Korea and the power interests of geopolitics

Some fragments on the history of the Korean peninsula

by Erika Vögeli and Peter Hediger*

It is rather difficult for us to assess the importance of the content of the Panmunjeom Declaration for the people of the Korean peninsula. However, a very cursory look at history reveals that this country and its people – occupied more than 100 years ago and being an area of geopolitical conflicts for decades – have never given up on regaining their sovereignty and independence and living together as a united nation.
The following statements are by nature incomplete and are only intended to remind you of a few important stages.

On 27 April 2018, Kim Jong Un, Chairman of the State Affairs Committee of the Democratic People‘s Republic of Korea, and Moon Jae-in, President of the Republic of Korea, shook hands before the military demarcation line. For the first time since the war, a North Korean leader crossed the border.(picture keystone)

After Japan’s victory in the war against China in 1894/95, the Kingdom of Korea, until then in a vassal relationship with China, came under the domination of the Japanese empire, which entirely annexed it in 1910.
Japan – an ally of the German Empire during the Second World War – surrendered in 1945. It could no longer withstand a double pressure: After the end of World War II in Europe, Stalin opened a new front in East Asia against Japan. The two US missions using nuclear weapons in Hiroshima and Nagasaki quickly brought Japan to its knees. At a hastily convened meeting in Moscow, the Soviet Union and the USA decided to disarm the remaining Japanese forces in Korea. The 38th parallel was defined as a provisional border barrier. In the north of this line the Soviet Army was responsible for the disarmament and the US forces in the south.

The Cold war ends any hopes for reunification for the moment

At the Yalta Conference in 1945 it was decided to hold elections in Korea within 5 years to give Korea the opportunity to become an independent country with its own elected government. The mandate for these elections, which were originally intended for the whole of Korea, was taken over by the UN in 1947. Increasing contradictions among the former allies led to the Cold War and from 1950 – 1953 to a direct armed conflict on the Korean peninsula. Even after a ceasefire was concluded, the major powers involved in Korea continued their efforts to consolidate their spheres of influence on the Korean peninsula, hardening the military demarcation line along the 38th parallel.
On 10 May 1948, the USA held elections in South Korea and declared Rhee Syng-man as winner. Rhee was part of the resistance against Japanese colonization and spent decades first in Chinese and then in American exile. He took over the affairs of state from the USA on 13 August and proclaimed the Republic of Korea on 15 August. In response, Kim Il Sung, supported by the Soviet Union, proclaimed the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea on 9 September 1948.
America had meanwhile invested large amounts of money in South Korea – at that time in about half of all mines, railways, banks and the fertile part of the country were supposed to have been taken over by US companies. Nevertheless, the North initially developed more rapidly and showed stronger economic growth than South Korea until the beginning of the 1970s.
Initially, Korea had a short common border of 14 kilometres with the Soviet Union only in the north-east. In 1949, the Communist Party under Mao Zedong gained power on the Chinese mainland and also proclaimed a Communist People’s Republic, making the entire Korean peninsula border along the Yalu and Tumen rivers abutting the socialist block and turning North Korea into a strategic apron or buffer zone. At the demarcation line across the peninsula, which also ran along about the 38th parallel, the two Cold War blocks stood directly opposite each other in Korea from then on.
Korean War:

First proxy war of the bipolar world

The Korean War of 1950 – 1953 is considered the first proxy war in the bipolar world of the Cold War. The USA first denoted the Soviet Union as the driving force, later Kim Il Sung was regarded as the person mainly responsible. Modern historians have become more cautious with such one-sided accusations and interpret the North Korean offensive as a reaction to a South Korean provocation. Kim Gu, a long-time companion of Rhee Syng-man in Chinese exile, made a final attempt to overcome the division of Korea in 1948 with a visit to Kim Il Sung in Pyongyang. Returning to Seoul, he was murdered at the behest of Rhee Syng-man.
The USA used the absence of the Soviet delegation in the Security Council to intervene militarily on behalf of the UN on the Korean peninsula. After initial successes of North Korea, US troops advanced to almost the border of China, which felt threatened accordingly and supported North Korea by sending so-called people’s volunteers. China was thus able to avoid an official entry into the war and the involvement of its own country as a war participant. Nevertheless, the American commander-in-chief General MacArthur advocated the use of nuclear weapons against China and the occupation of northeast China (Manchuria), which bordered Korea, an important economic region for China. For the first time, the world was confronted with the growing risks of war of two nuclear powers. Even President Truman got spooked, so he prematurely dismissed MacArthur.
The war went on with tremendous brutality. Paramilitary communist underground troops murdered opponents of the North Korean regime in South Korea and practiced a policy of scorched earth. Conversely, in South Korea, an anti-communist hysteria resulted in mass executions of communist supporters; US troops killed countless civilians, often including families and children, suspecting them of collaborating with the Communists.
In North Korea, in particular the US bombing caused devastating damage. 450,000 tons of bombs, 32,357 tons of which were using napalm, were dropped on North Korea. The consequences were devastating, because unlike in Vietnam, North Korea had more densely populated conurbations with industry.
At least half of the 22 largest North Korean cities were razed to the ground. It is estimated that South Korea lost about one million people, North Korea 2.5 million and China one million.

Time and again there have been border disputes between North and South Korea. The maritime border Northern Limit Line NNL (Line A) in the Yellow Sea off the west coast of the Korean Peninsula is an ongoing conflict zone. A commander of the UN troops committed them unilaterally on 30 August 1953. It was never recognized by North Korea. North Korea, for its part, set the border on Line B. In the zone between the borderlines A and B, there were always military incidents. Islands: Yeonpyeong No. 1, Baengnyeongdo No. 2 and Daecheong No. 3 (maps wikipedia)

27 July 1953: ceasefire only

After diplomatic contacts between the USA and the Soviet Union from 1951 onwards in Warsaw and Geneva, negotiations began between the warring parties in Panmunjeom, which led to a ceasefire not until 27 July 1953, but without South Korea ever having co-signed this agreement. This gives additional importance to the inter-Korean summit between Chairman Kim Jong Un and President Moon Jae-in in Panmunjeom on 27 April 2018.
The 1953 agreement essentially confirmed the 38th parallel as the border between North and South Korea and established a four-kilometer wide demilitarised zone along the border. It was administered by the Military Armistice Commission MAC, while the Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission NNSC has the mission of monitoring it. In addition, a Neutral Nations Repatriation Commission, of which India was a neutral member, was responsible for the repatriation of the prisoners. This commission was dissolved in 1956. The neutral countries mentioned were Sweden and Switzerland as well as Poland and Czechoslovakia. Following the fall of the Iron Curtain, Poland and Czechoslovakia withdrew their delegations in 1993 on the initiative of North Korea. To date, five Swiss and five Swedish officers are permanently stationed in Panmunjeom for the NNSC. A Polish representative resides in Seoul today. The NNSC has not been recognised by the North since 1993. In the same year Pyongyang also achieved the withdrawal of the delegation of the Chinese People’s Volunteers in the Military Armistice Commission from Kaesong/Panmunjeom. The repatriation of the Chinese people’s volunteers was already completed in 1958.

US military presence to this day

In contrast, the USA still has a military presence of 28,000 troops in South Korea. To this day, the South Korean army will be under the command of the responsible US general in the event of war. The ceasefire agreement should have been replaced by a peace agreement after one year. While the US has so far refused to sign a peace agreement because it would then have to withdraw its troops from South Korea, North Korea considers the ceasefire agreement with its institutions of the Military Armistice Commission and the Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission as anachronistic and obsolete.
Soon after the 1953 ceasefire agreement was concluded, it was repeatedly and in some cases seriously violated. It is impossible to list all incidents and blames here. Instead, a few selected relevant incidents from more recent times should be remembered:

Northern Limit Line – arbitrary demarcation of the United Nations Command

  • Since 15 June 1999, there have been repeated heavy sea battles in the Yellow Sea (Korean name: West Sea) south of the island of Yeonpyong held by South Korea. The reason for this are different opinions about the course of the sea border. Immediately after the conclusion of the ceasefire agreement the United Nations Command, the war party on the south side, arbitrarily introduced a Northern Limitation Line as a sea border immediately off the North Korean coast. The North has never recognised this demarcation and insists on a border line that runs further south at an equivalent distance from the coastal sections of North and South Korea.

Atomic tests, battles and search for dialogue

On 9 October 2006, North Korea announces its first nuclear test. The UN Security Council decides to extend the existing sanctions regime. After further tests in the following years, boycott and embargo measures against North Korea are tightened even further. In addition to UN sanctions, Japan is drawing up its own catalogue of measures. Virtually all imports from North Korea, especially seafood and rare mushrooms, which are very popular with the Japanese population, are stopped, the direct ferry connection between both countries is discontinued.

  • A second inter-Korean summit on 4 October 2007 between Secretary General Kim Il Jong and President Roh Moo-hyun raises new hopes, which unfortunately soon turn out to be illusions. South Korean President Roh commits suicide after his term of office expires.
  • Repeated sea battles and mutual accusations in the West Sea (Yellow Sea) prompted North Korea on 23 November 2010 to retaliate by firing missiles at the island of Yeonpyong held by South Korea just off the North Korean coast.
  • 3 September 2017: North Korea tests the first homemade H-bomb.
  • 9 January 2018: After a verbal escalation with the US, Kim Jong Un signals his willingness to engage in dialogue, and a first secret meeting of senior representatives of both states follows.
  • 9 February 2018: At the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games in South Korea, the athletes from North and South Korea enter the stadium together.
  • On 27 April 2018, the Chairman of the National Committee for Political Affairs of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Kim Jong Un, and the President of the Republic of Korea, Moon Jae-in, meet in Panmunjeom and sign the Declaration for Peace, Welfare and Reunification on the Korean Peninsula.

In contrast to the majority of opinion-forming western media, various observers and journalists describe the North Korean behaviour less and less as irrational. In particular, North Korea’s threats are not due to uncontrolled sentiment, but to the experience that such gestures are the only thing Washington takes note of.
Singapore diplomat and political philosopher Kishore Mahbubani warns his countrymen: “Please be very careful each day you pick up the newspapers to read some Anglo-Saxon media analysis of contemporary problems, like North Korea or Syria, Ukraine or Iran. When you read these analyses, please ask yourselves: Are you reading an objective analysis? Or are you reading a distorted world view?”1 In his article he points out that Asians take a completely different approach to solving such problems: They integrate problem regions into joint development instead of covering them with bombs. China would never want to lead North Korea to the brink of collapse – China would neither be able to cope with a stream of refugees, nor can it imagine a military ally of the USA at its border.
How much Asian diplomacy has worked in the background to make the Panmunjeom meeting and declaration possible – we do not know. It is probably part of the practice of successful diplomacy that doesn’t trumpet its actions from the housetops.
New clouds are already casting their dark shadows before on last month’s promising Panmunjom declaration. Instead of confidence-building measures, President Trump, together with his South Korean ally, sets, as he does every year, a gigantic war machine in motion to exercise launch of an attack on North Korea. An announced meeting between Chairman Kim Jong Un and President Trump is therefore met with scepticism in Pyongyang. It would be important for North Korea if President Trump could finally decide to recognise and establish diplomatic relations under international law, as the US has done with other existing socialist states, China, Vietnam and Cuba.    •

*    Peter Hediger is a Sinologist and expert for international security policy. From 1982–1983 he gathered first experiences dealing with North Korea as a member of the Swiss delegation to the Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission. 1999–2003 he was first to be appointed military attaché in North Korea (an additional accreditation based in Beijing). Both functions allowed him unique insights into society and military affairs of this secretive country. Following his retirement in 2008 he has travelled to North Korea several times as a private citizen.

1    Mahbubani, Kishore. How the Western media gets the Korean crisis wrong. In: The Straits Times of 13 May 2017 (https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/how-the-western-media-gets-the-korean-crisis-wrong)

Chronology of the Korean Aspiration for Peace and Reconciliation

With the beginning of the detente policy in the 1970s, hopes for a genuine peace agreement were also rekindled in Korea. On 20 August 1971, the first meeting of North and South Korean Red Cross staff members took place, on 4 July 1972 the South-North Joint Communiqué was announced, the first permanent inter-Korean consultative body (October 1972 until March 1975). The provision of humanitarian support was made for the first time since national division, five full-dress inter-Korean economic talks from November 1984 until November 1985 and a first agreement was made on the reunion of separated families, talks on sports, further Red Cross talks, in 1990 the first round of South-North Prime Minister Talks, from 10–13 December an “Agreement on Reconciliation, Non-aggression, Exchanges, and Cooperation (Basic Agreement)“ was signed in Seoul, then in February 1992 in Pyeongyang the “Agreement on Reconciliation, Non-aggression, Exchanges, and Cooperation and the Joint Declaration on the Denuclearization of the Korean Peninsula“ took effect. A first inter-Korean summit since national division between President Kim Young-sam and President Kim Il Sung in Pyeongyang on 25–27 July 1994. The summit was not held due to the death of President Kim Il Sung on 8 July 1994. In December 1997 six “Four-Party Meetings“ among South Korea, North Korea, the United States and China were held in Geneva.
In June 2000 the first inter-Korean summit was held in Pyeongyang the “South-North Joint Declaration“ was signed. In June 2000 the first inter-Korean summit was held in Pyeongyang and the “South-North Joint Declaration“ was signed. From June 2000 until October 2010 eleven inter-Korean Red Cross talks were held in Geumgangsan to implement the details of the June 15 South-North Joint Declaration, fifteen years after the first reunion in 1985, another reunion of separated families took place. From 2000 to 2008, 21 inter-Korean ministerial talks were held as well as meetings of national defense ministers and meetings of the South-North Economic Cooperation Committee. From 2 to 4 October 2007 the second inter-Korean summit was held and the “Declaration on the Advancement of South-North Relations, Peace and Prosperity“ was signed.

Source: Peace, a New Start. 2018
Inter-Korean Summit. www.korea.net; http://www.korea.net/FILE/pdfdata/2018/04/2018_inter-korean_summit_EN.pdf

Madam Fu Ying, a former vice-minister for foreign affairs in China and now chairman of the National People’s Congress’ Foreign Affairs Committee, said: “American rhetoric about North Korea often confuses ‘denuclearisation’ with ‘regime collapse’, so much so that North Korea could not tell which one was the main target.”

Mahbubani, Kishore. How the Western media gets the Korean crisis wrong. In: The Straits Times vom 13. Mai 2017. https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/how-the-western-media-gets-the-korean-crisis-wrong

“We must return to that spirit where the South and the North worked together toward realizing a peaceful Peninsula.
I clearly state the following: we do not wish for North Korea’s collapse, and will not work toward any kind of unification through absorption. Neither will we pursue an artificial unification. Unification is a process where both sides seek coexistence and co-prosperity and restore a sense of national community. When peace is established, unification will be realized naturally someday through an agreement between the South and the North.
What my Administration and I would like to realize is only peace.“

Source: From the speech of President Moon Jae-in from 6 July 2017 at Körber Foundation in Germany
www.korea.net/Government/Briefing-Room/Presidential-Speeches/view?articleId=156591&pageIndex=4

Part of Pyongyang‘s modern skyline – it barely fits into the image of North Korea common to the mainstream Western media. Under the link www.korean-books.com.kp/en/search/?page=periodic-pictorial the interested reader finds numerous pictures from various areas of life in North Korea.. (picture keystone)

Korea und die Machtinteressen der Geopolitik

Einige Bruchstücke zur Geschichte der koreanischen Halbinsel

von Erika Vögeli und Peter Hediger*

Welche Bedeutung der Inhalt der Erklärung von Panmunjom für die Bevölkerung der koreanischen Halbinsel hat, ist für uns wohl schwer zu ermessen. Ein sehr kursorischer Blick in die Geschichte lässt aber erahnen, dass dieses Land und sein Volk – vor über 100 Jahren besetzt worden und über Jahrzehnte im Konfliktfeld der Geopolitik – nie aufgegeben haben, ihre Souveränität und Unabhängigkeit zurückzuerlangen und als geeintes Volk zusammenzuleben.
Die folgenden Angaben sind naturgemäss unvollständig und sollen nur einige wichtige Stationen in Erinnerungen rufen.

Am 27. April 2018 reichten sich der Vorsitzende des Komitees für Staatsangelegenheiten der Demokratischen Volksrepublik Korea Kim Jong Un und der Präsident der Republik Korea Moon Jae-in vor der militärischen Demarkationslinie die Hände. Zum ersten Mal seit dem Krieg überschritt ein nordkoreanischer Staatsführer die Grenze. (Bild keystone)

Nach dem Sieg Japans im Krieg gegen China 1894/95 geriet das Königreich Korea, bis dahin in einem Vasallenverhältnis zu China, unter die Vorherrschaft des japanischen Kaiserreiches, von dem es 1910 vollständig annektiert wurde.
Japan – während des Zweiten Weltkrieges Bündnispartner des Deutschen Reiches – kapitulierte 1945. Es konnte einem doppelten Druck nicht mehr standhalten: Nach Beendigung des Weltkrieges in Europa eröffnete Stalin eine neue Front in Ostasien gegen Japan. Die beiden Nuklearwaffeneinsätze der USA in Hiroshima und Nagasaki zwangen Japan schliesslich rasch in die Knie. Auf einem in aller Eile einberufenen Treffen in Moskau beschlossen die Sowjetunion und die USA, die in Korea verbliebenen japanischen Verbände zu entwaffnen. Der 38. Breitengrad wurde als provisorische Trennlinie festgelegt. Die Durchführung dieser Massnahme oblag nördlich dieser Linie der Sowjetarmee, südlich den US-Streitkräften.

Der Kalte Krieg beendet vorerst Hoffnungen auf Wiedervereinigung

Auf der Konferenz von Jalta war 1945 beschlossen worden, innerhalb von 5 Jahren in Korea Wahlen durchzuführen, um Korea die Möglichkeit zu geben, ein unabhängiges Land mit einer eigenen, gewählten Regierung zu werden. Das Mandat für diese Wahlen, die ursprünglich für Gesamtkorea vorgesehen waren, übernahm 1947 die Uno. Zunehmende Widersprüche unter den ehemaligen Alliierten führten zum Kalten Krieg und von 1950–1953 zu einem direkten bewaffneten Konflikt auf der koreanischen Halbinsel. Auch nach Abschluss eines Waffenstillstandes blieben die in Korea involvierten Grossmächte bestrebt, ihre Einflusssphären auf der koreanischen Halbinsel zu festigen, wodurch die Trennungslinie entlang des 38. Breitengrades eine Verhärtung erfuhr.
Am 10. Mai 1948 hielten die USA in Südkorea Wahlen ab und erklärten Rhee Syng-man zum Gewinner. Rhee gehörte dem Widerstand gegen die japanische Kolonisierung an und verbrachte Jahrzehnte zunächst im chinesischen und zuletzt im amerikanischen Exil. Er übernahm am 13. August die Regierungsgeschäfte von den USA und rief am 15. August die Republik Korea aus. Als Reaktion darauf proklamierte der von der Sowjetunion unterstützte Kim Il Sung am 9. September 1948 die Demokratische Volksrepublik Korea.
Amerika hatte inzwischen in Südkorea grosse Summen investiert – so sollen damals rund die Hälfte aller Bergwerke, Eisenbahnen, Banken und des fruchtbaren Landes von US-Firmen übernommen worden sein. Dennoch entwickelte der Norden sich zunächst rascher und wies bis Anfang der siebziger Jahre ein stärkeres Wirtschaftswachstum auf als Südkorea.
Zunächst hatte Korea nur im Nordosten eine kurze gemeinsame Grenze von 14 Kilometern mit der Sowjetunion. 1949 hatte die Kommunistische Partei unter Mao Zedong auf dem chinesischen Festland die Macht errungen und ebenfalls eine kommunistische Volksrepublik ausgerufen, womit nun die gesamte Landesgrenze der koreanischen Halbinsel entlang der Flüsse Yalu und Tumen an das sozialistische Lager stiess und Nordkorea zu einem strategischen Vorfeld bzw. zur Pufferzone werden liess. An der Trennungslinie quer durch die Halbinsel, die auch nach dem Waffenstillstand ungefähr entlang des 38. Breitengrades verlief, standen sich die beiden Blöcke des Kalten Krieges in Korea fortan unmittelbar gegenüber.

Koreakrieg: erster Stellvertreterkrieg der bipolaren Welt

Der Korea-Krieg von 1950–1953 gilt als erster Stellvertreterkrieg der bipolaren Welt des Kalten Krieges. Die USA bezeichneten zunächst die Sowjetunion als treibende Kraft, später galt Kim Il Sung als Hauptverantwortlicher. Moderne Historiker sind mit so einseitigen Schuldzuweisungen zurückhaltender geworden und deuten die nordkoreanische Offensive als Reaktion auf eine südkoreanische Provokation. Kim Gu, ein langjähriger Weggefährte von Rhee Syng-man im chinesischen Exil, hatte 1948 mit einem Besuch bei Kim Il Sung in Pyongyang einen letzten Versuch unternommen, eine Überwindung der Teilung Koreas zu erreichen. Nach Seoul zurückgekehrt wurde er auf Geheiss von Rhee Syng-man ermordet.
Die USA nutzten die Abwesenheit der sowjetischen Delegation im Weltsicherheitsrat, um im Namen der Uno auf der koreanischen Halbinsel militärisch zu intervenieren. Nach anfänglichen Erfolgen Nordkoreas stiessen US-Truppen bis fast an die Grenze Chinas vor, das sich entsprechend bedroht fühlte und mit der Entsendung sogenannter Volksfreiwilliger Nordkorea unterstützte. China konnte damit einen offiziellen Kriegseintritt und eine Verwicklung des eigenen Landes als Kriegsteilnehmer vermeiden. Dennoch befürwortete der amerikanische Oberbefehlshaber General MacArthur den Einsatz von Atomwaffen gegen China und die Besetzung von Nordostchina (Mandschurei), das an Korea grenzte, eine für China wichtige Wirtschaftsregion. Erstmals wurde die Welt mit den wachsenden Risiken konfrontiert, die ein Krieg mit zwei über Atomwaffen verfügenden Mächten bedeutete. Das wurde selbst Präsident Truman unheimlich, so dass er MacArthur vorzeitig abberief.
Der Krieg verlief mit ungeheurer Brutalität. Paramilitärische kommunistische Untergrundtruppen ermordeten in Südkorea Regimegegner Nordkoreas und praktizierten eine Politik der verbrannten Erde. Umgekehrt kam es in Südkorea im Zuge einer antikommunistischen Hysterie zu Massenhinrichtungen von Anhängern der Kommunisten; US-Truppen brachten unzählige Zivilisten, oft samt Familien und Kindern um, die sie der Kollaboration mit den Kommunisten verdächtigten.
In Nordkorea richtete insbesondere der Bombenkrieg der USA verheerende Schäden an. 450 000 Tonnen Bomben, davon 32 357 Tonnen Napalm, sind über Nordkorea niedergegangen. Die Folgen waren verheerend, denn anders als in Vietnam existierten in Nordkorea mehr bevölkerungsreiche Ballungszentren mit Industrie. 18 der 22 grössten nordkoreanischen Städte wurden mindestens zur Hälfte dem Erdboden gleichgemacht.
Man schätzt, dass Südkorea etwa eine Million Menschen verlor, Nordkorea 2,5 Millionen und China eine Million.

Immer wieder kam es bisher zu Grenzstreitigkeiten zwischen Nord- und Südkorea. Die Seegrenze Northern Limit Line NNL (Linie A) im Gelben Meer vor der Westküste der koreanischen Halbinsel ist eine andauernde Konfliktzone. Ein Kommandant der UN-Truppen legte sie am 30. August 1953 einseitig fest. Sie wurde von Nordkorea nie anerkannt. Nordkorea seinerseits legte die Grenze an der Linie B fest. In der Zone zwischen den Grenzlinien A und B kam es immer wieder zu militärischen Zwischenfällen. Inseln: Yeonpyeong Nr. 1, Baengnyeongdo Nr. 2 und Daecheong Nr. 3 (Karten wikipedia)

27. Juli 1953: nur Waffenstillstand

Nach diplomatischen Kontakten zwischen den USA und der Sowjetunion ab 1951 in Warschau und Genf wurden zwischen den Kriegsparteien in Panmunjom Verhandlungen aufgenommen, die erst am 27. Juli 1953 zu einem Waffenstillstand führten, allerdings ohne dass Südkorea dieses Abkommen jemals mitunterzeichnet hätte. Dies verleiht dem innerkoreanischen Gipfeltreffen zwischen dem Vorsitzenden Kim Jong Un und Präsident Moon Jae-in vom 27. April 2018 in Panmunjom eine zusätzliche Bedeutung.
Das Abkommen von 1953 bestätigte im wesentlichen den 38. Breitengrad als Grenze zwischen Nord- und Südkorea und legte eine vier Kilometer breite entmilitarisierte Zone entlang der Grenze fest. Sie wurde von der Military Armistice Commission MAC verwaltet, während die Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission NNSC den Auftrag hat, sie zu überwachen. Zusätzlich war eine Neutral Nations Repatriation Commission, der auch Indien als neutrales Mitglied angehört hatte, für die Rückführung der Gefangenen verantwortlich. Diese Kommission wurde 1956 aufgelöst. Die erwähnten neutralen Staaten waren Schweden und die Schweiz sowie Polen und die Tschechoslowakei. Nach dem Fall des Eisernen Vorhanges zogen Polen und die Tschechoslowakei 1993 ihre Delegationen auf Veranlassung Nordkoreas ab. Bis heute sind für die NNSC ständig je fünf schweizerische und fünf schwedische Offiziere in Panmunjom stationiert. Ein polnischer Vertreter residiert heute in Seoul. Die NNSC wird seit 1993 vom Norden nicht mehr anerkannt. Im gleichen Jahr erwirkte Pyongyang auch den Abzug der Delegation der Chinesischen Volksfreiwilligen in der Military Armistice Commission aus Kaesong/Panmunjom. Die Rückkehr der Chinesischen Volksfreiwilligen war bereits 1958 vollständig abgeschlossen worden.

US-Militärpräsenz bis heute

Demgegenüber unterhalten die USA bis heute eine Militärpräsenz von 28 000 Mann in Südkorea. Bis heute gilt die Regelung, dass die südkoreanische Armee im Kriegsfall dem Kommando des zuständigen US-Generals unterstellt wird. Das Waffenstillstandsabkommen hätte nach Ablauf eines Jahres durch ein Friedensabkommen ersetzt werden sollen. Während die USA sich bisher geweigert haben, ein Friedensabkommen zu unterzeichnen, weil sie dann ihre Truppen aus Südkorea abziehen müssten, betrachtet Nordkorea das Waffenstillstandsabkommen mit seinen Organen des Military Armistice Commission und der Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission als anachronistisch und obsolet.
Schon bald nach Abschluss des Waffenstillstandsabkommens 1953 ist es immer wieder zu teilweise gravierenden Verletzungen desselben gekommen. Es ist unmöglich, hier alle Zwischenfälle und Schuldzuweisungen aufzulisten. Statt dessen soll an ein paar ausgewählte relevante Vorkommnisse aus jüngerer Zeit erinnert werden:

Northern Limit Line – willkürliche Grenzziehung des United Nations Command

•    Seit dem 15. Juni 1999 ist es im Gelben Meer (Koreanische Bezeichnung: Westmeer) südlich der von Südkorea gehaltenen Insel Yeonpyong wiederholt zu teilweise schweren Seegefechten gekommen. Ursache sind unterschiedliche Auffassungen über den Verlauf der Seegrenze. Das United Nations Command, die Kriegspartei der Südseite, hat nach Abschluss des Waffenstillstandsabkommens willkürlich unmittelbar vor der nordkoreanischen Küste eine Northern Limitation Line als Seegrenze eingeführt. Der Norden hat diese Grenzziehung nie anerkannt und beharrt auf einer Grenzlinie, die weiter südlich in äquivalentem Abstand zu den Küstenabschnitten von Nord- und Südkorea verläuft.

Atomtests, Gefechte und Suche nach Dialog

  • Am 9. Oktober 2006 verkündet Nordkorea seinen ersten Atomtest. Der Uno-Sicherheitsrat beschliesst, das bestehende Sanktionsregime auszuweiten. Nach weiteren Tests in den folgenden Jahren werden Boykott- und Embargomassnahmen gegen Nordkorea noch mehr verschärft. Zusätzlich zu den Uno-Sanktionen erstellt Japan einen eigenen Massnahmenkatalog. Praktisch alle Importe aus Nordkorea, vor allem Meeresfrüchte und bei der japanischen Bevölkerung sehr beliebte seltene Pilze, werden gestoppt, die direkte Fährverbindung zwischen beiden Ländern eingestellt.
  • Ein zweites innerkoreanisches Gipfeltreffen vom 4. Oktober 2007 zwischen Generalsekretär Kim Il Jong und Präsident Roh Moo-hyun weckt neue Hoffnungen, die sich aber leider bald als Trugbilder erweisen. Der südkoreanische Präsident Roh begeht nach Ablauf seiner Amtszeit Selbstmord.
  • Wiederholte Seegefechte und gegenseitige Beschuldigungen im Westmeer (Gelben Meer) veranlassen Nordkorea am 23. November 2010 als Vergeltungsaktion, die von Südkorea gehaltene Insel Yeonpyong unmittelbar vor der nordkoreanischen Küste mit Raketen zu beschiessen.
  • 3. September 2017: Nordkorea testet die erste selbsthergestellte Wasserstoffbombe.
  • 9. Januar 2018: Nach einer verbalen Eskalation mit den USA signalisiert Kim Jong Un Dialogbereitschaft, und es folgt ein erstes geheimes Treffen ranghoher Vertreter beider Staaten.
  • 9. Februar 2018: Bei der Eröffnungsfeier der Olympischen Spiele in Südkorea laufen die Sportler von Nord- und Südkorea gemeinsam ins Stadion ein.
  • Am 27. April 2018 treffen sich der Vorsitzende des Nationalen Komitees für politische Angelegenheiten der Demokratischen Volksrepublik Korea, Kim Jong Un, und der Präsident der Republik Korea, Moon Jae-in, in Panmunjom und unterzeichnen die Erklärung für Frieden, Wohlfahrt und Wiedervereinigung auf der koreanischen Halbinsel.

Im Unterschied zur mehrheitlichen Meinungsbildung in westlichen Medien schätzen verschiedene Beobachter und Kommentatoren das Verhalten Nordkoreas immer weniger als irrational ein. Insbesondere entspringen die Drohungen Nordkoreas nicht unkontrollierten Stimmungslagen, sondern seiner Erfahrung, dass derartige Gesten das einzige sind, was Washington zur Kenntnis nimmt.
So warnt der Singapurer Diplomat und ­politische Philosoph Kishore Mahbubani seine Landsleute: «Seid bitte sehr vorsichtig, wenn ihr jeden Tag die Zeitung nehmt, um einige angelsächsische Medienanalysen gegenwärtiger Probleme wie Nordkorea oder Syrien, zur Ukraine oder Iran zu lesen. Wenn ihr diese Analysen lest, fragt bitte euch selbst: Liest du eine objektive Analyse? Oder liest du eine verdrehte Weltsicht?»1 So weist er in seinem Artikel darauf hin, dass die Asiaten eine völlig andere Herangehensweise zur Lösung solcher Probleme verfolgen: Sie binden Problemregionen in die gemeinsame Entwicklung ein, anstatt sie mit Bomben einzudecken. China werde Nordkorea niemals an den Rand des Kollapses führen wollen – China würde weder einen Flüchtlingsstrom verkraften, noch kann es sich einen militärischen Verbündeten der USA an seiner Grenze vorstellen.
Wie viel asiatische Diplomatie im Hintergrund gewirkt hat, die das Treffen und die Erklärung von Panmunjom ermöglicht hat – wir wissen es nicht. Es gehört wohl zur Praxis erfolgreicher Diplomatie, dass ihr Vorgehen nicht an die grosse Glocke gehängt wird.
Bereits werfen neue Wolken ihre dunklen Schatten auf die verheissungsvolle Erklärung von Panmunjom des vergangenen Monats. Anstelle von vertrauensbildenden Massnahmen setzt Präsident Trump zusammen mit seinem südkoreanischen Verbündeten wie jedes Jahr eine gigantische Kriegsmaschinerie in Gang, um einen Angriff auf Nordkorea zu üben. Ein angesagtes Treffen zwischen dem Vorsitzenden Kim Jong Un und Präsident Trump stösst deshalb in Pyongyang auf Skepsis. Für Nordkorea wäre es wichtig, wenn Präsident Trump sich endlich zu einer völkerrechtlichen Anerkennung und Aufnahme diplomatischer Beziehungen entschliessen könnte, so wie die USA dies mit anderen existierenden sozialistischen Staaten, China, Vietnam, Kuba, bewerkstelligt haben.    •

1    Mahbubani, Kishore. How the Western media gets the Korean crisis wrong. In: The Straits Times vom 13. Mai 2017 (https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/how-the-western-media-gets-the-korean-crisis-wrong)

Chronologie des koreanischen Strebens nach Frieden und Versöhnung

Mit dem Beginn der Entspannungspolitik in den 1970er Jahren schöpfte man auch in Korea wieder Hoffnung auf einen echten Friedensschluss. Am 20. August 1971 erfolgte der erste innerkoreanische Rot-Kreuz-Kontakt, am 4. Juli 1972 die erste gemeinsame Erklärung von Süd-Nord, die Bildung eines innerkoreanischen Koordinierungsausschusses (Oktober 1972 bis März 1975). Es folgten ein erstes humanitäres Hilfsabkommen nach der Teilung, fünf innerkoreanische Wirtschaftsgespräche von November 1984 bis November 1985 und eine erste Zustimmung zu Treffen getrennter Familien, Sportgespräche, weitere Rot-Kreuz-Gespräche, 1990 die ersten innerkoreanischen Gespräche auf Ministerebene, vom 10. bis 13. Dezember 1991 eine «Vereinbarung über innerkoreanische Versöhnung und Nichtangriff sowie Austausch und Zusammenarbeit» in Seoul und dann im Februar 1992 in Pyongyang die «Gemeinsame Erklärung zur Denuklearisierung der Koreanischen Halbinsel». Ein erstes innerkoreanisches Gipfeltreffen wurde auf Juli 1994 geplant, musste dann aber auf Grund des Todes von Kim Il Sung am 8. Juli 1994 verschoben werden. Im Dezember 1997 folgen sechs Vier-Parteien-Gespräche zwischen Südkorea, Nordkorea, den USA und China in Genf.
Im Juni 2000 fand dann der erste innerkoreanische Gipfel in Pyongyang statt, es ergeht die «Gemeinsame Erklärung Süd-Nord». Es folgen vom Juni 2000 bis Oktober 2010 elf innerkoreanische Rot-Kreuz-Gespräche zur Umsetzung der Gemeinsamen Erklärung, die Wiederaufnahme von Familientreffen und von 2000 bis 2008 21 innerkoreanische Ministertreffen sowie Treffen auf Ebene der Verteidigungsminister, Wirtschaftsverhandlungen und vom 2. bis 4. Oktober 2007 der zweite innerkoreanische Gipfel mit der Annahme der «Erklärung zur Entwicklung der innerkoreanischen Beziehungen und des Friedens und Wohlstands».  

Quelle: Frieden, Neubeginn. Innerkoreanischer Gipfel 2018. Der Vorbereitungsausschuss für den Innerkoreanischen Gipfel; www.korea.net; http://german.korea.net/FILE/pdfdata/2018/04/2018_inter-korean_summit_DE.pdf 

Frau Fu Ying, früher stellvertretende Aussenministerin Chinas und heute Präsidentin der Aussenpolitischen Kommission des Nationalen Volkskongresses der Volksrepublik China, sagte: «Die amerikanische Rhetorik zu Nordkorea vermengt oft ‹Denuklearisierung› mit ‹Zusammenbruch des Regimes›, und zwar derart, dass Nordkorea nicht mehr festzustellen vermag, was das Hauptziel ist.»

Mahbubani, Kishore. How the Western media gets the Korean crisis wrong. In: The Straits Times vom 13. Mai 2017. https://www.straitstimes.com/opinion/how-the-western-media-gets-the-korean-crisis-wrong

(Übersetzung Zeit-Fragen)

«Wir müssen jenen Geist wiederfinden, in dem Süden und Norden gemeinsam für die Schaffung einer friedlichen Halbinsel arbeiteten.
Ich erkläre folgendes klar und deutlich: Wir wünschen nicht, dass Nordkorea zusammenbreche, und erstreben keinerlei Art der Vereinigung durch Übernahme. Ebensowenig werden wir eine künstliche Wiedervereinigung verfolgen. Die Vereinigung ist ein Prozess, bei dem beide Seiten versuchen, miteinander zu leben und zu gedeihen und die nationale Gemeinschaft wieder aufzubauen. Wenn einmal Frieden herrscht, wird die Wiedervereinigung eines Tages ganz natürlich durch das Übereinkommen von Süden und Norden vor sich gehen.
Was meine Regierung und ich erzielen wollen, ist allein der Frieden.»

Aus der Rede von Präsident Moon Jae-in vom 6. Juli 2017 bei der Körber-Stiftung in Deutschland

Quelle: http://german.korea.net/FILE/pdfdata/2018/04/2018_inter-korean_summit_DE.pdf 

Ein Teil der modernen Skyline von Pyöngjang – sie passt kaum in das von den westlichen Mainstreammedien verbreitete Bild von Nordkorea. Unter dem Link www.korean-books.com.kp/en/search/?page=periodic-pictorial findet der interessierte Leser zahlreiche Bilder aus verschiedensten Lebensbereichen in Nordkorea. (Bild keystone)