Cooperative Medical Centre Town of Tengen founded

by Jörg Sieg, Gottmadingen, Germany

“I will become a member of the cooperative because I think it is important that we citizens of Tengen can independently and mutually co-determine and help shape our future in our small town.” – This statement of a Tengen citizen on a flyer of the town reflects a core idea which is directly connected with the cooperative principle: Cooperatives are not only able to solve the most diverse tasks in the manageable economic, cultural and social area, they also do this in an outstandingly humane way, namely jointly and self-determined. This also applies to the newly founded cooperative for a medical centre in the town of Tengen.

Tengen, a German town on the Swiss border. (picture city of Tengen)

There are 1,001 municipalities in Baden-Württemberg. Of these, 180 already have no longer any medical care. 30 % of the established doctors in this southwest German state are older than 60 years. The “retirement wave” is underway. A family doctor practising today, who is, however, also getting older, would have to fill three positions. Young doctors are urgently needed.
Tengen is one of the 1,001 municipalities in Baden-Württemberg. It is located right on the Swiss border on the southern edge of the Black Forest, about 10 kilometres from the Swiss city of Schaffhausen in the south and a little further away from the next larger German town of Singen. Tengen is a small town with 4,550 inhabitants. And of course, it has the same problems as many other German municipalities. Now, however, Tengen’s priority was to secure medical care! Especially for the future.
The Tengener had an idea of how to solve the problem of the treat of inadequate medical care in the town: founding a cooperative for the construction of a medical centre through the joint efforts of interested citizens, the municipal administration and other important local institutions. The aim is to ensure that all Tengen doctors remain in the town.
On 19 December 2018, 300 Tengen residents and interested guests from other places met in the fully occupied hall of the Tengen Randenhalle for the foundation of the cooperative. Mayor Marian Schreier and Tengen physician Dr. Andreas Luckner presented the new project: The financing volume for a new building for a medical centre amounts to 1.9 million euros. Initially, the municipality had asked itself various questions: Are we looking for a private investor? Should the municipality bear the investment costs? Or should the town and its citizens establish a cooperative? – This would allow all the citizens of the town to participate. The concept of the founder of the cooperative, Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen, helped them in their considerations.
Now, 40 % of the 1.9 million euros are to be covered by equity capital, which is 760,000 euros. There are 200,000 of these as public subsidies, so the cooperative still has the task of getting 560,000 euros together. And if 1 share certificate has a value of 500 euros, 1120 such share certificates are to be issued.
The local council very quickly agreed to found such a cooperative. Each member receives 1 vote, no matter how many shares he or she has. The town of Tengen will probably subscribe 320 shares (more shares are not possible for a single cooperative member). The majority of the cooperative members will then decide on further processes. There is no obligation to make additional contributions beyond the shares of the cooperative members! Of course all formalities, for example the foundation report, are to be examined by the cooperative federation.
Even before the meeting, many people had decided and bought 200 shares. At the end of their presentation, the speakers emphasised why citizens should participate: The future security of medical care in the town can be secured – without a foreign investor. Everything remains on site. The cooperative is committed to the long term. And the greatest attraction of the project is that everyone can join in. As the “Declaration of Intent on Participation in the Town of Tengen Medical Centre Cooperative” states: “Each signatory declares: “The aim and purpose of the cooperative is to ensure and promote medical care by building and renting a medical centre and to promote social cohesion in the town of Tengen”. (Emphasis by the author)
After the introductory speeches, there was not only a lot of applause, but many questions were also asked, for example: Can the share be inherited? Can a cooperative member resign? Is the purchase of a share dependent on age?
The atmosphere in the hall was great. I have heard that the citizens are happy to finally be able to participate directly without being dependent on anyone.
There was a great rush for the “Letters of intent for participation in the cooperative Medical Centre in the town of Tengen” as well as for the prepared flyer with all informations and tips. The author of this report was also enthusiastic about the good atmosphere in the hall and the great willingness of the citizens to participate. And he thought: Tengen – that could be
anywhere in Germany.    •

Genossenschaft Ärztehaus Stadt Tengen gegründet

von Jörg Sieg, Gottmadingen, Deutschland

«Ich werde Mitglied der Genossenschaft, weil ich es wichtig finde, dass wir Bürgerinnen und Bürger von Tengen unabhängig und gemeinschaftlich unsere Zukunft in unserem Städtchen mitbestimmen und gestalten können.» – Diese Aussage einer Tengener Bürgerin in einem Flyer der Stadt gibt einen Kerngedanken wieder, der unmittelbar mit der Genossenschaftsidee verbunden ist: Genossenschaften können nicht nur vielfältigste Aufgaben im überschaubaren wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und sozialen Bereich lösen, sie tun dies auch auf eine hervorragend menschenwürdige Art und Weise, nämlich gemeinschaftlich und selbstbestimmt. So auch die neugegründete Genossenschaft für ein Ärztehaus der Stadt Tengen.

Tengen, eine deutsche Kleinstadt an der Schweizer Grenze. (Bild Stadt Tengen)

Es gibt in Baden-Württemberg 1001 Gemeinden. Davon haben 180 jetzt schon keine ärztliche Versorgung mehr. 30 % der niedergelassenen Ärzte in diesem südwestdeutschen Bundesland sind älter als 60 Jahre. Die «Berentungswelle» läuft. Ein heute praktizierender Hausarzt, der jedoch auch älter wird, müsste drei Stellen besetzen. Es muss dringend Nachwuchs von jungen Ärzten kommen.
Tengen ist eine der 1001 Gemeinden Baden-Württembergs. Sie liegt direkt an der Schweizer Grenze am südlichen Rand des Schwarzwaldes, rund 10 Kilometer vom südlich gelegenen Schaffhausen und ein wenig weiter von der nächsten grösseren deutschen Stadt Singen entfernt. Tengen ist eine Kleinstadt mit 4550 Einwohnern. Und selbstverständlich hat sie die Probleme, die auch viele andere deutsche Gemeinden haben. Jetzt aber war für Tengen die Sicherung der ärztlichen Versorgung vorrangig! Besonders für die Zukunft.
Die Tengener hatten eine Idee, wie das Problem drohender unzureichender ärztlicher Versorgung im Ort gelöst werden könnte: durch die gemeinsame Anstrengung interessierter Bürgerinnen und Bürger, der Gemeindeverwaltung und anderer wichtiger Einrichtungen des Ortes, eine Genossenschaft für den Bau eines Ärztehauses zu gründen. So soll gesichert werden, dass alle Tengener Ärzte im Ort bleiben.
Zur Genossenschaftsgründung trafen sich am 19. Dezember 2018 300 Tengener und interessierte Gäste aus anderen Orten im vollbesetzten Saal der Tengener Randenhalle. Bürgermeister Marian Schreier und der Tengener Arzt Dr. Andreas Luckner stellten das neue Projekt vor: Das Finanzierungsvolumen für einen Neubau für ein Ärztehaus beträgt 1,9 Millionen Euro. Zunächst hatte sich die Gemeinde verschiedene Fragen gestellt: Suchen wir einen privaten Investor? Soll die Gemeinde die Investitionskosten übernehmen? Oder gründen die Stadt und ihre Bürger eine Genossenschaft? – Damit könnten alle Bürger der Stadt beteiligt werden. Bei ihren Überlegungen half ihnen das Konzept des Genossenschaftsbegründers Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen. Nun sollen von den 1,9 Millionen Euro 40 % aus Eigenkapital gedeckt werden, das sind 760 000 Euro. 200 000 davon gibt es als öffentliche Fördergelder, also bleibt für die Genossenschaft die Aufgabe, 560 000 Euro zusammen zu bekommen. Und wenn 1 Anteilsschein einen Wert von 500 Euro hat, sind 1120 solcher Anteilsscheine zu vergeben.
Der Gemeinderat war sich sehr schnell einig, eine solche Genossenschaft zu gründen. Jedes Mitglied erhält 1 Stimme, gleichgültig, wieviel Anteile es hat. Die Stadt Tengen wird voraussichtlich 320 Anteile zeichnen (mehr Anteile sind für einen einzelnen Genossenschaftler nicht möglich). Die Mehrheit der Genossenschaftler entscheidet dann über weitere Prozesse. Es gibt keine Nachschusspflicht über die Anteile der Genossenschaftler hinaus! Selbstverständlich sollen alle Formalien, zum Beispiel das Gründungsgutachten, vom Genossenschaftsverband geprüft werden.
Schon vor dem Treffen hatten sich viele Personen entschieden und 200 Anteile gekauft. Die Referenten betonten zum Schluss ihres Referates, warum die Bürger mitmachen sollten: Die zukünftige Sicherung der ärztlichen Versorgung im Ort kann gesichert werden – ohne ortsfremden Investor. Alles bleibt vor Ort. Die Genossenschaft engagiert sich langfristig. Und der grösste Reiz bei der Sache ist: Alle können mitmachen. Schön, wie es in der «Absichtserklärung zur Beteiligung an der Genossenschaft Ärztehaus Stadt Tengen» heisst: Jeder Unterzeichner erklärt: «Ziel und Zweck der Genossenschaft ist die Sicherstellung sowie die Förderung der ärztlichen Versorgung mittels Bau und Vermietung eines Ärztehauses sowie die Förderung des sozialen Zusammenhalts in der Stadt Tengen.» (Hervorhebung durch Verfasser)
Nach den einführenden Reden gab es nicht nur viel Beifall, sondern es wurden auch viele Fragen gestellt, zum Beispiel: Kann der Anteil vererbt werden? Kann ein Genossenschafter auch wieder austreten? Ist der Kauf eines Anteils vom Alter abhängig?
Die Stimmung im Saal war grossartig. Ich habe gehört, dass die Bürger froh sind, endlich einmal direkt mitmachen zu können, ohne von jemandem abhängig zu sein.
Der Ansturm auf die «Absichtserklärungen zur Beteiligung an der Genossenschaft Ärztehaus Stadt Tengen» sowie auf den vorbereiteten Flyer mit allen Angaben und Hinweisen war gross. Auch der Autor dieses Berichtes war begeistert von der guten Stimmung im Saal und der grossen Bereitschaft der Bürger, sich zu beteiligen. Und hat sich gedacht: Tengen – das könnte doch überall in Deutschland sein.    •