Why are the teachers in turmoil?

by Claude Meunier-Berthelot, French author, lawyer and teacher

CC. The following article from France makes it clear that the same pedagogically nonsensical reforms are being carried out there as in Switzerland, Germany and other European countries. There, too, the responsible politicians seem immune to all pedagogically justified objections and concerns, to any didactic experience, to developmental psychological facts and anthropological conditions. And there, too, the reforms are presented under partly superficially melodious, partly unspeakably meaningless terms. Whom should it serve?

In view of the sparseness of the comments on the draft law of the French Minister of Education, Jean-Michel Blanquer, on the so-called “school of trust” (!), one is perplexed by the inability of journalists to understand the essence of the subject and to communicate it to the public. There are also those who understand the system best and use their usual malice to conceal reality in order to serve the state. Those who do not understand this course of action would do well to press the replay button, at least until the reforms of Claude Allègre [Minister of Education 1997-2000, transl.] This review would at least make it possible to understand the logic of the system, even if in reality the dismantling of the French education system began much earlier.

A reform that is none…

If we analyse Blanquer’s approach, it quickly becomes clear that this project is by no means a fundamentally new reform, quite the contrary!
It is only a continuation of the policy of its predecessors, based on the “Charter for the Construction of the School of the 21st Century” published by Claude Allègre in 1999, which consisted in transforming the school system into a place of life for our children – as Jack Lang, Minister of Education from 2000–2002, put it: “The school must be a living-space! This revolution is characterised by the disappearance of the knowledge imparted through teaching and its replacement by activities in which the pupils have to acquire their own knowledge. In other words, school is no longer a school.
Since the needs in a teaching-centred school are obviously not the same as in a living space school, it follows that the institutions, the organisational form and the personnel recruitment must be adapted: This is the aim of the measures taken.
The activities of Education Minister Blanquer, are ,therefore, part of the implementation of this Charter, which is gradually being implemented “methodically, progressively and without conflict” by the various ministers who followed one another at the head of the Ministry of Education, as Jack Lang, as Claude Allègre’s successor, recommended in the early 2000’s.

Misleading language

Since this school revolution completely contradicts the will of the parents and the interests of the French nation, the activities (e.g. ball games, roller skating, swimming …) are never described with the normal terms, but packed into an ampoule-like, esoteric and varied language. This language is incomprehensible to lay-people and suggests that the decisions taken serve to improve the quality of the educational system – in reality however, everything is done to destroy it.
 So, at the level of principles, it is about “multi-disciplinarity” (J.-M. Blanquer has clearly stated that the pedagogical approach must always be multi-disciplinary), “inter-disciplinarity”, “transversality”, “trans-disciplinarity”, “inter-disciplinary practical exceptional teaching”, in order not to use the simple word “activity”. As far as activities are concerned in detail, it is about “project pedagogy”, individual project work, “cross work”, “expeditions”, “art and cultural pedagogy”, “personalised support”, “personal project for educational success”, “tutorials” and even “homework assistance” etc. All these terms are completely exaggerated word clichés for simple activities.
Everything is done to deceive the public and not only to appear credible, but also to leave the impression that the educational system is being improved, although the opposite is the case.

Renewing existing educational institutions by new designations

J.-M. Blanquer claims to be refounding the Institut nationaux supérieurs du professorat (INSP). One could laugh oneself to death if it were not for crying if one took the appropriate law at hand. There it says: “The term ‘colleges of teaching and education’ is replaced by ‘higher schools of education’ […]”. Otherwise, nothing is changed in the text of the law!
The “new” INSP are, therefore, nothing other than the former Ecoles supérieures du professorat et de l’éducation (ESPE), which themselves were previously called IUFM (Institut universitaires de formation des maîtres). These were allegedly abolished in 2005 because of massive criticism. Within the universities, however, they continued to exist until they were resurrected in 2013 by Vincent Peillon [Minister of Education 2012–2014] under the name ESPE.
Jean-Michel Blanquer now immortalises the IUFM under the new name INSP. So he does not invent anything new at all – which is the best proof that he follows the same policy as his predecessors.

Changes in teacher training?

It is also claimed that Blanquer is planning to change teacher training as well. However, this change has already been implemented with Vincent Peillon’s “future employment of teachers” [“emplois d’avenir professeur” (EAP)],* which Blanquer is now taking over under the new name of “pedagogical assistants”. For this purpose, unqualified personnel are going to be employed, regardless of nationality or any social criteria. University education disappears and this short training for all employees only takes place in the IUFM-INSP, from kindergarten to university.
Najat Vallaud-Belkacem [Minister of Education 2014-2017] had stated that this had become the “normal way of recruiting” “teachers who are no longer teaching”.
A living-space school no longer needs qualified personnel with diplomas. This also largely explains last year’s introduction of the “Parcoursup” system. In this online application of the Ministry of Higher Education, all high school graduates who are interested in higher teacher training have to provide detailed information about themselves and their interests, which makes access to universities difficult for many.
Blanquer continues this policy under a different name while claiming to be innovative.

Creation of public comprehensive schools for the acquisition of basic knowledge?

This has been in preparation for quite some time! If there are no longer lessons at school, if neither knowledge or intellectual education is imparted, if there are no teaching goals to be achieved, but only activities to be carried out, class teaching is no longer justified and no distinction between primary and secondary school is needed. Thus, there is no longer any reason why the different school levels – including grammar school – should not be combined in comprehensive schools, which are called “Ecoles inclusives” by Education Minister Blanquer.
As far as basic knowledge is concerned, you can always come back to it later to acquire it!

The teachers are dissatisfied – but that is nothing new!

The teachers are dissatisfied – but this is nothing new. 20 per cent of the staff have quit in the last few years: That has never happened before! However, nothing is said about that. The Cerberus of the system (mostly a dog with several heads, which in Greek mythology, guards the entrance to the underworld so that no living person penetrates and no dead person comes out) – in other words, the trade unions have looked on and done nothing, although they know exactly what has been going on for decades. They are pushing for demonstrations when it is too late. The teachers have been silenced, despite the commotion caused by the real nonsense of the system. They mistakenly believe, however, that it is still a school, since many have not yet realised where they and our children are heading.

Blanquer’s slogan: “Keep silent!”

Blanquer has supplemented the whole thing with a “duty of exemplary and restraint”! This is no coincidence! The teachers are annoyed; they can hardly bear the situation they have to cope with on a daily basis. He knows very well that the explosion is imminent, reason enough to oblige them to keep silent.
Silence! We are killing the intelligence of your children! This is the “school of trust”, keep silent!
So, we know why the teachers are in turmoil: Abused by the state, which claims to be working to restore the educational system, they know very well that this is not the case and that, on the contrary, their situation and that of the children entrusted to them, will only deteriorate in the future.

Strikes? A washout …

The strikes, called by the unions, only serve to curb dissatisfaction. It is obvious that they will bring nothing but a few meagre consolation prizes, with no effect on Mr Blanquer’s policy, because it is far too late. Everything is planned in detail and prepared so that he can continue his policy.
Strikes, at the wrong time and without putting the finger on the sore spot, are, as usual, nothing more than a washout!    •

*    Law from 26 June 2012, Decree in CE n°2013-50 from 15 January 2013

Source: www.libertepolitique.com/Actualite/Decryptage/Pourquoi-les-professeurs-sont-ils-en-colere, from 7 June

(Translation Current Concerns)

Test tasks in German 2017 for the examination of the basic competences (ÜGK) by the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK)

mw. It took two respectively three years for the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education (EDK) to produce the results of its “standardised, computer-based competence tests” (3rd high school, mathematics / 6th primary class, school language and 1st foreign language).
The sixth-formers were only tested in reading / text comprehension and spelling.
Reading area: Short texts (max. 1,000 characters), three text types: narrative, factual text, argumentation. In addition each with a sample question with four multiple-choice answers.

“Task example for an argumentative text with explicit performance of comprehension” (ÜGK 2019, p. 22)

Title: “Brand-name clothes”. Tina, 12 years old, expresses her opinion on brand-name clothes.
Question: Why do certain young people buy branded dresses according to Tina?
Multiple-choice answers: Because brand-name clothes are very expensive / because they don’t like cheaper clothes / because they want to belong to a certain group / because they want to save their money.
Comment: Two out of four answers are to be cancelled because every sixth-former realises that they can’t be right; the right solution is given practically literally in the text: “[…] only because you want to belong to a certain group […]”).

“Task example for a narrative text with implicit performance of comprehension” (ÜGK 2019, p. 23)

Title: “Noah’s Christmas”. “Noah tells a story about Christmas.”
Question: When is the story set?
Multiple-choice answers: A few months before Christmas / A few days before Christmas / At Christmas itself / After Christmas.
Comment: The answer is provided by the first sentence of the story: “No doubt, it will be Christmas soon!” confirmed by the statement in the second sentence that dad “is bringing out the garlands and the Christmas baubles”.
Comment: Dad does this barely a few months before or even after Christmas. The rest of the story can be skipped by the reasonably alphabetised sixth-former.  

“Task example for an informative text with explicit performance of comprehension”  (ÜGK 2019, p. 24)

Title: “The Flamingo.” Text from an encyclopedia.
Question: What kind of toes does the Flamingo have?
Multiple-choice answers: Toes with special lamellas / Toes with webs / White and red ones / About 40 centimetres long.
Comment: Sixth-formers who are trimmed for such tests look for the word “toes” in the text and find it in the second sentence: “His neck and legs are very long, his toes are connected with webs, ...”. The rest of the story […] (see 2nd task).

(Examples chosen by Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education EDK)

Warum sind die Lehrer in Aufruhr?

von Claude Meunier-Berthelot, französische Buchautorin, Juristin und Lehrerin

zf. Der nachfolgende Beitrag aus Frankreich macht deutlich, dass dort dieselben pädagogisch unsinnigen Reformen wie in der Schweiz, in Deutschland und anderen europäischen Ländern durchgezogen werden. Auch dort scheinen die verantwortlichen Politiker immun gegen sämtliche pädagogisch begründeten Einwände und Bedenken, gegen jedwede didaktische Erfahrung, gegen entwicklungspsychologische Fakten und anthropologische Gegebenheiten. Und auch dort werden die Reformen unter teilweise vordergründig wohlklingenden, teilweise unsäglich nichtssagenden Begriffen präsentiert. Wem soll das dienen?

Angesichts der Dürftigkeit der Kommentare zum Gesetzesentwurf des französischen Bildungsministers Jean-Michel Blanquer zur sogenannten «Schule des Vertrauens» (!) ist man perplex über die Unfähigkeit der Journalisten, das Wesen des Themas zu verstehen und der Öffentlichkeit mitzuteilen. Daneben gibt es auch solche, die das System bestens verstehen und mit ihrer gewohnten Arglist die Realität verschleiern, um der Staatsmacht zu dienen. Wer diesen Ablauf nicht versteht, täte gut daran, den Film zurückzudrehen, mindestens bis zu den Reformen von Claude Allègre [Bildungsminister von 1997–2000, Anm. d. Übers.]. Dieser Rückblick würde wenigstens erlauben, die Logik des Systems zu verstehen, auch wenn der Abbau des französischen Bildungssystems in Wirklichkeit schon viel früher begann.

Eine Reform, die keine ist …

Wenn man das Vorgehen von Herrn Blanquer analysiert, wird schnell klar, dass dieses Projekt keineswegs eine grundlegend neue Reform darstellt, ganz im Gegenteil!
Es ist nur eine Fortsetzung der Politik seiner Vorgänger auf der Grundlage der 1999 von Claude Allègre veröffentlichten «Charta zum Aufbau der Schule des 21. Jahrhunderts», die in der Verwandlung des Schulsystems in einen Ort des Lebens für unsere Kinder bestand – was Jack Lang, Bildungsminister von 2000–2002, so formulierte: «Die Schule muss ein Lebensraum sein!» Diese Revolution ist gekennzeichnet durch das Verschwinden des durch Unterricht vermittelten Wissens und dessen Ersatz durch Aktivitäten, bei denen die Schüler sich ihr Wissen selber erarbeiten sollen. Mit anderen Worten, die Schule ist keine Schule mehr.
Da die Bedürfnisse in einer Unterrichts-Schule offensichtlich nicht die gleichen sind wie in einer Lebensraum-Schule, folgt, dass die Institutionen, die Organisationsform und die Personalrekrutierung angepasst werden müssen: Das ist das Ziel der ergriffenen Mass­nahmen.
Die Aktivitäten von Bildungsminister Blanquer sind daher Teil der Umsetzung dieser Charta, die schrittweise von den verschiedenen Ministern, die an der Spitze des Bildungsministeriums aufeinander folgten, «methodisch, progressiv und konfliktfrei» umgesetzt werden, wie Jack Lang, als Nachfolger von Claude Allègre, dies Anfang der 2000er Jahre empfahl.

Irreführende Sprache

Da diese Schulrevolution dem Willen der Eltern und dem Interesse der französischen Nation völlig widerspricht, werden die Aktivitäten (zum Beispiel Ballspielen, Rollschuhlaufen, Schwimmen …) nie mit den normalen Begriffen bezeichnet, sondern in eine ampullenartige, esoterische und variantenreiche Sprache verpackt. Diese ist für den Laien unverständlich und suggeriert, dass die getroffenen Entscheidungen dazu dienen, die Qualität des Bildungssystems zu verbessern – in Wirklichkeit wird jedoch alles getan, um diese zu zerstören.
Auf der Ebene der Prinzipien geht es also um «Multidisziplinarität» (J.-M. Blanquer hat klar festgelegt, dass der pädagogische Ansatz immer multidisziplinär sein müsse), «Interdisziplinarität», «Transversalität», «Transdisziplinarität», «interdisziplinären praktischen Ausnahmeunterricht», um nicht das einfache Wort «Aktivität» zu verwenden. Was die Aktivitäten im einzelnen betrifft, so geht es um «Projektpädagogik», individuelle Projektarbeit, «Crosswork», «Entdeckungsreisen», «Kunst- und Kulturpädagogik», «Personalisierte Unterstützung», «Persönliches Projekt für den Bildungserfolg», «Tutorate» und sogar «Hausaufgabenhilfe» usw. Alle diese Bezeichnungen sind völlig übertriebene Worthülsen für einfache Aktivitäten.
Es wird alles getan, um die Öffentlichkeit zu täuschen und dabei nicht nur glaubwürdig zu wirken, sondern auch den Eindruck zu hinterlassen, dass das Bildungssystem verbessert werde, obwohl das Gegenteil der Fall ist.

Bestehende Bildungsinstitutionen durch neue Bezeichnungen erneuern

J.-M. Blanquer behauptet, die Instituts nationaux supérieurs du professorat (INSP) neu zu gründen. Man könnte sich totlachen, wenn es nicht zum Weinen wäre, wenn man das entsprechende Gesetz zur Hand nimmt. Dort heisst es: «Der Ausdruck ‹Hochschulen für Unterricht und Bildung› wird durch ‹Höhere Lehranstalten für Unterricht› ersetzt […].» Sonst wird im Gesetzestext nichts geändert!
Die «neuen» INSP sind somit nichts anderes als die früheren Ecoles supérieures du professorat et de l’éducation (ESPE), die selber zuvor IUFM (Instituts universitaires de formation des maîtres) hiessen. Diese wurden wegen massiver Kritik 2005 angeblich abgeschafft. Innerhalb der Universitäten haben sie jedoch weiter existiert, bis sie im Jahr 2013 von Vincent Peillon [Bildungsminister von 2012–2014] unter dem Namen ESPE wiederauferstanden.
Jean-Michel Blanquer verewigt nun das IUFM unter dem neuen Namen INSP.
Er erfindet also absolut nichts Neues – was der beste Beweis dafür ist, dass er die gleiche Politik verfolgt wie seine Vorgänger.

Veränderungen in der Lehrerausbildung?

Ebenso wird behauptet, dass Blanquer plane, auch die Lehrerausbildung zu verändern. Diese Änderung ist jedoch bereits umgesetzt mit den von Vincent Peillon geschaffenen «zukünftigen Anstellungen für Lehrpersonen» [«emplois d’avenir professeur» (EAP)],* die Blanquer nun unter dem neuen Namen «pädagogische Assistenten» übernimmt. Dafür wird unqualifiziertes Personal eingestellt, ohne Berücksichtigung der Nationalität oder irgendwelcher sozialen Kriterien. Die universitäre Ausbildung verschwindet, und diese Kurz­ausbildung erfolgt für alle Mitarbeitenden nur noch in den IUFM-INSP, und zwar von der Kindergartenstufe bis zur Universität.
Najat Vallaud-Belkacem [Bildungsministerin von 2014–2017] hatte festgehalten, dass dies der «normale Weg der Rekrutierung» der «nicht mehr unterrichtenden Lehrpersonen» geworden sei.
Für eine Lebensraum-Schule braucht es kein qualifiziertes, diplomiertes Personal mehr. Dies erklärt auch weitgehend die letztjährige Einführung des «Parcoursup»-Systems. In dieser Online-Applikation des Ministeriums für höhere Bildung müssen alle Maturanden, die sich für die höhere Lehrerausbildung interessieren, ausführliche Angaben über sich und ihre Interessen abgeben, was für viele den Zugang zu den Universitäten erschwert.
Herr Blanquer führt diese Politik unter einem anderen Namen weiter und behauptet gleichzeitig, innovativ zu sein.

Schaffung öffentlicher Gesamtschulen für den Erwerb der Grundkenntnisse?

Dies ist seit geraumer Zeit in Vorbereitung! Wenn es in der Schule keinen Unterricht mehr gibt, wenn weder Wissen noch intellektuelle Bildung vermittelt werden, wenn keine Lehrziele zu erreichen sind, sondern es nur noch Aktivitäten durchzuführen gilt, ist der Klassenunterricht nicht mehr gerechtfertigt, und es braucht auch keine Unterscheidung mehr zwischen Primar- und Oberstufe. Somit spricht auch nichts mehr dagegen, die verschiedenen Schulstufen – mitsamt dem Gymnasium – in Gesamtschulen zusammenzulegen, die von Bildungsminister Blanquer «Ecoles inclusives» genannt werden.
Was die grundlegenden Kenntnisse betrifft, so kann man ja auch später wieder darauf «zurückkommen», um sie zu erwerben!

Die Lehrer sind unzufrieden – aber das ist ja nichts Neues!

Die Lehrer sind zwar unzufrieden – aber das ist ja nichts Neues. 20 % des Personals hat in den letzten Jahren gekündigt: Das gab’s noch nie! Aber darüber schweigt man. Der Zerberus des Systems (zumeist ein mehrköpfiger Hund, der in der griechischen Mythologie den Eingang zur Unterwelt bewacht, damit kein Lebender eindringt und kein Toter herauskommt) – mit anderen Worten, die Gewerkschaften – haben zugeschaut und nichts unternommen, obwohl sie genau wissen, was seit Jahrzehnten vor sich geht. Sie drängen auf Demonstrationen, wenn es schon zu spät ist. Die Lehrpersonen wurden zum Schweigen gebracht, trotz der Aufregung, die durch die tatsächlichen Unsinnigkeiten des Systems verursacht wird. Fälschlicherweise sind sie jedoch der Ansicht, dass es sich immer noch um Schule handelt, da viele noch nicht erkannt haben, wohin man sie und unsere Kinder führen will.

Blanquers Losung: «Schweigt!»

Blanquer hat das Ganze mit einer «Pflicht zur Vorbildlichkeit und Zurückhaltung» ergänzt! Das ist kein Zufall! Die Lehrpersonen sind verärgert, sie können die Situation, die sie täglich bewältigen müssen, kaum mehr ertragen. Er weiss sehr wohl, dass die Explosion nahe bevorsteht – Grund genug, um sie zum Schweigen zu verpflichten.
Ruhe! Wir töten die Intelligenz eurer Kinder! Das ist die «Schule des Vertrauens», ruhig bleiben!
Wir wissen also, warum die Lehrpersonen in Aufruhr sind: Missbraucht durch die Staatsmacht, die behauptet, an der Wiederherstellung des Bildungssystems zu arbeiten, wissen sie sehr wohl, dass dies nicht der Fall ist und dass, im Gegenteil, ihre Situation und diejenige der ihnen anvertrauten Kinder sich auch in Zukunft nur weiter verschlechtern wird.

Streiks? Ein Schlag ins Wasser …

Die von den Gewerkschaften anberaumten Streiks dienen nur dazu, die Unzufriedenheit einzudämmen. Es ist offensichtlich, dass sie nichts als ein paar magere Trostpreise bringen werden, ohne Auswirkungen auf die Politik von Herrn Blanquer, denn es ist viel zu spät: Alles ist genau geplant und vorbereitet, damit er seine Politik weiterführt, weiterführen kann.
Streiks, zum falschen Zeitpunkt und ohne den Finger auf den wunden Punkt zu legen, sind wie üblich nichts als ein Schlag ins Wasser!    •

*    Gesetz vom 26.6.12, Dekret in CE n°2013-50 vom 15. Januar 2013

Quelle: www.libertepolitique.com/Actualite/Decryptage/Pourquoi-les-professeurs-sont-ils-en-colere, vom 7. Juni

(Übersetzung Zeit-Fragen)

EDK-Testaufgaben Deutsch 2017 zur Überprüfung der Grundkompetenzen ÜGK

mw. Zwei bzw. drei Jahre brauchte die Erziehungsdirektorenkonferenz EDK, bis sie die Ergebnisse ihrer «standardisierten, computerbasierten Kompetenztests» (3. Oberstufe, Mathematik / 6. Primarklasse, Schulsprache und 1. Fremdsprache) herausrückte.
Geprüft wurden die Sechstklässler lediglich in Lesen/Textverständnis und in Orthographie.
Bereich Lesen: Kurze Texte (max. 1000 Zeichen), drei Textsorten: Erzählung, Sachtext, Argumentation. Dazu je eine einfache Beispielfrage mit vier Auswahlantworten.
«Aufgabenbeispiel zu argumentativem Text mit expliziter Verstehensleistung» (ÜGK 2019, S. 22)
Titel: «Markenkleider». Tina, 12 Jahre alt, äussert ihre Meinung zu Markenkleidern.
Frage: Warum kaufen gewisse Jugendliche gemäss Tina Markenkleider?
Auswahlantworten: Weil Markenkleider sehr teuer sind / weil sie billigere Kleider nicht mögen / weil sie zu einer bestimmten Gruppe dazugehören wollen / weil sie ihr Geld sparen wollen.
Kommentar: Zwei von vier Antworten fallen schon deshalb weg, weil jeder Sechstklässler merkt, dass sie nicht stimmen können; die richtige Lösung wird im Text praktisch wörtlich vorgegeben: «[…] nur weil man zu einer bestimmten Gruppe gehören […] will»).
«Aufgabenbeispiel zu narrativem Text mit impliziter Verstehensleistung» (ÜGK 2019, S. 23)
Titel: «Noahs Weihnachten». «Noah erzählt eine Geschichte über Weihnachten.»
Frage: Wann spielt die Geschichte?
Auswahlantworten: Einige Monate vor Weihnachten / Ein paar Tage vor Weihnachten / An Weihnachten selbst / Nach Weihnachten.
Kommentar: Die Antwort liefert der erste Satz der Geschichte: «Kein Zweifel, es ist bald Weihnachten!», bekräftigt durch die Angabe im zweiten Satz, dass Papa «die Girlanden und die Weihnachtskugeln hervorholt».
Kommentar: Dies tut Papa kaum einige Monate vor oder erst nach Weihnachten. Den Rest der Geschichte kann sich die einigermassen alphabetisierte Sechstklässlerin sparen.
«Aufgabenbeispiel zu informativem Text mit expliziter Verstehensleistung» (ÜGK 2019, S. 24)
Titel: «Der Flamingo.» Text aus einem Lexikon.
Frage: Was für Zehen hat der Flamingo?
Auswahlantworten: Zehen mit speziellen Lamellen / Zehen mit Schwimmhäuten / Weisse und rote / Etwa 40 Zentimeter lange.
Kommentar: Auf derlei Tests getrimmte Sechstklässler suchen das Wort «Zehen» im Text und werden im 2. Satz fündig: «Sein Hals und seine Beine sind sehr lang, seine Zehen sind mit Schwimmhäuten verbunden,…». Den Rest der Geschichte […] (siehe 2. Aufgabe).
(Beispielauswahl durch EDK)