schulze-Delitzsch- Society joined this idea and jointly submitted the application to the UNESCO.
In order to honour the recognition of the cooperative idea as a World Cultural Heritage, the cooperative Zeit-Fragen organised two events as part of the Leipzig Book Fair 2017.
Participants in the panel discussions included Dietmar Berger, long-standing president of the Middle German Cooperative Association, Professor Dr Markus Hanisch, holder of the Raiffeisen professorship at the Humboldt University in Berlin (“Economics of Rural Cooperatives”), Professor Dr Richard Werner, Director of the Center for Banking, Finance and Sustainable Development, and Dr Eva-Maria Föllmer-Müller, editor and psychologist of the Current Concerns newspaper and Jean-Paul Vuilleumier, president of the Zeit-Fragen Cooperative.
The anthropologically founded ethical basics of the cooperative idea are still relevant today and should be preserved and further developed for future generations. The UN had already proclaimed in 2012 the “Year of Cooperatives” and thus honoured the cooperatives with their 800 million members in over 100 countries worldwide. Cooperatives are working to reduce poverty, create jobs and promote social inclusion. Reason enough to discuss the cooperatives, their historical, social-ethical, economic and practical basics. (Foreword to the brochure)

The 70-page brochure [in German] can be ordered from the Genossenschaft Zeit-Fragen, Postfach, CH-8044 Zurich; e-mail: abo(at)zeit-fragen.ch,
for CHF 10.- plus postage.

Die Genossenschaftsidee – Kulturerbe der Menschheit

Neuerscheinung im Verlag Zeit-Fragen
Im Jahr 2016 wurde die «Genossenschafts­idee» zum Immateriellen Weltkulturerbe der Unesco erklärt. Mit der Aufnahme soll die Idee geschützt und zugleich als wirtschaftliches Modell wieder stärker ins Bewusstsein gerückt werden. Der Impuls, die Genossenschaftsidee zum Weltkulturerbe erklären zu lassen, kam im Jahre 2014 von Dietmar Berger, dem langjährigen Verbandspräsidenten des Mitteldeutschen Genossenschaftsverbandes. Der Raiffeisen-Verband und die Schulze-Delitzsch-Gesellschaft haben sich dieser Idee angeschlossen und den Antrag gemeinsam bei der Unesco eingereicht.
Um die Anerkennung der Genossenschaftsidee als Weltkulturerbe zu würdigen, hat die Genossenschaft Zeit-Fragen im Rahmen der Leipziger Buchmesse 2017 zwei Veranstaltungen durchgeführt.
Teilnehmer der Podiumsdiskussionen waren der langjährige Verbandspräsident des Mitteldeutschen Genossenschaftsverbandes Dietmar Berger, der Inhaber der Raiffeisenprofessur an der Humboldt-Universität Berlin («Ökonomik ländlicher Genossenschaften») Prof. Dr. Markus Hanisch, der Direktor des Center for Banking, Finance and Sustainable Development Professor Dr. Richard Werner und von der Zeitung Zeit-Fragen die Redakteurin und Psychologin Dr. Eva-Maria Föllmer-Müller und der Präsident der Genossenschaft Zeit-Fragen Jean-Paul Vuilleumier.
Die anthropologisch fundierten ethischen Grundlagen der Genossenschaftsidee sind auch heute aktuell und sollen für zukünftige Generationen bewahrt und weiterentwickelt werden. Die Uno hatte 2012 bereits das «Jahr der Genossenschaften» ausgerufen und damit die Genossenschaften mit ihren weltweit 800 Millionen Mitgliedern in über 100 Ländern gewürdigt. Genossenschaften tun etwas gegen die Armut, schaffen Arbeitsplätze und fördern die soziale Integration. Grund genug, sich mit den Genossenschaften, ihren historischen, sozial­ethischen, wirtschaftlichen und praktischen Grundlagen auseinanderzusetzen. (Vorwort der Broschüre)

Die 70seitige Broschüre kann bei der Genossenschaft Zeit-Fragen, Postfach, CH-8044 Zürich; E-Mail: abo(at)zeit-fragen.ch, für CHF 10.– zuzüglich Porto bestellt werden.